Suzuki DR-Z400SM Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki DR-Z400SM Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki DR-Z400SM Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-01 2009 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have ever owned that was not a Yamaha. I was a Yamaha dealer in Connecticut for several years, many years ago. I still own a 2008 Yamaha XT 250. I traded a 2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 custom for the 2009 DR-Z400SM. It's 200-plus pounds lighter and all around, a great bike to ride. It's not as comfortable at 80 mph. as the V-Star, but all other factors considered, more fun to ride. There are lots of "goodies" to buy to make the bike your own. The "gel" seat from Suzuki is worth every penny. The water cooled engine a huge plus, inverted shocks much better ride, Excel wheels are a great upgrade. All in all, it's a great bike in every way. The dealership is also a super place to buy a bike. This was the third in three years. Thanks for the great customer service at both locations.
- capt gary , wesley chapel, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-29 2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now that I've got some decent miles on the bike I figured I would give an update on it. The bike begs for tight back roads(living in New England there are plenty!). The brakes are good and under hard braking the bike is still controllable. The supermoto tires are fairly good on dirt, they make it a little bit iffy and suck in the sand. Unless you plan on racing it if you're gonna spend any amount of time on the dirt you should get maybe the dual tires or a set of motocross tires, but it's still a ton of fun. I do wish it had a gas gauge or light like the GSXR's do.
- Chelsea, Cumberland, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-02 2009 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is designed for anyone who wants to get the feel of super motard riding. It's very entertaining bike to ride and has a surprising amount of power for a single piston 398 ccm engine. The top speed I reached was 90 Mph, and went 0 - 60 in 5 to 6 seconds. It's top speed is not particularly impressive but this bike seems to be setup for in town driving not long trips. In my opinion the DRZ 400SM is very diverse and suitable for a wide variety of motorcycle riders. This bike is very durable, I hit a 90 to 100lbs blacktail doe at 60Mph and the only thing I needed to fix was my steering alignment. The only complaint I have is the tank size, it's just too small. I commute 24 miles a day and I have to refill my tank more or less every two days.
- William, Oak Harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-22 2009 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What I've learned after riding this motorcycle for awhile is the jet kit and the exhaust upgrade really help. don't bother cutting the air-box because you will lose some low end and throttle response and jetting become pretty tricky. I fixed the problem by taping over part of the air-box lid and that helped a lot. I recently installed the Suzuki Accessories Super Moto front cowling and the cool factor went way up! This bike is a winner.
- Kirk, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-01 2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To be honest, I've never been compelled to write a review on anything I've bought before. I bought a 05 SM a year ago; I was looking for a dirt bike, but couldn't justify something I'd be riding occasionally on weekends. I also saw no reason to get an 80% dirt / 20% street bike and the SM fit the bill. With the street wheels, this is a 100% road bike that is a blast to ride in tight canyons, and 55mpg for a short commute to work is exceptional. Top speed is about 100 mph, and it will hold it without complaining. I've made several long trips and the only think I can complain about is the monkey butt and short 100 mile range (which I guess actually helps the monkey butt on long trips). But what about the dirt? It cost about $1000 for the whole conversion (new wheels, sprocket, chain, spare brake rotors, and a little engine armor). With about an hour quick change, swap wheels and a chain and you now have yourself a 100% dirt bike. The speedo cable didn't fit to the aftermarket hubs, so I figure I get free dirt miles. The way I see it, I spent my money and got 2 sweet bikes in one package. It's not the fastest bike, but with a 52 tooth rear sprocket it's got plenty of pep in the dirt for climbing steep hills and clearing table tops. The only catch here is the extra 50 lbs or so over other dirt bikes this size. And that's where I say, I am convinced this could be the perfect bike. It's a really fun road bike and an equally fun dirt bike... without sacrifice. I'm either street riding or dirt riding, there really is no in between, so why get an in between bike like the dual sport? Living in CA I will never have to worry about green stickers because it's plated, plus you get upgraded brakes and suspension with the SM, it just makes sense. Best bike ever!
- Patrick, Clovis, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-08 2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The most fun ever after owning 5 Ninjas, crusiers, and even more fun than my DR650SE. This bike fits me better too. It has so much more comfort and wicked handling to carve up saddle road, even on the gravel part!
- sam, hilo, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-05 2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Updating my experience with the DRZ400SM. Had it 6 months now and have 2000 miles. Engine performance improved slightly over time, but I've since added an fcr carb, rejet and air box mod and shortened the gearing slightly. Totally different bike now. Bike handles so well and has good braking feel. Wheelies like a dream. Just down on power...could use about 15hp more. Still an awesome bike for urban environment. don't want to be on anything else around town. Quality is excellent and I've had no comfort problems. Get rid of the stock D208S as soon as you can.
- pasystm, denton , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a black 2005 DRZ SM. Love it. I have ridden everything big, small, on, and off road. This bike simply rules the asphalt and most other terrain. Burnout, wheelie, and do just about whatever you want without problem. The bike is amazing. I spin around on grass and fly over jumps on dirt - it's hours of fun that I never get tired of. Highly recommend getting one for yourself soon.
- Tyler Mitchell, Des Moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have a little over two thousand miles on my DRZ 400 SM. I have installed a Yoshimura exhaust system, jet kit, K&N airfilter and modified my air box and this thing flat rips! If you want to ride a bike that will embarass larger and more powerful sport bikes in the twisties, look no more. It always makes me laugh when the sport bike guys look at my bike and dismiss it as just a dirt bike with street wheels and tires. You should see the look on their face when they look at the tires and realize that there are no chicken strips left on the rubber, that's what happens when you lean to the max. Pound for pound and dollar for dollar you will not find a better value for your hard earned money.
- Ryan Martin, Spokane , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-21 2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, very very little buzz in the bars. Rode a friend's motard and it vibrated so bad my hands went numb. The Suzuki is strangled from the factory, but with a couple very easy mods, it wakes right up. After break-in I noticed a huge increase in power, and shortly after that I added a K&N jet kit. The bike will pull almost 100 mph. Great for in town, but the fuel range limits you to about 130 miles if you ride like I do. I've been getting a little above 50 mpg, and I have no doubt I could get over 60 out of it, but it's way too fun to crank the throttle!
- Shane, Ft. Collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-18 2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike I have owned and it has to be the funnest city bike around. It's so light and nimble you can go anywhere you want. For a 400cc single it has pretty good power (32hp), but you can do add ons to boost that to 50ish. I love how unique this bike is. For a first bike it's very forgiving and your not gonna get yourself into a ton of trouble if you enter that corner too fast, just keep leaning it over or heck, back it in. This is an excellent bike very reliable, minimal maintance and very well priced. This bike can be driven on gravel roads with not too much trouble, it can even be off roaded with maybe a beefier tire. Great gas mileage. Final Thoughts: Great bike - can't go wrong.
- Tom Colborne, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-11 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First I bought a 06 DRZ 400S that I love. A friend was selling his 06 DRZ 400SM with 4000 miles on it so I bought it. I am so impressed with the bike. The bike is light weight, easy to handle and has great brakes. A jet kit and Leo Vince exaust make the bike even more fun. The over all package is absolute joy and freedom to me. The bike(s) are so dependable and with 11,600 miles between them in one year I have had no break downs.
- RBK, Danielson, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-14 2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Quick enough to keep ahead of the cagers, cruises at 75 on the freeway without complaints, goes around corners like it's on rails, stops on a dime, laughs at curbs, puts a smile on my face everytime I ride it, and does this all while getting 50-55mpg. Oh yeah, I can't break it. What's not to like?
- J, Tampa Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-04 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Anyone who has ridden one of these on the street will know what I'm talking about. I come from a motocross/enduro background and this bike will not disappoint you. I have taken it on 70 mile enduro trail rides keeping up with a Raptor 700 quad and passing was no problem. I rip up city streets on it and my superbike friends look good in the square mirrors; just stay away from long straight aways. I sold my FZR600 to get a supermoto so the stock set up was a little lacking. But once I put exhaust and a new carb on, it really woke up. So, if you are looking to buy one plan on about a grand in upgrades and your bike will rip. Top speed a little over 100 mph. Good luck keeping the front tire on the ground.
- majorzinn, chico, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 07' DRZ400SM for about 2 days and have put around 100 miles on it. I'm trying the 'ride it hard' break in method, with my first oil change at 20 miles and my next one at 150. I'll keep you guys updated on how it breaks in. My last bike was an 03' SV1000S, which, in my humble opinion, is one of the best streetbikes on the market right now. I'm pretty much a sportbike guy, but I'm having a lot of fun with this bike. I was debating on getting the DRZ400SM new or buying a 600F4I with 8k miles. They were about the same price but I wanted to develop some new riding skills so I thought the DRZ would be a better choice...so far, I'm happy. It has pretty good squirt out of the corners and it will definitely bring out your inner hooligan. It turns and stops really well. It is definitely a very agile bike around town. Not much will be able to keep up in urban areas. It is much easier to carry a lot of corner speed around town and in tight turns. Plus, intersections have some of the worst traction and potholes, but the little DRZ just eats it up and you can rip through the turn at a speed you would never even consider on a sportbike. yYou will probably be getting some pretty silly ideas just riding around as you see curbs, railroad tracks, and golf courses. For you SM guys that are interested in backing it in, well I'm definitely not a pro at it. But, I've had no problems getting the rear loose in 1st and 2nd under heavy braking. So, as my skill increases with the entry slide, I think the DRZ will be right there with me. This bike is a lot of fun sliding around town and stuff. Only managed to pull up the front in 1st right now. don't know if I could do it in 2nd without a rejet. So I think Suzuki has made a great bike that would not be intimidating for a beginner. I also think it will provide a more experienced rider with some new challenges in cornering and braking. The bike seems to respond well as you push it harder. So Suzuki, the next step is to create the TL/SV/DL1000-SM. Put that great 90deg 998cc twin in a supermoto package. that's a no brainer.
- pasystm, denton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-15 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have nearly 10,000 miles of riding in one year, so I consider myself still in the growing stages. I had sport tourers and a Ninja before my DRZ. Had to get the weight off my wrists, so I opted for the SM since I knew I wouldn't be doing any off roading. This bike is perma-grin..make sure you have good looking teeth, because that's all you will be doing...smiling ear to ear. The bike is very light, and you can flick it in a corner with so much ease that you have to adjust so you don't take it too sharp. It eats twisties for lunch and splitting traffic is actually fun. Vibration is slightly harsh in the upper rpm, but that's what you get with a thumper. Torque is excellent and in stock form can pull your hands off the bars if you're not aware. Installing a jet ket from what I hear makes this thing even crazier. The fun factor is so high, you won't even notice the seat.. until you get off. Bike is very easy to maintain. No fairings to yank on to change the oil/easy to peek at for minor inspections. Average about 50 or so mpg, so at 85 miles your clicking to reserve. Digital display is great and has some good features. Suspension is very adjustable. Expect the rear tire to last about 3 to 4,000 miles. Less if you ride it really hard. Bike will do 80mph, maybe more but I don't push it faster. This makes a good beginners bike too if you're tall enough. Sure, I like the looks and power of a good sport bike, but in the real world of function and fun, the DRZSM broke the mold.
- woppini, bay area, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding sports bikes for 6 years, mainly GSXR's, which were all mighty great bikes but not in the environment I was spending most of my time. I knew I was not completely honest trying to convince myself that a gixer was the best bike to have. In town it was cumbersome and intimidating and there are no nice fast twisty roads in the area where I live. The only real point to own a gixer was Track Days which happened like 2 or 3 times a year. So no real point then... It was time for some drastic measures. The reason why I ride is to have fun every minute I'm on the bike and not 2 or 3 times a year. And the SM fulfils the task admirably. It has such a playful personality it hurts. And its sooo easy to manage! Around town it will blow a sportsbike to weeds no questions asked. The ergos are perfect for city commuting and the bike feels almost weightless. It's a traffic jam ultimate weapon. Oh, and I was 3 times faster around the local go kart track first day I took it there then I ever was on my gixer. On tarmac it bloody rails! Just sort the tire pressures, set the suspension for ya and it will cut through any corner with laser precision. And if you had enough on the street just jump off the tarmac and make your way through that lawn or park. Thanks to this bike I'm starting to discover the pleasures and joys of dirt riding. It's just a set of dirt bike wheels away from a serious trail bike. But surprisingly the tires are quite capable off road and the bike climbs hills pretty well, just stay away from mud, deep gravel or wet grass. The motor is no monster, but it's healthy, smooth and has a modern feel to it. Actually it's a bit more than I expected it to be after reading some other reviews. The bike pulls to 60mph real fast and then tops out at around 100. By the way I suggest using mototune usa break in method. I rode it hard from 0 km, used mineral oil, changed it quite frequently and switched to synthetic a couple of days ago with 1500 miles on the clock. The motor feels really strong and never misses a beat. Pros: Looks funky, completely reliable, handles beautifully, seriously cheap to run, excellent build quality (I mean it), good adjustable suspension, breaks have good power and feel, and it's not intimidating to ride but tons and tons of fun. If you have never managed a rolling stoppie in your life you will on this puppy, trust me on that one. And it crashes well too: I looped it in 5th doing 80mph and all the damage went to the rear lights, kickstand and handlebar protector. Gixer wouldn't be even rideable after such one. Cons: Seat is hard and pain in the butt after an hour of riding, especially if you ride in jeans (leathers seem to do a trick and it's not so bad). Avoid highways or you will bore yourself to death. Could use another 50cc of motor. It's not a beast like other SM's from Husky, Husaberg or KTM but I prefer Suzuki's reliability instead. Radiators and engine cases are the weak points, invest on guards without thinking about it for too long. Standard Dunlops are ok, but not great, I wouldn't buy them again. Pilot Powers seem to be the choice for ultimate performance on tarmac and Avon Distanzias are the ones to go if you like to jump off the road occasionally and still have excellent grip on the road. Verdict: So is it a perfect bike? No, no doubt about it. It has its clear weak points. But for what I use it's probably the best choice. It's hard to find a better bike for city use and it's an absolute blast around a go kart track. Is it the most fun bike I've ever been on? Oh yes, no doubt about that either! Besides it's so much less expensive to buy, run, maintain and repair than a sports bike. I know many of you are hesitating like I was. But give it a try and I'm sure you won't be disappointed. I'm yet to hear of someone feeling sorry for getting this fabulous bike. Many of my riding buddies on sports bikes think I'm some kind of eccentric odd twat who dumped a mighty gixer for this weak mosquito. But I just keep smiling in my helmet and feel being one step ahead of them and somewhat smarter.
- Vee, Vilnius, Lithuania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-11 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a blast!! Coming from a racing background I didn't know what to expect at first, but I'm glad to say that I am not disappointed in any way. It handles great, and is very flickable in the tight twists. After jumping it pretty good a couple times I noticed that the stock suspension (for me anyway) is a little mushy, but just a couple clicks on the shocks will fix that. On the roller coaster roads that we have around here I can go into any turn a whole lot hotter than I ever could on my old R1, and I knew that would happen. LIGHT + STREET TIRES = :-)on super tight roads. As for the seat being uncomfortable, I'm having way too much fun on the bike to even notice!:-) Two thumbs up from me.....
- Clayton, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-08 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Easy handling, quick steering. Very light weight, nice suspension - adjustable - stops well, just remember to use both front and rear brakes. Terrible seat though. Faster than you would think. Just rev it. Great style. Gas tank too small for real exploring, but you can work around that. VERY capable in the curves, and you're not tired when you get home.
- charles, LaGrange, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-01 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike just is everything that you could want all in one. You can zoom out the 58 to POZO, when you get there, you can hit the fire roads and have a blast. I can't really put this bike into words. I've had it for less than 4 weeks and already have 2400 miles! YEAH
- Brian Camper, Atascadero, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-19 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike after a 15-year absence from the sport, and I have loved every kilometer that I have logged so far. This bike is fast, handles great, turns heads and starts conversations. (Even the Harley snobs want to talk about this bike!). The seat is a little hard, so I have ordered a gel seat that will also give me an inch less to reach the ground, which is nice because this bike is tall. But the fact that it is very light makes this a non-issue at stops.
- Mike M, Victoria, BC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-08 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my bike Monday this week and haven't ridden a motorbike in over 20 years (pushing late 30s). Researched bikes for about three months zoomed in for a while on KTM's 640 Adventure, Husky's TE610 and sm610, passing interest in Suzuki UNTIL I started reading user reviews. The KTM's are too heavy and expensive for a "first" bike; the Husky's have a spotty reliability record (best looking bikes of the group, though). But the more I researched, the more I realized that the Suzuki DR-Z is THE strong, reliable (very important to me) and AWESOME performer of the pack. So made my trip to the dealer, paid the guy, put on my helmet, and rode into some of the most challenging traffic in my small city. WHAT A THRILL RIDE. I expected to be a bit underwhelmed by the power - I was totally wrong. This bike rolled to 80 mph in no time at all. Handles like nothing I have ever experienced before - tight, agile, responsive, and best of all, quick. I have absolutely no regrets and got a great deal. I know it's early in my ownership, but I love this bike. I can accelerate, shift, weave, brake, and ride with confidence. I guarantee that performance has more to do with the bike than the rider, at this point. Looking forward to putting a couple thousand fun filled (and reliable!) miles on the ODO this year.
- Matt Beers, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-12 2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved the bike's handling in stock form but was not happy with the performance. I had many performance mods planned but after putting on a Leovince slip-on and re-jetting (not required, but I would suggest it) the bike now runs and sounds like it should. I originally used the quiet insert but it sounded to close to stock - still, a good increase in power. However, I put the loud insert in and it sounds like a healthy 4 stroke. It will now do roll on wheelies in 2nd gear and easily pull to 100. I also put on hand guards and a UFO fender to clean up the back. The one word all my sport-bike friends say after they ride it is "fun". It is also fun waiting up for them!
- Rick Roetcisoender, Federal Way, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-21 2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As an owner of a DRZ 400E (the electric start dirt version), I was already well acquainted with the performance of this powerplant. The new fork is especially noticeable as is the over sized front disk. It is difficult to keep the REAR wheel on the ground during hard braking. I will pipe and jet this bike to get that extra oomph. I have never leaned over so far on any bike I have owned, those tires are sticky.
- Chris Armitage, Kalamazoo , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-19 2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a voulsia a couple of years ago and was not to thrilled with a cruiser. I wanted something FUN to ride. I found a dealer with a black drz400sm that was willing to deal. I rode home with it. It sure is a lot more fun. It is light and quick. I am getting 55 mpg back and forth to work. It has a 5th gear that is good for 50+mph. Cruises comfortably 60-70 mph. Not a sport tourer but a great commuter. Needs a seat if you plan to spend more than 20-30 minutes at a time sitting on it. Corbin makes a nice looking one. There are also some custom seats available.
- John Swanekamp, Hamburg, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: