Suzuki GS500 Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki GS500 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki GS500 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-13 2002 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike to learn to ride on. The power delivery is smooth and not scary. There is enough there to cruise on the highway and more than enough to stay ahead of traffic in town. This is a bare bones bike, no frills or flash, but it gets the job done and puts a smile on your face while doing it. If you are looking for a bike that will blow everything away, you're looking in the wrong place. If you are looking for a bike that is reliable, cheap to operate, easy to work on and is lots of fun to use as a commuter, this is that bike. My only real gripe is the leg room for someone with a 32" inseam is a little tight. And someone that is "bigger" is going to find the suspension doesn't like you much (it will also have a negative effect on the acceleration) After I rode the bike for a month, I thought I was ready for an upgrade. I was looking for more acceleration. But if you use the gears more, it is okay. It won't blow your hair back, but you won't be in anyone's way. Just remember this is a Honda Civic equivalent, not a Corvette.
- madjak30, Sylvan Lake, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-04 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded my 95 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 straight across for this GS500, it only had 2600 miles on it when I got it. I wasn't sure if I was going to like the bike. I had never ridden a sport bike before. But I am in love with this bike. It's so nimble and for a 500 it gets up and goes. I am going to put a new exhaust and jet kit on it. It doesn't breathe well with the stock exhaust but that's an easy fix. It is the naked version, has only the little cafe winscreen on it, and the only thing I can say I have to get use to is so much wind while I'm riding. The bike has already made me a better rider. I can dive into corners and the bike just flows so smoothly through them. I'm so excited for the summer riding season.. Have to say..Great bike, and a wonderful starter bike for anyone. It's very easy to handle.
- Janelle Conzet, Clearlake, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-03 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not ridden until 2002, this sweet ride commuted on the highways for all it's life. Maintained well, made life a no breakdown joy. Overall cost per mile includes: purchase, helmet, jacket, pants, gloves, fuel, insurance, all maintanence = $0.236/mile ... unbeatable! Totally satisfied. Original clutch, all electrics, wheels, exhaust, gearbox, engine. Replaced moving steering and suspension parts, tires, oil and brakes. What a wonderful ride. If you've read this far, then you'll enjoy the ride impression that follows. This bike is the core design for the 500cc World Class win for Suzuki. Hard braking in a deep corner produces not a single tremble. Highway interchanges, country two lane blacktop, it is all about sweepers, button hooks, decreasing and increasing radius .. the corners! Wear kneepads. This chassis is the race chassis. Class leading power is there, crusing at 50mpg, 6Krpm, strong headwind, no problem. It is light and feels light. It can be tossed all over the place. The Cross Bronx, The Deegan, Henry Hudson, all demand that. The NJ Turnpike, the GS Parkway, I287, 280, 195, 95, 80, and 78 all require the need for power. Getting from cruise to warp factor 1, is smooth and very comfortable. The Interstate is no problem. Traffic...at idle, you can move on the clutch, it creeps supurbly. This is not just a beginner ride. It is the Chevy Cobalt RT, the Nissan Sentra R, et al. A 175mph ride is fun, but just about the time you get to speed, you've got to stop and pay a toll. This is the NY/NJ metro area, not El Paso County. Fast and agile this is a ride to keep and enjoy. You will arrive at work and home relaxed, thrilled and smiling, day after day. I almost forgot. Fast and sure in all rain. Stable and easy in the snow. Join the Motorcycle Gang: RIDE TO WORK / WORK TO RIDE!
- Joseph Reed, Bloomfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-20 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about two months ago as my first bike. It is a great bike to build confidence in. People told me that I would outgrow it quickly and want a more powerful bike. I am now ready to get into an SV or 600 class bike. The reason though is because of the GS. It helps build the confidence and skills you need to be safe on the road. I love the bike. It is was not that quick, but when I found out its sweet spot in the RPM zone it picked up a lot faster. This is a great bike to just go out and ride. It is very nimble and feels very light. I would recommend this bike to any beginner or anyone who just wants to get on two wheels and does not need to go at triple digit speeds. Its a blast to ride around town.
- Jairo, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-10 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my '99 GS 500E right after completing MSC course. I am 6'4, 220 lbs and I fit on this bike! Plenty of power, fun and easy to move quickly through the gears, handles corners very nicely, feels well planted for a small bike. Due to great handling and smooth ride, encourages you to go faster. As your confidence grows, the bike can take you to the next level. Soon you will be zipping through those s curves with a big smile. When you master this one, you can ride anything. Only complaint was no bottom end torque (have to slip clutch to get going), but you get used to it quickly..
- Don B, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-26 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine in August 2002 and now nearing February i'm still riding. Perfect for the Queens to Manhattan commute. It has never failed to start whether it was over 100 deg. or below 10 deg. and have never had one problem with it. Have logged in 2500 miles in 5 months and the bike has run like a dream. Pretty enough to get a few looks and cheap enough to park in the street without losing sleep. And the money I save in parking and tickets pays for the bike. It's my first bike and I have yet to desire something bigger or more powerful. Plus one very important point, its very easy and cheap to maintain. I'm 5'6" 145 LBS and can handle it's 381 pound weight without a problem. Hooked it up with a flyscreen and new pipes for the spring...and I'm set. Need a neat little first bike that definitely is not a toy....try the GS500!
- juggernaught, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-25 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I;ve been riding bikes for 30 years. Sure, there are plenty of bikes out there that will go much faster. But for the vast majority of riding that I do, this bike does it well. It's cheap to buy, insure and operate, and it's practically bullet-proof. Get a jet kit for the carbs and double your fun. You can't beat this bike for what it was designed to do. Hey - they're not making them anymore, but not because it wasn't a good scoot!
- S. Eubanks, Benbrook, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-22 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a beginner and just bought an 01 with 1800 miles for $3000, and it has an aftermarket exhaust and small winshield. For very little $ I got an almost new almost perfect condition motorcycle to buzz around town on. The bike runs great. As listed in the other reviews, the fork really IS kind of soft when you hit a bump or something, but that's about the only complaint. I find it quite comfortable as far as riding position, I am 5'6". This is a bike that I think runs nicely, handles nicely, and looks cool too if you like the naked look. It has a good quality feel to it, even though it's inexpensive. It's unintimidating, but it doesn't look like a toy either. Obviously, it's no rocket, and if you are looking for a huge adrenaline rush you probably will soon want a bike with more hp. This is a great bike though with PLENTY of power and good handling for people who want a low cost ride for commuting or buzzing around town like me. Or, it would be great for someone who is just beginning to practice on for a few months, and if you sell it in a few months and you haven't rashed it all up, you won't lose much money on it. I think it would be easy to sell this bike too. So unless you are REALLY power hungry, get one! It's nice.
- Thorsdottir, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-07 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been my first. The break-in period (first 600 miles) I had to keep it under 5,000 rpm. I got use to that then after the break-in I had another 5,000 rpm to play with (redline is 11,000 rpm) Felt, Sounded, and Accelerated like a totally different bike. No problems, just change the oil. For an unintimidating first bike, that can do 115 mph without the throttle opened all the way, it is a good buy.
- James Harman, Nevada, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-29 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I am disappointed in its lethargic performance. I've been on mopeds with more pickup than this thing! I outgrew the GS500 in a day. The only good things about the GS are the seat height and the fuel mileage. For $1000 less, I could have bought the 250 Ninja. For $1000 more, I could have had the 500 Ninja. I have a deposit on a 2003 Yamaha R6 Oh well, you learn from your mistakes.
- Pete, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-06 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. Everyone told me to get a 250cc as a starter bike but one friend told me I would get bored quick. So I went with this bike as an interim to a 600cc. I think this is great for a person who truly wants a starter bike but after 4 months and riding with other friends who had 600cc's, I got bored and now I long for a faster bike. I think you should get the SV650, its only $1500 more and you get alot more; it has more HP, more CC, and weighs the same. This bike is kinda top heavy! (Well, at least its hard for me to pick it up when I drop it; I'm 5'0" and 100 pounds!) I got a custom Corbin seat and its heavenly. PS - Has anyone bought the windshield?
- Lilly Souksamlane, Berkeley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-02 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 GS after a bunch of years not riding. The rider positioning was just right for a newer rider that may want to go more agressive later on. The performance of the bike was as advertised, but a little disappointing on the highway.I sold mine after 3 months and moved on to a cruiser.
- Sptrider, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-09 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My GS is a 2000 model, and I can't say enough good about this bike. If you want a motorcycle that you can ride all the time this is the bike you want. I put over 1000 miles on this bike in less than a month, and I didn't take any long trips. I may have taken the long way home a few times, but what the heck, right? The best thing about this bike is that it takes virtually no effort to ride. My dad has an 800cc BMW that he maybe rides once a week. It just seems like a big hassle for him to get it ready for a ride. All I do is pull my bike out of the garage, start it, put on my jacket and helmet, and off I go. After taking the long way home I sometimes suffer from numb buns, but it's a small price to pay.
- Turner, Macon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-27 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a brand new '01 gs500. it has been broken in with over 1000 miles. This is my first bike. It has enough speed and maneuverability for any rider. going over 100 MPH is an intense feeling although dangerous. don't judge this 500. It can handle GP abuse! I put universal cafe fairing on it, replaced handlebars, which lowered it...replaced bar grips, took off the center stand, and will soon add a nice rear seat cowling. this bike is very similar to the ex500, just a little more top end, that's all. They are both equally capable.
- 2FAST4ME, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-07 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
light easy to handle I have a brand new GS500 2001. I love it! It is light and easy to handle. The only flaw is that the seat is very hard, but is easy to fix. It takes a long time to warm up. It is great on gas, with over 50 mpg. It is lots of fun and I would recomend this bike to any new rider.
- Mark, Cottage Grove Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-27 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My GS500 is actually a 1989. I choose to write because I'm so impressed by this little 12-year old bike. I purchased my bike new a while back with only 15000 miles on it. The thing runs like it's brand new (I know, I've test ridden the 2001 model). I would recommend this bike to anyone starting out (like myself) but also to veteran riders looking for a cheap, reliable ride to scoot around town or day day-trips on. This little 487cc engine has more than enough power to get you in trouble, but its power delivery can be controlled so it doesn't seem overwhelming to a newbie like me (e.g., it will easily outrun any normal vehicle on 4-wheels). It also gets between 45-60 MPG between my aggressive city-highway riding. Faults? Well, every bike has them. The only thing I can see is that the front fork tends to bottom out on large holes in the road (particularly when you're using the front brake) and it tends to take a about 2-5 minutes to fully warm up here in Colorado. Speaking of Colorado, I've taken up to 7000-10000 foot passes and it performs flawlessly with a downshift or two. One more note: I'm over 6 foot and weigh around 225 pounds, and again, it has more than enough power to scoot me around very quickly. Bottom line: If you're looking for a fun little bike, get one! If you're looking for a cheap and reliable bike, get one! If you're looking for a bike that will do almost everything with little fuss, get one!
- Scott, Fort Collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-03 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my bike last March from the bike show. I just got my license last October. I wanted a good all around bike that would not be too intimidating to learn on and one that I would not grow out of easily. I definitely made the right choice. The 2001 GS500 is a great bike with great looks. It's cheap to buy, maintain, and insure. I take it out with my wife on the back most of the time and there is plenty of room and power for two. I love the classic unfaired look! A pipe, filter, and jet kit would spice up the performance.
- Noel Saraza, Brampton Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-25 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Anyone who doubts the performance of this little 500, hasnt driven it properly. Its my only my second bike, but I've driven many, and can easily say this is the most forgiving ever. Acceleration is great, and with the right tire, you can lay her right down in the curves. Top speed is supposedly 190km'h, but good luck getting past 180km/h. In fact thats about the only downer about this bike: not very good high speed roll on. After you hit 160km/h, you sluggin it; but up to 160km/h is nooo problem. Front suspension is a bit too soft, but a fork oil change solves that problem quickly. And the rear suspension is adjustable which is great. You can set it up for blasting through the winding side roads, or for two-upping. Off the line, shes great, and you can stand her up easy if you know how. Its a it slower then a EX500 Ninja, but way more for your money (significantly cheaper). With a few changes (tire, fork oil, air filter, and pipe), its runs just as fast as any EX; but sounds waaay better. So if you like the stylish unfaired look, and want an easy to ride bike with a lot of "bang for your buck", Suzuki's GS500e is the bike for you.
- Andrew Foran, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-06 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My racing red '94 was the best street bike I ever had...and I've owned all kinds of streetbikes too....very reliable, great looks, handling, acceleration, fit & finish...was able to top out at 105mph with a set of splitfire sparkplugs & synthetic oil...actually sold it last summer for $$$ than I had paid for it years ago!...seems like everyone wants one!...plus the local state police safe rider course instructor recommends this bike!...I even had no problem with two -up riding!...buy one & enjoy this lil' gem with ease of maintenance too!
- rider, Dunmore, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2001 Suzuki GS500 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my bike in June of 2000, and she is my first ride. She is real peppy in the city, with the lower gears to easily allow you to get in and out of traffic. On the highway, anything above 120 km/h (65 mph) she gets a little squirrily. It tops out at 165 km/h (approx. 92 mph) and that is fine...so long as you aren't riding with true sport bikes. Suzuki was able to blend the speed bike handling with the cruiser comfort with this bike. In the 5 months I had her on the road, I racked up 8000 km. It is a real joy to ride, and you will always find something new you can do with her. Although I plan on selling her in another year, learning off of this bike instead of a powerhouse sport bike or a monsterous cruiser will allow anyone new to the game the confidence to learn with ease. The only issues I have with the bike is having to stop every several hours to....ahem...adjust yourself. A cushier seat for those long rides would be beneficial indeed. Cold starts are hard sometimes...not fuel injected. I would recommend this bike to anyone who has never riden before, but to the more experienced, go after something you won't out grow within 2 years.
- John Vanderhout, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: