Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Marauder 800 reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

59 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

KJW

Calgary, Alberta

Reviewed on 2004-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Marauder is a great entry level cruiser. The liquid cooled 800cc V-Twin is both powerful & reliable. I get lots of compliments on the bike whenever I ride it. I would highly recommend opting for the Suzuki Gel Seat, the stock one is not for long rides.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron and Wendy Lamirande

Ottawa Valley, Ontario

Reviewed on 2011-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 30 years off cycles,on May 1 2011, the thrill came back. At 62, I took the plunge and bought a 2000 Marauder (black and fully dressed), with 9,800 miles on the odometer. What a beauty, runs great and sounds great. The only problem right now is, sharing it with my wife (I'm retired so I own the bike weekdays and it's hers weekends). I hope to buy a second Marauder in the spring. We live in a small village, so it's not a problem to ride 2-up on our country roads and not see a car for miles. We are having a BLAST. Stay safe and enjoy your rides.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darren

Pasadena, Newfoundland

Reviewed on 2010-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought this bike used, but in mint condition. So far I am very impressed. Comfortable ride, though the seat gets a little painful after a couple hours, but by that time it's ready to be re-fuelled anyway. I would definitely recommend swapping the stock 15-tooth front sprocket for a 16-tooth. It'll reduce the revs at highway speed. didn't like the stock mirrors...they look like something off a '70's trail-bike. The after-market mirrors I bought aren't quite wide enough, so I am waiting on a set of mirror extensions from Spacer Jim. Any Marauder owner should check out his site. He fabricates anything you'll need to make your Marauder (and other bikes) more comfortable, and powerful (he sells jet kits, too). Overall, I am very pleased with my 'Rauder. It gets a lot of comments, especially about the stock paint scheme, and the great condition of the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

walbrooke

randallstown, Maryland

Reviewed on 2007-01-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I am learning to ride on it. I love the bike. It looks great and runs great. Once it gets warmed up in the cold weather we have here in Maryland, I will get to ride a lot more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lance Hurrell

Victoria, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2005-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my '99 VZ800X in April'05 with only 1900 kms,(yes,1900)so it was basically still brand new. Since completing a motorcycle course ,6 weeks ago I've racked up 1800 kms(that's about 1100 miles for our friends in the U.S.) and I'm still going strong. I read some reviews from other Marauder owners, and most of what was said is true. Foot controls are too close, and the seat becomes very uncomfortable after about an hour or so, of steady riding. At 6'3" I realize that maybe I should have been looking at bigger bikes, but the looks and styling of the Marauder made it hard to walk away. I catch people checking the bike out whenever I'm at a stop in traffic, and the occassional "nice bike" comments are a bonus too. I love the way this bike rides on the back roads and highways, but I often find myself looking for that extra gear. This bike is deffinately not a corner carver but it makes up for this with its acceleration on the straightaways. No immediate plans for upgrades this summer but over the winter I plan to put on custom foot pegs and possibly a new seat(Mustang ?) to raise the comfort level a little. I can't see myself trading in this bike for anything else anytime soon.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don C

Tannersville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine in 2001 and I have driven it a few miles shy of 12,000 at this point. The cost of the bike can't be beat, and there is a good amount of after market parts available for the bike as well. Cons: The seat is shaped like a brick, looks like a brick, and feels like a brick, therefore, it must be a brick. The only other con would be that the pegs touch the ground on hard turns.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

NoOne

Tyler, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-06-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Recently purchased a 2001 Marauder with 1,875 miles, Burgandy, Cobra slashpipes/carb jet kit. The first thing that struck me was the looks, great looking bike! I have received many compliments in the short period of time that I have owned it. Even had one "nice harley" remark. Roll on the throttle and the bike responds. Only CONS I have are, like most others THE SEAT! What were they thinking? Its like sitting on a piece of granite! Crosswinds and semis call for some white-knuckle riding, and the low handlebars take a bit of getting used to (for me anyway). Over all I am very, very pleased with my new toy. When I'm not riding, I spend most of my spare time polishing the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul McKenzie

Ashland, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2004-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just sold my 800 Intruder mainly because I didn't like the riding position. I had no complaints at all with the 800 and loved the acceleration, as well as the looks. I was hoping to find another bike with comparable performanfce and found a used Marauder 800. Turns out that the Marauder has the same engine as the 800 Intruder, but has a more laid back position. I'm thrilled with the Marauder and feel it is a step-up from the 800 Intruder, which costs more. Buy a Marauder and you won't be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan K.

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2004-03-25

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought a used 1999 Marauder and only gone about 50 miles. The only previous riding experience I've had was about 30 minutes on an old 125 Honda dirt bike, so you could basically say I have never ridden before. This bike is sweet! It has more than enough power for a beginner but is still not too torquey or jerky. When you get on it you better hang on cause you'll be at 70mph in a heartbeat. Mine has Cobra straight pipes, the mirrors have been moved to the end of my handlebars, and the front signals are relocated to the frame next to the radiator. To sum it up in three words: Too Much Fun!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scudamore Jean-olivier

Mons, Belgium

Reviewed on 2003-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Marauder 800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm the owner of a 2001 intruder 800 and the only thing a could say is :great! because in reguards of others bikes more expensives i think the marauder 800 is the best.Very good accelerations and a very great torque.Beatifull look and many chromes.The finition is also good.The only bad thing is the seat:very hard and not confortable,it needs to be changed with a gel seat or a custom seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 59 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: