Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles Reviews (63)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-02 1999 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike almost a year & have had no problems so far. I commute on it so reliability is a must. On long rides the stock seat gets a bit old after 7-8 hours. Good power, decent handling and a 'sweet spot' between 70&80 mph make this bike a keeper.
- Rain Rider, saxonburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-26 1999 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 55 years...and riding is a tad tougher on the bod than it used to be. But I've got a wild hair...and took a 2000 mile trip..alternatley camping and staying in a motel along the way. I picked 45-55mph back roads through Idaho , Oregon and washington state. This is what this bike is made for. freeway speeds are un-fun on this bike for me. But I had a blast. The bike handles well..has low vibration at 45-60 and was relativley comfortable for an old dude. Great Bike!
- Hoot Howell, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-04 2001 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No doubt that this is a great bike and like most Suzuki's, a great value. An awesome bike for cruising at 55-60 on a two lane highway or even a twisty type mountain road. I have a windshield but basically a stock bike. Problem, if there is a problem, is on the freeway. Is a 450 pound bike enough? I commute 35 miles one way from the mountains into downtown Denver each day. The fifteen miles of freeway are definitely the not so fun part of a fun trip. Plenty of throttle response, that's not the problem, want to go 80? just go. No, the problem is that at 65-70 on the freeway you feel like you're on a bicycle, being blown around and not feeling real solid on the ground. I don't think that's the Intruder's fault, just having a bike that's not heavy enough. So, do you move up to a Volusia? Probably not, same V-twin engine but another 100 pounds, not enough umph for the mountains. Go up to an Intruder 1400, now a Boulevard 90? Maybe, but now you're over 600 pounds and getting up there like one of those overpriced Harleys - and they aren't known as "hogs" for nothing. So, like the rest of life, you make tradeoffs, try to avoid the freeway and utilize the bike where its strengths lie, and that's in almost every other area. Any further thoughts on the right bike for both nimble cruising plus solid freeway feel? I'd like to hear them. Thanks, M Jones 5-3-2006.
- M Jones, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-02 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2000 Intruder 800 for 18 months and 2600 miles. I bought it used with 4,000 miles on it. I like the bike a lot. I had not ridden in almost 30 years before this bike. I recommend it highly as a first bike or for someone returning to riding. I get 44 mpg. It has plenty of power, but it reaches high revs quickly in all gears. It could use another gear on the highway. Takes a while to warm up and runs roughly at cold start. Once warmed up it runs great. Nice exhaust sound. The seat is low, and the bike is relatively light, so it is easy to maneuver in the parking lot. The ride is a little stiff with noticeable, but not aggravating, vibration. Overall, the ride is pretty comfortable. My wife hates the passenger seat. It's not a bike for 2 up riding. I'm torn right now between putting a windshield on the Intruder or selling it and buying a bigger cruiser. The big cruisers are a little more cushioned and comfortable. However, the Intruder runs as fast as or faster than most cruisers up to the 1100. In summary, you can't go wrong buying an Intruder. It gets approving looks and compliments everywhere I go. It's dependable, nice looking, rides nice, sounds great, sips gas and is easy to handle.
- BARRY J, FISHERS, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT THIS BIKE (VS800 2003 SUZUKI) USED WITH 2600 MILES ON IT AND SO FAR I PUT 500 MILES ON IT. THROUGH THE MOUNTAINS AND IN THE CITY OF LAS VEGAS IT HAS BEEN A AWESOME BIKE. IT HAS PLENTY OF POWER AND GET UP AND GO. GREAT RIDING SUSPENSION AND PERFECT BALANCE. I STRONGLEY RECOMMEND THIS BIKE TO EVERYBODY THAT STOPS ME TO ASK WHAT KIND OF BIKE IT IS. SUZUKI DID A GREAT JOB!
- bruce holleman, las vegas nv 89048, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-29 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Intruder with 12,900 miles I have 18,900 now. It takes vey little maintenance, and at low cost too. The tank is small for such a long ride. Plenty of power. Also I removed the baffles(no jetting needed). It really rummbles and keeps up nice with the Harley boys.
- T Mosser, Sterling Hts, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am in love with this bike. I just bought an Intruder 800 (4-20-04). I have been riding for 20+ years and I love this bike. Killer mean looks, great reliability and heart pounding POWER. This bike is said to outrun the Intruder 1400 and I do intend to find out. I have always loved honda bikes, but I now have a new love. Great value,loads of power, lots of great features such as shaft drive and hydraulic clutch not commonly found on lower priced bikes. BUY ONE!!!!!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
- Ed Molanders, Vidor, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-09 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For my first bike I believe I couldn't have made a better choice. It had impressive power and once I learned to really ride, I began to truely enjoy this machine. It's gut wrenching torque could be felt throughout its power band and with the addition of some Bling, Bling (Corbin Gunfighter Seat, Custom mirrors, etc.) it was a definitely a looker. Now this motorcycle is not perfect. Its not really intended for 2 up riding, the stock seat leaves a lot to be desired and the foot controls were a little short for me but, those are shortcomings that are easily overcome with a few customizations. Overall, I truley love this bike.
- Angel Rolon, Andrews AFB, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-25 2002 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 35 yrs., and have ridden most anything out there. This bike came box stock ready for my size. I did re-jet it and add Vance & Hines pipes to up the ponies. I also had to purchase a 'gel' seat to make the long trips easier on me. But I couldn't be happier with it. One bad item is the battery being at the bottom of bike and I do mean bottom. Also it is a good thing I know how to listen to an engine since it has no tachometer, bad for first time buyers. I also do not like the spoke wheels, but I needed a scoot for vacation and had to accept the good (price) with the bad (spokes).
- Ms Terry, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-09 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this bike for 10 months still adding stuff like exhaust and jet kit. Mine is a 2002 which was still new in July last year when I got it. It has great power has more horsepower than an 1100 V-Star (53 vs. 52) and an 883 Sportster can't keep up with it and I don't think many Harleys can either.
- Bob, Sidney, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-20 2001 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike for 18 months, time to move up to an out an out sports bike, but this Intruder has been a GREAT bike after 25 years without. A handle like a dream, looks like a Harley, but is maintenance free. Dependable as they get, ALWAYS a smile when I ride.
- Norm Bour, Laguna Niguel, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-06 2002 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research on my first bike and bought the Intruder. This is a great bike. Lots of power, a lot more than my brother's Sportster. Really comfortable once I installed the highway pegs. Couldn't be more pleased. The looks stand out and distinguish this bike from all the other Fatboy clones.
- Paul McKenzie, Ashland, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-12 2000 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an 800 Intruder. I love my bike. There seems to be come common complaints. The front brakes squeal, gas tank capacity is too small, it needs a 6th gear for highway or smaller 5th gear. I don't mind the seat but don't ride long distances otherwise it would make me sore. The bike is so close to being great, but not quite there. I'll buy something different next time unless there are changes.
- Alan Spirdione, Southfield, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-16 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a brand new '03 black color w/full windshield back in March. I have put over 3000 miles on it so far. The great reviews are true. This bike has plenty of power and truly a dream to ride, especially if you are short, like me. My husband bought a set of Hard Krome drag pipes for it and that big V-twin sound is awesome. My husband and teenage son think mom's cool now.
- Diane, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-30 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 50 and I have always wanted a bike, but I had never ridden. After 4 or 5 months of thinking it over, I went to the DMV and got my learner's permit and proceeded to find me a new bike. I looked at bikes from all of the manufacturer over a two month period before decicding on the Intruder VS 800. It was the best decision I could have made. The dealer gave me lessons in the parking lot and after getting the hang of it, I had to ride it 65 miles to get home. The was the best 65 miles that I have ever traveled. My riding skills have improved tremendously because this is a very rider friendly bike. I plan to take the motercycle safety couse which will improve them more. It has been everything I could have imagined and then some. It is smooth, powerful, and relativly quiet. Me and my bike are going to be buddies for a long time. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Ken, Richmond Hill, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-30 2002 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2003 Intruder 800 and I love it! It's a great bike for a 5'0" woman that weighs only 100 lbs. However, it's also tough enough that my 200 lb son rides it with no problem.
- bc, Tupelo, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-28 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am an almost 50 female. I have been riding for 2 months. I took the Motorcycle Safety Course and got hooked. I highly recommend the course for first time riders. My Intruder is 1 week old. Love the look, love the fit, love the response. I especially like the narrow tank and no interference with a air filter hitting my right knee (I like to hug the tank with my knees). I previously owned an '86 Honda Shadow 500 for my training bike, but the bike was too high off the ground for my short legs. My question is: Anyone out there have a Memphis Fats 21" windshield on their Intruder? My husband says it is too wide for my bike. Need feedback from fellow owners.
- JayK, Beaver, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-15 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1997 model Intruder 800 in like-new condition. I have put about 3500 miles on it in a year and it's been totally reliable, I expect to own it for a very long time. Anyone considering this bike should know this: it is easily the fastest bike in it's class, bar none. The Intruder 800 is even faster than the 1400, and much lighter as well. I feel comfortable recommending this bike because I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with it.
- Martin Colello, Morgantown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-22 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Almost bought a Honda 600, almost. Sat on an intruder 2 months ago & can't remove the grin. Love the bike, except for one small point, MUST replace the seat with a gel seat. Your butt will thank you.
- dilley, richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-08 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have short legs, this bike is a custom fit, it is responsive, handles like a dream and solid.I can't say enough good things about this bike.
- Jacque' A, Northville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-05 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 03 Silver with No miles last week after coming back from vaca. I had a sport windsheild put on saddlebags and a matching helmet. The girls love it, runs awesome and I can't wait for another ride down the Ohio River, fast enough without the real sporty bike feel, love the half roll back handlebars. The ride is very comfortable, smooth you forget who you are after 10 minutes on it you feel like you own a Harley but way cheaper. don't ever quit makin those bikes I want another in 20 years after this one dies. Rock on guys! Ride smart and live on the edge!
- Cory Kalb, Erlanger, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-02 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded a 250 Marauder in on an 805 cc Intruder. While waiting for the bike to be readied, I read a few comparison reviews on the Intruder verses other 800's in It's class. Everyone agreed about the exceptional power output of the Intruder that could even run away from bigger cruisers as well as everything else it was compared to. There were some complaints about handling and cornering, and after reading the reviews I was expecting a ride that I had to work to keep in control. Wrong, totally wrong, this is a nicer handling bike than even my marauder was, easier over bumpy roads, and with the shaft drive it is a far superior to a chain. I have only ridden about 12 miles on the bike so far,and have completely erased from my mind any negative thoughts put there from reading some reviews. The first thing I said to myself was "what are these people talking about this is the most awesome machine I have ever ridden". I love it 99.9%. The only other thing I could possibly want in a bike is tubeless tires and hydraulic valve lifters and the other 1% missing from the bike now a bigger gas tank. Dollar for dollar you cannot do any better, and wish Suzuki and Kawasaki the best in their merger. Together they should make even more awesome machines.
- ken Jolley, london, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-26 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not had a motorcycle for 14 years. I got the bug again and went shopping - the Intruder VS 800 followed me home. I have had it two months now, and already have 2200 miles on it. I have loved every mile!
- Sam, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-23 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Why would you ask for anything more? The black on chrome is awesome! The more I ride it, the better I like it! No problems with anything yet, great engineering. I'll keep you posted.
- Jim, Dallas, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-20 2003 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2001 VS 800 Intruder..I hadn't ridden a bike in over 20 years.I got the bug about a year ago and started reading reviews and looking around. What hit me the most was this bike.. It is all black with a flash of dark teal on the tanks. It is fast and sexy. I think it sounds great with the stock low pipes. I'm not into the loud sound anyway. It has a shaft drive. which made me forget about buying a shadow.. I will gladly keep this bike for years to come. The only gripe I heard about this bike was the small gas tank. I am counting on this steel horse to be maintanance free and dependable....I'll take this bike over a harley any day. 1/3 the money... I will be back to further review.... JD
- John Demarkis, Beverly Farms, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: