Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki RF900R reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rufus

Fareham, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2006-05-03

Motorcycle reviewed1997 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my 94 RF900R about six months ago and having wanted one since they came out was not disappointed. Most of the mainstream magazine reviews contain statements such as 'budget' and 'too soft' and 'ugly' generally slating the bike. If you compare it with Blades, ZX9R's and R1's, sure the suspension is not trick and not competitive on a race track, but most people are looking for a bike for the road. Facts are, 125bhp, 165mph and cheap insurance ! This is a road missile, it pulls hard in all of the 5 gears, will corner on any road ( ideally dry )and for a sports bike is quite comfortable. The seat could protect your prize possesions a little better and after 150 miles your wrists and knees do ache. The bike feels planted and stable above 20mph, when negotiating rush hour traffic you do notice its size. Most reviewers compare it with Honda's legendary VFR 800i and yes it is not as polished but also is a fraction of the price. Due to the fact Suzuki didn't sell many RF's the second hand prices are extremely attractive and you simply cannot get more bike for your money ! Mine is finished in Kevin Swantz Lucky Strike '95' colours and really looks the part. I would recommend if you don't like the stock colours going for race rep colours as it improves the looks no end. Just added braided lines and what a difference they make ! If your on a budget or want something a bit different give one a test ride and I guarantee you will want to buy it !
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Casey

Cheyenne, Wyoming

Reviewed on 2005-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed1995 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was originally in the market for a 600 Katana. I learned to ride on a 1978 GS750 and figured that a newer 600 would be just fine. After I rode the RF, though, with its "heavy" nose to keep from doing a wheelie at every traffic light- I was convinced that more power doesn�t always mean less control. The bike has a solid, comfortable ride with enough power to feel safe at high speed on the highway. I read one review about how "uncomfortable" the bike was to them. My RF has Heli bar risers and a Corbin seat, and I think it's quite comfortable. The other mods are the (almost clich� for this bike) Yosh RS-3 pipe and K&N filter charger. I also have a Zero Gravity wind screen and Dunlop Sportmax tires (180 in the rear). It all adds up to a comfortable ride to work or a pleasant zip down the highway. I'm in the early stages of doing my own "bun burner" ride around the beautiful state of Wyoming. I love my RF!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Magnus

Stockholm, Sweden

Reviewed on 2003-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed1997 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Though this is my first bike I cannot think of any better way to take the step into the world of motorcycling. I really love the performance delivered by the big engine and the fast response you get from it! My RF 900R has about 145 HP through some modifications, and that's enough for me! I can't wait until spring when I can drive the bike to it's top limit for a good adrenaline rush.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C.W.Willoughby

Leicester, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-12-28

Motorcycle reviewed1997 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I'm a 53 year old rider who has ridden cruisers for the last 15 years. I was looking for a sport bike that would have comfortable ergos...and still haul ass. The RF900R fit the bill...after a few "additions"...Corbin seat, Helibars, Stage 1 kit, K&N filter, and a Yoshimura can. I still ride cruisers, but when I really want to make time...and have fun doing it, out comes the RF-R We have lots of "kids" in the area riding sport bikes...and I can always toast 'em off a stop light...and then keep pulling away ("who was that guy?) A really good bike with great looks that you can ride for hours. It's only short coming seems to be finding correctly fitting bags so it can be used as a sport tourer.Still looking for those. Four and a half stars.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Saber Benson

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2002-10-24

Motorcycle reviewed1997 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding for a couple of years, and i was looking to buy a bke that could fit me. I am 20, i play college football and i am a pretty big guy. I couldnt ride an r6 without my knees hitting the plastic. And the same went for almost every other 600 as well. Well... i was looking through the paper and ran across a 97' rf-900 r. I was sceptical because of all of the reviews that the magazines wrote. But, the second i rode it, i cancelled all subscriptions i had to cycle mags, and give every GSXR 1000 jaded reviewer the finger. the one i bought was laid over and had no lowers on it. The rims were chromed and it had a D&D slip on exhaust that added a beefier note to the 937 cc engine. AND LEMME ADD ONE THING... THIS THING IS FAST... sorry... i got a bit excited. I have heard that the front wheel doesnt come up as easy as other bikes, but i gotta say that it will come up like nothing else if you ask it to. I love it i love it i love it. Just so you know my taste in bikes borders on psychodic ammounts of power with style that says... IMA EAT YA. Great bike, always starts... it is pertty. drop a line if you feel different.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin Kovacs

New York

Reviewed on 2001-06-19

Motorcycle reviewed1997 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well, I just recently purchased a 97 RF from a local dealership brand new. They actually took it out of the crate when I got there, I had done some research on what kinda bike to buy and the RF kept coming up. People had told me oh get the new CBR929RR or go try out the new R1, but those bike didn't interest me. Well it took about a week to get used to the bike, after all is pretty big, a bit heavy also weighing in at a whopping 447lbs. But with its 937cc 16-valve dual overhead cam straight intake, it makes up for the weight. Just let me say this thing is a road rocket, most bike I've road. The front tire lifts when you pin the throttle, with the RF you can just lay down, pin the throttle and just enjoy the rush without having to worry about the front end suddenly "popping up" in 1st at high RPM range. Although there are some downsides. The bike handles very awkward with a passenger and seems to have a very annoying vibration when cruising around 70+. But I wouldn't want any other bike, this thing is power, comfort and style rolled into one package, I love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Johnston

Auckland, New Zealand

Reviewed on 2001-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed1995 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my RF900rv in 1998 it had only 300 miles on the clock, although we operate in kilometers in NZ these bikes were imported from a cancelled USA order. I have now done nearly 13 thousand miles and it has never missed a beat, toured NZ (both islands) which is a mixture of twisties and in the south island long flowing highways. The rf can hoof it with the best of them and cornering is governed by the riders ability as it will handle most corners you throw it into. I agree with previous comments about the pegs being a little high but am able to peel off the miles without any undue discomfort. My bike came out with Dunlop[203`s which I replaced with Pirellis at 6800 miles. The Pirellis (mtr 23 and 24) are magic in both wet and dry. The bike is stock standard but I would be interested to hear how the k & n filter improves the breathing if anyone wishes to reply. All in all a superb sports tourer which I have no intention of selling and would recommend to any potential buyer. Happy and safe riding
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Chicago, IL

Reviewed on 2001-04-25

Motorcycle reviewed1995 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
From what I've read on the RF900R there is only one reason I can come up with they halted production on the RF900. When the bike was introduced they were trying to fill a gap between "Sport Touring" and "Sport". They wanted to give the riders the best of both worlds. Unfortunately, there wasn't that big of a gap between the bikes and as time went on, that gap narrowed. There just wasn't a market for it. Now, however, it would probably fair a bit better as us speed freaks are getting a bit older. Look at the Hyabusa, it's the world's fastest production bike and it's a tourer. I think if they redesigned it with 2001 technology and re-introduced it as a "smaller Hyabusa" it'd sell. Trust me, the stares and questions I get when I pull up on mine is generating a lot of interest around here. It's unique, yet still performs. Let's face it, for it's day, it was a bad A** ride. It's only real marketing competition was the VFR-750 (which, by the way, was also dropped; now it's the Interceptor 800)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Boca Raton, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed1997 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this 97 RF with 3000 miles on it, A yoshi pipe and a Corbin Saddle that really adds a lot to comfort on the long rides. This is a great all around bike that won't pull wheelies for me but is as fast as anything out there for street or touring. This is not a track bike and the styling is either love it or hate it. I love the look and most people think its beautiful most magazine reviewers hate it. I have ridden this bike going 140 at 7000 rpms and it felt like it wasn't breaking a sweat I had way more throttle twist left to go. Two up riding however feels heavier than other lighter bikes I've had no matter what the settings are tuned to.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Courtice

Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2001-01-15

Motorcycle reviewed1995 Suzuki RF900R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Suzuki RF900R- the most beautiful bike I've seen and a real head-turner for others' on the road. I've had my RF for a 3 years and have enjoyed ever kilometer. Other 900's from Japan are built for speed, but this bike was built for the open, windy highways. My RF is still stock, with the exception of the K 'n N filter and amazing Corbin seat. Going hours on the back of this beauty is such a joy. The foot pegs are a couple of inches higher than I'd like, but the upright riding position, compared to sport bikes, is perfect for long straight stretches and awesome for the twisties. For a bike that is fairly longer than true sport bikes, it handles the fast corners without hesitation. Leaning hard into the corners and sliding over the Corbin to make the next is as easy as riding a GSX-R. Fuel mileage is great and the passenger accommodation is comfortable. The engine, still in stock condition, is very mechanical sounding and the tranny does 'clunk' a bit, but the shear good looks and its' handling characteristics will negate any of its' faults. Mine is black with purple wheels. When I first saw this machine, from the front fairing it instantly reminded me of the movie "Alien". Take a look for yourself if you see one. I've ridden many bikes over the past six years, and a lot of those beautiful machines easily outperform the RF900, but the RF is the best all-around motorcycle. It will give you good top-end speed, awesome handling in the corners, braking is pretty good, looks are amazing, and long hauls across the country are no problem. Unfortunately, the RF900 was discontinued in Canada in 1998, I believe because of the other manufacturers were coming out with purely racing 900's, so the market for a sport-touring 900 just didn't exist here in Canada. If you are looking for a motorcycle that will give you everything, the RF900 is the best bet. Try one.....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: