Suzuki DR200SE Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki DR200SE Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki DR200SE Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-10-21 2006 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2006 DR200SE 3 months ago (my first ever street-legal bike). I've already passed the 5000km mark with no indication of slowing down. It handles excellent in the city, but only so-so in mud or sand. Perhaps a wider rear tire could improve this (like the Yamaha TW200). The small air-cooled engine makes maintenance a snap. With the exception of the intital 1000km servicing, I've managed to do all maintenance myself. For the city or the trails it's great, but I found it a little too underpowered for the highway. On a good day I can get 115km/hr out of it, but if there's any kind of head-wind I'm lucky to get 90km/hr. Gas milage is unbeleivable. The 13 litre tank will get me close to 350km in the city before having to switch to reserve. The low weight is a double edged sword. The 250lbs make it a great bike on tight trails, and affords beginner riders a great sense of confidence. However on the highway, the wind can throw the light frame around a bit. I do just fine on the back-trails, but suffer on the highway ride to get there.
- Wuitey, Edmonton

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-10 2006 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife has never attempted to ride a motorcycle in her life. She would attend events with me and watch. She asked for her own bike and said she liked the "little Suzuki". Once on the bike, it took her about 20 minutes to feel she was ready to try the trails. She has put 600 miles of trails on the bike. Now she asks me to go ride. When Mom is happy, everyone is happy. Thank you, Suzuki...
- Don Burns, Englewood, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-01 2004 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it May 29th 2005 and since put about 3600kms. So far always started runs excellent... very reliable. I followed all procedures including the break-in and found the bike to be running as strong as when I bought it. This bike is good for all terrain depending on rider skill. Unfortunately it doesn't come with a tachometer, so for all you asking where does 5th gear end.. well it's 115kmph if acheivable, according to the Suzuki technical department in Ontario. Needless to say it's not the highway bike of choice, but for someone beginning to ride ( around town ) this is the bike ( THE BIKE ).
- Yves Berthiaume, Sudbury, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-03 2005 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the DR200 new about 2 weeks ago. The bike handles nice and has good gearing and power for a 200, great on off road capabiltes. It gets 80+ mpg and is a strong runner. I would highly recommend the 200, for anyone buying a first bike or needing a smaller bike great, great job on this one Suzuki.
- david kennard, davis, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-24 2005 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike to have fun with!! I had one for many years and now want a bigger one, but it gave me years of fun!!
- Nasir Khan, arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-20 2004 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The DR 200se is a good bike overall. It has never let me down. Peformance of the bike is alright I wouldn't say it was good or bad. The bike tops out somewhere around 90 but once you hit 60 you're pushing it. I beat a honda 250 rebel with it if that says anything about the bike. The bike handles great and drives best on hard packed trails and in the city but not on the highway. The bike is fair in comfort, after about an hour my back starts to hurt. If you like to ride trails and drive down the road legally and don't have much experince with motorcycles, this would be a good bike to consider.
- Andrew Metcalf, Jonesboro, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-17 2004 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't finished the first tank of gas yet. I was looking for something fun to ride yet able to go to work on and the DR200SE fits the bill. So far it handles well and is quick enough in traffic and I find myself taking the long way home through the desert after work. When I get home I have a smile on my face. That tells me the bike was worth it.
- Rick Patton, Las Cruces, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-17 2004 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike replaced my 03 TTR-125. It was originally my dads but we soon found out that I rode it more then him. It is really fast and quick. I've had it up to around 70 on an open field. The back tire could be a little better in the dirt/mud but its all right. I haven't really ridden it on the road yet because I am only 14 but I soon will. haven't found any upgrades for this bike. I can't even find new seat cover or anything. But, it really is a great bike. Recommend it to almost anyone.
- Eric, Orland Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-23 2004 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a bike to replace an aging Honda 100 Trail camp bike/gofer/pit bike and I came across a '98 DR200SE online with only 238 miles on it at a really good price so I jump in the truck and drove like a banshee, not knowing what to expect to find when I got to the guys house. He opened the garage door and the bike was, A BEAUTY! Pristine, not a mark on it, the forks were clean, the undercarriage was clean, and it even had the little "zits" on the tires. But, and this is a big "BUTit was from out of state and here in California they don't allow vehicles with less than 7,500 miles on it to be registered here. Their attitude is; "Take it back where you bought it" So the bike had a major flaw, that and the fact that it had been sitting in the guy's garage for the last 3 years and WOULD NOT START! We pushed it up and down the driveway and nothing. I took a gamble on the little Suzuki and made an offer and he took it and I was the proud owner of an illegal bike that didn't run! (But it was sooooo clean!) Anyway, a carb overhaul ($45), a new battery ($75) and a fuse ($.50) and it ran. I changed the oil and filter and ran it for about 10 miles and changed it again. Yuk! But the shifting got easier every time and she was up and running, except she was illegal. Well, I figured out a way around it. Got it licensed and insured and started riding it! My first ride of about 60 miles had me wishing for a softer seat; the stock seat will give you a bad case of "Monkey Butt!" Maybe a gel foam insert or pad or something. It's okay around camp or around town, but it's a plank! The electric start sure has me spoiled, you just get on and press a button and it goes! The wife, the boy and all the friends love it! Low seat height, low center of gravity, mild power band makes for a simple, easy bike to ride. The stock gearing is too low; I was wishing for a 6th speed at 45mph. I bought a smaller rear sprocket off the Internet and installed it and now the little Suzuki will cruise at 55mph with little or no loss of low-end tractability. I also bought a rear rack and installed it and now can bungee stuff on it. I plan to mount a crate on it to further the effectiveness of the little Suzuki. I recently loaded this bike into the back of the pickup and hooked the travel trailer up and went to the lake and got into ALL kind of trouble with it; gathering firewood, exploring the back roads, found some BLM land and explored that, found some oil company land, rode it on the train tracks, rode it on the freeway, and it just does it all pretty good. The bike needs better tires for off-road use. I've put 1,000 miles on it, no probs. Hop-up parts are non-existent. It's expensive new. If you want a bike that is faster and has more features, buy a Kawasaki KLR-250. (I have one as well). If you want a cute little bike that everyone can ride, and learn on, and around camp and exploring off the beaten path, get a Suzuki.
- Dale, Carmel, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-22 2001 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for about a year now and I love it. Although when right off the showroom floor the suspension is a little bit on the soft side but that is fixable. About the bike being shaky at 60, I find this not at all true I have had it up to 85 and it was real smooth.
- Marc K, Stevensville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-07 2004 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
AN EASY BIKE TO RIDE IN THE WOODS OR THE STEET, GETTING 81 MPG AT 50 - 55 MPH, FEET FIT FLAT ON THE GROUND GIVING THE FEELING OF CONFIDENCE AND CONTROL, TIRES ARE POOR IN MUD AND SAND, BIKE IS HARD TO CONTROL, STARTS RIGHT UP, SHIFTS WELL, GREAT PAINT JOB, BIKE LOOKS GREAT, MENT TO CRUISE ON STREET AT 55 MPH, WITH GAS AND OIL, BIKE WEIGHS OVER 260,MUCH EASIER THAN LARGER BIKE TO HANDLE IN THE WOODS. STEERS WELL, CORNERS WELL, STOPS GOOD. WOULD BE EVEN BETTER IF IT WAS AROUND 230 LBS, BUT NO CAN DO IT SEEMS. IT IS NECESSARY NOW TO HAVE A STREET LEGAL BIKE TO GET TO WHERE YOU WANT TO RIDE SINCE MOST AREAS ARE CLOSED TO HUNTING CLUBS, I NOW HAVE A HONDA XR 200 BUT IT CANT GO ON THE STREET, CASE CLOSED, THE DR WILL DO WELL. OWNED A PREVIOUS DR 200, AN 86, NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT, HAD IT FOR TWELVE YEARS, THIS ONE IS AN IMPROVEMENT OVER THAT, THE HONDA REPLACED THE 86, BUT NOW WITHOUT A HEADLIGHT AND THE REST, YOU CANT DRIVE OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY WITH IT, LEGALLY THAT IS. THE DR 200 WILL PUT A SMILE ON ANYBODYS FACE, THANK YOU SUZUKI !
- EDDY JOHNSON, CROSS CITY, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-26 2002 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great lightweight dualsport that's awesome off road (providing you take your time and not go super fast this bike will go anywhere)and good as a commuter on the road. The gearing however is low (catered to off-road) so freeway jaunts are pushing it. Around town it's an A+ and is great on gas. I've been riding for 17 years and find this bike truly fun. An aftermarket FMF universal pipe, an increase to a #135 main jet, and a couple of strategic holes drilled in the airbox and you've increased power by about 20%.
- Colin, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-15 2001 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike!! I ride it most days to work, and then during lunch, also take it on the trails. I also ride on the weekends with friends, who have truly MX bikes. Bottom line: the bike handles most situations well, and NEVER breaks down.
- rich ingersoll, durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-13 2001 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for almost (40) years and have owned all sorts of motorcycles from full dress Harleys to 90cc trail bikes. The Suzuki DR200SE is a great little bike for running around town or for back roads trips. My wife and I bring this little bike with us to the Americade rally and other events where we want to go by car and yet have a bike to run around with when we get there. I have (3) other bikes, 1200 Suzuki, DR650 Suzuki and R/75 BMW but find I always go for the DR200 when going on short hops.
- Ron Gaylord, Windsor, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-26 2001 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike at the end of 2000. I haven't had a problem yet. I was sort of skeptical at first being a firm Honda lover, but this bike has turned out awesome. I've heard people talk about the handeling over 60mph, I have done 80mph on it no problem w/o any handeling difficuities. Each bike is different though. My father and i can both ride on it comfortable and it still has plenty of power and awesome handeling. Off road rideing is a blast. Mud, jumps, doughnuts, it'll do it all. Fuel economy on it is great. You can't beat this bike for the price.
- Larry Camp, Duncan, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 2000 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The stock bars bend real easy but the rest of the bike is hard to brake(trust me I've tried!) Its not real fast.I had it up to 80 mph with my 200 lb. butt on it and at 6 ft tall I felt a little to big. A good bike to learn with.
- orange, usa, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-07 2001 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I bought this bike, I was kinda thinkin it wouldn't be all what people made it out to be. I was wrong, whatever people tell you about this bike (good things) is absolutly true...No matter how hard I beat the piss out of it, not once has it stall, break down, or break up for that matter...its the best bike for beginers and intermediate riders...although it does get a little shaky after 60mph...Trail riding is so much easier for me. The suspension is great too.
- Rider, Boon Docks, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-11 2001 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about 2 months ago at the advice of a friend pushing enduros as the best thing for inner city get-arounds. Well I cant even tell you what a head-turnin, pothole hoppin traffic dodgin lil machine this turned out to be. I ride with a pretty wild bunch that love to ride hard and this bike has no problem keepin up with other bikes above its class... Although after about 60 mph a slight (not uncontrollable shake) develops in the steering...and the seat is painful if you intend to ride anything over an 1 to 2 hrs at a time. After market products are hard to find I.E. a gel seat which is desperately needed on this bike...However there are many pluses. 1 being great fuel economy 2: quick as hell 3: rides a passenger without a great deal of loss in control or speed plus many more. . All in all this bike is great for the price and anyone who needs to get around a metro area it sucks up pot holes that would swallow a sport bike and spit out its bent rims
- Built To Last Rider , Brookyln, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-08 2001 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I went out and bought it brand-new at a dealership near my house. I've been pleased ever since I got on it and rode it in the parking lot. It is very fast and stylish but as we all know fast and stylish isn't everything but handling and power are and this bike has it. For a 200 dual-sport it is a package especially for $3,899. I love it and you can get a kick starter for it for about $200.
- Brandon Osborne (moto enthuasist), Clarksville,Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-01 2000 Suzuki DR200SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
sup, this ride is alright if u live in the city and don't need to hit the highways. Its buzzy feel lets u know it's running so it's a good thing in its own way. Its lack of speed will make u wish for a biger and better bike. And since there are no after market parts around, tuff luck in the speed area. The bike is good for the ride to work and home. For the money it's worth a good ride. It's light, and towering feel is "ok" for the dirt. I think it still needs the power up-grade for the trail but it'll roll with the big guys on dirtbikes so don't start cryin'. I've bolted through the side roads at 50mph to chase some kid on a 250 dirtbike before, so it's not bad. If u need a bike that can't die on u this is the lil devil. Enjoy and ride safe (ALWAYS WEAR A LID WHEN ON TWO WHEELS).
- John, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: