Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-11-14 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A few months ago I had purchased a VS1400GLP. Given the obvious quality of design and the mondane cookie cutter aproach manufacturers, specifically Japanese, have taken toward the styling of the cruiser market in recent years had led me directly to the the old Intruder. This motorcycle had been changed only cosmetically since the 5 speed transmission was introduced to this chassis in 1996 (previously a 4 speed). Arguably the most custom looking metric cruiser available until the intruduction of Honda's Rune and Victory's Vegas. The Intruder offers so many elements of style from the inspirational cycles of yore; The dual swept back exhaust pipes harken back to the old Truimphs, while the raked out forks and stepped seat clearly evoke the Choppers of the late sixties and early seventies, classic teardrop tank and V-twin engine sit in a body that tapers in the middle like the curve of a woman, bringing all the cues up to date with ample chrome and smoothed surfaces, a fat tire out back and spoked wheel, nearly every visable fastener is chromed or covered. When the VS1400 was introduced, it offered performance that was inconceivable for a factory V-twin cruiser, as of this day the rest of the cruiser world has just begun to catch up. I have yet to see any other machine priced as low that offers as much in raw performance and clean style. With all the praise there is some flaws or at least curiosities. When the 4 speed was dropped for a 5 speed, the top of the class performing Intruder lost more than a second in quarter-mile acceleration in favor to a slightly lower engine speed on the highway. The riding position is comfortable, but the factory seat is not; and can lend itself to a numb butt in less that 2 hours, even worse for the passenger. Some have reported that the raked out forks make the bike unsettled or wobbly at low speeds. I don't share this opinion, however my first motorcycle was an VS800 Intruder and I am used to the handling characteristics of such designs. These motorcycles are probably some of the easiest to learn how to ride on. The low seat height and excellence of idle response create a lure of confidence to those who may shy from the abrupt launching that can happen aboard an engine that requires higher revs when releasing the clutch. The soft suspenders can be a little too soft in tighter corners, but this bike wasn't really meant to speed through tight bends so it isn't much of a concern. The highway is great for cruising at 80MPH and the boulevard is even better for dragging your knuckles. This machine likes the attention of onlookers and does get a lot of compliments. The exhaust is as admirable, rumbling at low speeds and purring on the open road. Someone once likened the sound to that of some Italian motorcycles. I like to believe it has a distinctive character all it's own. I like to point anyone shopping for a cruiser in this direction. If you were looking at a Sportster, the Intruder costs less and arguably offers better performance. The Sporster I rode did handle marginally better. If you want a muscle-bike, my VS1400 beats my friend's Vulcan Meanstreak stoplight to stoplight every time we try, and I weigh 40 pounds more (Me, not the bike). The Chopper-esque styling is a brilliant reminder that the minimalist were the first muscle-bikes. The Intruder doesn't breakdown and will not break your bank account either. The aftermarket could have better options, but it is difficult to think up custom pieces for a product that covered nearly everything. Suzuki doesn't call it an Intruder anymore. The name is now Boulevard S83. The handle bar is more appropriate for the design of this bike's drag bar mounted to pulledback risers and the seat is a slimly contoured solo. The S83 turns the Intruder into the motorcycle I would have purchased had it been assembled that way when I went shopping. I'm still happy.
- Peter Mills, Mineola, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-07 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have a 2001 1400 VS which is quick, reliable, and just plain fun. Knowing it did not cost an arm and a leg makes it even better. Absolutely no problems with this bike. Light weight makes city riding pleasant and yet has plenty of power for passing and the highway. Get lots of compliments on the looks with plenty of chrome and high quality fit and finish. Suzuki got it right years ago and has been smart enough not to fix it if it isn't broken.
- Gary Gabel, Mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-10 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2002 1400 Intruder. I have put 32,000 miles on it in 24 months (20,000 first 12 months). The longest single day ride was 900 miles. I have never had to replace anything on this bike that it didn't break dropping it. It is the fastest, most comfortable motorcycle I have ever owned. I bought it simply because I wanted a cruiser and only had half the money I needed to buy a Harley. This bike is faster, smoother, easier to handle and gets 51 mpg. consistently, all the time. Should this bike ever die, I will get another. Why am I writing a review about a 2004 bike nbased on a 2002 model? Unlike other manufacturers, Suzuki knows how to leave well enough alone. Except for changing the paint schemes, Intruders are virtually identical year after year. that's reliablity.
- Arizona, Fairfax, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-31 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I bought an Intruder VS1400 last October. We love it. The bike has the power we need for all the hills in NY. Great for cruising around town and traveling the country roads. We get about 40mpg with both of us riding. Very comfortable. Great bike and enjoy the ride.
- S Armstrong, Shortsville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-26 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't had a new motorcycle since I rode in High School. I have a twin brother who has always owned bikes. He has always let me ride his. I have ridden his Honda 750 & ST1100, Triumph 900 Legend, 650 BSA, Suzuki 1100, HD 1200 Sportster, HD Wide Glide and BMW 1200 GT and I have enjoyed my OWN Suzuki 1400 Intruder the best. It starts everytime, easy to work on yourself if you like doing your own maintenance, no chain and sprockets to replace tons of torque at low end. It's got more than enough power, comfortable on trips, I love it's looks, stock pipes sound great and the drive line is great for planting the power to the pavement. Man, it just fits me perfect. Sure it's not what the kids want but the spoked wheels, lot's of chrome, beautiful looks has got me hooked again on motorcycles. I get a steady 45 mpg milege and I commute everyday to work on it. For those out there that would like a nice cruiser, take a close look at this 1400 Intruder. With gasoline prices going up everyday you can't go wrong with this Suzuki. I only hope they continue to make this model because when I wear this one out I want another one. Good Job Suzuki!!
- Bill Mahon, Citrus Heights, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-01 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very nice cruiser. A lot more bang to the buck compared to a Harley. Nice smooth lines, retro '70's look to it. Rides quietly. Plenty of torque for a cruiser. Be careful of the power until you get used to the turn/lean ability. When you roll, it will go!! Throttle response is awesome. Braking response in the front leaves a bit to be desired. Once you get used to it though, you can brake it like any other bike. Very light bike and easy to balance. A pleasure to own.
- Michael Buckingham, Waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-02 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After my Yamaha FZ750 (scaring frame and heavy) I wanted a bike on which I could go slow (mean respect speed limits) with car drivers understanding that by just looking at me on the bike. Had to be a BIG twin bike. HD was far too expensive (new and pre owned) and not really performance nor reliable. I tried many Japanese bikes and read many magazines. For the money, the most reliable bike and best torque/price ratio was the 1400 Intruder. You have to like or forget its "old Custom" look as it is not a low rider. But then it is lighter than any equivalent low rider. This counts because once you get used to the heavy direction at low speed, you have to take care of it when cornering (or else, footrest touches). The front brake is a pity and the rear brake is okay until it blocks the wheel! It can accelerate great, in a great twin noise, but you always have to thinks about adapting you speed for next corner or next stop. Or else, you will not do it...It is the best choice for the money as long as you use it as a cruiser. If not, buy a KTM Duke 660.
- Pierre, Toulouse, France

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-22 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I brought a 2000 Intruder 1400 and put more miles on it then most people have on bikes twice as old. I rode it to Utah Trails to make a movie and I rode it up to St. Clair Michigan. Also I have rode all over the south. I consider anything fewer than 600 miles to be in my back yard. I work four days on and four off. So just about every break I point the bike in a direction and just travel. I find the bike to be very comfortable. The only problem I've had with it is I sometimes lose the clutch when I'm in heavy traffic during the summer. The hydraulic heats up. I almost didn't buy this bike because I always rode a Harley. After being broad side I was in the market for another one. I'm glad things didn't work out and I got the Intruder instead. I find it is a much more comfortable bike.
- Swamp Rat, Williamsburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-16 2004 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (VS1400GLP) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes over the years and love my VS1400. It is quick, responsive, quick and comfortable. I really like the throw back to the late 70's 80's look. The value is untouchable. The only comparison I found was the HD Softail Standard at twice the cost - stripped!! Blast to drive. Keep the stock exhaust - surprise them when you blow them away!!!
- A. Scott Kiehner, Wallingford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: