Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

30 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wanted a big cruiser to do some road traveling. Looked forever, it's really strange because every review I see says the same thing "when I sat on it I knew". It's true. It handles, for a 1500cc bike, like a dream. The under the seat gas tank may be a bit small but the weight dispersion really helps the control. Have gotten the typical feedback from the Harley guys but after talking with them about, looks, price and comfort, power and dependability. They don't have much else to say. I also like to tell them that their front end came from Japan and don't a lot of the Harley guys wore German helmets? Just having a little fun because to me it really is all about the ride. To finish up as one reviewer said, "the Intruder seems to be a truly well kept secret".
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry Skipton

Garden City, Kansas

Reviewed on 2004-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This bike is number 38 for me, the 1500 intruder is not as smooth as the bike it replaces the 1500 Drifter the LC has more vibrations at highway speeds also the transmission is a little clunky; however I have had no problems with it. The LC fits me better than the Drifter probably because I am 6'-3" the LC also handles a lot better than the Drifter. Overall I would buy this bike again.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Spence R. McDuffy

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-10-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my motorcycle in july of 2002. I went in looking for another brand until the sales person showed me the Intruder 1500. This is my first bike and it was love at first sight. I am glad the sales person showed this model. It has been great riding every since. I would tell anyone this is the bike to ride. I haven't had any problems with it since I had it. Well I must say there was one big problem I had ( Not enough time to ride.) As long as there is no snow or ice on the groung I will ride and enjoy my intruder. This is one the best purchases I made.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill armstrong

chester, Virginia

Reviewed on 2003-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought it last May. It's the caddilac of motorcycles. It's got the softtail frame. Wrenching this bike is the best. You dont have to add three thousand dollars worth of parts to make it right,the extras come on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daren Anderson

Hudson, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2002-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my 2001 in January, I hwas riding an 800 Intruder before that. I have found that the 1500 is an incredible bike. It has a ton of power, very easy 2 up riding, plenty of accesories to buy if you know where to look, and great looks. it is a serious sleeper. THey are relatively inexpensive. All parts are metal, no cheap plastic side panels. Motor is bullet proof. Amazing comfort. The drivers seat is as big as a couch. Yes the brakes could use improvement, but they only take 2 minutes to change. The 2002 model fixes that. The shifter is not smooth as silk, but typical Suzuki. I compared and rode Vulcans, Road Stars, and Intruders and couldn't pass up the Intruder. The size is incredible, the value is obscene! It's the only bike you can buy and then get on a Harley Road King and say "this is a nice LITTLE bike!" Ride one and you will know why they have such a cult following! The 1500 Lounge Chair!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Humphreys

Hiram, Georgia

Reviewed on 2002-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok...I've been looking for the "RIGHT" bike for over a year now. April 30 2002, I purchased a new 2001 LC1500. Having never ridden a motorcyle before, I wanted to make sure that I purchased a bike that I could handle easily and at the same time, I wanted one that I would not outgrow. In the last two days (I just got the MP - Motorcycle learner's permit), I have put about 250 miles on the bike. Before venturing out on the street, just road up and down the driveway and around the house. Then, over the last 2 days, went out to the neighborhood subdivisions to make sure I could turn and to just get a feel for the bike. It didn't take long to come up to speed after some practice and now 250+ miles in two days! At 6' 1" and about 220 lbs, I'm not a huge guy, but noticed that with the exception of the Harley Heritage Softail and Road King, no other bike seemed to fit. In other words, the LC fit like a glove when compared to all of the Kawis, Yamahas, etc. I must say after riding the bike for a few days, that I just can't find anything wrong with it and I can be a nitpicker! The LC handles great and has all the power than any sane person could want. It even sounds good and it's not close to being broken in. The brakes work great and the bike is so solid and tracks so good - well, when I ride, I just can't wipe the smile off of my face. What is really astounding is that the bike doesn't seem to get good reviews in the press. I did visit the LC1500 riders forum - http://www.delphiforums.com and read and asked questions for over a year. It seems like pretty much every one loved the bike... several of the guys on the forum have more than one bike in addition to their LC and they still like the LC (includes Harleys too). It's a great place to get honest input and facts without bias... the guys will take time to answer your questions and will not put down other bikes and their owners. A quick sidebar: recently, I read the big cruiser review in Motorcyle Tour and Cruiser Magazine. Their in-house riders/reviewers, according the what was stated in the review made fun in the past of the LC as being big and fat...lots of jokes about that and now they don't like the Retro VLX. It reminds me of when Honda cars were first being reviewed in the late 70's - the car was so politically correct that unless the car being reviewed was as efficient as a Honda, it was panned. Later I found out that reviewers in Car and Driver were compensated for their reviews by the Manufacturers. In other words, there was no real objectivity although they pretended to be unbiased. At least American Iron Magazine in their cover by-line states that the magzine is for those who love Harleys. I'm thinking that Motorcyle Tour and Cruiser Cruiser and now Road Bike magazine have a bias as they love Kawasakis - especially the Mean Streak. In case anyone wants to give these guys (and a couple of female editors), perhaps both of these magazines would be better received if they had a by-line on their covers.... maybe something like this "a magazine for people who love cruisers and publishers who prefer Kawasakis over any other brand." So they like the Mean Streak. If you have ever sat on one and looked at the design, you can't help but wonder how comfortable riding one would be - and try to imagine where you would store your toothbrush? I have to wonder why it is included in the reviews with cruiser bikes. That is the real joke. Back to the LC, if you want a very dependable bike: it has shaft drive and other niceties that virtually eliminate maintenance. And if you want a bike that is comfortable, the LC is definitely worth a first and second look. I remember one reviewer and a more unbiased magazine stated that the LC is the thinking man's Harley. Well, it has what I wanted and at a price that cannot be believed when you comparison shop with American made bike brands. I hesitate to brag too strongly about the bike as right now, it is perhaps more of a well-kept secret than anything else. If the word gets out and demand spikes, so may the prices. At any rate, one sit and then one ride and I was convinced that this bike was the one for me. In a nutshell screw the magazine reviewers who average 5'10" and go with your gut feeling and you won't go wrong. Happy riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

phwolf145

jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm rollin my blk & jade everywhere on any road i can roll without traffic if possible, state roads and out of the way locations in country so this bike can take all the road. running 300 miles a day for kicks wasn't something i did until now. Any 1500 road dogs heading thru jax. come by or send e-mail and say hello!! any riders in jax are always welcome to come to local bar/cafe called AD cafe on powers ave and have a draft or soda on me. i run the place during the week and enjoy listening to road adventures and great folks . tell the help, paul said so!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doudoule

Detroit, Michigan

Reviewed on 2002-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went to my favorite place to buy magazines and found a big test on 11 big twins in Motorcycle Cruiser and guess what? the Intruder was part of the test!!! It's so rare to see, finally, someone reviewing this great bike that I bought the magazine full of hope . What a disapointment... These guys (I can not say "bikers" or "reporter") had obviously something against the LC. I was pissed off seeing: - only few words on the LC itself (all was on the difference between the 1400 and the LC) - so many untrue "facts" (some more-than-6.0' found the bike not big enough because of the footpeg!!!) - little consideration for the owners of this wonderfull bike. Bottom line: I trashed the magazine, went out for a little ride on my Suzy and I had the same smile, full of joy, I ever have since I bought my LC.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

brad

westlake, Ohio

Reviewed on 2002-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
There aren't many of these on the road, and I don't know why, but their scarcity is great! Peopole assume the Intruder's a hog of some kind, and it IS! At 6'3 and 245 lbs, I kind of dwarf most bikes, including Harleys I've swapped with on poker runs. My trading partners have all commented on the comfort, handling, and smoothness of my scoot. It's not as fast as their altered models, but that is a trade off I'm willing to deal with. Even the short guys say it fits them, too. I had an '85 Shadow that, due to an old football injury to my back, I had to ride with a cooler rigged to the sissy bar for support. No such modification was needed for the Intruder, as the rear seat sits up high enogh to do the same job. And my wife loves the thickness of that seat! This Clydesdale is an Indian/Harley/Japanese hybrid, and it combines the best of all three. Headlight/turn signal visors, sissy bar with huge pad, fender tips, shaft cover, long lever laces, luggage rack,nut covers,big ole windshield, gold eagle emblems at 3 points down the bike's center, and chrome fork bullets make this machine a head turner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ntrdr00

Dayton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2002-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After two 1400 intruders, I decided that comfort was as important as style. With the 1500 I have both, this is a machine that makes you not want to park at the end of the day. I rented a Road King while vacationing in L.A. and although it was a nice bike I wouldn't trade substance for name recognition. The VL is a much better riding bike than the Harley. Looking foward to riding to L.A. this spring.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 30 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: