Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Motorcycles Reviews (84)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-10-03 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new at a dealership in Washington State. We get a lot of rain throught the year (yes, sometimes summer showers, too). It does well in the rain but it will hydroplane in puddles and ruts. I've been riding since I was a kid. I use the 'BUSA' for rush hour traffic into Seattle, 62 miles one-way. Commuting is where the miles have piled up. The dealership has keep my animal alive and kicking. I was hoping to reach 100,000 miles this year but it might not happen until next year.
- Ron Grooms, Mount Vernon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is absolutely flawless. After reading the reviews posted here, I finally amassed enough courage to buy one. It is used, with 32K miles but it feels brand new and smooth. It has insane power, but can be very tame. I saw the review that said that the bike handles like crap... I'm here to say that that is a lie. This bike handles very nice and will lean with the best of them. Super twisty roads may not be the place for this, but on your average roads and highways, it will perform. My previous experience includes two R6s and and a Gixxer 1K. All bike have been fantastic, but I could never ride another. If I did, it would be a GSXR 1K, but I think that's a stretch. My Busa is here to stay. Bite your tongue and swallow your fears, this bike is nothing to be afraid of, but something to be respected. Mind your throttle gents...
- The Devil, Anytown, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-06 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new in March of 2000. Had to wait for the Blue/Silver which I still like the best. Have a few rock chips in the lower fairings from the front tire, otherwise holding up well. Gone thru a couple batteries, 3 drive chains, 2 sets of plugs, 2 sets of brake pads, and several rear tires. Nothing else has been done to her. Just starting to get a little valve noise when you first start her up in the morning, but still running great. No oil burning or leaking. Getting 46 to 49 mpg most of the time. Only complaint is that the seat could be more comfortable. Like the energizer bunny, she just keeps going and going...quickly. Would like to have a new 2008, just nothing wrong with my 2000. Still enjoy riding it after 72,500 miles and counting!
- Jack, Boonville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-24 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the 2000 Red/Silver Hayabusa for almost 6 years now. This is the one without the speed restrictor on it. This bike never fails to surprise me even now. It's ready to deliver the power I need in almost any situation - I was able to pull it up to 90mph in 1st gear and also was able to be in the 6th gear at 35mph. Needless to say, it leaves others far behind on wide open roads, but it is very well behaved in city traffic as well. I was able to get 30-50 mpg depending on the driving style.
- Amrit Moola, Allentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-02 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have my boys to thank for having this bike. They both have GSXR's, and while the riding position is a bit uncomfortable for this 52 year old, they are blast to ride and represent a lot of thought and engineering. After deciding to get a bike for myself, I leaned toward more of a naked sport bike with traditional handlebars. After taking a test ride on the Triumph Speed Triple on a blustery Kansas day, I realized what a difference these fairings make! I was getting blown all over the place (or so it felt). So with a fairing on the must-have list, I looked at everything I could. One day while at the local Suzuki dealer, I sat on the Busa and was very surprised at the relaxed rider position. After confirming their cult-like following with serious touring folks and reading a zillion reviews I bought one. The Busa is a quality, precision machine. Unlike the smaller GSXers, the power band is much flatter. It pulls with authority from idle on up. It is an easy bike to ride. I put my 100lb daughter-in-law on it and jumped on a GSXR 750 to follow along. I felt like a chase plane following the space shuttle. My beefs are 2. The seat is fine for 150 miles or so, but after that it can get uncomfortable. I'm getting a Corbin to fix that. Secondly, it can get hot on summer days setting at a stop light (the rider not the bike). The fairing lets a bit more hot air escape from the left side than the right. But in the scheme of things those squawks are insignificant. The Busa is a classy bike, it does everything effortlessly. Now back away from the computer and go out and buy one. Life is short.
- Dennis Craven, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-01 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is by far the greatest touring/sport bike money can buy! Lamborgini performance for a fraction of the cost. Bike is clearly not for beginners, but for someone with liter class experience. You will not be prepared for the way this bike makes speed. Most bikes have a powerband that comes on at some point. The Busa is all power from idle to redline, with handling as good as any sport tourer. I highly recommend to experienced riders.
- Drew, Eureka, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-29 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased an '04 limited Hayabusa just last week. I put the first 200 miles on it the first day. As a previous owner of a Yamaha V-Max I must say the Busa delivers awesome torque and power. The greatest difference is noticed in the handling department. I have read that the Busa is bulky, but compared to my old V-Max it rides like a dream. Beautiful eye catching red. Great bike. No sore butt from riding. Maybe because of my height, my back was a little sore, but that could have been from the extra passenger using me as a prop when I would brake. All around awesome bike.
- Carl D. Cramblit, New market , Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-22 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Here is the whole truth and nothing but the truth! The 1999 Busa is and always will be the fastest (top Speed) mass production bike in the world. This is because motorcycle manufactures put limiters on their bikes starting in 2000. 185mph is the most any stock bike can do. The 12R was designed to beat the Busa for 2000 when it first came out (it has more horse power), but it never had a chance to prove it because of the new limiters installed for that year. Their were top speed tests done with the limiters removed and the 12R beat the Busa. The Busa has a more aero dynamic body thats easier to push through the wind than the 12R though. Kawasaki had a similar design for the 12R's body, but they didn't want to release it because it was considered UGLY. They were afraid people would not buy it. The 12R also has more leg room than the Busa (it's taller) which is nice for people over 6 feet tall. Personally I like the looks of the 12R better. It's got twin head lights and a fatter rear tire than the Busa. I could never get used to the Lemon shape front end and strange looking tail of the Busa. I have to have it all: good looks, comfort and high top speed.
- JC, Laguna Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-04 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Outstanding machine! The Hayabusa is my third bike, replacing my '87 FZR 1000. The Busa suits my needs perfectly. 1) World class performance * forget about the reviews-ride one you will be convinced. 2) Sport Touring capabilities - nice comprimise in riding postion, comfortable seat, storage space. 3) Affordability - If you find more bike for less money, buy it.
- Rich Salvemini, Binghamton, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-12 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 38 and have been riding since I was a kid, this is my 8th bike. I've had my eye on the Hayabusa for several years. I liked the styling but wasn't really interested in going 190mph so I never seriously considered one for myself. I had been considering a FJR1300 because I wanted comfort in a sport bike package and wanted to be able to travel 2 up with luggage on long trips. I had read a few articles in bike mags where the Hayabusa had been referred to as a sport touring bike and that's the type of bike I wanted. A few weeks ago I found a used Hayabusa at a local dealer and took it for a ride. I was a bit scared of it at first but quickly realized that it's extremely well behaved and after a 30 minute demo ride I bought it. My only complaint is the riding position, I find that my wrists get tired after 20-30 minutes. It's probably because of my height, I'm a pretty active, physically fit guy and like I said, I've been riding for many years. But, my wrists, forearms and shoulders are fairly sore after a day of riding and I've never had this problem on any other bike. Otherwise the performance is awesome! Excellent handling, excellent braking and lots-o-power. I'm considering putting on a pair of Heli Bars to make the position a little more comfortable. Honestly, I can't say that I'll be taking any long trips on this bike and may still look into an FJR1300 next summer. This is probably just a case of me wanting to use the bike for something that it's not really intended to do. Although there are plenty of guys on the Hayabusa forum that have no problem doing 500 mile days on this bike. Either way, this thing is a lot of fun and just knowing that I own the fastest production bike in the world is pretty cool!
- Matt, Weymouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-29 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a new 2004 'Busa. Having ridden a 2002 CBR1100 XX I can tell you there's miles of difference between the two. This is just my opinion of the two, that comes from riding motorcycles of every type since I was 16 and I'm now 57. The Honda has a hard seat, I can only do about 45 minutes at a crack when I'm fresh. When I'm tired I can only manage about 20 minutes. The riding position is such that it puts a lot of stress on my wrists and hands. The Honda also seems geared too low. It feels like you should be able to shift it up one more gear out on the higway. The 'Busa has a much more comfortable seat on it and the riding position is a lot more comfortable to me. I feel like I'm more of a part of this machine. The big Suzuki flip flops thru the turns easier and feels much more nimble that the CBR does. The bike has so much torque it's like driving an endless torque generator or an unbeliveably fast tractor. The transmission up and downshifts better than the Honda. The ergonomics are excellant and the suspenion has lots of adjustment to it unlike the Honda which has none on the front and minimal on the back. The Hayabusa's ride is much better than the XX in my opinion. However the linked braking on the Honda is taking me some getting used to on the Suzuki because of it's lack of that. It feels like the brakes on the Busa, are quite as good, I think this is just me. I've only got about 24 miles on the bike as of today. I'll tell you one thing, it's a beauty of a machine and anybody that bad mouths it really hasn't ridden one. It might not be as nimble as the Ducatti's and some of the lighter class bikes but then hey it's a bigger machine and designed with a different crowd and end in mind. I love this bike.
- Dave, West Linn, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-21 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. The power is instant with a twist of the throttle. Just had inital oil servicing performed which would have been pretty expensive if not for maintenance program purchased with bike. I do suggest buying this program with the bike. I'm slowly breaking in, so I still don't know bike's full potential yet. Can't wait to find out. Bike is a bit heavy, but anyone over 165lbs should have no problems with weight.
- Ken Herring, Avondale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-22 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looks great, feels great, and truly great performance! I have a 40th Anniversary and put 6700 miles on it in 10 months. Bike is worth every penny that I spent on it!
- Bernie, Cumberland, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-20 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a ride! The 1300r is just the best bike on the road. It has the power, comfort and performance. If you thinking about getting one JUST DO IT!
- T-REESE, DURHAM, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Oh man where to start. This bike is a Beast ride! It's smooth, fast, and handles like a charm at most speeds. I have the 2004 limited edition Hayabusa and the color of it was long over due. You find that when you own one of these machines you forget that have the most powerful production motorcycles in your possession and it did not put you back one million dollars like an Enzo. It is a dream ride with one down fall its weight but with the respect you get form everyone and the fun you get from this bike you would be willing to fork out that one mill. Ride it and you will love it.
- Phill, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is probably one of the nicest looking cycles out there. I own the 2000 model and I love it. Although, it is a heavy bike and if you are not an experienced rider, this bike can be a tricky machine to handle when turning on a city street. Once it gets to the speed it was made for, this bike is smooth and shifting gears is quiet and slick. Zero to 60 in 3 seconds, no problem. Traveling at 60mph is smooth and it a quiet ride. Low windshield does nothing to protect you from winds that pound your chest. Being tall, this bike fits me nicely. The reach is a bit forward but is relaxing. On long rides, the bike is smooth and not buzzy like smaller engine models so you don't get fatigued from the vibrations of the engine, which this had none at top speeds. Horn is a bit wimpy for such a powerful cycle. Needs to be replaced with a truck horn or a Lion's roar. The engine can get hot so riding in summer with gear on can get a little toasty. City driving, stop and go is not fun and this cycle is clearly made for the open road. It's a fun smooth ride but this cycle is clearly made for experienced riders and needs to be rode with respect of its power. I suggest a 600 for beginners and hot-doggers.
- JOHN, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-06 2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the 2004 black model. Previous bikes I had were a CBR600 & a GSX750. The Bus beats them hands down (of course!). It is so smooth and you don't get that jerky movement when ripping from the lights! The front end stays on the ground yet you rocket forward at Mach 3!! Everything about it is so smooth and sleek! A dream to ride! How can anyone go to anything else once you've had a Bus!!
- Mike Kelly, Liverpool UK, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-20 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 2000 Hayabusa and I just can't believe the performance of the bike. The take off is unbelievable, and I get looks at almost every stoplight. Up until now I have no complaints. The Hayabusa is Top Dog.
- big dog, miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-04 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The introduction of the Hayabusa in the bike world has created controversy and elation. This rocket sled has eliminated the competition for fastest bike, everybody knows it, but Kawi fans hate it. The worse news is that 'busa has also created it's own class of bike, touring sportster. In capable hands, this baby will keep with any sport bike (R1 and GSXR1000 incl) on a corner, and then evaporate them on the short trip to the next one. Further pleasure comes with knowing you can do this for hours on end, in comfort without the vibration, sore wrists and back you get from a thoroughbred sports bike. As they say, "Suddenly everything else looks like prey"!
- Oz, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-29 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a Y2K H-Bus for 15,700 miles. It was the best motorcycle I've owned by far. Here are the +'s *Unsurpassed acceleration thrust *STABILITY? You can practically read a book at 150 mph! *Good cornering for PRACTICAL street riding. Knee-dragging nutbags need not apply. CONS: *Insurance is a killer. *It will tempt you on every straightaway. *Wears out tires and chains like mad. * Will get walked though corners and and on the track against lighter high powered superbikes. On a 1.5 mile straightaway, say GOOD NIGHT to the track stars!! I've read a few negative 2 or 1 star reviews with guys ripping the bike fo handling and looks. Looks are a matter of opinion and no one should try to compare this bikes handling to a GSX-R or an R1. We're talking two types of beasts. I tried a GSXR-600. The handling runs rings around the Bus! If you want to go 70 through 25mph twisties, then buy a sub 400lb. dry weight bike!!!! It's like buying a Cadilac and complaing it won't hang with your buddy's corvette!! And If you don't like the looks, KEEP SHOPPING!!! The Hayabusa is a well engineered, lumpy throught the corners and tight turn, stable, smooth, speed fix for the most insane speed lover.
- Andy, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-20 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the red one and I couldn't be happier! Mine is stock and will remain so. Why do I need to improve on the best! What am I going to do? Make it faster? I have 12300 miles on it now. It commands respect and attention. Love parking it at Starbucks and have the lesser bike owners ask about it and the women remark about it. Glad I bought it and would buy the solid Black one in a second if I had to buy again. By the way, this is the last one with the "Big Boy" speedo.
- Darrell, Antioch, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-17 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So, you are 19 years old and your heart is set on a sport bike, you ride without a helmet, in shorts, passing cars on a double yellow line up the canyon. Your life expectancy as a novice with an R1 or GSXR 1000 is about two weeks. I see your ilk as I catch up to you on my BOO..sah smoothly overtaking you on the corners, noticing that your line and body position is way off, you try to catch up as I shower you with sparks from my pegs while my bike accelerates out of the corner with a slight squirm. A few seconds have passed and I can see you head lights growing smaller. The Hyabusa is a wonderful choice if you have survived those early years, you deserve a comfortable predator that dispatches beginner riders on their R's and Gixers with ease. There is more to this machine than it's speed, if you are interested in cruising long distances where the only other bikes you see are Harley's and BMW's then this is your baby.A factory gel seat, Tourmaster tank bag and saddle bags with a duffel that snaps onto the saddle bags and your ready for some great trips, and when you get to those twisties you won't have to worry about the R1's and Gixers because you are way beyond their range, after all you are flying a P-51 mustang with fuel tanks. The only thing missing are the 50 cal. machine guns....I'm working on that one. See you far out there, somewhere in the mountains carving turns. I will wave. BOO-SAH
- aw, salt lake, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-09 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As an older rider, I enjoy the crazy power and the stability and smoothness the "Busa provides. I also enjoy the homage paid by those less fortunate. No matter where it is parked, there are always people wanting to look and talk about the "Busa. Other riders never challenge for fear of being embarassed. The only negative is a low howl from the gastank while sitting with engine off. Suzuki swears there is no fix and it is the sad result of California Emissions laws. It is too bad that an otherwise OUTSTANDING bike is marred by the above noise. I would buy another one in a second!!
- D7dun, Antioch, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-22 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Busa for one year,and I like it better than any of the 26 bikes I have owned.Everyone knows that it is fast but, the real surprise is the handling.The power is smooth and predictable,yet wild and furious. The trend seems to be towards lighter and faster bikes ,ie. GSXR1000,but the Busa is still the King.
- sparrow, san antonio, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-22 2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the third bike that I have owned. I started off with the GZ250 so as to teach myself how to ride, then moved up to the 1500LC Intruder, finally to the Hayabusa. It is by far the best bike that I have ever ridden. I know that I don't have as much experience as most guys that write in but what drew me to the Hayabusa was the power and the awesome comfort. Really guys the bike is so comfortable! Hey just one warning -- If you get down low so as to benefit from the wind protecting fairing and shield then watch your speed. Every time that I do so I have to make a conscious effort not to do 100mph and more. I have just purchased the bike and have only had it for about a month but every day that I ride I love it even more. GO Hayabusa!!!!!
- Mecco Dog, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: