Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

Matching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

84 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ron Grooms

Mount Vernon, Washington

Reviewed on 2011-10-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it new at a dealership in Washington State. We get a lot of rain throught the year (yes, sometimes summer showers, too). It does well in the rain but it will hydroplane in puddles and ruts. I've been riding since I was a kid. I use the 'BUSA' for rush hour traffic into Seattle, 62 miles one-way. Commuting is where the miles have piled up. The dealership has keep my animal alive and kicking. I was hoping to reach 100,000 miles this year but it might not happen until next year.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Devil

Anytown, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is absolutely flawless. After reading the reviews posted here, I finally amassed enough courage to buy one. It is used, with 32K miles but it feels brand new and smooth. It has insane power, but can be very tame. I saw the review that said that the bike handles like crap... I'm here to say that that is a lie. This bike handles very nice and will lean with the best of them. Super twisty roads may not be the place for this, but on your average roads and highways, it will perform. My previous experience includes two R6s and and a Gixxer 1K. All bike have been fantastic, but I could never ride another. If I did, it would be a GSXR 1K, but I think that's a stretch. My Busa is here to stay. Bite your tongue and swallow your fears, this bike is nothing to be afraid of, but something to be respected. Mind your throttle gents...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack

Boonville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought new in March of 2000. Had to wait for the Blue/Silver which I still like the best. Have a few rock chips in the lower fairings from the front tire, otherwise holding up well. Gone thru a couple batteries, 3 drive chains, 2 sets of plugs, 2 sets of brake pads, and several rear tires. Nothing else has been done to her. Just starting to get a little valve noise when you first start her up in the morning, but still running great. No oil burning or leaking. Getting 46 to 49 mpg most of the time. Only complaint is that the seat could be more comfortable. Like the energizer bunny, she just keeps going and going...quickly. Would like to have a new 2008, just nothing wrong with my 2000. Still enjoy riding it after 72,500 miles and counting!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amrit Moola

Allentown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-10-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had the 2000 Red/Silver Hayabusa for almost 6 years now. This is the one without the speed restrictor on it. This bike never fails to surprise me even now. It's ready to deliver the power I need in almost any situation - I was able to pull it up to 90mph in 1st gear and also was able to be in the 6th gear at 35mph. Needless to say, it leaves others far behind on wide open roads, but it is very well behaved in city traffic as well. I was able to get 30-50 mpg depending on the driving style.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Craven

Wichita, Kansas

Reviewed on 2006-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have my boys to thank for having this bike. They both have GSXR's, and while the riding position is a bit uncomfortable for this 52 year old, they are blast to ride and represent a lot of thought and engineering. After deciding to get a bike for myself, I leaned toward more of a naked sport bike with traditional handlebars. After taking a test ride on the Triumph Speed Triple on a blustery Kansas day, I realized what a difference these fairings make! I was getting blown all over the place (or so it felt). So with a fairing on the must-have list, I looked at everything I could. One day while at the local Suzuki dealer, I sat on the Busa and was very surprised at the relaxed rider position. After confirming their cult-like following with serious touring folks and reading a zillion reviews I bought one. The Busa is a quality, precision machine. Unlike the smaller GSXers, the power band is much flatter. It pulls with authority from idle on up. It is an easy bike to ride. I put my 100lb daughter-in-law on it and jumped on a GSXR 750 to follow along. I felt like a chase plane following the space shuttle. My beefs are 2. The seat is fine for 150 miles or so, but after that it can get uncomfortable. I'm getting a Corbin to fix that. Secondly, it can get hot on summer days setting at a stop light (the rider not the bike). The fairing lets a bit more hot air escape from the left side than the right. But in the scheme of things those squawks are insignificant. The Busa is a classy bike, it does everything effortlessly. Now back away from the computer and go out and buy one. Life is short.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Drew

Eureka, Missouri

Reviewed on 2004-11-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is by far the greatest touring/sport bike money can buy! Lamborgini performance for a fraction of the cost. Bike is clearly not for beginners, but for someone with liter class experience. You will not be prepared for the way this bike makes speed. Most bikes have a powerband that comes on at some point. The Busa is all power from idle to redline, with handling as good as any sport tourer. I highly recommend to experienced riders.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl D. Cramblit

New market , Alabama

Reviewed on 2004-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchased an '04 limited Hayabusa just last week. I put the first 200 miles on it the first day. As a previous owner of a Yamaha V-Max I must say the Busa delivers awesome torque and power. The greatest difference is noticed in the handling department. I have read that the Busa is bulky, but compared to my old V-Max it rides like a dream. Beautiful eye catching red. Great bike. No sore butt from riding. Maybe because of my height, my back was a little sore, but that could have been from the extra passenger using me as a prop when I would brake. All around awesome bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JC

Laguna Beach, California

Reviewed on 2004-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Here is the whole truth and nothing but the truth! The 1999 Busa is and always will be the fastest (top Speed) mass production bike in the world. This is because motorcycle manufactures put limiters on their bikes starting in 2000. 185mph is the most any stock bike can do. The 12R was designed to beat the Busa for 2000 when it first came out (it has more horse power), but it never had a chance to prove it because of the new limiters installed for that year. Their were top speed tests done with the limiters removed and the 12R beat the Busa. The Busa has a more aero dynamic body thats easier to push through the wind than the 12R though. Kawasaki had a similar design for the 12R's body, but they didn't want to release it because it was considered UGLY. They were afraid people would not buy it. The 12R also has more leg room than the Busa (it's taller) which is nice for people over 6 feet tall. Personally I like the looks of the 12R better. It's got twin head lights and a fatter rear tire than the Busa. I could never get used to the Lemon shape front end and strange looking tail of the Busa. I have to have it all: good looks, comfort and high top speed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rich Salvemini

Binghamton, New York

Reviewed on 2004-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Outstanding machine! The Hayabusa is my third bike, replacing my '87 FZR 1000. The Busa suits my needs perfectly. 1) World class performance * forget about the reviews-ride one you will be convinced. 2) Sport Touring capabilities - nice comprimise in riding postion, comfortable seat, storage space. 3) Affordability - If you find more bike for less money, buy it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt

Weymouth, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2004-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 38 and have been riding since I was a kid, this is my 8th bike. I've had my eye on the Hayabusa for several years. I liked the styling but wasn't really interested in going 190mph so I never seriously considered one for myself. I had been considering a FJR1300 because I wanted comfort in a sport bike package and wanted to be able to travel 2 up with luggage on long trips. I had read a few articles in bike mags where the Hayabusa had been referred to as a sport touring bike and that's the type of bike I wanted. A few weeks ago I found a used Hayabusa at a local dealer and took it for a ride. I was a bit scared of it at first but quickly realized that it's extremely well behaved and after a 30 minute demo ride I bought it. My only complaint is the riding position, I find that my wrists get tired after 20-30 minutes. It's probably because of my height, I'm a pretty active, physically fit guy and like I said, I've been riding for many years. But, my wrists, forearms and shoulders are fairly sore after a day of riding and I've never had this problem on any other bike. Otherwise the performance is awesome! Excellent handling, excellent braking and lots-o-power. I'm considering putting on a pair of Heli Bars to make the position a little more comfortable. Honestly, I can't say that I'll be taking any long trips on this bike and may still look into an FJR1300 next summer. This is probably just a case of me wanting to use the bike for something that it's not really intended to do. Although there are plenty of guys on the Hayabusa forum that have no problem doing 500 mile days on this bike. Either way, this thing is a lot of fun and just knowing that I own the fastest production bike in the world is pretty cool!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 84 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: