Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Intruder 800 reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

63 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

BARRY J

FISHERS, Indiana

Reviewed on 2005-10-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my 2000 Intruder 800 for 18 months and 2600 miles. I bought it used with 4,000 miles on it. I like the bike a lot. I had not ridden in almost 30 years before this bike. I recommend it highly as a first bike or for someone returning to riding. I get 44 mpg. It has plenty of power, but it reaches high revs quickly in all gears. It could use another gear on the highway. Takes a while to warm up and runs roughly at cold start. Once warmed up it runs great. Nice exhaust sound. The seat is low, and the bike is relatively light, so it is easy to maneuver in the parking lot. The ride is a little stiff with noticeable, but not aggravating, vibration. Overall, the ride is pretty comfortable. My wife hates the passenger seat. It's not a bike for 2 up riding. I'm torn right now between putting a windshield on the Intruder or selling it and buying a bigger cruiser. The big cruisers are a little more cushioned and comfortable. However, the Intruder runs as fast as or faster than most cruisers up to the 1100. In summary, you can't go wrong buying an Intruder. It gets approving looks and compliments everywhere I go. It's dependable, nice looking, rides nice, sounds great, sips gas and is easy to handle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rain Rider

saxonburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike almost a year & have had no problems so far. I commute on it so reliability is a must. On long rides the stock seat gets a bit old after 7-8 hours. Good power, decent handling and a 'sweet spot' between 70&80 mph make this bike a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hoot Howell

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2006-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I am 55 years...and riding is a tad tougher on the bod than it used to be. But I've got a wild hair...and took a 2000 mile trip..alternatley camping and staying in a motel along the way. I picked 45-55mph back roads through Idaho , Oregon and washington state. This is what this bike is made for. freeway speeds are un-fun on this bike for me. But I had a blast. The bike handles well..has low vibration at 45-60 and was relativley comfortable for an old dude. Great Bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M Jones

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2006-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
No doubt that this is a great bike and like most Suzuki's, a great value. An awesome bike for cruising at 55-60 on a two lane highway or even a twisty type mountain road. I have a windshield but basically a stock bike. Problem, if there is a problem, is on the freeway. Is a 450 pound bike enough? I commute 35 miles one way from the mountains into downtown Denver each day. The fifteen miles of freeway are definitely the not so fun part of a fun trip. Plenty of throttle response, that's not the problem, want to go 80? just go. No, the problem is that at 65-70 on the freeway you feel like you're on a bicycle, being blown around and not feeling real solid on the ground. I don't think that's the Intruder's fault, just having a bike that's not heavy enough. So, do you move up to a Volusia? Probably not, same V-twin engine but another 100 pounds, not enough umph for the mountains. Go up to an Intruder 1400, now a Boulevard 90? Maybe, but now you're over 600 pounds and getting up there like one of those overpriced Harleys - and they aren't known as "hogs" for nothing. So, like the rest of life, you make tradeoffs, try to avoid the freeway and utilize the bike where its strengths lie, and that's in almost every other area. Any further thoughts on the right bike for both nimble cruising plus solid freeway feel? I'd like to hear them. Thanks, M Jones 5-3-2006.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bruce holleman

las vegas nv 89048, Nevada

Reviewed on 2004-07-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I BOUGHT THIS BIKE (VS800 2003 SUZUKI) USED WITH 2600 MILES ON IT AND SO FAR I PUT 500 MILES ON IT. THROUGH THE MOUNTAINS AND IN THE CITY OF LAS VEGAS IT HAS BEEN A AWESOME BIKE. IT HAS PLENTY OF POWER AND GET UP AND GO. GREAT RIDING SUSPENSION AND PERFECT BALANCE. I STRONGLEY RECOMMEND THIS BIKE TO EVERYBODY THAT STOPS ME TO ASK WHAT KIND OF BIKE IT IS. SUZUKI DID A GREAT JOB!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T Mosser

Sterling Hts, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my Intruder with 12,900 miles I have 18,900 now. It takes vey little maintenance, and at low cost too. The tank is small for such a long ride. Plenty of power. Also I removed the baffles(no jetting needed). It really rummbles and keeps up nice with the Harley boys.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed Molanders

Vidor, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am in love with this bike. I just bought an Intruder 800 (4-20-04). I have been riding for 20+ years and I love this bike. Killer mean looks, great reliability and heart pounding POWER. This bike is said to outrun the Intruder 1400 and I do intend to find out. I have always loved honda bikes, but I now have a new love. Great value,loads of power, lots of great features such as shaft drive and hydraulic clutch not commonly found on lower priced bikes. BUY ONE!!!!!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Angel Rolon

Andrews AFB, Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
For my first bike I believe I couldn't have made a better choice. It had impressive power and once I learned to really ride, I began to truely enjoy this machine. It's gut wrenching torque could be felt throughout its power band and with the addition of some Bling, Bling (Corbin Gunfighter Seat, Custom mirrors, etc.) it was a definitely a looker. Now this motorcycle is not perfect. Its not really intended for 2 up riding, the stock seat leaves a lot to be desired and the foot controls were a little short for me but, those are shortcomings that are easily overcome with a few customizations. Overall, I truley love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ms Terry

Omaha, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2004-04-25

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding for 35 yrs., and have ridden most anything out there. This bike came box stock ready for my size. I did re-jet it and add Vance & Hines pipes to up the ponies. I also had to purchase a 'gel' seat to make the long trips easier on me. But I couldn't be happier with it. One bad item is the battery being at the bottom of bike and I do mean bottom. Also it is a good thing I know how to listen to an engine since it has no tachometer, bad for first time buyers. I also do not like the spoke wheels, but I needed a scoot for vacation and had to accept the good (price) with the bad (spokes).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Sidney, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Intruder 800

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Had this bike for 10 months still adding stuff like exhaust and jet kit. Mine is a 2002 which was still new in July last year when I got it. It has great power has more horsepower than an 1100 V-Star (53 vs. 52) and an 883 Sportster can't keep up with it and I don't think many Harleys can either.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 63 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: