Suzuki SV1000S Motorcycles Reviews (50)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV1000S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV1000S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-05-21 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike for about five months now and love it! I came from riding a Honda XR650L Dual Sport. I've ridden other street bikes (CBR600F3, Buell XB12S, VFR750), but never owned one myself. I was originally looking for a street triple, but they were too expensive. I decided on looking into a SV650N, but found a really good deal on this SV1000S. I was a little apprehensive about the riding position with the clip-ons instead of the regular handle bars and the extra power, but after the first few rides it's an easy bike to ride! It has tons of torque from about 3,500 on up to the 11k redline. The power is super easy to use, has a very smooth delivery and the riding position is really not bad at all. I did buy a set of handlebars thinking I was going to want to mount them up right away, but I actually like the stock riding position. I may get the Buell footpegs for a little more legroom, but it's fine on shorter rides. Anything over an hour or so, you want to stretch a little. This is a great bike for the money (paid $3,500 in Dec. 2012), it sounds mean, too, with my Yoshimura pipes. Handling is fine for me as a beginning/ intermediate street rider, but the brakes could be better though. I will upgrade the pads and get steel-braided lines when I have to replace the brakes. I haven't had any issues with the bike yet, it has 15k miles now. I've put 2k on myself so far. Gas mileage is so-so, about 35-40 mpg. in town, over 40 on the pure highway but I haven't done a full tank on just highway yet to know for sure.
- Jason, Sonoma, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-02 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding for 20+ years, owned many various bikes (dirt, commuters, pocket rocket I4's etc) and this is the first V twin I've owned. I must say that I love the power delivery of the bike. You have very usable power for everyday riding situations, not crazy power that only kicks in at an insane rev range. One thing I didn't like when I bought the bike was that any big v twin should not sound like a sewing machine, but that's easily fixed, buy a set of after market pipes and unleash the beast. I got two brothers cans and boy, are they loud and added more power too. Some have said that the SV1K has a bland power delivery, I kinda agree with this, as there is no 1 area where the power delivery differs. Still, don't get me wrong, there is plenty of power across the range, but when compared to its predecessor (the TL 1000) I can understand it being coined bland. So, all in all, the SV is the best bike I have ever owned/ridden. I don't plan on ever selling it and have great pleasure whenever I take her out for a ride. I highly recommend them to any potential owner.
- BuzzardNZ, Wellington, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-30 2006 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has got to be one of the best all-around bikes a person can buy, good handling, outstanding gas mileage, terrific roll on speeds, when I picked the bike up I was going 50 and did a top gear roll on up to 90 in about 4 secs. Just recently my wife and I took a 206 mile round trip on one tank of gas with .5 gal left in the tank, course thats 51.5 MPG, which is fine with me cruising 70ish on the highway. haven't had the chance to ride the twisties much, but on my route from work there's a nice fast sweeper and this bike is rock solid at 90mph. It's not the most comfortable bike out there, the bars could be a bit higher, may get some Heli-bars for it some day, otherwise I love this bike, it beats my previous bike, the FJ1100 by quite a bit due to its lighter weight and much torque-ier, awesome motor. Ducatis are great bikes, but Ill take my SV any day over the duck.
- JayGorski, Schofield, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-31 2007 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Anyone looking for a bike with loads of power and appeal should definitely look at the SV1000S. Its big bore V-Twin power plant really keeps you entertained when ridding. The overall handling of this is very comfortable and easy to maneuver. The engine really provides good braking so there's less brake application needed when entering corners. I have no trouble keeping pace with the GSX-R1000 around the twisties. The throttle is a bit touchy when first purchased but that was corrected at the break-in service. After that the throttle is very easy and progressive. I would recommend some aftermarket lever and clip-ons/foot pegs. This will make the clutch and brake easier to handle.
- Pedro Chavez, Moreno Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-29 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the yearning for a liter v-twin for some time and the SV1000S has totally fulfilled it. The great thing about a stock SV1KS is that you can really build it up however you want. Some simple suspension upgrades will make this a potent track machine. Change the clip-ons, seat, and add some luggage and you've got a mile-eating sport-tourer. The power from the 996 motor is excellent. While newer 600cc supersport bikes will match the SV in straight line launches it's the torque at any rpm that makes it special. You can virtually leave it in any gear and have instant acceleration whenever you want it. I find the half naked styling very appealing especially with the belly scoop. Very cool for OEM plastic. OEM fairings are available but it's the half faired styling that sets the SV apart in my opinion. There are a few other liter v-twins on the market but for the money I don't think there is a better value than the SV1000S. There is a decent aftermarket available which makes upgrading and modding easy and not super expensive. But for me I think it's the uniqueness of the bike that sets it apart. A Japanese liter v-twin, easily made into track monster or sport-tourer. Easy to work on and to maintain. I think I've found motorcycling nirvana.
- Jeff C., Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-09 2007 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my n-th bike. I have been riding for more than 20 years and I have had all kinds of bikes, and I have to admit that this is by far the most worry-free bike of them all. It also gives very high performance for its price...it is actually a bargain. The engine is a blast, service intervals are long, and service is inexpensive. The looks of the bike are very elegant and different from everything else and well ridden it can beat any liter bike on the twisties. The only not so good things I can say about this otherwise excellent bike, is that the brake feel could be better, and I noticed a low frequency oscillation on the front suspension when pushed hard in turns, it could be suspension set up though. Anyhow, unless you want to emulate John Hopkins, this bike is way more than enough for most riders (advanced and novice) at a price that is unbeatable. I strongly recommend.
- Jaime Camhi, Pacifica, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-10 2007 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is probably the most underrated bike out there. Lightweight, as flickable as a 600, and with the huge grunt of a big V-Twin, this Suzuki is a pleasure to ride. It will hold its own on any chicane or back-road, is docile and easy to ride around town and in California's stop and go traffic, yet, with a twist of the grip, will snort and pull with tremendous power. This is my 6th motorcycle and my second Suzuki. The other manufacturers must be kicking themselves for not having a competitor to this bike. You get the Ducati growl for nearly $4k less, you get superbike handling for thousands less in retail cost even against Suzuki's GSXRs. Yet, this bike is comfortable and stable to ride. I'm afraid if the word gets out on this bike, that Suzuki will raise the price of this bargain machine. Incidentally, the quality is excellent; great paint work (mine is blue), everything is well fitted and finished. The bikes naked look is spot on; aggressive without being childish, sleek without being brazen. Feature wise it has fully adjustable front and rear suspension, terrific head and tail lights (very bright and well spread), sticky Michelin rubber, and a comfortable seat. The only detraction from me, is that I haven't owned a bike for many years and I'm heavy, so there is a lot of my weight on my hands. I wish had Suzuki had lifted the clip-ons about 2 inched up and rear to help me out (this is my only negative about the bike). Oh, insurance is a dream. I'm a 44 year old male and have ridden bikes on and off for 25 years. Full insurance on this bike for me is $360 per year! What a bargain. If you are looking for an inexpensive, performance oriented bike, you will be delighted with this wonderful piece of hardware. The look, the sound, and the pull will satisfy you and draw amazing attention from the traffic around you. Let's hope you get one before everyone finds out how good this motorcycle is.
- Chris Berardi, Buena Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-17 2006 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike a 2001 sv650s, second bike a 2003 sv1000s, third bike a 2004 sv650s, current bike a 2006 sv1000s. Beware of the shift lever, the rear section likes to come loose and fall off! Can't say enough about the real world torque. These bikes have plenty of power, and looks, and the best bang for the buck on the market. I'm planning on aftermarket exhaust, K&N air filter, brighter headlights, gel seat, power commander, steel braided brake and clutch lines, wave rotors, etc. The sv1000s sounds so much better with aftermarket exhaust, I can't wait until the year is over and the factory warranty expires.
- Michael Anderson, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-24 2006 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wearing out my old Honda CB750 3 years ago and looking around for a new bike (2 years of maybe this one or that one) I picked up the SV1000S last fall. I rode it all throughout the winter. I have to say I love the long powerband, I can be in 4th gear at 6000 rpm doing 80 mph and open it up to 120 mph at 11000 rpm in two seconds flat. Love the sound, I run the stock cans (glassbacks) I did drill holes to open them up. Had it up to 140 mph with no problems 6th gear did seem low on power. On the downside, I took one off for comfort, it's the same sitting as the GSXR. Overall, I love it and looking forward to spending the summer on it.
- Daniel, Salt Lake, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-18 2006 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They said that I shouldn't ride a 1000cc bike as my first bike, but because this bike is so user friendly, I haven't had one problem learning on this beauty. I'm still in the break-in period so I haven't really opened her up yet, but the little I have done with her, she shows plenty of power on reserve. I would recommend this bike to anyone who has ridden before because you can slip up easily on it...but I loved it...oh yeah...riding comfort fades after about 30mins of riding...other than that...it's 100% wonderful!
- Bryan Bell, Lincoln, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-01 2006 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
These are small volume bikes, and you can pick up a non-current model for a very reasonable price. With all the money you save over some other make/model, you can afford to upgrade the SV into something really special -fast, light, relatively rare on the street.
- Bruce Wilken, Detroit Lakes, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-18 2006 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden many bikes (ZX7R - CBR929R - 750 Katana - V-Star1100) but this is my true love! The enormous powerband - it pulls hard from 2500-11000 rpm with no effort and the torque is endless. This bike handles like a 600 because of its light weight! And the sound is like no other sportbike - that throaty rumble without any vibration! PURE LOVE!
- Daniel, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In March this year I moved up from a 1987 GS550es. Was looking at a lot of V-Twin sportbikes and I keep coming back to an SV, once I found a new 2005 in Black, SOLD! The bike has used as a comuter and no long rides yet. Very happy with the performance and handling, easy to maintain.
- Barry , Export, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-10 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 37 years, daily to and from work. I previously owned a 1999 Honda Superhawk that I put 30K on and so have V-Twin sportbike reference experience. The SV is definitely a step above the Superhawk, which I had no complaints with. With the fully adjustable suspension and fuel injection, the bike is more comparable to an RC51. I am getting 45 mpg as opposed to the Superhawks 38 average. Due to low mileage I haven't spun the engine beyond 5K, however, the transmission is faultless and the power delivery very good. I would say there is more vibration than with the Superhawk and is far worse than my Ninja which supposedly was cursed with the four inline buzz that failed to ever be an issue. My commute is only 32 miles each way and so comfort is not an issue, you could probably live with a chopper for that distance but we do have fairly heavy traffic here and the responsiveness of the chassis and most excellent brakes are assets to living to ride another day.
- Lenny, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-24 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride my black 05 SV1000S more than I drive my car. I ride to work, school, and down the twisty country roads. As far as the engine goes, there is lots of torque, quick response, and power at high RPMs. I am 6'2", and I am very, very comfortable on this bike. Someone earlier complained about wrist pains, but who ever heard of not experiencing wrists pains on a sportbike. Especially if you just starting riding it. Anyway, I don't have problems with wrist pain. Unless I wheelie it in 2nd, ride it out about a block and slam the front down, and jar my wrist. HA! that's the only wrist pain I've ever felt. Those BMW guys just aren't used to being crouched over behind the cockpit of 90 degree V-TWIN power plant. Without a doubt this is the best all around streetbike. I'm over 6ft, so if you're tall take it from me; comfort is not a problem. After 2500 miles tacked on and added aftermarket parts I've had no problems out of it. In the corners, I am the king. No questions. With the exception of not having race grade components, it is equal in quality to any other sportbike. I think Suzuki is as proud of this bike as I am, because they are responsive to consumer demands. For the 04 & 05 models they gave it a lighter fly wheel and bigger throttle bodies to enhance performance.
- Shawn, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-13 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was a replacement for my 97 TLS (I put 100K miles on it) Smoother power delivery not as raw and agressive as the TLS. Installed Heli bars and and gel seat and rode it cross country from arizona to georgia no problems. Toured from arozona to california and back and fell in love with the handling in the twisties. Had money saved up to originally purchase a ducati or aprillia. (my riding buddies have italian v-twins)But the SV is pretty much bullet proof.
- rickey radford, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-09 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was not my first choice, after now owning it and with the upgrades it has been an eye opener, it has a power band that kicks in as if it was like a 2 stroke. With the mods it has increased horse power and torque. Deceleration is real hard and you need to get used to it. This thing is no way the same torque and hp as the GSXR (which is what I was looking for but the $$$$ was a lot) but it is good enough if you do not want to ride a wheelie in 3rd through 6th gear, all around it is a great bike. I ride to O.C. everyday (71 miles a day) and it has been a bike you have to get used to but in the end it is a great looking and riding bike!
- Joe, Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-11 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike indeed. When I first got it, I was amazed at the power it had but that's just because I was riding a 250 kawasaki before but man there is a big difference. I think I'm the only one in philly with this bike. I have never seen it here yet till I went to the dealer and saw it. I recomend this bike to the people who know how to ride well because the gas is very very very touchy one pull back and your flying.
- rich martinez, philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-03 2004 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 SV new April 30 2005. I love the bike, but the seat could use some help. I ride about 80 miles a day round trip to work. I get a lot of seat time. I have been riding street bikes for fourteen years, so I have been around the block. I can safely say the SV is my favorite bike to date. Great bike all around.
- Holmes, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-22 2005 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike with the power to keep up with the RC51's in the corners or the open road. The seat is hard at first but it has broke in now and is good for 300+ mile rides. with a price tag under 8500 it is a good buy. Deffinately recommend to all riders out there.
- rock, hemet, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-26 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an excellent bike with great styling and lots of torque. I do however wish the seat was more comfortable. Other than that it is a great bike and I recommend it to all of you riders out there.
- Brad Smith, Niles, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-17 2004 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike in November of 04, and have ridden 2600 miles since. Love everything about the bike except the seat. I actually have the full naked SV. Handles great, plenty of power, and they are not everywhere. Very good bike for the price.
- Eldric Venne, Greenville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-20 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my SV for about a year now. I couldn't be happier. I have had several motorcycles including some dirt bikes (Suzuki PW50, Suzuki TS125, Yamaha YZ125 and two RM250's) and a street bike (Yamaha Radian 600) and I can tell you that the SV is a truly fantastic machine. don't get me wrong, the other bikes are great too, especially the Radian, and my 02 RM250, which of course are both in a different class entirely. The SV is fantastic though. Smooth power, great looks, torque, torque, torque, and who doesn't love the wonderful sound of a V-Twin Sport bike? I cannot say that it is the best bike out there, (I haven't owned them all), but I can say that if you are considering this bike, go put the money down because it will not disappoint. I have the Metallic Copper (which is beautiful) and it really turns heads and inspires comments. I have just a couple minor complaints about the bike. First, no fuel gauge. The fuel warning light is great but I wish I had some way of knowing if I need to stop at every town for fuel or not. Second, the butt-freakin' ugly rear mud flap fender afterthought. Suzuki should have made (and still should in the future) their aftermarket fender eliminator license plate bracket the stock part. So as you can see, with a $100 aftermarket genuine Suzuki part, and after learning the fuel economy of the bike, there really is nothing to complain about. Suzuki scored big on this one and I hope they continue to make this bike so it can gather the same following as the great SV650.
- Dave Ryan, Roosevelt, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-12 2004 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in March (2005) after riding my wife's Ninja 250 for a few years. (Stop laughing!) I hadn't ridden seriously in about a year, and there I was all of a sudden on a 2003 SV1000S. But don't worry, the bike was easy to control and was a joy to ride. Your behind will beg for a gel seat, but otherwise, everying else was great! The torque, the lights, the handling were all top notch. Sure, there may be faster bikes, but there will always be faster bikes. It is all about the rider, and what you plan to use the bike for. I commute about 50 miles a day, so my bike is perfect for me. Try one out, and you will fall in love!
- Charles, Clayton, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-04 2004 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My girlfriend owns the SV650s, which I've always thought to be an excellent little bike. But it is just that... little. Totally like a toy, you can throw it around left and right and you love every minute of it. I've always wanted one with a TL motor in it. Suzuki granted my wish with the SV1000S. The trade off is sublime. You can't turn as quick as the 650, but it rewards you with very stable handling in turns. It is stable like a rock in the roughest roads. And the power... wow! You feel like you can uproot a tree with all the torque from this motor. And to top it all off, it's miles more comfortable than pretty much any of the repliracers out there. I've logged 650 miles in a weekend New England trip, and loved every minute of it. I'm going to hold on to this one for a long time. If you're considering a 1000cc Naked Twin, bikes like the Superhawk or even the Ducati Monster don't hold a candle to the SV1000s.
- Kel, Hartford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: