Suzuki GSX1100G Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki GSX1100G Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki GSX1100G Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-02-18 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a new 93' 1100G in the spring of '94. Took a trip to San Antonio the next month. Dead-on reliable. Also trips to Colorado, Georgia and Florida. In all cases the bike performed as expected. Added windshield, GIVI tail trunk and bought the Travelcade seat, (needlessly because the stock was more comfortable for me) and adapted a BMW bar-end cruise. Suzuki plays up the 1200 Bandit now, but this shaftie is as quick and a lot more comfortable for this 50+ body. Normal maintenance, no surprises. It always got me there, and got me home.
- Keith, Winfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-09 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a 65 year old rider and have done the ascending ladder from a 450 to a 900 to this 92 1100 G. It is as quick and fast as I care to travel and I've ridden faster bikes (R1 and GSX1000Rs). It appears to be bulletproof as I have 33K on the clock. My only complaint is the carburetion. I now have "Frankencarbs" with innards from a GSXR1000 carbs which cured a serious and puzzling richness problem (20 mpg and fouling plugs on a tour around Idaho). A Corbin saddle helps for the long days and it needs some suspension upgrades. All in all, it is unique here in the Portland area and the shaft drive is perfect for Portland weather as I ride year round. Meaning it is a wet weather bike eight months out of the year. Just make sure you don't skimp on rubber as this puppy puts down some serious power.
- Don, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-01 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last 2 bikes were 500cc Hondas. I bought the G only 3-4 months ago and I really like it. I too have broken a fork seal, have an oil leak, and a bent center stand. I guess they're common faults to the bike. Its quite smooth, but also has a lot of drivetrain slack, forcing me to be very smooth at low speed. In Fresno, which has no hills, I've been getting an impressive 43mpg, on the coast I average in the high 30's. I really enjoy my bike, and it was the least expensive way to go this fast, but now I think I'd like a 600cc sportbike.
- Zack, Marina, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-22 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned mine for over a year, and I love it! I have 16K, and doesn't show any signs of wear. I installed the Progressive springs, helps a lot! Still keeps blowing front fork seals, even the so called leak proof! I have had mine reading 155 mph on the speedo, and may have had a little more. I didn't want to get in the red though. If you can find one, buy it! Email with any questions, or hot tips.
- David Overstreet, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-06 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a "G" for 6 years. I am aweekend rider with an occasional longer trip, so the bike only has 26k on it. With a demountable windscreen and soft luggage, the "G" tours admirably, in relative comfort. With the screen off, it is "naked" in today's terminology, handles well, and is VERY FAST. Yes, it is heavy at 635lbs., but with heavy fork oil and the suspension dialed up it handles Midwestern curves just fine. The front fork seals did require replacement at 20k, but otherwise the bike has been problem-free, normal maintenance only. The shaft drive works for me, since I prefer riding to maintenance. The "G" is a very nice bike that does most things pretty well - if you can find one. In 6 years of ownership I have yet to see another one on the road - but I keep riding and looking.
- Mcmullen, Godfrey, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I consider this bike "the ultimate Japanese standard". It is smooth, reliable, strong, and with shaft drive lends itself nicely to cross country touring. I added a windshield,throw/over saddlebags, and a cruise lock for complete touring comfort.Having ridden it for 29,000 miles, maintenace cost has been low. Valves were adjusted by the shop at 17,000 miles. I replaced a leaking oil cooler line at 23, 512, & do my own tire changes, at home.I believe the bike has a weak centerstand-having bent mine on two different ocassions. I am vertically challenged, and enjoy being able to put both feet firmly on the ground.
- Gene Knight, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this 1991 in 1992. Saved about $500. I have now about 65,000 miles (mostly highway miles). It is the fastest bike I've owned. It has been very reliable except for one front oil line rubbed against the block making a pin hole and a very messy smelly undercarriage. I drilled slots in ignition magnetic pickup plate to increase spark advance 5 degrees and added K&N filter which added 3-5 mpg. This added HP also. Now get 40 mpg at 75MPH and 50 mpg at 55 MPH. I also added a windscreen for the bugs and dust and made my own back rest for passenger safety. Rear tires last only 15-17,000 miles. The bike is too heavy, but very comfortable on long rides now since I've widened and softened the seat also.
- Charles French, West Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-24 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with only 7,500 km on it. It has now 65,000km and this summer I rode her out to B.C. the Rockies, and it performed great. A perfect alrounder and a good substitute for a full on touring bike. It has a stellar motor and is very smooth for an inline four.It is a little porky in weight (635lbs) but holds the road as a result. Not too many bikes that are like the old standards of the past. This is one of the last ones that have shaft drive. I do wish there were more of them to choose from. I put a Corbin seat and Suzuki windshield, and other than a K&N filter, it is completely stock. I would like a lighter, better handling machine, but it wouldn't be as comfortable, and would probably have chain drive. This bike does it all and grows on you after a while. Very reliable too.
- Bill Welsh, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-30 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have over 40 years of riding off & on -- mostly on. It's the strongest and most comfortable bike I've owned. I'm short of leg for the seat height but manage take offs and landings all right. It has the Suzuki backrest and the Travelcade after-market seat which work just fine. The wife and I put in a long, long day and did 647 miles. I made a trip back to Harley country (Wisconsin) and had no problem with 600-miles days. Like I say it rides like a dream. UP KEEP Normal maintenance and normal wear out items tires and such. The only non-standard items have been a rear wheel seal and a set of oil cooler lines. If they still made it I might consider a new one, but they don't so I'll just keep this one. Let's just say it's part of the family now and we have had 40,000 smiles together.
- Little Joe, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: