Suzuki Katana 600 Motorcycles Reviews (113)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Katana 600 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Katana 600 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-06-30 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought the bike about a month ago. It's my first bike and it is amazing. don't expect to catch a GSXR600 or CBR600, but this bike has plenty of power - more than enough power to get you some hefty speeding citations. I've taken the bike out for a couple hundred-mile rides and stay comfortable the entire time. People with GSXR's can't say the same thing. It's well worth the money and now that it's 2010, you can find them at very reasonable prices.
- Tyler, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-15 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a Katana 600 in 2009, which was my very first bike. It reliable and not too heavy to control. The only thing that went bad since I had it was the spark plugs over the heavy winter we had in Ohio, but other than that, I love the bike and I don't think I will want to trade it for something else.
- Karim Abdel Basset, strasburg, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-23 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike does it all. It doesn't do one thing great, but does a lot of things well. that's what you would expect out of a sports tourer. Plenty of power, you can go 140mph, or just cruise at 60mph and still feel comfortable. Why do you think it's been around for such a long time? Because it caters to all your needs.
- kt69, london, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2005 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, it's not a sportbike (reason why some dislike this bike) so I don't pretend it is, and ride it the way it was meant to be ridden. It's a sporty touring bike, and that's what I do with it. It's got plenty of power/speed for around town...comfy enough to go for a medium distance ride...and handles great. I love the cluster (gas gauge, clock) and plenty of under-seat storage. Great gas mileage. Main complaint is the stock muffler's too quiet, but nothing that a trip to the cycle shop can't cure...will likely be adding a K&N filter soon, along with the jet kit and slip on, for a little performance boost, and add a little cool to this bike. I'd recommend this bike to anyone wanting some performance and style with comfort...but not to someone wanting to race every other bike out there (and win).
- Shawn, Hudson Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-04 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike does not have the razor sharp performance of other bikes in its class and Suzuki never intended it as such. When I want to kick butt on a winding back road, I fire up the Ducati. When I want to ride all day with good looks and great real world performance I jump on the Katana. FYI - my 2001 Ducati has 3500 miles on it my 2003 Katana has almost 20,000 miles on it.
- Brad Davis, king of prussia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-25 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't been riding all that long but this bike, well what can you say? Old school maybe? This bike will do what they say and more! Performance, handling, it's got it all. Now it's not going to have the performance like the GSXR but it's pretty close.
- edu, mahanoy city, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-30 2005 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Unlike the picture, I went searching for the blue/white version of this bike which looks much better. I've been through all four seasons with this bike. It's my second Suzuki and one of many air-cooled motors that I've ridden. This bike is perfect to jump on for a quick run to the store or a joy ride yet is comfortable for extended rides. Warm-up on a cool day is around 2 minutes. Once it's up to temp, I ride normally, enjoying the crisp acceleration. In temps under 40F, the motor actually chills down from operating temperature and needs to be choked again. Unless you're a die-hard, don't ride when the temperature drops below 45F. The tires also will not stay warm (read sticky) which makes for some interesting corner handling (such as two-wheel drift). In 90F heat, idling in rush-hour traffic, the motor does not overheat. It's designed for it. At speed, handling is predictable, crisp and just down-right fun. The bike's weight can be felt during side-to-side transitions but also acts to remind you not to over-do it. I've spent a lot of time riding off-road bikes and low speed manuvering is key to successful control in street conditions on this bike. Spend some quality time in the parking lot working the figure 8's and j-turns (upright position, let the bike do the work using the clutch). Like other solid cam performance motors, it really comes alive above 7000 rpm. From a standing start at full throttle, once the revs sweep into the high end, it feels like a turbo boost. It also means that the motor can be cruised at rpm's under 7K with predicatable forgiving manners. Braking is OK, but not great. That is, it is fast but not race-bike fast. LIKES: Smooth, predictable power. Good handling. Comfortable ride. Reliable. Great appearance. Classic analog gauges. Fuel economy. Easy maintenance DISLIKES: braking power.
- John S, Warren, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-28 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Katana 600 is a great bike and a terrific value. Just remember, you're not buying a raw sportbike. You are buying a sport TOURING bike. You sacrifice a bit of the performance (not on the top end) and get a little cushier suspension for extra comfort on long rides. Make no mistake, this thing will stick to the road around corners and scream down a straight away with any Ninja or R6. Add a performance pipe, rejet the carbs, K&N filter and you'll be blowing away many of the straight sport bikes. You can add all of those accessories for less than $450.00. Have fun.
- Ryan Teter, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-25 2005 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Started with 125cc scooter (still have), completed MSF course and bought new Ninja 250, kept 2 yrs. and sold it, May 06. Bought Suzuki GS500F (Oct 05) still have and will sell in Spring 07. Bought 03 Kat 600 from Ebay and couldn't be happier. Not as maneuverable as the previous bikes but understandable considering its weight. I really like its appearance and style...unique...not many of them around and hope it is reincarnated as rumor has it the Kat may be discontinued. Long live the Kat! BTW Katana means sword in Japanese.
- LMT, North Royalton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-15 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Katana about a month ago (early October 2006) and have ridden it every day since. After doing tons of research, I finally decided on a 600cc engine since I had never ridden a bike before. Even more research convinced me to look into the Katana since '06 is the last year for this bike. I went to the dealership and sat on it and immediately knew it was a great choice. Although it's a little heavy for a 600, it's very forgiving for beginners but has more than enough power for more experienced riders. After a couple 2-3 hour rides, my backside was a little sore, but it's nothing a little more riding won't fix. Overall, I highly recommend the Katana to any new riders out there - you won't regret it. Good riding!
- Tim, Torrance, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-03 2005 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great all around bike! The performance isn't really there, but I noticed with an aftermarket exhaust, it really increases the torqe! A K&N aftermarket air filter helps a lot too! The main thing I don't like about it is that the bike is way heavy, hard to keep on one wheel past 1st gear and the balance point is hard to find. Comfort wise, you cannot beat it - way comfy! As a seasoned rider up here in B town, I'm disappointed in the fact I have to put it up for winter, but when the sun is shining look out!
- Kevin Wilson, Billings, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-22 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They have the Katana in a 750 one, good for some experienced riders, but if this is your very first bike and you don't really know how to ride, then this is a really good bike. I got this and I didn't know how to ride it at all, so sadly it tipped. The only bad thing is that it is really heavy to pick up. I would recommend it because this is the last year that you will see Katanas around. Suzuki will stop making them after this year. I have a black one, and it is really good. They have really comfortable seats, and if you take a passenger along, I don't recommend lane splitting because this bike doesn't have enough power to get ahead of everyone.
- the NINDU specialists, elk grove, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-20 2003 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Started, at age 58, with a new Ninja EX 250 (2004). Fine beginning bike. Sold it in May 06 while still owning a 2005 Suzuki GS500F (still have). Recently purchased, used, 2003 Katana 600 (yellow). Really like it, big difference from the 500 and world's more than the 250. No comparison for 4 cyl. vs 2 cyl. and the carbs to go with it. A really fun bike, somewhat heavy but controllable and very stable. Really do hope they continue to make them as rumor has it the Katana will be discontinued...hope not! Even so, it will still be a fun bike for a long time!
- LMT, North Royalton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-15 2005 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am the proud owner of a 2005 Katana 600 and hopefully I can hit some of the important subjects that soon to be owners or people who just want to know will find helpful. I may seem to contradict myself in this review but these are my opinions going both ways so everyone can know as much as possible before purchasing or while deciding. Pros/Good things about the Katana 600) Honestly the bike looks good and the pics hardly do the bike justice on how great it looks. Even though it's not fuel injected, the designers put everything on the bike to combat possible problems that arise due to it being carbureted. There is a turn dial on the side of the bike for storage that allows the bike to be stored without worrying about the fuel sitting up and caking in the bike. Also, with the turn of the same dial, you can set the bike to Prime to get your fuel flowing again. Then back to the on setting with the same dial to have your bike running smooth again and there is also a choke switch for when needed. The bike IS comfortable. The seat may not look so sporty but the comfort outweighs the look in my opinion and if it's still a problem there is a sporty seat cover to ease you over on the look of the seat. I ride with my friends all the time. One owns a 07 GSXR 750 and the other owns a 06 Honda CBR 600RR and I've never had a problem keeping up with them while riding through town and along the city edge. Yes, the bike is fast, if you're a first time rider or just like the feel of speed, this bike will surely do the job. I was amazed at how fast the bike gets going 0-60 in like 3 to 4 secs and 100mph in less than 10 secs, so like I said the speed is there. I'm not too sure about the 0-60 time but I know it's 4 secs or less. It handles turns and curves nicely. After you get a feel for the bike, you'll be handling turns with ease and don't worry, you can lean like all the other bikes once you've fully gained control of the bike and know the bikes limits of leaning into a turn with respect to your weight and the gas in the tank factor. Passengers will love to ride with you cause it's actually comfortable for them to be on the bike! I know that there are grab bars for the passenger but I've only had girls ride with me and why wouldn't I want them to be hanging onto me;-) But be sure to respect the quick jump in the weight due to riding a passenger. Take your turns easy and be sure to tell the passenger to hold close and not to counter weight your leaning by staying straight up or leaning opposite of you. Tell them to hang on close and move slightly as you lean into a curve, turn or whatever. Overall you can have as much fun on this bike as any other bike if you plan on riding a bike the way a bike is meant to be ridden. Cons/ Bad things about the bike. First and foremost, the weight of the bike is 100lbs over the average weight of most bikes in its class. Average weight is 360 give or take a few and the Katana is 465lbs. The bike handles funny at very low speeds such as turning or slow cruising at about 5 to 10 mph through a parking lot. You can really feel the weight and gas when the tank is full. Respect this flaw and find what works for you and the bikes weight and your weight while on the bike. Seeing how the engine is carbureted you can spill gasoline into the engine by revving the throttle while the bike is shut off. Anytime you do this, it pours a small amount of fuel into the engine. It'll take a good amount of turns to do this but if some kid or someone who doesn't know is sitting on your bike daydreaming about riding while turning your throttle, they could flood your engine causing problems. Low speed 90 degree turns while driving. Until you get a good feel for the weight of the bike you may have to hold the handle bars from turning into the turn too much. Best you can do is take the turn wide as possible until you're comfortable with leaning. The round design of the front end isn't as aggressive as most bike of the day and the rounded garfield eyes headlights are nothing near the aggressive look of the GSXR CBR and the other bikes but this I is my opinion; if it's fast and quick, it should look the part as well. The rear tire is not as wide as most sports bikes. It's 150 in width average is about 180 and of course the more tire you have to the ground the better grip you get. No digital read out on gauges except for odometer. The speedometer font is small and as for quick glimpses of your speed, is not such an easy task. You actually have to focus on the digits and anytime your eyes are off of the road, it is time for disaster. I've adopted a general speed method where I look down for a split sec and based on where the needle is pointing I kind of figure I'm doing around such miles per hour. In first gear, depending on how your pushing the bike, there's a massive dead range from 5000 rpm all the way to the redline. This is only in first gear. If you're riding the bike normally, at average road speed, you'll run into the dead gain right after 5000rpm. I shift at 5000rpm while in first gear to avoid all of the noise with no speed gain. But if you're taking off in first gear and you're really getting on it, first gear has no dead spot at all. It's good all the way thru the rpm range. So when it counts most to need that power all the way through just know that if you take off in first gear hard and fast, you'll get all the power through the rpm band. Due to the fact that it's carbureted, there may be soft or dry starts every once in a while to where you may have to hold the start button a lil longer or even a couple of times to get the bike to start. There's no temp gauge on the bike so you have to take extra caution to drive the bike soft and easy while the engine is cold as not to heat the engine too quickly which can lead to serious engine problems. Shifting the bike at 5000rpm or less for five to 8 minutes should be enough time for the engine to get to running temp. Passenger riding can be a real task seeing how the bike is already top heavy. Be SURE to be very careful on turns especially slow turns, while riding a passenger on the bike.
- John B, L.Charles, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-11 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I considered buying the Yamaha FZ6 but ended up with the Katana because it just looked better. The performance is much better than I expected. Off the line, some sports bikes can get a little jump on you but while riding there's no problems keeping up. The bike is a little hefty, but I like that, you don't get tossed around too bad on windy days. Most importantly the comfort is the best of any sportbike. Since the handlebars are a little higher you can ride upright while cruising or you can lean forward if you want to push it a little. Overall, it's a great bike and not just as a starter.
- Jonasz, South Amboy, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-25 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and it's fun to ride. I just can't put it down. It handles very well for the the stability and weight. Great bike for long distance riding as well. You may not be the fastest one there, but you definitely will be the first one not to complain. Great starter bike but I have done my best to look like the rest.
- rider, mount vernon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-08 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a brand new 600 Katana (Blue/White)in August 2006. The price I got was amazing. I never thought that I can own a terrific, nice looking bike like this for the price I paid. Though I did not get a chance to test drive before buying, now I am very satisfied with the comfort and performance. Every one I know had admired my bike immensely. It is too early to comment on the reliability and quality. I am pretty sure that I will not be dissapointed in these. Finally, I am so proud to own a wonderful bike like this.
- Daminda Sudu, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-25 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is by far the best buy for the money! I purchased my bike in July and have already ridden over 3500 mi. It has comfort for the long rides and enough power to leave those wreckless four wheelers (automobiles) miles behind. I wish that they had more accessories for the bike, but other than that an all over excellent ride. Well done Suzuki! Take a bow!
- XO Drinka, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. Solid performance, it's comfortable and extremely reliable. I ride with several folks piloting GSXR's, CBR's and Ninja's and I can just about keep up with all of them. I highly recommend this bike to both beginners and experienced riders. It's a lot of fun.
- upatnite, Roseville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-20 2003 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike from a guy I work with and love it. I can't get enough of riding it. My girlfriend and I argue over who gets to take the bike to work. Being a bigger guy the weight is not an issue for me and the throttle response is very snappy. Have to go now - time to ride.
- Jason Ward, Winter Haven , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike in May 2006 after looking at the "higher end" bikes. I finally settled on it due to price and wanting to get a 600 since it's my first bike. Overall it's great, but for a "beginner" bike, 457 pounds is quite a bit of heft (100 pounds more than a GSXR 600) and during acceleration, you definitely feel the weight. The foot pegs feel like they should be moved back a bit since when you move the bike, your legs tend to hit them and I wish it had a bit of a more "lay down" riding style to it for comfort. Overall, it's a great bike, great on gas, easy on the wallet, and by all means, a head turner. It does sound weak, but with a new exhaust, you liven it up quite a bit.
- Brad, Hollis, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-09 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a really good first bike, the only downfall I've had with it is that since they're not making them anymore, it's harder than heck to get any accessories outside of exhaust for it. Frame sliders have to be custom made, any other type of accessories aren't available from what I've seen. Nice bike for the money, but not a nice bike for getting accessories for.
- Rachel, Des Moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-05 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great starter bike. I put 7k miles on mine in about 8 mo. Not too much get up and go for newbies. It forgives mistakes. Can still keep up with more sportier bikes too. won't be able to out do them, but you won't be left too behind either. Comfy as a couch too. When you're ready for something better you'll know.
- ed, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-02 2006 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For an all around smooth bike you can't find a better one. This is my first street bike I've owned but I've riden CBR's, R6's and a GSXr's and alright I'll admit that they may have better performance based options but after riding for a couple of hours you can't beat this comfort. The handleing is great and for the money you simply can't beat it. For most other bikes the powerband isn't until the higher rpm's where the Katana has a smooth powerband through out the rpm range. You simply can't beat it.
- Adam, South Bend, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-29 2003 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've done 129,000kms now and it's still going quite well. I've done regular oil changes, and just the normal (basic) maintainance. It hasn't let me down once yet. The carb. diaphrams are just getting tiny holes in them now, so will have to renew them soon though. It's a great, fun bike. I've owned it for 14 years now and ride it every work day(5 days a week). I also go for a blast with some friends over some local hills and usually either beat them to the top or at least chase them fairly closely. The early ones (my model) have solidly mounted discs and calipers, and can after some years have some problems with sticky pistons. Still, they work OK for me. It still does approx.65 miles to the N.Z. gallon. A very reliable bike. I wish I could buy a new one, but I still have my children living at home. My daughter loves to go for a blast with me though, I think she has the 'Biker Bug' too maybe!
- Rossco, Wellington, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: