Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles Reviews (142)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-23 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a 2002 Volusia 800 almost from new. When I first got it, there seemed to be a problem with the bike starving for fuel so I took to my bike shop and talked to the mechanic. He said there was a problem with that model being lean of fuel. So he changed the needle valve in the carb which helped starting. I only need to use the choke for a couple of minutes and no more starving of fuel when just idling around town. It runs perfect and it still has the original battery which surprises me since the lights are on all the time now.
- doug reinecker, stratford, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a month since my purchase of 02 Volusia, what a great bike, and very satisfied with everything. I must add that the person I purchased it from made all the up grades. My brother has 07 Boulevard (stock), the Mustang seat alone on mine makes a big difference, as we switch off, we both comment on the comfort level improvement. Other ad on's, windshield, floorboards, heal-toe, bags, passenger backrest, make this bike you can ride for an hour or the day. Buy and Enjoy!
- mcm, lewiston, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-31 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a really good machine. I bought it used a couple of years ago and I can't think of anything negative to say about it. It is extremely reliable, and so far it hasn't cost me a dime for parts or repairs. I've owned a lot of bikes over the past 40 years, including several Harleys, and this Volusia Intruder has proven to be one heck of a "Best Bang for the Buckinvestment.
- the airbrush guy, cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-21 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking at a Honda 750 and my wife said I was too big for the Honda. So I told her to pick out my bike, since she was so smart. The VL800 is the bike of her choice. I didn't even test ride it. I bought it used in 2005 with 1100 miles. The price was right!!! This is a great bike!!! Now that I have been doing some research on them, I found that it is great!! I will tell you this, it is taller than the C90 and one inch shorter. The seat height is the same, and the 800 holds more gas. As for power, the 800 will kick some you know what. Mine is the black and blue two tone, and I get all kinds of compliments including nice HARLEY. Then I laugh and tell them it's a SUZUKI. All in all, it's a great bike and worth the money. Great ride!
- harold , wisconsin dells, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-16 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Volusia, Aug. 2003 and it was the best bike for my money. I still love it, but she really doesn't like cold weather. I am a member of American Legion Riders Post 574 in Hudson Falls, NY and have had several comments by HOG owners who like the look and sound and then I tell them what I paid then watch the look on their faces. I am looking for new pipes hopefully this summer, maybe you'll see me at Americade. The biggest problem for me was the stock seat because the bolt was right on my tailbone, I've had back surgery and brain surgery and the Mustang with the backrest was the best $500 I spent.
- T Bone, Argyle, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looking to buy a V-Twin and found this bike. Not at all disappointed, especially what it would have cost for a "comparible" H-D. Added pipes and windshield, and have the resulting jet-issues as a result of the new pipes. Jet change will fix this. However, my big issue is the seemingly high RPM on the freeway; 70 mph sounds like I am red-lined. No tach is really a bummer.
- Mike, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-16 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just completed a ride from Gulfport Ms to Alabama/Florida State line along the Beach. The Bike now has about 6400 miles and still pulls strong. Seams as though some people are non-believers, The ride had 15 total bikes and 18 people, 2) GSXR 750 1) Kawi 1000, 1) 750 Katana and 1) 750 Vulcan, the rest were Harley's. I kept up with the hogs even the ones with performance upgrades not bad for $6,300 able to stay with the crowd of 15k plus bikes. Still looking to put some Hard Krome 3" Staggered Straights on her to give her a little grunt. But as always still the Best Bang for the BUCK.
- Doak, Diamondhead, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-13 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides like a Cadi and will keep the heads turning. I picked it up a couple of weeks ago after doing extensive research on cruisers. Power is good considering mine is loaded with windshield, bags, etc. When you ride it, you don't want to go much faster than approx 70mph because you're just cruising. Just like any other bike that I've had, I want more power just because you get used to how your bike feels after riding it for a while. It doesn't need any more power, but I thought my ZRX1200 needed more after a few months and it was a rocket! It looks and feels like a big bore, but has the price and value that leaves money for more important things than toys. For a tall guy it has ample legroom. Insurance is really low while the fun stays high! It runs on 87 grade unleaded which makes the gas even cheaper. I'd recommend this bike for anyone looking for the most cruiser for the money.
- Kevin White, Ewa Beach, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-30 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Intruder used with only 10,000 kms. And let me tell you ladies and gentlemen, I would buy another one of these again before I'd buy a Harley. Not that Harley's are bad, just overpriced. You can't buy a more dependable motorcycle for your money anywhere... A real LOOKER. Way to go SUZUKI.
- Bob Meloche, Tilbury, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-26 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Every time I get out on my Volusia I get complemented on my soft tail. I bought it used and stole all the upgrades that the guy before me had installed. He sold it, too scared to ride after he spent all winter putting every piece of chrome that he could on it. Last weekend I rode with a 1200 Sportster and a custom chopper, yeah they could pull away on the straight but the handling on the Volusia kept me with them through the corners. I'm getting ready to jet and pipes and air filter to get a little more power but other than that, it's an amazing bike.
- Adam Mason, Ladoga, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-19 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it used when I decided to get back into riding after a 25 year absence. I don't know how I could have made a better choice. Strong through the gears handles great predictable. My wife was reluctant to agree to this purchase now I think she wants one of her own.
- Terry L, Oakdale, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handle's well, good power, unbelievable looks, everywhere I go somebody mistakes it for a Harley!Very low seat height and excellent balance make's for great around town crusing. I've yet to travel a long distance(150+)yet, but I don't forsee any problems. Great value and reliablity at any price!
- tngator, blountville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-02 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2002 Volusia VL800 with less then 150 miles for an excellent price just two months ago. I had been looking at the new Boulevard C50 when I came across this gem. This was my first new bike in 15 years and I could not be happier with its performance. Prior to getting my Volusia I only rode to and from work. Now I also enjoy leisurely rides with a local motorcycle club. The 40 mpg and 4.5 gallon tank make for great rides without need for frequent stops.
- Pete N., San Angelo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-15 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took my motorcycle safety/riding course in March (the first time I had ever been on a bike other than riding double up with my husband) and got my Volusia on April 8. I can't say enough good things about this bike. It is easy to handle, rides great and is a super bike for a beginner. My biggest fear was not being able to touch flat-footed being as "vertically challenged" as I am but I can do so with no trouble at all. My husband rides a Victory but has been known to "borrow" mine from time to time.
- flagators, Bradenton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-18 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put on 27,000 hard miles on the 2003 Volusia VL800, crossing the Great West and riding I-40 to the Eastern End of the road. My beautiful machine is beginning to show the stress of age and abuse. Two of the three bolts on the muffler bracket fell off and wore the lower muffler out of a snug fit. The bolts hide behind panels on the right side of the bike. The loss of low-end torque from the exhaust leak was apparent. I had to weld the muffler to the T-exchange. Other than that the Volusia is still running hard and strong two up (see photo). I commute to work (seasonally) 70 miles round trip. It is an adventure on adverse days, a genuine pleasure on those other days of warmth and windless occasion. I can understand why Suzuki based the Boulevard C-series cruisers on the Volusia. Vuelve.
- tatatito, Thoreau, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a lightly used Volusia on Wednesday (for what I think was a great price) and have put 300 miles on it from driving it home and on two other rides. I had the absolute best ride ever (this is my 4th bike) yesterday. A hilly winding country roads in perfect weather. The Volusia has ample power and comfort, and of course, it looks a lot more expensive than it is. I love the sound and the great balance between handling and cruising comfort. This one's a keeper.
- Don, St. Francisville, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-04 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's almost been 2 years and she still turns heads. I have not rode as much as I'd like to. I have rode with several friends and did bike swaps half way through the ride. I have ridden similar bikes from the other manufacturers to include Hondas VLX and VT 1100 Saber, Kawi Vulcan 800 and the V-Star 650. All of these bikes are alright for the right person but were not as comfortable as the Ole' Volusia. But to get similar comfort I need to jump to the VTX 1300/1800 or the Road Star 1700. What a pay jump for similar comfort. So I'm looking to just stick with a few more upgrades to the Volusia like Bags, pipes (HK's) and maybe a gel seat for the posterior region. Still the best bang for the buck.
- Doak, Wichita Falls, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-13 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say enough about what an outstanding mid-size cruiser the Volusia is. To me it feels as if it doesn't belong in the same class as the 750 size bikes. The longer wheelbase makes it feel like a much larger bike and the performance is better than most in this class(even the Harley 883). It handles very well and has very good rider comfort. I truely think it is the BEST bang for the buck in its class. Only wish there were more custom parts for it.
- Mike Templeton, Middletown, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-03 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the Volusia for about 4 months now. The last bike I owned was a Norton 850. Tells you how long I've been without a bike! When I bought the Volusia I was looking for a midrange size with a reasonable price. I narrowed it down to three different bikes, the Volusia, Suzuki Maurader, and a Honda Shadow Aero. The thing that sold me was the price and the cruiser looks (love the double pipes). A friend bought a Shadow at the same time I bought my Volusia. The Honda is a nice bike but it sounds like it has a coffee can for a muffler. The Volusia has a nice low rumble. The bike has some nice low end grunt (don't expect crotch rocket rev's). It's a smooth comfortable ride and it's one of the cheapest around with shaft drive! The Volusia is an excellent choice for the money.
- fz670, Lakeville, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-22 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really love this bike. I constantly receive compliments and "gawks". I went on a 400 mile outting with two friends who had 1500cc bikes (one Harley and the other an Intruder LC) and the Volusia easily held its own.
- D Wilson, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 03 Volusia in March of 2003 and I have loved it ever since. I ride every chance that I get and have been on several fairly long rides ( 200 + Miles ) and I have had no problems with it. My wife and I ride together at times and it is a very comfortable ride for both of us. It is my 1st bike and I could not have chosen a better one. I would recommend this bike to anyone both male and female alike.
- Brian, Funkstown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-04 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike for 10 months now, and have around 4200 miles on the bike. I added a K & N Filter, and removed the baffles. I had to ride around with the choke pulled out a few notches. I went to the dealer and they installed a larger main jet. Since then the bike runs great! My son-in-law also has a 2004 Volusia. He is about my size, and when we race, I smoke him! He can't figure out why. I didn't tell him that I changed the main jet! Ha!
- Frank Whitehead, Bowie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-31 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now had the bike one year, and remain very happy with it. I got it based upon reviews and the experience of a friend. I still love the styling, comfort and feel. Only detractors I have found are lack of center stand (common to almost all bikes these days), dragging my pedals in turns (I always rode sport bikes, but wanted a cruiser to slow myself down), and bike's "unhappiness" cruising above 80 for extended periods (still ride with the sport bike crowd). Other comments about being finicky when cold are accurate. Overall, a VERY nice bike though, especially if you want to leave it stock. Great sound, great look, great reliability.
- Scott, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall I am extremely pleased with the Volusia. It is, in my opinion, the best bike for what you pay for it. It is extremely comfortable, the stock exhaust sounds cool without being "Harley-ish", plenty of power and very well balanced (you feel comfortable balancing on two wheels even at extremly slow speeds, which makes you look like a pro when you come to a stop at a red light). In addition, it is beautiful to look at. If you're like me and want to buy a really cool bike and go, without feeling like you have to spend a ton of money on after market add ons, then this is the bike for you. My only criticism seems to agree with other reviews I have read, and that is the fact that the Volusia is an extremely cold natured animal and does tend to run a little lean. When I first got it towards the end of November I did as the manual said and only warmed it up for a minute or so. Bad move in cold. When I started cruising I thought the bike was broken because it would hesitate and chug and cough...I was pretty dismayed. Come to find out that I just wasn't warming it up enough. I took it out in 80 degree weather and it rode like a dream...that was my clue. Now before I ride I let it sit and idle for at least three to four minutes before starting out. I know this goes against what the manual says (and I leave it up to your best judgement...I am advocating nothing for what another should do), but it seems to me that the bike runs a heck of a lot better. I plan on rejetting the carb soon to see if that helps even further. Overall, very good bike. I have no desire to buy Harley like all my friends have. Well, not until I can afford a V-Rod.
- Zach, Apex, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-06 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. But before I bought this bike I have rode a lot of them from Harleys to Yamahas to Kawasaki's. You name it I rode it and then I sat on the Volusia. Man this is one comfy bike without adding anything. Runs smooth at 75-80 mph. handles great feel good. Trust me you want a good bike get a Suzuki Volusia. Oh yea jus want to say I got a friend who just bought a 1200 HD. He traded in his Volusia now he is kicking himself for doing it. We all tried to tell him.
- softballman, paris, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: