Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki GSX1100F Katana reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tim

Greenwood, Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-08-06

Motorcycle reviewed1988 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a bike. I bought this powerhouse from a friend at work. He bought it new, and it now has about 50,000 miles on it. I replaced a couple beat-up lower covers and added a paint job. It rides and looks like a new bike. I'm amazed at the power and ride from this 18 yaer old sport-cruiser with 50,000 miles on it. This brute is capable of anything a new bike is at a fraction of the price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Philip Harris

Israel

Reviewed on 2003-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Riding the GSX1100F 1992 Katana on the highways (Freeways in USA language) is the only place I can get the bike to exercise the power in it. Doing 20 miles a day, to work and back just allows the bike to warm up. On the week ends, with less traffic on the roads, I take the Katana to open stretches and feel the power enclosed in it. Had the bike for 3 years and am enjoing every moment of it. What bothers me is the extreme weight of the bike, and the signalling lights that are of a unique shape and are hard to get. Also the Rear mirrors are not exchangeable with any after markets. In general a great bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

terry

asheville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
just bought a '93 big Kat with 8500 original miles. have been off last bike for two years ('97 zx-9r). more power than the 9, but much more buzzy and not as planted suspension wise. i assume it's because it's a lower tech engine and suspension. looks absolutely beautiful! not nearly as heavy feeling as others say. my old hurricane 1000 was more top heavy. harder to go slow in this bike, the engine wants to rev...9 was easier to ride real slow than this one. still figuring it out after 70 miles, but day one i give her a 4 performance and plantedness and a 5 for looks.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary S

Bend, Oregon

Reviewed on 2003-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 1988 GSX1100F for $1500 wiyh 30,000 miles on it.The last owner upgraded it with GSXR wheels (for fatter taller tires),4 piston brakes and a 750 GSXR head (for larger valves)that was not clearensed correctly so it slammed a valve through the top of the #1 piston. For $500 I put in a new piston 16 valves and set of rings + manual timing chain adjuster. I have put 2000 miles on it since. I love the bike, it rocks. I raced a dodge viper at a traffic light on the edge of town. I beat him so bad he did not even stand a chance, it was like he was chained to a tree. I get alot of looks and complements on the bike. I have a brand new maroon paint job and no logos. Everyone asks what kind of bike it is, and what year it is. I can hardly wait until spring when I can run it up to 140mph +. Its very easy to ride and steer so dont be afraid of the size, 600lbs and 110hp+. I had a chance to buy a couple years newer and smaller (600-750cc)bikes, but after riding with those owners my Katana is the best that I could have done for $2000. It walks right away from them! I love it and will not sell it for twice the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Binggy

Philippines

Reviewed on 2002-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My GSX1100f is a 1990 model although the series was unchanged from 1989-1993 (1996 in some countries) so they're practically the same bikes. I was fortunate enough to land a used one in pristine condition and with only 10k miles on it. Having come from a Yamaha Virago 250cc and a Kawasaki ZZR400, this jump to the liter bike class was an extreme move to say the least. The big Katana is one mean machine with an incredible amount of power. Prior to owning this bike, the fastest i had gone was 175kph ... and those were scary attempts at pretending to be a speed demon. On the Katana, I've done lots of 200+kph runs with an achieved top speed of 240kph (with more to spare.) What makes the exerience so much more unbelievable is how stable the bike performs when running at those dizzying speeds. The bike fools the rider into feeling that you're only travelling at 120kph when in reality, you're already doing 200kph. At close to 600lbs wet, the bike is indeed heavy but for its intended sport-touring purpose, it's perfect. I normally like to take leisure cruising speed rides but have on quite a few occassions been irritated by bikers on their Kawasaki ZX6R's and Honda F4i's who think they've got the meanest machines on the road. On these occurrences, I've "unwisely" been goaded into showing them a thing or two about the concept of displacement. My newest bike is a bnew R6 but i'm keeping my Katana to be my long-term long ride buddy. It may not be much of a looker but it's very comfortable, stable and powerful.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joshua Shaw

Potsdam

Reviewed on 2002-04-07

Motorcycle reviewed1988 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I actually have an '89 but it is practically the same bike. It is approaching 35k and it is still running strong. Have had no problems with it other then normal maintenance(brakes, oil change,etc.). Would recommend this bike to any rider with some experience. This bike will still rip and pull the front tire with the best of them.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2001-05-16

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
good dealer Recently bought my 1993 GSX1100 from Cycleworld Suzuki.The motorcycle is very nice.It has tons of power and handles great.I had a problem with the chain which Cycleworld fixed immediately.I have had an excellent experience with this dealership and this motorcycle.I look forward to many enjoyable miles of riding on my GSX1100.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Vancouver

Reviewed on 2001-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed1988 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Hey...I gotta tell you the bad things first..it's heavy..it's buzzy...the mirrors really show of my elbows well and the power windscreen is a gimmick that really drives the air to your head. OK so enough of that, this bike is a powerhorse. If your looking for a inexpensive sport tourer..take a test ride on one of these baby's. My Kat has 19000 miles on it and is still strong.It has a very soft ride..good for those expansion cracks..hehe. But this bike screams....high 10's in the 1/4 under 3.0 in the 0-60. Great midrange power for pulling past those 18 wheelers...and hey this bike is cheap nowadays. I Have to rate it as a 4.5 .... or a 4 for this review site.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Brooklyn, N.Y.,USA

Reviewed on 2000-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed1988 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
These bikes are built around the ever so powerful gsx engines with more mid range. This bike has better 0-60 and 0-100 times than most new bikes with 3.0 and 6.0 as tested by all cycle magazines in the past. Still an awesome ride with comfort! 50k of sport touring still running strong with stock clutch, routine maintenance, change of brakes and tires twice. If you like to sport tour for hours with out having to stretch your legs or back this is the rig.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darrell Brown

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2000-04-25

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki GSX1100F Katana

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my Katana 1100 new in 92. It now has over 46,000 trouble free miles. The only problem has been with the mirror stalks. Suzuki has redesigned the pivot point where the original ones failed. The bike has near new compression, doesn't "burn" oil and has been as reliable as an anvil. Tires are getting hard to find because of the odd sizes. Metzeler MEZ2's seem to work best. The bike is heavy, that is its only drawback, as far as I can tell. It's an excellent bike for "sport-touring". But its weight and skinny tires disqualify it from any real 10 tenths riding. However, it handles far better than you'd think of such a heavy bike. I can't break this bike. It always runs great, never has given me any trouble.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: