Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Motorcycles Reviews (30)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-01-12 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted a big cruiser to do some road traveling. Looked forever, it's really strange because every review I see says the same thing "when I sat on it I knew". It's true. It handles, for a 1500cc bike, like a dream. The under the seat gas tank may be a bit small but the weight dispersion really helps the control. Have gotten the typical feedback from the Harley guys but after talking with them about, looks, price and comfort, power and dependability. They don't have much else to say. I also like to tell them that their front end came from Japan and don't a lot of the Harley guys wore German helmets? Just having a little fun because to me it really is all about the ride. To finish up as one reviewer said, "the Intruder seems to be a truly well kept secret".
- Jim , Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-11 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is number 38 for me, the 1500 intruder is not as smooth as the bike it replaces the 1500 Drifter the LC has more vibrations at highway speeds also the transmission is a little clunky; however I have had no problems with it. The LC fits me better than the Drifter probably because I am 6'-3" the LC also handles a lot better than the Drifter. Overall I would buy this bike again.
- Larry Skipton, Garden City, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-26 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my motorcycle in july of 2002. I went in looking for another brand until the sales person showed me the Intruder 1500. This is my first bike and it was love at first sight. I am glad the sales person showed this model. It has been great riding every since. I would tell anyone this is the bike to ride. I haven't had any problems with it since I had it. Well I must say there was one big problem I had ( Not enough time to ride.) As long as there is no snow or ice on the groung I will ride and enjoy my intruder. This is one the best purchases I made.
- Spence R. McDuffy, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it last May. It's the caddilac of motorcycles. It's got the softtail frame. Wrenching this bike is the best. You dont have to add three thousand dollars worth of parts to make it right,the extras come on it.
- bill armstrong, chester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-08 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2001 in January, I hwas riding an 800 Intruder before that. I have found that the 1500 is an incredible bike. It has a ton of power, very easy 2 up riding, plenty of accesories to buy if you know where to look, and great looks. it is a serious sleeper. THey are relatively inexpensive. All parts are metal, no cheap plastic side panels. Motor is bullet proof. Amazing comfort. The drivers seat is as big as a couch. Yes the brakes could use improvement, but they only take 2 minutes to change. The 2002 model fixes that. The shifter is not smooth as silk, but typical Suzuki. I compared and rode Vulcans, Road Stars, and Intruders and couldn't pass up the Intruder. The size is incredible, the value is obscene! It's the only bike you can buy and then get on a Harley Road King and say "this is a nice LITTLE bike!" Ride one and you will know why they have such a cult following! The 1500 Lounge Chair!!!
- Daren Anderson, Hudson, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-08 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok...I've been looking for the "RIGHT" bike for over a year now. April 30 2002, I purchased a new 2001 LC1500. Having never ridden a motorcyle before, I wanted to make sure that I purchased a bike that I could handle easily and at the same time, I wanted one that I would not outgrow. In the last two days (I just got the MP - Motorcycle learner's permit), I have put about 250 miles on the bike. Before venturing out on the street, just road up and down the driveway and around the house. Then, over the last 2 days, went out to the neighborhood subdivisions to make sure I could turn and to just get a feel for the bike. It didn't take long to come up to speed after some practice and now 250+ miles in two days! At 6' 1" and about 220 lbs, I'm not a huge guy, but noticed that with the exception of the Harley Heritage Softail and Road King, no other bike seemed to fit. In other words, the LC fit like a glove when compared to all of the Kawis, Yamahas, etc. I must say after riding the bike for a few days, that I just can't find anything wrong with it and I can be a nitpicker! The LC handles great and has all the power than any sane person could want. It even sounds good and it's not close to being broken in. The brakes work great and the bike is so solid and tracks so good - well, when I ride, I just can't wipe the smile off of my face. What is really astounding is that the bike doesn't seem to get good reviews in the press. I did visit the LC1500 riders forum - http://www.delphiforums.com and read and asked questions for over a year. It seems like pretty much every one loved the bike... several of the guys on the forum have more than one bike in addition to their LC and they still like the LC (includes Harleys too). It's a great place to get honest input and facts without bias... the guys will take time to answer your questions and will not put down other bikes and their owners. A quick sidebar: recently, I read the big cruiser review in Motorcyle Tour and Cruiser Magazine. Their in-house riders/reviewers, according the what was stated in the review made fun in the past of the LC as being big and fat...lots of jokes about that and now they don't like the Retro VLX. It reminds me of when Honda cars were first being reviewed in the late 70's - the car was so politically correct that unless the car being reviewed was as efficient as a Honda, it was panned. Later I found out that reviewers in Car and Driver were compensated for their reviews by the Manufacturers. In other words, there was no real objectivity although they pretended to be unbiased. At least American Iron Magazine in their cover by-line states that the magzine is for those who love Harleys. I'm thinking that Motorcyle Tour and Cruiser Cruiser and now Road Bike magazine have a bias as they love Kawasakis - especially the Mean Streak. In case anyone wants to give these guys (and a couple of female editors), perhaps both of these magazines would be better received if they had a by-line on their covers.... maybe something like this "a magazine for people who love cruisers and publishers who prefer Kawasakis over any other brand." So they like the Mean Streak. If you have ever sat on one and looked at the design, you can't help but wonder how comfortable riding one would be - and try to imagine where you would store your toothbrush? I have to wonder why it is included in the reviews with cruiser bikes. That is the real joke. Back to the LC, if you want a very dependable bike: it has shaft drive and other niceties that virtually eliminate maintenance. And if you want a bike that is comfortable, the LC is definitely worth a first and second look. I remember one reviewer and a more unbiased magazine stated that the LC is the thinking man's Harley. Well, it has what I wanted and at a price that cannot be believed when you comparison shop with American made bike brands. I hesitate to brag too strongly about the bike as right now, it is perhaps more of a well-kept secret than anything else. If the word gets out and demand spikes, so may the prices. At any rate, one sit and then one ride and I was convinced that this bike was the one for me. In a nutshell screw the magazine reviewers who average 5'10" and go with your gut feeling and you won't go wrong. Happy riding.
- Don Humphreys, Hiram, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-09 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm rollin my blk & jade everywhere on any road i can roll without traffic if possible, state roads and out of the way locations in country so this bike can take all the road. running 300 miles a day for kicks wasn't something i did until now. Any 1500 road dogs heading thru jax. come by or send e-mail and say hello!! any riders in jax are always welcome to come to local bar/cafe called AD cafe on powers ave and have a draft or soda on me. i run the place during the week and enjoy listening to road adventures and great folks . tell the help, paul said so!
- phwolf145, jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-08 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went to my favorite place to buy magazines and found a big test on 11 big twins in Motorcycle Cruiser and guess what? the Intruder was part of the test!!! It's so rare to see, finally, someone reviewing this great bike that I bought the magazine full of hope . What a disapointment... These guys (I can not say "bikers" or "reporter") had obviously something against the LC. I was pissed off seeing: - only few words on the LC itself (all was on the difference between the 1400 and the LC) - so many untrue "facts" (some more-than-6.0' found the bike not big enough because of the footpeg!!!) - little consideration for the owners of this wonderfull bike. Bottom line: I trashed the magazine, went out for a little ride on my Suzy and I had the same smile, full of joy, I ever have since I bought my LC.
- Doudoule, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-12 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There aren't many of these on the road, and I don't know why, but their scarcity is great! Peopole assume the Intruder's a hog of some kind, and it IS! At 6'3 and 245 lbs, I kind of dwarf most bikes, including Harleys I've swapped with on poker runs. My trading partners have all commented on the comfort, handling, and smoothness of my scoot. It's not as fast as their altered models, but that is a trade off I'm willing to deal with. Even the short guys say it fits them, too. I had an '85 Shadow that, due to an old football injury to my back, I had to ride with a cooler rigged to the sissy bar for support. No such modification was needed for the Intruder, as the rear seat sits up high enogh to do the same job. And my wife loves the thickness of that seat! This Clydesdale is an Indian/Harley/Japanese hybrid, and it combines the best of all three. Headlight/turn signal visors, sissy bar with huge pad, fender tips, shaft cover, long lever laces, luggage rack,nut covers,big ole windshield, gold eagle emblems at 3 points down the bike's center, and chrome fork bullets make this machine a head turner.
- brad, westlake, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-01 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After two 1400 intruders, I decided that comfort was as important as style. With the 1500 I have both, this is a machine that makes you not want to park at the end of the day. I rented a Road King while vacationing in L.A. and although it was a nice bike I wouldn't trade substance for name recognition. The VL is a much better riding bike than the Harley. Looking foward to riding to L.A. this spring.
- ntrdr00, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-12 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the summer of 2001 I decided I had I had to have a bike. I went to all of the dealers and checked out all of them. I had heard that honda was the bike to get for low maintenance and it was a good ride. I had looked at the intruder, but had never heard anything good about it. I decided to go with a honda aero, but I kept going back to the intruder because I liked the way it felt. Well, needless to say I bought the intruder on Nov. 30, 2001 and have loved every minute of it. It is one smooth ride. Hope to someday change the pipes and airbox for more power, but don't know which way to go. Keep on riding.
- dean garner, fort worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-31 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE A 2000 LC INTRUDER 1500 GOT IT IN AUG. 2000 I've BEEN RIDING FOR A LONG TIME, ON MANY DIFFRENT BIKES FROM BIG ONES TO SMALL ONES. HAD OWN A 800 BEFOR THIS ONE. DID ALOT OF LOOKING AROUND AND LIKE THE LOOK OF THE LC OUT OF ALL. GREAT DECISION! IT HANDLES LIKE A SMALL BIKE, BUT BETTER, TOOK A TRIP TO CINCINATTI LAST OCT. IT WAS GREAT NO PROBLEMS. WHAT A SMOOTH RIDE COULDN'T BELIEVE IT HANDLED AND PASS SO WELL, EVEN WITH TWO UP, LIKE CUTTING THROUGH BUTTER. THE RIGHT BIKE IS TOTALY THE LC 1500 INTURDER FOR THE CRUSER. MY ONLY PROBLEM WAS I wasn't GONE LONG ENOUGH.
- CHARLES, JOPLIN, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-12 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my new 2001 VL 1500 Intruder. I made the move from a 1998 Marauder to the 2001 VL 1500 Intruder. Now... stop ... The Marauder is a nice bike for the money, but if you're looking for a highway budget glider the VL 1500 is the right move. It all adds up... Shaft Drive, Disk Brakes - front & back, large tank, big saddle & frame for two up riding. Yes... two up riding ... my wife wasn't thinking about riding until the VL 1500. I already have plans for a wind fairing, saddle bags and pipes. If your looking for the BIGG DOGG for under 10K check out the Intruder 1500.
- Patrick, Livermore ,California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-09 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been looking for a larger bike for over a year now. I looked all around and did extensive research an just about all of the big cruisers. I finally narrowed it down due to the help of MOTORCYCLE WORLD and did more research. I liked the specs and looks of the LC. So I persued that avenue a little further. I found a great little forum for the LC and e-mailed practically everyone from there ( approx. 150 people). They all loved the LC but had the same complaints as everyone... rear brakes squeal, and the bike is TOO QUIET!!!. I took everything into consideration and decided it was time to finally go and physically like at the prospects: Vulcan, Intruder, Valkie, and yes... a HD. After looking at all of them and my wallet and feeling the comfort of the ride itself; I decided to buy the LC. I purchased it from a bike shop about 1 hr. from my house. I must have had to pick 1000 bugs from my teeth due to the incessant smile on my face. This bike ROCKS!!! It is the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. It also has plenty of torque for when you want to "get on it" too. Since I"ve bought it, I've added highway bars, pegs, saddle bags, tool pouch, sissy bar, and a sissy bar bag. I plan on adding a windshield, and lightbar, and some pipes to give the bike the sound it deserves. I've had so many people compliment me on the ride, and I've even had some guy that I pulled next to on the road jab his wife and tell her "that's a damn nice "fat-boy"... I just had to laugh and leave him in my dust.
- Bzyman, Brooksville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-08 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I spent 4 months off and on shopping for a Bike. I was looking at the 2002 - 1100 V-Star Silverado and the 1100 ACE. But when it all was said and done I came back to the 2001 LC. Unlike some of the others reviewing this bike, I am a bit shorter, 5'7" and sit very comfortably on the bike. Several reasons for selecting the LC over the other bikes was price, less than 9K, the awesome looks that I can customize to make it MY bike and the low center of gravity. Being short by Texas standard, the low center of gravity provides confidence for the rider whether running stop and go in traffic or cruising the twisted winding roads. The bike is a hoss. It doesn't waiver when passing semi's, and has the power to get you around any convoy you meet on the preferred two way winding roads. The LC, like many factory bikes does have a quiet exhaust system which is really too bad because Suzuki came up with a winner here and should have pushed the edge to grab the attention it deserves with a more aggressive sound. That is the second thing I plan to change, the first is a windshield.
- Dan Texan, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-20 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
wont break the bank After riding bikes for years I think I found the perfect bike. It handles like a much smaller bike. It's big size lets two people ride in comfort. It's smooth, powerful and low maintenance. And best of all it has that great retro look. One more thing -- $10.000 gets you a lot of bike.
- Sparky, Cacapon, West Virgina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-19 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the VL1500LC beginning of August, after asking (too long) myself which one to buy between the Road Star or the Shadow. When I went to the dealer and saw the Intruder, I was just glued to it! It looks great (had 6 people so far in the streets telling me Nice Bike!, Beautiful!'). Even though it doesn't bother me at all, the only "Dark Side" might be the noisy rear break and it seems to be noticed in every review. Bottom line: don't buy it, I wanna be the only one in the street with such a GREAT bike!!!!
- Doudoule, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-24 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall the 2000 model is a great bike but it has one drawback. The rear disc brake emits a high pitched squeal when braking even at low speeds. This started after just 500 miles of use. I have been told that this is due to the metal particles imbedded in the brake pads. I hope that Suzuki comes up with better brake pads.
- Pete, Indianapolis, Indianna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-21 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Bought a 2001 Black and Blue... Love it ! Have added Bags, Light bar and Windshield and a few other chrome goodies... Looks Great but needs to be heard also... Can anyone recommend good pipes for this Bike ? A little too quiet. Want people to know I'm next to them when they are busy on the Cell Phone. Thanks Everyone and Safe Trips.
- Jim L., Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-29 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought 2000 with 1500 mi added light bar crash bar headlight modulator and tail light "back off" love the ride, many comments on safe lighting system. Agree Suzuki light bar is inferior. Anyone found a windshield that doesn't badly buffet like Suzuki factory add on; bike itself is top notch; handled 400 mile day in Smokies like a champ with proper caution; this is a cruiser, not a standard. Would suggest second front disc but rear brake is good
- Rider, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-11 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm on my second LC. First one was a 98, which I loved and now I own a 2000. I put 23000 miles on the 98 and had no troubles. I have every add-on they make on my last one and this one too. My son now owns my 98 and is ecstatic with the bike. I intended on getting a Heritage Classic until I rode one. After riding the LC, I told the dealer I wanted it. There was no comparison. Smoother ride, better handling and a lot roomier than the H.D.'s (not to mention not having to stick a couple thousand bucks into the engine to get it to keep up with the crowd). Plan on riding the wheels off this one. Happy motoring.
- Marv LaCrosse, Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-11 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden bikes for the last 40 yrs. Mostly H-D. This time when I went to get a new bike I did a lot of research and went and tried out most every bike I could find that was a cruiser. I never considered the Suzuki 1500LC until a couple months ago when I was checking out the Yamaha Road Star and saw the Intruder sitting next to it. I sat on the LC just to see what it felt like and 2 weeks ago I went back and bought a new 2001, without even a test ride. This bike is BIG, but it seems to fit just about any size rider with maybe a different seat or bars. It's ride is almost as smooth as a wing. It handles great and has a super low center of gravity, making the bike feel a lot lighter than it is. The only thing that needs to be changed as soon as possible is the tires. GET RID of the stock tires and get some Metzler 880's on the bike. The difference is unreal. Yes, accessories are expensive for the LC, but well worth it. In the last 2 weeks I have been able to ride only a few days because of the weather but I still have managed to put on 1500 miles and the ride just keeps getting better and better. Everywhere I go people commit on how good the bike looks. The only other thing I will say is look around at different dealers if you plan to buy one. Some dealers are good, but others suck. And when you get one, break her in buy the book and she will be worth every penny you spent on her.
- Skip Ford, Sierra Blanca, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-24 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My LC is all I could want a cruiser to be. I am 6' and 180 and find it a very good fit. Opening up the top end of performance with exhaust and jets is well worth it. Around east San Diego I only know of two dealers. One in El Cajon and one in SanDiego on El Cajon Bl. The one in El Cajon gives dealers a bad name but the other one is ok. Sure wish the manufacturers would clean up their dealership network. I have 6700 miles on mine and the back brake is still ok and so is the back tire. I average about 38-40 mpg
- Lee, Santee, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-09 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike. However it came from the dealership with a full dress kit. The Suzuki 3 light system , which the small lights keep coming loose and are of poor quality, and the Suzuki custom bags are cracking where they mount to the bike. The company refuses to replace the bags even though the bike is 3 months old and the lights shake loose even after using locktite. So every time I service the bike I will have to tighten the light system too until I get mad enough to replace them. Overall I like the bike but to do it again i would have gone back to Honda. That new 1800 is of superior quality for only 2000 dollars more.
- Quin, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-22 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding on and off for 30 years but have been without a ride for the past 3. I began to look around last year but found nothing. This Spring I got serious and started looking at the end of March. I looked at a lot of bikes and thought I was going with the Harley, however, I think the salesman was misleading me about the ship date for the bike and I did not want to wait until Sept.to get it. My son called and asked me to pick him up at the local Suzuki dealer where he was having his bike serviced, when I walked into the showroom I saw this bike and fell in love. I went back the next day and purchased the bike and was riding by the weekend. I cannot believe the response, the ride, or the performance of this machine. It is unlike anything I have ever ridden in the past. Plus I saved myself about $7000.00 to boot.
- Cliff, Waterford, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: