Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles Reviews (59)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-07-18 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 30 years off cycles,on May 1 2011, the thrill came back. At 62, I took the plunge and bought a 2000 Marauder (black and fully dressed), with 9,800 miles on the odometer. What a beauty, runs great and sounds great. The only problem right now is, sharing it with my wife (I'm retired so I own the bike weekdays and it's hers weekends). I hope to buy a second Marauder in the spring. We live in a small village, so it's not a problem to ride 2-up on our country roads and not see a car for miles. We are having a BLAST. Stay safe and enjoy your rides.
- Ron and Wendy Lamirande, Ottawa Valley, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-08 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike used, but in mint condition. So far I am very impressed. Comfortable ride, though the seat gets a little painful after a couple hours, but by that time it's ready to be re-fuelled anyway. I would definitely recommend swapping the stock 15-tooth front sprocket for a 16-tooth. It'll reduce the revs at highway speed. didn't like the stock mirrors...they look like something off a '70's trail-bike. The after-market mirrors I bought aren't quite wide enough, so I am waiting on a set of mirror extensions from Spacer Jim. Any Marauder owner should check out his site. He fabricates anything you'll need to make your Marauder (and other bikes) more comfortable, and powerful (he sells jet kits, too). Overall, I am very pleased with my 'Rauder. It gets a lot of comments, especially about the stock paint scheme, and the great condition of the bike.
- Darren, Pasadena, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-30 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I am learning to ride on it. I love the bike. It looks great and runs great. Once it gets warmed up in the cold weather we have here in Maryland, I will get to ride a lot more.
- walbrooke, randallstown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-15 1999 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '99 VZ800X in April'05 with only 1900 kms,(yes,1900)so it was basically still brand new. Since completing a motorcycle course ,6 weeks ago I've racked up 1800 kms(that's about 1100 miles for our friends in the U.S.) and I'm still going strong. I read some reviews from other Marauder owners, and most of what was said is true. Foot controls are too close, and the seat becomes very uncomfortable after about an hour or so, of steady riding. At 6'3" I realize that maybe I should have been looking at bigger bikes, but the looks and styling of the Marauder made it hard to walk away. I catch people checking the bike out whenever I'm at a stop in traffic, and the occassional "nice bike" comments are a bonus too. I love the way this bike rides on the back roads and highways, but I often find myself looking for that extra gear. This bike is deffinately not a corner carver but it makes up for this with its acceleration on the straightaways. No immediate plans for upgrades this summer but over the winter I plan to put on custom foot pegs and possibly a new seat(Mustang ?) to raise the comfort level a little. I can't see myself trading in this bike for anything else anytime soon.
- Lance Hurrell, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-30 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Marauder is a great entry level cruiser. The liquid cooled 800cc V-Twin is both powerful & reliable. I get lots of compliments on the bike whenever I ride it. I would highly recommend opting for the Suzuki Gel Seat, the stock one is not for long rides.
- KJW, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-07 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in 2001 and I have driven it a few miles shy of 12,000 at this point. The cost of the bike can't be beat, and there is a good amount of after market parts available for the bike as well. Cons: The seat is shaped like a brick, looks like a brick, and feels like a brick, therefore, it must be a brick. The only other con would be that the pegs touch the ground on hard turns.
- Don C, Tannersville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-05 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently purchased a 2001 Marauder with 1,875 miles, Burgandy, Cobra slashpipes/carb jet kit. The first thing that struck me was the looks, great looking bike! I have received many compliments in the short period of time that I have owned it. Even had one "nice harley" remark. Roll on the throttle and the bike responds. Only CONS I have are, like most others THE SEAT! What were they thinking? Its like sitting on a piece of granite! Crosswinds and semis call for some white-knuckle riding, and the low handlebars take a bit of getting used to (for me anyway). Over all I am very, very pleased with my new toy. When I'm not riding, I spend most of my spare time polishing the bike.
- NoOne, Tyler, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-12 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just sold my 800 Intruder mainly because I didn't like the riding position. I had no complaints at all with the 800 and loved the acceleration, as well as the looks. I was hoping to find another bike with comparable performanfce and found a used Marauder 800. Turns out that the Marauder has the same engine as the 800 Intruder, but has a more laid back position. I'm thrilled with the Marauder and feel it is a step-up from the 800 Intruder, which costs more. Buy a Marauder and you won't be disappointed.
- Paul McKenzie, Ashland, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-25 1999 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a used 1999 Marauder and only gone about 50 miles. The only previous riding experience I've had was about 30 minutes on an old 125 Honda dirt bike, so you could basically say I have never ridden before. This bike is sweet! It has more than enough power for a beginner but is still not too torquey or jerky. When you get on it you better hang on cause you'll be at 70mph in a heartbeat. Mine has Cobra straight pipes, the mirrors have been moved to the end of my handlebars, and the front signals are relocated to the frame next to the radiator. To sum it up in three words: Too Much Fun!
- Ryan K., Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-27 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm the owner of a 2001 intruder 800 and the only thing a could say is :great! because in reguards of others bikes more expensives i think the marauder 800 is the best.Very good accelerations and a very great torque.Beatifull look and many chromes.The finition is also good.The only bad thing is the seat:very hard and not confortable,it needs to be changed with a gel seat or a custom seat.
- Scudamore Jean-olivier, Mons, Belgium

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-21 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Marauder in August of 2002 with 3,000 kilometers from a 75 year old retiree in mint condition. I have put approximately 1,000 kilometers before I had to park it for the winter. I love the sound this bike makes when I crank the throttle, it seems to have a slight hesitation in the middle of the powerband, but I'm sure I can remedy the problem with K&N filters x 2. I have added some chrome to the bike since I purchased it but will be adding more. The only flaw the both my wife can agree with it the seat is the worst I have ever sat on, it should be called a brick instead of a seat. I will be buying a mustang vintage seat before my next ride of 2003. Has anyone changed the rear tire to a wider tire without too much modification.
- Big Guy , Sudbury, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-15 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was intent on buying a Harley Davidson low rider but I could'nt afford it. I found my 2000 Suzuki Marauder on the internet, and fell in love with it. I am a new rider and this is a great first bike. Like everyone else, "Change the Seat". I rode back from DC from Richmond and it was painful. I did add some Jardine pipes to give me the rumble of a HD, and I find myself searching for the 6th gear. Overall, I am satisfied with my new toy. Great bike for the buck
- Black, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-27 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike - really liked the way it looked. The engine is powerful but vibrates too much. The shifting is typical Suzuki slick. The bike's suspension is not refined. The seat is not good for anything over 30 minutes. There is VERY little ground clearance and the hard parts for the side stand dig in early. The fit is okay but the finish of the parts is poor. Orange peel paint I can live with, but almost all the chrome is pitting even though the bike is garaged and properly waxed. The worst finish of any bike I've owned. It is leaving the stable soon.
- Chuck, Wayne, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 1999 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for around a year and a half it has 42.5k miles. Take this bike for what it is, its really well made and performs well too. A little tough to work on and my only REAL complaint is the spark plug access, you have to remove the tank or at least lift it up to get to them. I like being able to change out the chain cogs to suit my needs, its fast as hell and forgiving of mistakes, unlike larger machine that would buck you off. It takes a while but this bike will grow on you, learn how to tune it up and feed it gas, it'll last for as long as you keep it maintained. Did I mention that the gas tank is unbelievably small? carry a gas can or install a fuel cell.. One more thing, this is NOT a corner carver! Tire pressure likes to be around 38 front and 35-32psi in the rear..
- Chad, Tampa , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-09 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We've had it two weeks now and have almost have 500 miles on it. It's Blue very Blue and chrome lots of chrome!! It's not too big to ride around town, and does good on dirt roads too. And it does cruise down the highway good too. We had the tall backrest put on and had to get the saddle bags and leather tank strap too. It changed the whole look of the bike. Every where we go people say "Nice Harley". But it's better because it didn't cost as much!! Insurance was surprisingly cheap too!! We are very Happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- T. Oder, Geogia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-04 1999 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 1999 Marauder. I traded in my Honda cb250 Nighthawk that my husband had bought for me, but the bike was just to small, but it was a good learning bike. I have had the Marauder for about 1 month now and I love it, it was an adjustment to the weight and power, so I did a lot of around the neighborhood riding, lots of stopping and take-offs, I feel so much more confident now. I even took it to bike to Octoberfest, so I could get a set of saddlebags for it. I ride it to work everyday, but I don't think my neighbors are too happy about it. I leave the house at 5:15am and I have cobra straight pipes on it, but it sure dose sound nice... :) The only thing that I need to change are the footpegs, they are uncomfortable on long rides, I'm trying to find a set that are wider, so more of the foot rests on them, but not the big floor board type, so I keep looking and hopefully can find a pair soon!!!!!! Safe riding everyone....
- April Cuenin, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-28 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I bought this bike about three months ago and have put about 3K miles on it. It was our first bike and it was a great choice. We bought it used with an engine guard, back rest, and cobra pipes. Neither of us have complaints about the comfort level but we are both small. I am 5-9 140lbs and she is 5-5 120 lbs which may explain why the seat does not bother us like it has other people. We both dropped the bike once during our first days of ridding (makes a grown man cry) and could lift the bike up by itself which was nice. However, since that time, I have noticed that the 480lb bike feels really light when it is windy or when a semi passes. For that reason, I don't see this bike as a cross-country runner. It is, though, awesome for cruising around the mountains of North Carolina and for around town. It looks and sounds great and I have had no problems save those of a new rider. I have often looked for that sixth gear but I am already going way beyond the limit when that happens so that really is not a major flaw of the bike. It was a great buy for 4500 with 1000 miles on it and with nice additions. I would buy it again as a first bike and will keep it for around town and for my wife when I upgrade to a bigger bike in the future.
- Tom, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-12 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 model in August. I now have about 900 miles on it. It runs great and I get a lot of complements on its looks from others, especially in traffic. won't handle or accelerate with my SV650. It is nice to switch back and forth depending on the mood I am in. It could use a larger fuel tank. Usually at around 115 miles I switch to reserve and look for gas. It tends to move in crosswinds. A strong left crosswind tries to push the bottom of the bike to the right. Probably because of the near-solid alloy wheels.
- Lee Jarrard, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-02 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2000 Marauder since May of 2000 and have just rolled over the 5,000 mile mark. I have added saddlebags, and engine guard, Cobra 2 inch drag pipes and a windshield. I have followed the scheduled maintenance to include the chain lube every 600 miles. I have had no problems at all with the bike and I like it more each time I ride it. It is a great machine, runs flawlessly. I still get comments on it all the time. I saw a guy in a business suit checking it out just yesterday while I was paying for gas. For the money, I just don't think you can beat it in the middleweight cruiser class. I would strongly recommend this bike to anyone looking for an affordable toy. Go Suzuki, I did.
- Dean McGowan, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-20 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought this bike a few months ago to share between my wife and me who had never ridden before. Now I will be buying another bike soon because I can't keep her off of it. She has her learner's permit and will be taking the safety class next weekend. We did replace the seat right away with a gel seat and that helped. This bike has been solid and will get up and dance when you goose it. I like it and she loves the nice blue color. The best compliment we got at a gas station was some guy asked, "What kinda bike is that?" When I replied "A Suzuki" he said, " it looks nicer then most Harleys he has seen". I told him it runs nicer too. No problems yet at 1000 miles and I don't expect any either.
- Roy, Cocoa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-28 1999 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my '99 Marauder for a little over a year, love the bike! Dressed up a little. Sissy bars, chrome radiator cover & case guards, bags, etc. Have had more Harley bikers stop and praise the looks of the bike, and constantly asked if it's a Harley. An old time rider(rode in the thirties, forties & fifties, absolutely loved the bike, said it reminded him of the old "Cafe racers", custom bikes made from Harleys & Indians. Performance wise, first is a little slow & short, second, third, fourth, is a whole different story. It's like a slingshot! Get jumped in first, then hit second, & third, pass just about everything. Including several friends Honda Magnas. Up to 95 - 100MPH, feel nothing but raw power. Capable of faster speed, but slower rate. Handling and power, excellent, looks, second to none(lots of chrome) maneuverability very manageable, only complaint is seat, not as comfortable as could be. Recommend bike for anyone, Most bike for the money!
- Steve, Harasty

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-28 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently purchased a 2001 Marauder. Overall craftsmanship is surprising for a bike this price. Paint is perfect, no flaws, chrome is perfect. Overall appearance concerning fit and finish is excellent. Breaks are very good, stops on a dime in a seconds notice. Performance is excellent. Engine is very perky from take off throughout power band. Presently getting 53mpg. The seat leaves a lot to be desired. For short trips, 40/50 miles, its ok but after that look out for the numb butt feeling. Replace the seat asap. The only other drawback with the Marauder other than the seat is the light weight. Though its light weight makes it a rocket speed wise it also tends to make it prone to handling a little tricky in the wind. For the price no bike I've seen matches the Maruader in looks, performance and overall quality and craftsmanship. Anyone looking for a beauty and a rocket in the low 6 grand range the Marauder is in a class all its own.
- Tom, Ashurn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-27 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back from two weeks in Colorado and Utah. My buddy and I drove and trailered our bikes. His is a new BMW, mine a 1998 800cc. Well, my bike did everything his did. He was amazed that my bike went on some of those dirt, gravel roads like his did. I was getting about 52 mpg, I was comfortable, and I had a great time. What a wonderful bike. I paid less than $5,000 and would do it again. I had no problems with the high altitude.
- Disaac, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-21 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looked at the Sportster 883, Vulcan 800, Shadow 750 and V-Star 650 before choosing the Marauder. Pros: Runs great, stops great, draws stares and comments on its great looks. Cons: None. I even like the seat. Took the money I saved over the Vulcan and added several chrome accessories. Very Happy.
- Jim, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-18 2000 Suzuki Marauder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001, bought it 3 months ago and have put 4700 miles on it. I look for another gear often @ 80mph :) It's close to the ground, looks great, romps off the line just fine, paint is deep and clean. Easy to modify so it's all yours. The engine is well known, everything seems to be solid on the bike so far. Inexpensive to own and operate. I would buy it again.
- RJNEees, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: