Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles Reviews (33)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-09-14 1999 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Do you want a sport cruiser or a semi-touring bike? This is a great bike - lots of power and great lines. The only drawback is a small gas tank for the size of the motor. It's a good bike for the miles or hauling yourself around.
- r.setliff, fletcher, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-25 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Back in late December 2002, I went to two Harley dealers in the Portland area and was determined to walk out with a new Dyna Wide Glide for $16,000. No doubt about it, cash in hand and ready to go. Both were closed for inventory. Just because I had the time to kill, went to kick tires at the Suzuki dealer just for kicks. Saw the Intruder 1400 and had to have it. I could have bought two for the price of one Harley. Have since sold the 2002 and bought a 2004 Intruder. don't care for the looks of the 2005 now that they have changed the style and the name. The Intruder 1400 is truly a great looking and riding bike with all the power needed and gets a lot of attention. The seat could indeed use some improvement and the tank could be a little bigger but those are minor details and after about 120 miles it makes a good time for fuel and to stretch. Ride safe.
- Jim Earley, Kenai, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-26 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently upgraded to the VS1400 from a 650 Savage. Before I saw this bike, I was set on the 800 Volusia. But, after some investigation I determined it was a little large for me. The overall dimensions of the VS1400 were smaller than the 800 Volusia, but only 4 lbs heavier (dry). I feel very secure riding my Intruder. The weight keeps me from getting blown around. Turns are smooth and steady. It really snaps when shifting gears, so I have to let the clutch out easy. It is a lot of power but easily controlled by the rider. My rides keep getting better. As far as reliability; only time will tell but no troubles yet. I have great confidence in the Suzuki line. This is a great bike for the price. I got mine for a steal because it was last year's model.
- Amber , Battle Creek, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-02 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at all the bikes out there before buying this 1400 Intruder. The looks caught my eye, the 2 tone paint job, and the price($7500-new!) What a deal for a bike! I have over 3000 miles on it and commute to work on it. It needs a better seat for long rides so I'm ready for a Corbin replacement. I haven't had a bit of problems with it just love to ride it. It has a lot of good torque and is great on the freeway. It does start to vibrate a little at 70+ mph but it is not bad. I get a consistant 40 - 45 mpg and it runs on any grade of gas, but I do recommend premium since it only takes 3.5 gallons to fill so you won't pay much more for the best. I looked at Harleys, first, but didn't want to pay the price and most of those Harley guys won't wave at anyone that isn't riding a Harley. Meteric riders wave at everyone and that is why I bought the Suzuki Intruder, lots of friendly riders. Guys and Gals out there, if you want a great bike for the price this Intruder is it, although now they are called a Boulevard S83. Same bike but not 2 toned and different seat and no sissybar. Boo! Hoo! I'm glad I got the last of the Intruder style. Have fun riding!!
- Bill, Citrus Heights, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-17 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have thoroughly enjoyed riding this bike. It is very managable in traffic and has good acceleration. The seat does get a bit weary after 120 miles, but by then it's time to stop and fill the tank. I bought hard LeatherLyke saddlebags, expensive, but I liked the locking tops. Everything necessary to move the rear signal lights was there and it took about an hour to mount them. This year I installed a Memphis Shades windshield and love it. Great for keeping those nasty blackflies out of my teeth. I have on order from Seeger Cycle some rear peg extensions for my fiance. 90% of our use is 2-up riding and the bike is great for this. We also bought an extension for her back rest. Best trip- the Park Loop road at Acadia National Park and up and down Cadillac Mt. road. If you are ever in Maine you have to do this trip. This is my first bike and we love it.
- stevek, milford, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-12 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the bike I was looking for, I love the style and performance and the gas milage, it is capable of 50 mpg + when left in the stock form or close to it. Great for long trips and with the right luggage it will tote the load. The only problems I have had is the clutch going out do to heat, there are things to do to help with this, and the stock seat must be replaced.
- Trp37, Woodville, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-25 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! I ride 104 miles to work daily and then another 104 miles home. Call me crazy, but I love to ride and this is a perfect bike for me. I sold my dirtbikes (Suzuki) because I just didn't get enough riding time. This one has the power and the design to be very quick and nimble through the rush hour traffic that I deal with throughout Los Angeles. Forward controls and a Corbin seat make that much more comfortable. Anything bigger, ie LC1500, is just not as easy to manuever. I am considering buying an extra one so that I have a backup when mine has to spend any time in the shop.
- Rick McCoy, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 1999 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Guy's I have purchased new this 1400 Vs Intruder ,I added all the Chrome parts in the Suzuki catalogue. I was hesitating between the fatty looks of the Yamaha V Star, and the exceptional looks of the Intruder. No regrets the Intruder 1400, has the looks ,the power , and draws attention and best part less than half price if compared to American mfg. People actually stop and ask who's the mfg of that bike .The only sad part is the Gas tank, but it is worth it ,I am so happy I chose the Suzuki Intruder ...
- Mike Tremblay, Hull, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-11 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Want a bike w/ gobs of torque and shoulder wrenching power, this is the bike. You'll still end up dumping the stock set of Bridgestone tires as well as upgrade to Progressive shocks and rejet the bike w/ better pipes to get everything you want out of this bike. A Corbin seat helps also along w/ a Lazy Rider backrest.
- Lan Tran, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-11 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first "brand new" motorcycle I've owned. All the other used bikes I've owned were good, but this one takes the cake. If you're looking for a classy, easy handling, full of torque motorcycle...this is the one for you! It's an all-around great bike, for around town use, as well as highway travel. Lots of get-up-and-go, and lots of chrome. GET ONE!!!!!
- Robert Wilshire, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-16 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Intruder 1400 has that great looking style of a semi looking chopper but has the crusing power of the bigger boys. It's much easier to handle and control in and out of tight spots, and if it's power your looking for, you've got it, look no further. The only drawback in my opinion is the size of the tank, only 3.4 gallons. Bottom line, I love my Intruder..... Louie <><
- Louie, Revere, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2002 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike in 20 years. I searched out bikes for some time before my purchase and it was between the Intruder and the Yamaha V-Star Custom. I couldn't go wrong for the price! I love the way it looks with the early chopper style and sleek fast appearance. It handles great, but the steering is somewhat heavy at slow speeds. The shifting is smoothe and well geared. The ride is comfortable at highway speeds with minimal vibration. She will absolutely take off if you roll it on. So far the stock seat is fine but I haven't taken a long trip on it yet. I think this bike needed some more lighting up front so I added two 55 watt halogen fog lights for extra visibility. Over all excellent bike for the money. I couldn't justify spending a lot of money on a Harley when I can get a bike that is extremely reliable and looks as good!! Enjoy the ride
- 88driver, Peachtree City, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-16 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1400 Intruder has an abundance of low and mid-range power. It is a nice looking bike from my prospective, but could use a little bit more deeper sound without adding optional pipes. It is somewhat cold blooded, but does warm up after idling for 4/5 minutes. The 1400 is an excellent buy.
- J.P. O'Neil, St Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-30 1999 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am well pleased with my Intruder! This is one of the cleanest and sharpest looking v twins on the road. Nice factory paint and dripping with chrome, I can park it next to any v twin cruiser out there and walk away grinning while they gape and wonder why they bought overpriced "american iron". Though I havn't done any custom work to it (yet), and its 4 years old, it sits there and looks brand new and shiny. Sadly though, it's hard to find accessories for it. The only thing I find wrong with it is for my height I wish the seat was about 2 inches farther back. Never fear though, I have found a custom chopper kit and solo seat that will solve the seat problem and trick this already awsome bike into a truly unforgettable one.
- Jim Brown, Yatesville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-05 2002 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got an 02 with about 1500 miles on it. This is a wonderful bike. I only liked it at first but it grows on you and I love it now. You need to see it in person. The computer image doesn't do it justice. A gorgeous bike. It is relatively light, fast, lotsa torque and handles surprisingly well. I ride kind of aggressively sometimes and haven't scraped the pegs yet. The rake in the steering makes it a little floppy at parking lot speeds but you get used to it in a short time. Its pretty comfortable for short rides but the butt gets to squirming after an hour or so. I am 6'1" and the cockpit is kinda small for me but not enough to turn me off. Also the stock pipes, while pretty, sound like a lawnmower. As I get money I'll get highway pegs or forward controls. A Corbin seat and some Vance and Hines slipons. Other than that the big Suzuk needs nothing. It looks cool and will out anything a Harley does. I took it on a 250 mile ride last week and it performed flawlessly all day. Such power. When you roll on at about 50 mph it will stretch your arms right quick. I got my 02 for $7300 new. Check out the website www.intruderalert.com. You'll find lots of great people who will answer all your questions and there are many good wrenches on the site that will be happy to instruct you in about anything. I highly recommend this bike. You get the most bang for the buck and all the bugs have been worked out long ago.
- Jim Losinger, Aopoka, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-12 2002 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 1400 Intruder for more than two years and have done a number of long trips (last one was in excess of 3500miles). The only maintenance has been oil, filter, plugs, brake pads. Hydraulic tappets, auto cam chain tensioners &#038; shaft drive take care of the rest! Great bike, looks good too - siuts me fine!!!
- Double D, Durban, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-25 2002 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2001 1400. I did put an unrestricted exhaust on it. The bike is great! Great sound, great power. Even two up you never know the difference in power.Great fuel economy for its size. A real head turner. I wanted a Harley, but I can no longer justify the cost difference, This bike is an excellent value with plenty of stock features that would be add on's on other bikes. Chromed aluminum rims, hydraulic clutch, backrest, aluninum switch housings. You won't be disappointed, unless you wanted to spend alot more $$!!
- Ol Rob, Tifton, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-20 1999 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
50 mpg fast comfortable, long ride with 3 other bikes and the intruder was the most comfortable.never did i feel a hesitation on the highway or on the back roads.cant think of a better all around road bike.
- tom , east providence, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-05 2002 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2001 1400 Intruder and I have have enjoyed it from day one. If you you are looking for power and a smooth ride I don't think you can do any better than a 1400. I realize there are some bigger bikes that can run but for its size and weight I don't think you can find anything faster. But beware too much of the throttle can jerk your shoulders out of their sockets. I know because I have done this myself.
- Dohickey, Chespeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-02 2002 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned many bikes over my life time, but I always seem to go back to my favorite, the 1400 Intruder. Probably the best maintainace free motorcycle on the planet. If you've owned one, you know what I'm talking about. This bike has great looks as well. The paint, the way it's put together and clean looks, all add up to a best buy for such a great quality bike. I payed $9,000 up here in Canada, and it's worth every penny. I've enjoyed vmax,VFR's, Katana's and have had the privelege to ride many more wonderful bikes. But do you really need anything more then this, probably not. I love the RUSH of a really fast bike, but with a bike that has so much power, it's there to used and it's just a matter of time before you get yourself in to trouble.
- Craig Sera, lethbridge alberta canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-19 2002 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If your looking for a trouble free cruiser with lots of power then this is the bike for you. You can pick up a used one for under $4000!
- Cruisin, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-13 2001 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike to ride for short trips under 2 hours one way. I'm a big guy (6-2,300) and this bike had plenty of power to pull me around and was very easy to manuver. With the addition of a second person, this bike becomes cramped quickly for someone my size and for the unfortunate rider. The bike has the power to pull the weight, but not the space. Replacement of the stock seat for rides that are consistantly over an hour is a good idea. Compared to other bikes I looked into (Honda's, Harley's) this bike is very limited in after market parts (air filters, exhaust,seats, etc.) This was traded in for a Valkyrie standard after wife started riding regularly. A nice bike, but do your research and know think about what you might want to do to accessorize and your budget.
- Ed, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-06 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a fun bike if you think of it as a Japanese Sportster with real muscle. It is an elemental motorcycle with bigtime grunt, stable handling, and the ability to still carve a mean corner despite being a cruiser. The roll on power any speed any gear is really fun, as is the solid feeling in the corners. Once I got used to the ergos I have found it to be much less wearing to ride long distance than my BMW RT. Vibration is there but it is moderate. A superbike handlebar has greatly improved comfort although the bike needs a gel seat for long distance comfort. Perhaps the most impressive aspect of the bike is it's high-speed high gear roll on performance. It is a mountain road monster, what a blast, what fun. The only major change I would like to make would be to install a larger aftermarket gas tank, 100 miles is just not enough. In some ways the Intruder 1400 despite being an old model was ahead of its time. There is a new awareness among cruiser riders of the value of performance and handling with the new cruisers, but the Intruder with it's ground clearance and high compression twin carb motor has been there all along. This is a bike for serious riding, not just to impress the great unwashed with. After 33 years of riding this is the most pleasure I have ever had on a bike. It is a real MOTORcycle!
- Dave Phillips, Vancouver B.C. Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-20 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a '95. Bought it new, when I was 18. Rode it a few months later from Florida to California. The stock seat sucked, but overall was a great ride. Three years in Hawaii mangled the paint and chrome (the salt air), so last year, I stripped it down to the frame and engine. A complete rebuild is in progress. Mechanically, it's a perfect engine. No probs at all. A bit weak by today's standards, but powerful enough. The looks might not suit you completely, but there is a healthy aftermarket to turn it into 'your' bike. that's what I'm doing now. If you don't want to spend big money on a large-bore cruiser, and still want great power and great looks, this is the bike for you. Check out www.intruderalert.com for other riders of this beast and for pics of some custom jobs; some mild, some wild.
- Brad Swearingen, Splendora, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-17 2000 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a bike over a decade ago but could not justify the cost then. The bike was a Suzuki Intruder. Now that I am able to get a bike what do you know? Almost the same Intruder is still there, so I purchased a 2000 Intruder 1400 for its slender size, speed off the lights and head turning looks. I have taken several long trips across Texas and enjoyed the ride and the looks. Every Harley friend I know would purchase one of these bikes if HD wasn't around. Too bad. I have added a Memphis Slim 17" black gradient windshield, slant saddle bags. Highway Hawk "Intruder" Fork bag and Cobra 2" drag slashcuts. Next "to do's", Highway pegs and a 5.2 gallon gas tank to give it extra range. Bike really moves and sounds thunderous with the new pipes. Highway pegs will make the longer rides more comfortable. I cannot say enough about this exceptional motorcycle! Ride Safe.
- Kerry Tschirhart, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: