Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Intruder 1500LC reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

56 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

steve holt

jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
There is nothing like the LC1500. I've ridden a lot of different bikes and it is at the top for comfort and dependability. Once you ride one, you'll never want anything else.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis

California, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-13

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Plenty of power. Very smooth. I have put a back rest on the bike as I have problems with back and neck pain. Bike came with the big Suzuki windshield that really does the job well for blocking the wind. Put an inexpensive cruise control/throttle lock on it to give my hand a rest on long rides. These are just things I did for comfort that I needed to make the bike more comfy for myself. All in all, a vey good bike for the money and great value. No real problems to speak of of, I do have problems once in awhile with the bike not wanting to start. Just hesitates some. Has always started though. I have heard of the this problem before, if you want to call it a problem as the bike always starts.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vaughn Slavin

Cave Juntion, Oregon

Reviewed on 2006-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Outside of tires and oil, there hasn't been much that this bike needs. I live in a place where the roads are curvy, and stop lights few. The bike has been dependable (make sure your battery terminal bolts are tight). 40 MPG is normal, with a best of 45MPH on I-5 heading to Portland, OR, or anywhere this bike can stretch its legs. I installed Progressive fork springs (way back) to help in the curves. My friends with more "canyon focused" rides are amazed at how well this bike moves through the curves. While it is not a "power house" type of ride, pulling up to three digits on the speedo is not hard. If you want performance above and beyond a freight train, look elsewhere. If you want an easy chair that handles better than Harleys that are half again the Suzuki's price, go no further. It is heavy, but doesn't feel like it. I'm about to hit 50K on the odometer, and my Suzi doesn't use oil. I just put the original spark plugs back in it because they still looked like new (like the replacements I took out after 30K on them). The only part of this bike that has been irritating is the various vibrations that come with a big V-twin. My VL-1500 has never been in the back of a truck - I ride it and love it. This bike is a good value, and the later ones are even better. It could stand a bigger fuel tank, at least 5 gallons. It isn't perfect, but I'd buy another one. After market manufacturers treat the VL like an ugly baby - if you want more love from the Chrome and glitz mongers, buy a HOG.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mccauley

highland springs, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Nice bike and have really enjoyed it this summer. I have put 7000 miles on it in 6 months. I've only had one problem and that's once in a while when trying to start the compression release cable bounces up and down causing engine not to start. I've adjusted it a little and it's been okay so far. The starter switch does not working sometimes. Other than those problems, it's a nice motorcycle. I do not like the looks of the new ones.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray Hoover

Fillmore, California

Reviewed on 2004-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the first cruiser I've owned, and I like it. Bought Suzuki brand saddle bags, tried aftermarket, these fit the best. Rifle offers to custom fit a windshield, I think I will take them up on their offer. Other future mods include a backrest for rider and passenger and an engine guard. There is an exhaust backfire, possible carb jets or Calif emissions. Otherwise a lot of bang for the buck!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick

Apple Valley, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2004-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Good ride, reliable, never to the shop for anything. don't want someone else messing with my girl! Paint could have been a little thicker and brakes could have been a little better are all I feel needs improvement. Oh by the way, the gas tank could have been a gallon or so larger. Other than that, I love this bike and couldn't be happier!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

steveinsandiego

carlsbad, California

Reviewed on 2004-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a used 2001 with 3k miles. Of course I did not exercise due diligence and discovered later that the bike was probably wrecked and/or abused by the previous owner. I experienced a moderate problem with stalling once every couple of thousand miles. Finally it cleared up on its own at 26k miles, and I'm pushing 42k now. It's easy to ride due to the low center of gravity provided by the under-the-seat gas tank. There is way more than enough get-up-and-go for me. This bike is loads of fun to cruise. If I'm grandstanding around town it'll give me 36-37 mpg, and around 42mpg if I settle in at 60 mph or so on a longer ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve C

Idaho Falls, Idaho

Reviewed on 2003-12-28

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine new in 1998 and have nothing but great luck with it. I have only 17 thousand miles on it and have done the regular maintenance on it. I have 80% work done by the dealer and I do the rest. I suggest this bike to anyone. I have owned and worked on Harleys and I will not buy another one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Columia, Missouri

Reviewed on 2003-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My first bike is a used 2000 Suzuki 1500 Intruder LC. This has been a great first bike and I consider this a lucky find (I purchased a used bike with low miles and many add ons). The bike has great power, stable, comfortable to ride, and seems solid and reliable. The bike easily cruises at 75 to 80 mph and tops out around 100 mph with stock pipes. Solid acceleration in fifth gear when passing. I have put over 4 thousand miles on this bike and love riding this bike all the time. The only serious shortcoming is the woefully inadequate 4 gallon fuel tank. I have scrambled for a gas station on more than one occassion. The breaks do squeal occassionally, but I wear ear protection and hardly notice. My bike is solid black with an adjustable windshield, chrome case guards, saddlebags, rack, sissy bar, passenger handles, and a few chrome add ons. It is a great cruiser and an good touring bike. I am 5'10" 200 lbs and the bike fits me great. The hand position is unstrained and my riding position is relaxed. I have riden the bike comfortably for many hours at a stretch. The stock seat is great. Cruise control would be a nice option for long trips. All in all I feel this is a great bike. Obviously Sukuki isn't charging a premium for the label. Finally, I always wear a full face helmet and riding clothes. Nothing fashionable about Brain damage.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Ottawa, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500LC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Took a road star for a test drive, my feet vibrated for an hour after dismounting. Harleys are great bikes but the price is nuts and the dealers are worse than vampires. ( Suck ya dry ). Took out a 1500 and fell in love. Great bike, great price, great dealer. Gonna do a Maritimes tour in July with the wife protecting my back. 1500 has the comfort for both of us. Apart from sunny days, what more could a guy as for?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 56 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: