Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Intruder 1400 reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

34 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

r.setliff

fletcher, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2012-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Do you want a sport cruiser or a semi-touring bike? This is a great bike - lots of power and great lines. The only drawback is a small gas tank for the size of the motor. It's a good bike for the miles or hauling yourself around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned some cruisers; Yamaha Dragstar 650, Virago 1100, HD FXDWG and Intruder 1400. I still have my 99 Intruder 1400. Best bike I ever had. Fast, fun, reliable and best looking bike I ever seen. If I park it, usually people go over to it to check it out or takes photos of it. It weigs 260 kg, but it feels lighter. It handles corners like a racing bike. I will never sell it
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Earley

Kenai, Alaska

Reviewed on 2004-11-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Back in late December 2002, I went to two Harley dealers in the Portland area and was determined to walk out with a new Dyna Wide Glide for $16,000. No doubt about it, cash in hand and ready to go. Both were closed for inventory. Just because I had the time to kill, went to kick tires at the Suzuki dealer just for kicks. Saw the Intruder 1400 and had to have it. I could have bought two for the price of one Harley. Have since sold the 2002 and bought a 2004 Intruder. don't care for the looks of the 2005 now that they have changed the style and the name. The Intruder 1400 is truly a great looking and riding bike with all the power needed and gets a lot of attention. The seat could indeed use some improvement and the tank could be a little bigger but those are minor details and after about 120 miles it makes a good time for fuel and to stretch. Ride safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amber

Battle Creek, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-09-26

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently upgraded to the VS1400 from a 650 Savage. Before I saw this bike, I was set on the 800 Volusia. But, after some investigation I determined it was a little large for me. The overall dimensions of the VS1400 were smaller than the 800 Volusia, but only 4 lbs heavier (dry). I feel very secure riding my Intruder. The weight keeps me from getting blown around. Turns are smooth and steady. It really snaps when shifting gears, so I have to let the clutch out easy. It is a lot of power but easily controlled by the rider. My rides keep getting better. As far as reliability; only time will tell but no troubles yet. I have great confidence in the Suzuki line. This is a great bike for the price. I got mine for a steal because it was last year's model.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Citrus Heights, California

Reviewed on 2004-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I looked at all the bikes out there before buying this 1400 Intruder. The looks caught my eye, the 2 tone paint job, and the price($7500-new!) What a deal for a bike! I have over 3000 miles on it and commute to work on it. It needs a better seat for long rides so I'm ready for a Corbin replacement. I haven't had a bit of problems with it just love to ride it. It has a lot of good torque and is great on the freeway. It does start to vibrate a little at 70+ mph but it is not bad. I get a consistant 40 - 45 mpg and it runs on any grade of gas, but I do recommend premium since it only takes 3.5 gallons to fill so you won't pay much more for the best. I looked at Harleys, first, but didn't want to pay the price and most of those Harley guys won't wave at anyone that isn't riding a Harley. Meteric riders wave at everyone and that is why I bought the Suzuki Intruder, lots of friendly riders. Guys and Gals out there, if you want a great bike for the price this Intruder is it, although now they are called a Boulevard S83. Same bike but not 2 toned and different seat and no sissybar. Boo! Hoo! I'm glad I got the last of the Intruder style. Have fun riding!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

stevek

milford, Maine

Reviewed on 2004-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have thoroughly enjoyed riding this bike. It is very managable in traffic and has good acceleration. The seat does get a bit weary after 120 miles, but by then it's time to stop and fill the tank. I bought hard LeatherLyke saddlebags, expensive, but I liked the locking tops. Everything necessary to move the rear signal lights was there and it took about an hour to mount them. This year I installed a Memphis Shades windshield and love it. Great for keeping those nasty blackflies out of my teeth. I have on order from Seeger Cycle some rear peg extensions for my fiance. 90% of our use is 2-up riding and the bike is great for this. We also bought an extension for her back rest. Best trip- the Park Loop road at Acadia National Park and up and down Cadillac Mt. road. If you are ever in Maine you have to do this trip. This is my first bike and we love it.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Trp37

Woodville, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2004-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the bike I was looking for, I love the style and performance and the gas milage, it is capable of 50 mpg + when left in the stock form or close to it. Great for long trips and with the right luggage it will tote the load. The only problems I have had is the clutch going out do to heat, there are things to do to help with this, and the stock seat must be replaced.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick McCoy

Temecula, California

Reviewed on 2003-11-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is awesome! I ride 104 miles to work daily and then another 104 miles home. Call me crazy, but I love to ride and this is a perfect bike for me. I sold my dirtbikes (Suzuki) because I just didn't get enough riding time. This one has the power and the design to be very quick and nimble through the rush hour traffic that I deal with throughout Los Angeles. Forward controls and a Corbin seat make that much more comfortable. Anything bigger, ie LC1500, is just not as easy to manuever. I am considering buying an extra one so that I have a backup when mine has to spend any time in the shop.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Tremblay

Hull, Quebec

Reviewed on 2003-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Guy's I have purchased new this 1400 Vs Intruder ,I added all the Chrome parts in the Suzuki catalogue. I was hesitating between the fatty looks of the Yamaha V Star, and the exceptional looks of the Intruder. No regrets the Intruder 1400, has the looks ,the power , and draws attention and best part less than half price if compared to American mfg. People actually stop and ask who's the mfg of that bike .The only sad part is the Gas tank, but it is worth it ,I am so happy I chose the Suzuki Intruder ...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lan Tran

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Want a bike w/ gobs of torque and shoulder wrenching power, this is the bike. You'll still end up dumping the stock set of Bridgestone tires as well as upgrade to Progressive shocks and rejet the bike w/ better pipes to get everything you want out of this bike. A Corbin seat helps also along w/ a Lazy Rider backrest.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 34 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: