Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles Reviews (27)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-12-07 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The is the best bike ever. I've been a biker for 45+ years. It is quick and has good looks. It's a combination of all the bikes I've had. It's a keeper. It keeps me in the wind.
- JB, St.Marys, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-31 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my Harley for this! I bought it for a song and have not regretted it yet. This bike is the perfect balance of performance handling and comfort all in one package. It's the best bike I have ever owned period! I had to change the battery once and blew the rear tire. Those are the only problems I have had. What more can I say - this bike is a beast and with the right mods it's a Harley eating monster!
- dave, chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-04 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a great bike and has the best brakes on the market. I like the styling better than the Mean Streak with the headlight and rear fender. It's easy to customize. The only change I would make would be a fuel gauge and perhaps make the gas tank more of s tesr drop in shape.
- Steve, Latham, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-16 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 04 Marauder since it was new and all I can say is I will never get rid of it. I have done a lot of work to the bike mechanically and some cosmetically and everyone who sees it cannot beleive how fast it is, how it handles or how it sounds (been told it sounded like a small boss hoss). I ride this bike whenever I can and have raced down the quarter mile and everyone is suprised how fast it really is. Not many bikes who can keep up with it and the ones that can cost nearly double in price...
- Rob, Raynham, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-09 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike and went to Maryland to get it in 2005. It was a '04 with 14 miles. I rode it back to Houston, Texas with storms and rain all the way. I have ridden it to Yellowstone five times and Sturgis four times. I put a Honda Gold Wing rear end on it in '08 (with the help of some friends) because I wanted the luggage space for a trip to Alaska. This is the absolute best bike that I have ever owned and I have had many since 1954. It has never had any kind of shop time. It still runs great. I am thinking about buying another with low mileage to mothball, just in case.
- Skip Bradley, Houston , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-22 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 66 years old and have been riding all my adult life. I usually maxed out at 1000 CCs because of my height and weight being concerns in my ability to handle a bigger, heavier bike. I had a Marauder 1400 but I wasn't thrilled about the styling and spoke wheels, so one day at my dealer I saw a '04 1600 Marauder with 9k miles, Hypercharger Pro, Power Commander and pipes. I guess my bucket list kicked in and I never looked back. The handle bars are a bit of a stretch for my short arms and the Hypercharger does hit my knee, but other than that I still rate the bike as 5-star. Suzuki didn't make the Hypercharger. If you get the chance jump on one of these before they're only a fond memory.
- Allan Weiner, Delray Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-09 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1600 Marauder is one of the best all around bikes I've ever owned. From the power to the breaks to the handling to the comfort to the styling and the value; this bike is in a class of its own. I know that the Mean Streak is the same bike and I'm sure the owners of the M.S. feel the same. I bought the Marauder for the slight style change, and the idea that this is one of the rarest bikes on the road does not hurt. The only thing that I would have changed is the quick to wear out tires from the factory. Having owned a 1500 Vulcan, the noise from the engine was not a surprise, and does not shorten the life of this bike. The stock seat is the most comfortable I've ridden and the ability to change positions in the saddle makes a 600 mile day painless. Finally I found a bike that I love as much as my wife!
- Scott Jansen, Milton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-29 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike new in April 2005 and have had absolutely no issues with it. Decent power (for a v-twin), very nice chrome and paint and great handling for a cruiser makes me proud to own this bike. Worthless stock seat has to be replaced immediately and stock exhaust is superquiet which to me is a shame as far as the "soul" factor goes. I have been riding for 34 years and have not owned a more completely satisfying bike to ride. Fun and trouble free bike.
- anonymous, st michael, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-21 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1600 Marauder is a great cruiser bike but it is too quiet from the factory, also the factory seat is terrible if you want to haul a passenger. Other than those issues I love this bike, it has great power and handles and stops great, even with the Cobra Fuel Processor and Pipes I still average 40 mpg. The Vance and Hines Pipes are expensive but well worth the money they look great on the bike and sound awesome. The Mustang seat is very nice also your passenger will thank you for that addition. I have never heard any knocking or other engine noises from my bike, but my pipes may hide it also I always run premium gas in it. I would recommend this bike to anyone that's looking for a good cruiser.
- R Mack, Muncy, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-18 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
<ol> <li>Starts easily</li> <li>Runs smoothly</li> <li>Shifts smooth</li> <li>Very comfortable</li> <li>Good exhaust sound</li> <li>Flawless chrome and paint</li> <li>Great torque</li> <li>Average 40 MPG</li> <li>Half the price of a Harley</li> <li>Turns heads</li> </ol>
- JACK, ROLLING MEADOWS, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this blue devil up during a hurricane and rode it home in the rain. I put 500 miles on in 3 days. While I realize we're still on our honeymoon, I'm diggin' this ride! The bike was slightly used and had eight hundred miles on it, so on the second day the break in period was over and it was time to get on it, 'cause I got it to get on it! ...get it? Yeah I hear some engine knocks sometimes but dude its a V-Twin, go get back on a four banger if a little noise bugs you 'cause its time to rock and roll with a low-end torqued, V-Twin powered, Bad Ass Flaired Fendered, Pulled Back Barred Marauding freak of a bike. It looks better than the Meanstreak and this is where the deal of your motorcycle buying lifetime is at. There are a lot of leftover 2004s out there and just remember this is a Kawa Meanstreak with an improvement on appearence (Rear Fender) so don't let the Suzuki discontinuation dissuade you. Get one before the deals are Gone!
- Nukeblade, Deltona , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-29 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my bike one week and this baby is ready for it's first oil change and check up. I love this bike. It handles well and has plenty of power, as well as decent gas milage for a 1600 cc motorcycle. Even without a windshield, at 90 mph on the highway, I don't feel like I'm going to get blown off the road. that's saying a lot for a 5'3" female. Also, finally, Suzuki/Kawasaki have come out with a stock seat that doesn't leave me miserable after 4 or 5 hours of riding. My only complaint is that the pipes are way too quiet. Nobody can hear this bike, so it's a good thing that it handles well because I'm beginning to feel like a car magnet. The upside is that the police don't hear me either. To anyone considering a purchase, you won't be disappointed.
- Mattie, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got an '04 (leftover) VZ1600 in Dark Metallic Gray...The only thing I've added to it at this time are saddlebags from rakaposhiusa (off of eBay)...Great bags at a great price. I will evetually add a Corbin Dual Tour Seat (or a Rumbleseat...the jury is still out), and a set of Highway Hawk forward controls (I am, after all, 6'5" tall!) The bike is great, though I do notice some of the "high-pitched chirping noise" that others have complained about. I think it's valve chatter, but if you a) turn the key on and wait 30 seconds before starting it, and b) let it idle for two minutes before taking off to "circulate the oil" as the manual states, it pretty much disappears. Great bike, lousy passenger accomodations, but that will be fixed soon...
- Jim, Debary, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-05 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Because of reviews like MotorcycleCruiser magazine and the reviews here I decided on the Marauder. They were right! The breaks are great, handles as good or better than any other cruiser, and has smooth power. It is tuned lean but that can be fixed with fuel management and a different filter. No pipes yet but I have heard some others that sound good. The pegs and bars are in a comfortable position. Most parts for the Mean Streak will fit this bike and I have even seen a piston/cam kit.
- Dave, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-07 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's been about a year since my first review and my VZ1600 is still great and going strong. I had ordered a couple different windshields from Memphis Shades but had no luck with either the Big Shot nor the Memphis Fats. I got severe wind buffeting from both. And had discovered from other riders and advise from dealers that this type of bike is really not meant to have a shield due to the fact that the bike is so long that the wind circulates around ANY shield and hits the rider anyway. No biggie though. Eating bugs is just some extra protien in my diet! Anyway love the bike, great decision!!
- Brian, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-26 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, my first bike was the 800. It was a great bike, but the 1600 is a better one. I've had it for 7 months. It is a joy to ride. I'm looking forward to going on a trip this year and all the short weekend rides we do.
- Don Hinz, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-17 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I tested a VTX 1800 and the VZ1600. I will have to say this bike rolls over the VTX. However it is lacking the aftermarket products. On the other hand VTX has too many. When testing the VTX it was heavy and not as smooth of a ride. It lacked power over a broad range of gears. PLUS THEY ARE OVER PRICED. Honda finance would not finance me at all. I have good credit. I went to a dealership in Ohio and I was able to walk in, test drive the bike, and walk out within 2 hours with my Suzuki Marauder. I have purchased other bikes from them and they were very helpful with all my needs. The bike was there and waiting for daddy to ride her home. I added a Vance and Hines exhaust, Hypercharger, Fuel management system. The bike SCREAMED after all the mods. It was fast, light, and very well balanced. It has a large fuel tank and was able to ride around 300 miles on 5 gallons of gas. I was not stiff or tired after the ride. THIS BIKE RULES. I have outrun sport bikes, 600CC, I had it at 143 mph and it was very smooth.
- Brad Hoffmeister, Ft.Thomas, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-22 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had my Rauder 1600 for two weeks, completed the break-in period and I've got just over 1100 miles on it so far and can honestly say it is a pleasure to ride. Seat is very comfortable and everything seems to be placed just right for my body. Gas mileage seems to be pretty decent also, 38-45 mpg with windshield on in mixed driving conditions at highway speeds from 65 to 75 mph. I don't plan on putting anything else (pipes, programmer etc.) on the bike, as I like it just like it is. Hope this helps anyone considering the bike for their own.
- Keith, Victoria, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-30 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my bike two weeks ago, and I'm sure glad that I didn't wait until next year to snag one of these awesome machines. Because I started out riding sportbikes, I wanted to make sure that I got a cruiser with plenty of power, and I absolutely love the Marauder's fuel-injected engine. I love the stance of the bike, with its long sleek lines, and the unique tail section leaves people wondering just what kind of bike the Marauder actually is. Yet another great bike from Suzuki.
- Vinny C, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-25 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my bike about 3 months ago and I love it. I ride with a group in Mobile, AL known as the Devil Rays. We ride about 100 to 150 miles a weekend. Everyone loves the smoothness and the easy handling of this bike. If I had to do it all over again, I would buy the same bike. I love it. The only draw-back is trying to find accessories for it, it's kinda tough. You really don't need them though because the bike is already comfortable, quick, and reliable... did I mention I love this bike?!!
- Steve T., Chickasaw, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-21 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Marauder about 3 weeks ago. I was thinking about getting the Honda VTX 1300, but when I saw the Suzuki I fell in love. It rides like a dream. I am still breaking it in but I love it. The exhaust is a little quiet from the factory, but that can be fixed.
- Jay, clinton, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this muscle machine over the weekend. It's the best cruiser I've ridden on. Great handling bike. I'm still breaking her in, have to keep it under 3000RPM for the first 1000 miles or so, but I can feel she has bucket fulls more to give. She screams style and attitude. I can't say enough about my new Marauder. Thanks Suzuki!
- Blake Savage, Melbourne, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-31 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The minute I saw the 2004 Marauder VZ1600 I knew I had to test drive it. Well after finding a reputable retailer my wish came true. It's fast, fun and a real head-turner. Powerful enough to be in the front of the pack. Pretty enough to get noticed. The most affordable bike out there. I highly recommend this bike, you'll love it.
- Biker AJ, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-15 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An awesome ride! I've been riding for 10 years and this is my 4th bike. And what a choice I've made! Due to the fuel injection, the throttle response is crisp and on demand. I've ordered a Memphis Shades Bid Shot windshield. that's all so far. Plans are for a sissy bar (so the wife can ride) and different exhaust. The only thing about the stock bike I do have a problem with is the the foot pegs are too low. I drag them through almost every turn. I just have a natural instinct to go low through corners. The fix will be foward mount controls for me. don't let this discourage you from buying the VZ1600....I just happen to be a bit agressive in the corners. Stopping power is also awesome. And one nice thing I noticed that a lot of bikes do not have is a true rev limiter. She red lines at 6000 and at 6500 ( found this out on a country back road) she backs off so no damage can be done by over reving. Again I can't say enough about this bike. Great ride!
- Brian, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-30 2004 Suzuki Marauder 1600 (VZ1600) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The look of the Marauder and solid reviews of the meanstreak is what sold me, so I put my '82 magna to rest (bless her sole). The stopping power is outstanding and the acceleration is pretty good. I've had the bike for a month and commute on it whenever I can so I rack up the miles quick. The bike is easy to manuever and the slipstream windshield works/looks pretty good. The handlebar reach is a little long and I might add a 2" riser. Motorcycle Cruiser's top pick against the Fat Boy, Kingpin, and Vulcan classic.
- RJ, Carnation, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: