Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Katana 600 reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

113 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tyler

Green Bay, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2010-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought the bike about a month ago. It's my first bike and it is amazing. don't expect to catch a GSXR600 or CBR600, but this bike has plenty of power - more than enough power to get you some hefty speeding citations. I've taken the bike out for a couple hundred-mile rides and stay comfortable the entire time. People with GSXR's can't say the same thing. It's well worth the money and now that it's 2010, you can find them at very reasonable prices.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Karim Abdel Basset

strasburg, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-03-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a Katana 600 in 2009, which was my very first bike. It reliable and not too heavy to control. The only thing that went bad since I had it was the spark plugs over the heavy winter we had in Ohio, but other than that, I love the bike and I don't think I will want to trade it for something else.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kt69

london, Ontario

Reviewed on 2007-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This bike does it all. It doesn't do one thing great, but does a lot of things well. that's what you would expect out of a sports tourer. Plenty of power, you can go 140mph, or just cruise at 60mph and still feel comfortable. Why do you think it's been around for such a long time? Because it caters to all your needs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shawn

Hudson Falls, New York

Reviewed on 2007-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well, it's not a sportbike (reason why some dislike this bike) so I don't pretend it is, and ride it the way it was meant to be ridden. It's a sporty touring bike, and that's what I do with it. It's got plenty of power/speed for around town...comfy enough to go for a medium distance ride...and handles great. I love the cluster (gas gauge, clock) and plenty of under-seat storage. Great gas mileage. Main complaint is the stock muffler's too quiet, but nothing that a trip to the cycle shop can't cure...will likely be adding a K&N filter soon, along with the jet kit and slip on, for a little performance boost, and add a little cool to this bike. I'd recommend this bike to anyone wanting some performance and style with comfort...but not to someone wanting to race every other bike out there (and win).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brad Davis

king of prussia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-03-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike does not have the razor sharp performance of other bikes in its class and Suzuki never intended it as such. When I want to kick butt on a winding back road, I fire up the Ducati. When I want to ride all day with good looks and great real world performance I jump on the Katana. FYI - my 2001 Ducati has 3500 miles on it my 2003 Katana has almost 20,000 miles on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

edu

mahanoy city, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-02-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't been riding all that long but this bike, well what can you say? Old school maybe? This bike will do what they say and more! Performance, handling, it's got it all. Now it's not going to have the performance like the GSXR but it's pretty close.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John S

Warren, Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Unlike the picture, I went searching for the blue/white version of this bike which looks much better. I've been through all four seasons with this bike. It's my second Suzuki and one of many air-cooled motors that I've ridden. This bike is perfect to jump on for a quick run to the store or a joy ride yet is comfortable for extended rides. Warm-up on a cool day is around 2 minutes. Once it's up to temp, I ride normally, enjoying the crisp acceleration. In temps under 40F, the motor actually chills down from operating temperature and needs to be choked again. Unless you're a die-hard, don't ride when the temperature drops below 45F. The tires also will not stay warm (read sticky) which makes for some interesting corner handling (such as two-wheel drift). In 90F heat, idling in rush-hour traffic, the motor does not overheat. It's designed for it. At speed, handling is predictable, crisp and just down-right fun. The bike's weight can be felt during side-to-side transitions but also acts to remind you not to over-do it. I've spent a lot of time riding off-road bikes and low speed manuvering is key to successful control in street conditions on this bike. Spend some quality time in the parking lot working the figure 8's and j-turns (upright position, let the bike do the work using the clutch). Like other solid cam performance motors, it really comes alive above 7000 rpm. From a standing start at full throttle, once the revs sweep into the high end, it feels like a turbo boost. It also means that the motor can be cruised at rpm's under 7K with predicatable forgiving manners. Braking is OK, but not great. That is, it is fast but not race-bike fast. LIKES: Smooth, predictable power. Good handling. Comfortable ride. Reliable. Great appearance. Classic analog gauges. Fuel economy. Easy maintenance DISLIKES: braking power.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Teter

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-11-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The Katana 600 is a great bike and a terrific value. Just remember, you're not buying a raw sportbike. You are buying a sport TOURING bike. You sacrifice a bit of the performance (not on the top end) and get a little cushier suspension for extra comfort on long rides. Make no mistake, this thing will stick to the road around corners and scream down a straight away with any Ninja or R6. Add a performance pipe, rejet the carbs, K&N filter and you'll be blowing away many of the straight sport bikes. You can add all of those accessories for less than $450.00. Have fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

LMT

North Royalton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-11-25

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Started with 125cc scooter (still have), completed MSF course and bought new Ninja 250, kept 2 yrs. and sold it, May 06. Bought Suzuki GS500F (Oct 05) still have and will sell in Spring 07. Bought 03 Kat 600 from Ebay and couldn't be happier. Not as maneuverable as the previous bikes but understandable considering its weight. I really like its appearance and style...unique...not many of them around and hope it is reincarnated as rumor has it the Kat may be discontinued. Long live the Kat! BTW Katana means sword in Japanese.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim

Torrance, California

Reviewed on 2006-11-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki Katana 600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Katana about a month ago (early October 2006) and have ridden it every day since. After doing tons of research, I finally decided on a 600cc engine since I had never ridden a bike before. Even more research convinced me to look into the Katana since '06 is the last year for this bike. I went to the dealership and sat on it and immediately knew it was a great choice. Although it's a little heavy for a 600, it's very forgiving for beginners but has more than enough power for more experienced riders. After a couple 2-3 hour rides, my backside was a little sore, but it's nothing a little more riding won't fix. Overall, I highly recommend the Katana to any new riders out there - you won't regret it. Good riding!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 12
  • 1 - 10 of 113 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: