Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles Reviews (55)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-03-23 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 Suzuki Volusia for my first ever motorcycle, street or otherwise. As a bigger guy looking for a cruiser that could handle me but wouldn't feel too small, the Volusia fit the bill perfectly. I only had it for 6 months, but I put 3800 miles on it in those months through the Colorado winter, and the bug bit me so badly I'm now a factory certified bike mechanic. Only things I would say are change out the stock seat, and if you're going to be on the highway, get a windshield for it. Otherwise a beautiful, great handling, good powered bike, for first time riders or experienced ones alike. I hope to get my hands on another one again soon!
- Ryan Martinez, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-28 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up riding off road motorcycles and ATVs my whole life, but once I rode my bike home for the first time I was in complete love with it. To be honest even though I have had this bike over 3 years I believe that I will ride this bike until the wheels fall off because I could not ask for a better bike for myself.
- Michael Smith, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 61 yrs old and got back into biking after 15 years. I read reviews on bikes for 5 months before deciding on this bike. I was able to test drive it. But I was set on a Ducati, good thing I didn't get that. Even though I am 61, I do believe if it's between you legs you will use it: none of us need to go 130mph, life is hard enough without becoming disabled or brain dead. I like the bike a lot. I have 400 miles on it and it handles very well. I was surprised that it cornered so well, I hit the peg once but that's good because it's a way to let you know to ease up and the peg comes up when you hit it so you can even go down further and it doesn't hit till you are pretty far down. On the freeway, the bike is very stable. I was blown around by the wind but not the bike at 79mph. So I got a windshield that I am putting on today and a rear luggage rack that looks way better than the afterthought passenger seat that is not cool looking. So take it easy, start out slow, and stay slow. Smell the scents in the road and grow up to be 61 like me waiting to dribble in a nursing home, or have a midlife crisis and get another bike at 61, midlife crisis : how many people do you know that are 122 yrs old?
- tom , middletown , Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-11 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like I said, this is a great big little bike. The only thing I would change is the gear ratio in the pinion or an overdrive in fifth or sixth gear. Anyway you slice it, I believe the bike has enough torque to handle a taller gear and this would lose the unnecessary revs at highway speeds.
- al holmerson, Dryden, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have really enjoyed the Volusia. It has just enough power to have fun with whithout too much weight. It gets a lot of attention from other riders because it just looks cool! It has the distinctive "Fatboy" look to it.
- Larry, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-26 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased a used VL800 1 month ago. It had 6000 miles on it, so it's hardly broken in. This is my second bike, and I couldn't be happier. The styling is fantastic, I've even had die hard Harley guys tell me "that's a heck of a nice bike". The response and the bikes handling makes you want to ride forever. I've gone on a 3 hour trip, and my only complaint is that I need a little more padding in the seat. A gel cover will fix that. I love riding my new bike.
- Tony Lowe, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-02 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike expecting a nice comfortable cruiser. What I got was so much more. With the astounding low-end torque and the low riding seat, I instantly fell in love. My last bike was a Yamaha 1100 maxima. It was fun, but this v-twin gives me much more of what I want. It's more stable at all speeds, smooth and throaty off the lot, hands down the best bike for the money.
- byron, kingsland, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-11 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Volusia is hands down the best motorcycle in its class not only because of the very reasonable price but for looks quality craftsmanship and reliability. Why pay for a Harley when you can get a better bike for less, much less, money. It has great throttle response and lots of torque. A smooth ride and superlative handling are intrinsic in this world-class cruiser. Go get one!
- Gene King, Piti, Guam

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-11 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had this bike for the summer before I went off to join the navy and it's a beautiful bike. If you get a pair of pipes for it, the ladies will love it. It looks like a fat boy with 1/5th of the price. It's a great bike for the money but if you're doing some serious traveling (400-500 miles a day), you might want a bigger motor because the 800 cc doesn't cut it for 75-80 mph on Nebraska freeway, it gets really riled up. It just needs about 1200 cc if you're going to travel with it but it's great for around town.
- Nate Gaulke, DesMoines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I returned to riding after several years in limbo. We spent a month reading reviews and testing bikes. We sure did our homework. We wanted a bike where we both felt comfortable, and the bike had to be dependable. Everything pointed to the Volusia. We made the leap after all our homework and one test ride. The performance and power is second to none for an 800. And she is a looker! We have had many people that own Harley's give us a thumbs up. Where we get 43 miles per gallon they are only getting 23. We feel our Volusia will out last any Harley on the road today! We are in our 50's and loving every minute we spend on the bike. Thanks Suzuki
- T.W. & Jackie Moonshower, FT Myers, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-27 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with all the trimings needed. I did a lot of research and could not pass on this deal. I made the correct choice all my Harley rider friends love it and it gets the attention it deserves. This bike has plenty of get up and go and cruises great. I need to upgrade the seat but other than that I have no complaints, it will get those tail gaters off my pipes in a hurry. You know who you are.
- Patrick Hall, Conyers, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-31 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a year and a half I STILL LOVE my Volusia. I have added many things to her, and I wouldn't change a thing... Ride Safe and KNOW that The Volusia is still the BEST bike for your Buck!
- Julie, Steilacoom, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-14 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just started riding a bike in April of 2004, and I started on a 1983 Honda Shadow. I felt that I was in a cramped position all the time so I wanted something bigger, so I bought a new Volusia. I fell in love with my new bike. I didn't think that moving from a 750cc to an 805cc would be that big of a difference but I was fooled. I like the way the bike handles in the curves and the speed I can't get over. I can keep up with all my friends that ride their 1100 Yamahas. I have just about bought everything that is possible for the Volusias and everyone really likes to look at my bike. I am glad that I bought my Volusia.
- vol800, carlisle, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-11 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They have named the UK 2005 version C800 Intruder with some nice additions, automatic choke, fuel injection & onboard computer chip that carries out a system check. Also footboards & toe/heal gear change. I have had my machine just over a week and can say this is one awesome machine, even in this crappy English weather it hugs the road and runs like a dream, also fits my size & frame like a glove. I have had various bikes & scooters over the years and can honestly say this beats the lot.
- Mick, Leeds, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-04 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went to the bike show in Calgary in January 2004 and I tried every single motocycle I could possibly sit on... Guess what? The Volusia was by far the most comfortable, easy to pick-up bike I have tried. I am a small woman and I found everything I needed with this one. So, I bought the Volusia SE loaded with the windshield and the saddlebags. A month later, we took a 4,000km trip from Calgary to Victoria, the Sunshine Coast, Fraser Valley and taking the long way home through the Kootenays. Fabulous ride for a first trip.
- Momzy, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-01 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2004 Volusia VL 800 and Man!... what a bike! Everywhere I go people ask me about it. This is serious Harley country, so people's eyes are pretty sharp. This bike has all the power you need (If you need more, find a race track!) Needs a windshield and some saddlebags, and I am done, it doesn't need anything else.
- Jambla, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-05 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Volusia in the beginning of January 2005 and finally picked it up in February. The bike handles much better than my last bike (2002 Kawasaki 500). It has plenty of pick up for an 800 cc, and rides like a dream. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone.
- Rick Hobson, Westminster, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-28 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 20 plus years I took the plunge and got the 2004 Volusia 800 on December 24th. I was kind of nervous because of its weight and size. I shouldn't have been, after 5 minutes on this bike it was like I had been riding it for years. I love the "classic" look, but refused to pay at least $15000 more for the "you know who" name. I bought from a dealer in Denham Springs, Louisiana and they were great from beginning to end. If someone offered to swap me for the "you know who" brand, I would keep my Volusia. No complaints, great bike.
- fletch24990, Denham Springs, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-06 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before upgrading from my beloved GZ250, I did a lot of research. didn't want to just get into the "bigger bike every year" way of doing things. Researched and found that the Volusia VL800 is considered best in class by many. Tried one out and I have to agree. It's a solid, well-built bike that begs to be let loose on the freeway. So far, the added weight hasn't been a problem for me at all and the added room is quite nice. I highly recommend the Volusia VL800. Renamed the Boulevard C50 for 2005. Got mine in the blue/gray paint scheme.
- Mike, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-30 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 2500 miles on my '04 Volusia, I could not be happier. You cannot buy more bike for the money. Since this is my first bike, I did not want to go over 1100cc, and after doing a ton of research, I decided on the Volusia. It has plenty of power and is larger than a lot of the heavyweight cruisers, but not as heavy. Since this is one of Suzuki's most popular bikes, there are endless accessories and all the help one could ever want from different websites. The only complaints some people have had about this bike is that it is cold blooded, meaning long warm up times in cold climates. That is something easily rectified with a rejet kit, which also will boost horsepower. Being from Arizona, I have not encountered that problem. The stock seat is better than most, but many replace it with a Mustang or Gel if long trips are common. Handling is superb, and quality and finish is excellent. This bike consistently wins in all the magazine middleweight cruiser reviews and after riding it, it's easy to see why.
- Frank, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-10 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great cruiser AND touring bike for my wife and I. We total around 310 pounds + luggage (60 pounds) and cruise right through the day or night, and into the sunset or sunrise. This bike is non-American made, but has the touch of retro- American style and class. Plastic fenders/panels? So.. Gives more to carry. 805cc is ample power to move mountains.
- tatatito, Thoreau, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-24 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where else can you get a 800 cc bike for so cheap that performs as well as an 1100 cc, looks as good (or better) than a 1500 and sounds (almost) as good as a (bite my tongue) Harley. SUZY has 13500 miles. I just bought her new tires, and other than that, no problems. I love riding my Volusia. She will handle the Interstate two up or the back roads like a dream. Let's face it...for the money you can't touch it!
- WTM, Edwards, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-24 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike and it is an awesome fit. The price and quality are unmatched for a bike this size. I couldn't be more happy with the new bike. Now that I put on some Vance & Hines Cruzers it sounds as big as it looks.
- Steve Hayman, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-25 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my Volusia and I love it. It's a lot of bike for the buck. It handles and rides so smooth. I even like the sound of the pipes. I would recommend this bike for anyone who is looking for a great bike to ride. Harleys maybe a status symbol, but you can get all that and then some with the Volusia.
- Bill, Yuma, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-22 2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just wish I knew about this bike sooner! It is a great riding bike. Everyone looks and makes great comments about the stylish looks. I would recommend this bike for anyone.
- Steve Coupe, Valrico, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: