Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki DR-Z400SM reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

26 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

capt gary

wesley chapel, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the first bike I have ever owned that was not a Yamaha. I was a Yamaha dealer in Connecticut for several years, many years ago. I still own a 2008 Yamaha XT 250. I traded a 2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 custom for the 2009 DR-Z400SM. It's 200-plus pounds lighter and all around, a great bike to ride. It's not as comfortable at 80 mph. as the V-Star, but all other factors considered, more fun to ride. There are lots of "goodies" to buy to make the bike your own. The "gel" seat from Suzuki is worth every penny. The water cooled engine a huge plus, inverted shocks much better ride, Excel wheels are a great upgrade. All in all, it's a great bike in every way. The dealership is also a super place to buy a bike. This was the third in three years. Thanks for the great customer service at both locations.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chelsea

Cumberland, Rhode Island

Reviewed on 2010-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Now that I've got some decent miles on the bike I figured I would give an update on it. The bike begs for tight back roads(living in New England there are plenty!). The brakes are good and under hard braking the bike is still controllable. The supermoto tires are fairly good on dirt, they make it a little bit iffy and suck in the sand. Unless you plan on racing it if you're gonna spend any amount of time on the dirt you should get maybe the dual tires or a set of motocross tires, but it's still a ton of fun. I do wish it had a gas gauge or light like the GSXR's do.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William

Oak Harbor, Washington

Reviewed on 2010-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is designed for anyone who wants to get the feel of super motard riding. It's very entertaining bike to ride and has a surprising amount of power for a single piston 398 ccm engine. The top speed I reached was 90 Mph, and went 0 - 60 in 5 to 6 seconds. It's top speed is not particularly impressive but this bike seems to be setup for in town driving not long trips. In my opinion the DRZ 400SM is very diverse and suitable for a wide variety of motorcycle riders. This bike is very durable, I hit a 90 to 100lbs blacktail doe at 60Mph and the only thing I needed to fix was my steering alignment. The only complaint I have is the tank size, it's just too small. I commute 24 miles a day and I have to refill my tank more or less every two days.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kirk

Simi Valley, California

Reviewed on 2009-11-22

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What I've learned after riding this motorcycle for awhile is the jet kit and the exhaust upgrade really help. don't bother cutting the air-box because you will lose some low end and throttle response and jetting become pretty tricky. I fixed the problem by taping over part of the air-box lid and that helped a lot. I recently installed the Suzuki Accessories Super Moto front cowling and the cool factor went way up! This bike is a winner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick

Clovis, California

Reviewed on 2008-01-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
To be honest, I've never been compelled to write a review on anything I've bought before. I bought a 05 SM a year ago; I was looking for a dirt bike, but couldn't justify something I'd be riding occasionally on weekends. I also saw no reason to get an 80% dirt / 20% street bike and the SM fit the bill. With the street wheels, this is a 100% road bike that is a blast to ride in tight canyons, and 55mpg for a short commute to work is exceptional. Top speed is about 100 mph, and it will hold it without complaining. I've made several long trips and the only think I can complain about is the monkey butt and short 100 mile range (which I guess actually helps the monkey butt on long trips). But what about the dirt? It cost about $1000 for the whole conversion (new wheels, sprocket, chain, spare brake rotors, and a little engine armor). With about an hour quick change, swap wheels and a chain and you now have yourself a 100% dirt bike. The speedo cable didn't fit to the aftermarket hubs, so I figure I get free dirt miles. The way I see it, I spent my money and got 2 sweet bikes in one package. It's not the fastest bike, but with a 52 tooth rear sprocket it's got plenty of pep in the dirt for climbing steep hills and clearing table tops. The only catch here is the extra 50 lbs or so over other dirt bikes this size. And that's where I say, I am convinced this could be the perfect bike. It's a really fun road bike and an equally fun dirt bike... without sacrifice. I'm either street riding or dirt riding, there really is no in between, so why get an in between bike like the dual sport? Living in CA I will never have to worry about green stickers because it's plated, plus you get upgraded brakes and suspension with the SM, it just makes sense. Best bike ever!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sam

hilo, Hawaii

Reviewed on 2007-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The most fun ever after owning 5 Ninjas, crusiers, and even more fun than my DR650SE. This bike fits me better too. It has so much more comfort and wicked handling to carve up saddle road, even on the gravel part!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

pasystm

denton , Texas

Reviewed on 2007-06-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Updating my experience with the DRZ400SM. Had it 6 months now and have 2000 miles. Engine performance improved slightly over time, but I've since added an fcr carb, rejet and air box mod and shortened the gearing slightly. Totally different bike now. Bike handles so well and has good braking feel. Wheelies like a dream. Just down on power...could use about 15hp more. Still an awesome bike for urban environment. don't want to be on anything else around town. Quality is excellent and I've had no comfort problems. Get rid of the stock D208S as soon as you can.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tyler Mitchell

Des Moines, Iowa

Reviewed on 2007-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have a black 2005 DRZ SM. Love it. I have ridden everything big, small, on, and off road. This bike simply rules the asphalt and most other terrain. Burnout, wheelie, and do just about whatever you want without problem. The bike is amazing. I spin around on grass and fly over jumps on dirt - it's hours of fun that I never get tired of. Highly recommend getting one for yourself soon.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Martin

Spokane , Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I now have a little over two thousand miles on my DRZ 400 SM. I have installed a Yoshimura exhaust system, jet kit, K&N airfilter and modified my air box and this thing flat rips! If you want to ride a bike that will embarass larger and more powerful sport bikes in the twisties, look no more. It always makes me laugh when the sport bike guys look at my bike and dismiss it as just a dirt bike with street wheels and tires. You should see the look on their face when they look at the tires and realize that there are no chicken strips left on the rubber, that's what happens when you lean to the max. Pound for pound and dollar for dollar you will not find a better value for your hard earned money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane

Ft. Collins, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-04-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR-Z400SM

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike, very very little buzz in the bars. Rode a friend's motard and it vibrated so bad my hands went numb. The Suzuki is strangled from the factory, but with a couple very easy mods, it wakes right up. After break-in I noticed a huge increase in power, and shortly after that I added a K&N jet kit. The bike will pull almost 100 mph. Great for in town, but the fuel range limits you to about 130 miles if you ride like I do. I've been getting a little above 50 mpg, and I have no doubt I could get over 60 out of it, but it's way too fun to crank the throttle!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 26 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: