Suzuki GZ250 Motorcycles Reviews (61)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki GZ250 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki GZ250 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-06-24 2006 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife is the primary rider of this bike, but I'm doing the review for her. The GZ250 is a great starter bike for beginners. My wife loves the bike because it's the same bike that she learned on at the MSF course. It's easy electric starting, simple to operate and it's easy to ride. I've taken it for a ride and was very pleased. It's a little small for me which is why I ride a Honda dual-sport, but for her it's perfect. You won't set the world on fire with its acceleration, but it gets 82 mpg. and it tops out around 72-73 mph.---more than enough for a beginner. I've never owned a Suzuki, but everyone says that the quality is very high. We're very happy with the bike!
- taxman, Glenfield, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-09 2009 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When first purchased I thought the engine was too noisy and I still do. But I like the fact the bike is well thought out and simple. The valve adjustment is a snap. I like inserting the key to remove the seat, and large well for tools, papers, and such, under same. The battery placement is easy and simple to get at, take out and replace in winter. The engine is a little underpowered compared to my old Honda Rebel, but the fuel economy is better. I love the large fuel tank. The best mileage so far is 82.2 mpg. The worst is 65.3 mpg in the fall with high winds. Would I recommend one to a friend? Yes. Have I owned many larger motorcycles? Yes. The last was a V-Star 650. Big machines are all about hype. Want a fun machine? Want to enjoy the back roads of America? Take a trial ride on a 250. You'll love it! They are not Harley Davidsons, and they are not supposed to be. Always remember: It isn't how much you spend, it's how much you save.
- Jay Allen, Whittemore, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-27 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Suzuki Marauder GZ250cc at the end of season 2009 and I had never ridden before. I am so pleased with it. It's perfect... really comfortable and handles well.
- Janice Pinsent, Mississauga, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-23 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this as a previous year leftover at the start of 2006. The ride on this bike is outstanding! If you are willing to wind it up a little bit the accelleration is really more than adequate. At the end of a 200 mile trip the gas mileage was about 81 mpg. The factory seat is very good and does not seem to tire after a long ride. I have owned 5 bikes in my life and this is probably the nicest one of the whole lot. It will cruise at 65 mph all day long.
- Ray T., Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-05 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2003 GZ250 about a month ago with 3400 miles on it. I have been riding it every chance I get since then. I comute to work 25 miles each way, so it has greatly helped my pocket book with its 70 mile to the gallon performance. I have had no problems riding along the 4 lane HiWay at 70+ miles per hour with a top speed somewhere around 80. It has been a joy to own, and I have no intention of getting rid of it any time soon.
- Jason, Dubuque, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-13 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine on ebay for $1800. It had less than 100 miles on it. I had not ridden since I was a kid (37 now and retired military). Told my wife I wanted to ride and knew I needed to start out small. This is a great starter bike to learn or relearn on. No complaints and everyone thought it was a much bigger bike. I have an '06 Harley Super Glide being delivered in October, once I leave Afghanistan. I will always look back at my time on the 250 and be thankful for gaining experience on it before going larger.
- Bernie, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-09 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchanced a 2003 GZ250, and I abosluetly love the bike. I was very suprised when I got it, just because I got it to ride around town, and was amazed when I found out that It can actually pull my 220 lbs body up to about 70 on the Highway with out sounding like it is going to explode. The comfort is a bit poor for the seat, but so is any stock bike seat. But other than that, I am in love with the bike. I bought it for just in town, and for my wife to learn on this fall after she takes her MFS course, but I have found my self riding it much more than I ride my larger bike. The only reason I rate it 4 stars in performance is because it is a bit slow at getting up to H-way speeds, but it will do it. This is an amazing little single that is going to be in my garage for a long time. I am actually considering getting the next up model for my self with the 40 cc single cylinder when I am forced to give this one to by better half this fall. Forget my Kawasaki 500 LTD, I am a suzuki guy from now on.
- John, Dubuque, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-23 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having had all makes and sizes of bikes all my life and have ridden for the past 30 years, I just bought this bike as a left over yesterday. I must say it looks like a Sportster, handles like a dream, and really moves. Although I have not winded it out so I can break it in properly, it is quick and quiet. I paid less than the 06, with no style changes. Even with me and my fianc´┐Ż on it, it moves, and did not lag once on the highway even in the strong New England winds. I cruised along at seventy in fifth gear with no problem. I was not happy with the final delivery phase of the dealer though. It was only washed and not waxed, which left many watermarks on the black metallic paint. Also on my way home, the right hand mirror loosened up and I could not find any size socket to tighten it. When I called the dealer, they said I would have to bring it in because it was kind of a tricky way to tighten it. Overall, I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants looks, economy, speed, and reliability.
- david rossi, providence, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-16 2004 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike when gas prices hit $2.50. I went in to get a scooter and sat on this bike, I actually fit better on the GZ250. I have been riding it short trips to work & around town, and it handles well without losing too much power up hills. I didn't have any control issues even on 2 lane roads with wind bursts from semi's going in the opposite direction! I recommend this bike for smaller riders or beginners looking to get a nice bike that has the right amount of power.
- rrhill, Douglasville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-01 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The GZ250 is my first bike ever and I can't say enough. I looked at both the Virago and Rebel - they both had a cramped feeling. The looks of the GZ are of a bigger bike, and the riding position is very comfortable. It is easy to learn and improve your skills on a bike that is not intimidating. It has plenty of zip to get off the line in traffic, and keeps up really well as needed. I ride about 30 miles a day to work and the gas mileage is great at 65+ mpg. I will probably move up to a bigger bike next year, but the GZ250 is the best choice I could've made to learn on. Love it!
- Grace, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike to get to work with. I save a lot of money on gas. I leave the car at home a lot, thanks to this bike. It can keep up with traffic, but the seat is not the best in the world. It works.
- maurice, orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-11 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a 2001 that I bought with 5,800 miles for $1,650. The previous owner put on a windshield. I added saddlebag supports and some used saddlebags. I love this bike. I am a newcomer to cycling so I wanted a smaller bike that wasn't too bulky on which to learn. This has been perfect. I am going to buy a larger bike next year for cruising and traveling, but I will continue to use this bike for commuting. It gets consistently 80-85 miles to the gallon. It has plenty of power for the commuting route I travel. It could theoretically travel on the interstate, but I would not recommend this due to the lack of top-end power. This has been a great purchase and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants great mileage without paying a fortune.
- Mark Foster, Trussville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-08 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My GZ is a 2000 model. I bought it used with only 780 miles on it. Since buying, I have put over 2,000 miles on it with absolutely no problems whatsoever. The seat does get a little tiresome on a longer ride, but from what I read, a lot of bike stock seats do the same thing. I am consistently pulling between 75-80 mpg with the GZ, which is a definite PLUS in these days of $3 per gallon gas. Are there bigger bikes? Yep. Will they go faster? Yep. Is the GZ all one really needs? I can say a resounding YES to that one. It does the speed limit, and is easy to maintain. What the GZ lacks in power on the street, the rider should make up for in smarts by defensive riding techniques.
- Tom, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-07 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this little bike! I just got my motorcycle license about 9 months ago, and this bike is great - for being a beginner I feel very comfortable on this bike - easy to maneuver, good power for a small engine (I keep up just fine with the better half's VTX1800 - to a point!!), and it's great on gas - can't complain abuot 75 miles to the gallon. One of the biggest drawbacks is the fact that if you are riding for more than about 30 miles at a clip, the seat is not the most comfortable thing out there, but other than that no complaints. A great choice for the first-timer. Great styling for a small bike too, doesn't look like a little toy. Tip: some chrome flame decals on the tank right behind the "S" are a nice touch - I have gotten many compliments!! Happy riding!!!
- Stefani T., Hopewell, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-06 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After adjusting the shift lever it is great. Rides like a much larger bike. I have no trouble keeping up in traffic. Bike is a joy to ride. Very economical, getting around 70mph and it isn't really broken in yet.
- FLT, Columbus, , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-31 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 GZ250 used with about 1400 miles on it and am very pleased with the quality and performance so far. It fits my size well and has enough power to get out on the highway if necessary (although I prefer back roads). It is low to the ground, nicely balanced and very easy to ride. I started out with a moped and this was a great next step. It only weighs about 300 lbs. so on real windy days you feel it, but it's not too bad. The gas tank capacity is large and I've never had to use the reserve (177 miles last fill up). The front disk brake squeals a little when you squeeze it but is very responsive. It has the look of a bigger bike and that's kind of nice. If you're looking for a nice bike to kick around on and don't mind going 60 mph or less (it will probably go faster than that but that's fast enough for me),don't mind riding single (too small for two adults), this is a great bike and I would highly recommend it if the price is right.
- DBP, hazel green, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-14 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 1500+ miles on my '03 GZ250. I have not had anything go wrong with it, except I blew a brake light fuse. I have ridden the majority of my miles on Interstate 20 in Georgia. About an 80 mile round trip from Conyers to Madison GA. I can cruise along at 65-70+ mph. I have hit the 80 mph mark once going down hill. I will lose about 5-7 mph on a hill, but it will speed up once I get level again. There is no vibration at all with the bike at those speeds. I have drilled some holes in the outer muffler baffle, and it sounds better. I have no complaints with this bike at all. Very pleased so far.
- gtownsend, Conyers, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-07 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Most of the reviews I have read on this site say that they have a great starter bike, but most of those bikes have 650+ cc's. I first got my bike when I was 17 and have never even been on the back of a motorcycle before. But after riding for a full season I can say that I have a great starter bike. It is super light weighing in just over 300 pounds and the 250cc single cylinder engine puts out a suprising amount of power. It is now problem cruising in the city and putting a smile on your face. The bike is always making sure you don't get yourself into trouble. Under one circumstance I found myself locking my front tire going about 60 kms and ended up driving out of it. Only problem is being on the highway for too long, the bike gets tired and goes alittle bit slower. But I would recommend this bike to anyone and everyone who has ever wanted a thrill on two wheels, while still keeping some money in their pockets.
- Arthur, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2004 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although this bike has a small engine, compared to most of the other 250's, this one is larger. The stretch to the front pegs is comfortable for me, and I am over six feet in height. It gets up to speed fine and has no problem cruising at highway speeds, so long as you don't mind revving the engine a bit. I think this is the best choice for a learning bike that you won't be embarassed of.
- Jeremy, Toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-02 2004 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Suzuki 250 for a little over a month. I've ridden before but it's been years and I never owned my own bike. I originally had my heart set on a Honda Rebel, but after seeing the Suzuki 250, with it's longer wheel base and the style, I decided this was the bike for me. It's small enough and light enough for a smaller person to handle and feel comfortable with, yet has the look of a bigger bike. The more I ride it, the more I love it.
- Teresa Orr, Lewistown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-01 2004 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: great milage - I get 59 mpg pulls hills work commuter ideal transporter cruises nicely at 65 mph solid feel not just for beginners For more comfort, I tilted the handle bars forward and releveled the brake handle and clutch. I tie down my lunch bag and off to work for my 10 mile ride. Good bike for the buck.
- mike , canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-01 2004 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't been on a motorcycle in over 25 years. So after taking the local MSF course, I started looking at bikes. Finally, I settled on the GZ250. There were several considerations that brought me to this decision. Size: Even though I'm over 6 feet tall, I don't feel cramped on the GZ250. It makes me feel like I'm on a bigger bike. The Honda Rebel made me feel like I was squeezing onto it, comparatively. Engine: I could have gone with a bigger engine, probably would have been able to handle it fine. But, I wanted to start small and work my way up. Also, I found that in many countries a novice rider can't use bigger than a 250cc bike for the first year. Smart move, in my opinion. Plus, the GZ250 outperforms pretty much every other bike in it's class. Price: The same price as the Honda Rebel, both of them being less than others of the size. Plus strong resale value, important since I'll probably move up to a 500-650 by next year. All in all, a good value and a great beginner bike.
- Mike Brown, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-29 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At age 50, this is not my first bike by a long shot. In fact my last one was a 1977 Harley Davidson Sportster I had rebuilt from ground up. This bike doesn't sound as good or pull as strong as the Sportster but it's more comfortable, much more dependable, nicer looking and much more manuverable than that top heavy Harley. The milage is better than any of the other four bikes I've owned at around 70mpg. It's been mistaken for a much larger bike a couple of times. It was cheaper by 2 gran BRAND NEW than that old Sportster after it was done and it doesn't leak a drop of oil. I admit I've got the itch for a big bike again but this little bike is a hoot to ride and I recommend it to anyone wanting to get into a decent new bike for very little money. Ride safe!
- Rick Morgan, Indianapolis

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-27 2004 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My previous riding experience was scooters, mopeds, and little dirt bikes - 20 years ago. I researched bikes and found a lot of people recommending getting a smaller bike to ride for a year or two and building some skills. The GZ 250 fits the bill and then some. Cruising at 55 - 60 on the highway is easily accomplished, but the bike does not have enough power to overwhelm a newbie. I am not a little skinny person, but the bike fits me as well, much better than the Honda Rebel. The tires are big and fat, front and back, so going through a corner you can lean the bike as much as you need to without loosing grip on the road. The styling is that of a bigger classic cruiser, with comfort to match. To me, this bike is the best choice of the 250cc starter cruiser bikes from Suzuki, Yamaha and Honda. This bike is a load of fun to ride, and it gets better as I ride more. C'mon summer!
- TL Wisner, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-17 2004 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first got my new 2004 suzuki GZ250 I was in heaven. It is very smooth and has great handleing.
- jason halifax, halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: