Suzuki SV650 Motorcycles Reviews (147)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV650 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV650 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-07-21 2004 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 2009 DL650 (Wee-Strom) and really liked it, but was looking for something lighter with less fairing and plastic. I picked up a 2004 SV650 with about 23,000 miles in good condition. It's currently set up for commuting, and I have found the bike to be everything I was looking for. It has less weight than the Wee with the same fantastic engine. It's fun to ride, extremely reliable and has tremendous aftermarket support. The only thing that prevents me from giving it a 5 for comfort is that the reach to the bars is a little far, but will correct that with risers or some new bars. I strongly recommend this bike to anyone.
- Bob Bender, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-04-05 2008 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is awesome, the only thing that I did not like was the seat. After riding for 30 minutes my bottom was sore. I had to buy a Corbin seat to fix that problem.
- Aarti, Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-14 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over the last decade I have had many bikes. I started it all off with a 2003 SV650. Some time later, and a few bikes in between, I went with a naked SV1000. Again, it's a beautiful sport bike that was user friendly to beginner and expert alike. Finally after all these years, I have decided my bucket list of bikes must include a SV650 (again). My naked '06 has it all, plenty of performance, very nice curb appeal, and reliabilty needed in today's tough economical climate. I have added everything possible with a emphasis on comfort (risers, lowering pegs and blocks, Laminar Lip, Alaska Leather seat cover and carbon fiber Yoshi exhaust, chin spoiler and hugger. I love the way she feels and looks. She's a keeper.
- josh, Clyde Hill, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-23 2003 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike all around. It's a cult classic and commutes well. It's track day/mini twins are my favorite, twisty fun! It needed a battery a few months ago as well.
- Previous owner, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-09 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All the positive reviews you've read on this bike are for a reason. It's simply a great bike! No matter what situation you put it in, it shines. It's really light and flickable. This bike loves tight technical and canyon roads. that's not to say it lacks everything else, although I would recommend a seat upgrade for long trips. Compared equally, this bike really outperforms everything else out there for the money. Sure you could buy a better bike but for what you will pay, it can't be beat! I'm just over 200 lbs. and when I first got the SV, I got razzed by my riding buddies about it, but as soon as we got into the canyons all the teasing stopped! Trust me you will not be disappointed with the purchase of an SV!
- Nate, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-02 2005 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I still have the bike. Reading my original post makes me laugh. It's a great bike. I'm not sure why Suzuki stopped making them, I still get compliments. It runs perfectly!
- Andthereyouare, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-24 2008 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike, SV650s Abs. I love this bike. I love the features. It was an awesome purchase. It has a lot of power, the kind a pro and a beginner will love. I recommend it to anyone!
- Daniel Johnson, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-16 2008 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great for whatever you need be it commuting, touring or weekend cruising to the mountains. This bike is ergonomic, economic and tons of fun to ride/trick on. Many aftermarket parts and a huge fanbase so it has a history.
- Curtis, barto, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-06 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this motorcycle for about 26 hours. I bought it in Northern Ohio and rode it home, 128 miles, pulled in to my garage with 608 miles on it. I am so impressed with light, steering, gas tank size even. This is my second bike, my last one is as old as I am, an FT 500 Ascot. This SV seems new from the future, different shape, design. I am very excited from going to work on it and going on a long traveling ride on it as well. Also so cheap for a new bike, it has been sitting in a persons garage for 3 years, I have to wash dust off now. At the very end of this thought I am excited to take care of this SV 650 and become older, and learn with it.
- john , commercial point , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-28 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
7500 miles and running... No real complaints here. Addition of velocity stacks and the shortening of the intake snorkel gave this bike a nice kick in the rear as far as acceleration is concerned. Not that accel was lacking, but a noticeable boost with the additions. If you are on a budget and need to pick and choose upgrades, but also enjoy long rides, do yourself a favor and upgrade the stock seats! Ouch and Ache are all that I'll say about them. Huge improvement with addition of after market seats! I went with Corbin seats, pricey but worth the expense. A wind screen is another very smart improvement, mostly for those who ride the free ways frequently. The Givi A770 wind screen is sporty yet provides great wind protection at the chest level. Givi tends to be pricey, but much like the Corbin seats it's a smart move! If you wanna really set this bike off, add a slip on muffler, high flow air filter and power commander. M4 makes great slip ons at nice prices. All in all, the SV650 is a GREAT sport bike at a budget price. This bike has a huge following and as a result the market offers TONS of accessories for it!
- Nate, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-18 2001 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a first time rider and bought this bike back in April. I can't explain the way this bike acts and feels. It's light weight, has good looks and power. Granted, it's not a wheelie machine but it will hold its own with style. The bike is also very forgiving as long as the mistake isn't monumental. I would recommend this bike to anyone who is looking for a starter bike or a good ride.
- Mike R. Tata, New Boston , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-23 2008 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has gotta be one of the best bang for your buck bikes out there. With a little imagination, you can drop the bars and carve the canyons. Leave them up, and tour for days.
- John, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-30 2007 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started out on the Boulevard S40. After riding the S40 for almost a year and putting over 5000 miles on it, I grew bored with it. I visited the Suzuki dealership and was immediately taken in by the SV650. I really liked the naked look of the bike. After talking to the salesman and getting a sweet deal, I rode off with the SV650 about 2 hours later. I've had the bike for almost 2 weeks now and am still breaking it in. I can say however, that I have been impressed so far. The bike has great acceleration, turns on a dime, and is fairly comfortable to ride. It has a forgiving transmission, and the seat is a lot more comfortable than the S40's (although it is still kind of hard). I really dig the overall design of the SV650 also. Most of my friends that I ride with have cruisers, but I'm in no hurry to go back to one. My SV650 will leave most all of them in the dust, and the fun factor is greatly enhanced. I will probably ride the bike to work once in a while, but mostly I'll use it for errands and joy riding. My only complaint so far with the bike is I sometimes get false neutrals when shifting from fifth to sixth gear. Otherwise, it's a great bike.
- Jeff, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the SV to turn into an economical, sport tourer which it does pretty well - especially the economical part. It has a great motor, frame, brakes, good ergos, OK suspension, and it'll run forever (I hope). Its price is well below anything; insurance and maintenance are cheap; 40 to 55 mpg; it doesn't eat through tires, chains, and sprockets very quickly either. After 14,500 miles I've had no problems with my SV - none. I replaced the rear tire after 8500 miles, the front lasted over 12,000. I added a center stand, a must-have for chain lubing and tire changing. For luggage, a tank bag, tail pack, and saddlebags, good for a week or more on the road. The biggest problem I had with the bike was the seat. I first tried the Suzuki gel seat, but it was worse than the stock. I'm now using a Corbin that was made a little thicker than normal, but I still lost a little leg room. I have to stretch my legs periodically when riding. It's not perfect, but I can ride all day, everyday. I just did over 1900 miles in 4 days and the bike was great. On the highway it was comfortable, even without a windshield. The ergos lean you slightly into the wind, with no weight on your wrists and no neck fatigue from holding your head up. I've really fallen in love with its light weight and don't think I can go back to a heavy bike, but you get blown around a little on the highway from crosswinds and trucks, but it's not too bad. The suspension is where Suzuki saves a lot of money. The ride isn't as plush on the highway as something like a Bandit, nor as composed in the twisties as a true sport bike. An Ohlin rear shock and a Race Tech cartridge emulator should cure this though. Range is good, with the 4.5 gallon tank I'll get 190 miles on back roads before the fuel light comes on, at which time there's still 1.1 gallons left. However, on the highway if you ride between 75 and 90mph the light comes on in about 140 miles. In the rain the rear fender doesn't cover the tire to well, so you get sprayed pretty bad, but that's what rain gear is for, right? Everyone I ride with has larger bikes and the SV has no problems keeping up. All in all I love the bike. It's close to perfect. If I can improve the seat and suspension I think it will be perfect.
- Don, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2007 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was all smiles riding home from the dealership. I had just traded my Plazma blue 06 Ninja 636 off on this bike for a more comfortable ride. I was totally amazed at the confidence that this bike inspired in the handling department. It most closely reminded me of throwing a mountainbike from size to side. This bike's dry weight amounted to about 10-15 lbs heavier than the Ninja, but actually handled as if it was lighter due to the wider bar leverage and higher body position over the tank. I definitely found more comfort in the upper body for riding long distances (150-300 miles in a day). But my disappointment with this bike is the lack of wind protection on the upper body. I knew that getting into the purchase, though. The problem with adding a small windshield to a sport-standard bike is that you will lessen the blast on the chest, but the noise will greatly increase around your head, even tiring after 200 miles with earplugs under a helmet. The shield concentrates and turbulates the air around your head. The Ninja had windblast around the head, but the air stream was much quieter and smoother. Anyway, the SV650 is an amazing little bike otherwise. Anyone who may pity the power delievery of the SV has probably just come back from a day riding a litre bike. The power is sufficient and comes on lower than your typical 600cc hyper bike. Much more ridable around town, and around hills and curves. A talented rider able to extract the capabilities of the SV will surpass a 600 supersport, because of the bar leverage and low end torque. Reliability is stellar. I ran Motoman's break-in method, flushed out major break-in grit with several oil changes, and have not experienced one single hiccup with it since the first turn-key. Performance is great for what it is. It is a Vtwin 645, and you get about as much torque and power from it as one could expect. Quick highway passes can be done with a couple downshifts. It won't develope speed like a 636, duh! But normally you don't need to shift much....just roll-on and go. There is a soft flat spot in throttle from about 4,800-5,700 rpm which could be solved with a PC3 and a pipe. The only qualm I have had is the shifter is a bit more on my mind than I would like. I have gotten a lot of false neutrals between 5th and 6th gears. The dealership adjusted the clutch cable play and it only reduced the shift errors about 50%. I never even thought about the 636 Ninja, and that is the way it should be. The SV650 has settled in at about 52mpg steady. That is with 60-62mph commuting, a couple of quick blasts, and 0-06 in about 6-7 seconds on average. Really good fuel economy. The range is about 170+ miles before the light comes on, then you can run to about 210 safely before you definitely need to fill, if your sore backside can handle that trip. Comfort is much better than a supersport. Your elbows, wrists, and back-of-neck will thank you. However, most people that have owned a 2003-on SV will tell you that Suzuki has visions of tortoise butts when they designed the shape of the SV seat. Good for moderate commutes, but will make your hiney raw after 60 miles. Get a better seat. Legs and knees have never complained, and I'm 6 foot 2 inch. Quality is moderate to medium in motorcycles. Yeah, you are going to mix the plastic with the metal on a bike like this, but for the price out the door, it's a good bargain. If you want quality shiny things, get a cruiser and bolt on another 100 lb of power-sapping jewelry, and the first bug you hit you will cry. The only thing I have found is that there is a buzz coming from the front round headlight assembly, which seems to be the headlight assembly's lack of correct clearance in the plastic bell housing that is is mounted. The back of the light sleeve buzzes against the housing. I need to stick some electric tape in their to tighten that up just a bit. Should do the trick. I will probably run this little torquer for another couple years until I pay it off, then maybe consider a heavier, more powerful street/sport/tourer kind of ride, like the new Bandit 1250S. The extra weight would reduce fatigue on the road in the wind, and the bigger motor would relax the wrist and steady the riding speed. SV's hold their value well and are always in demand. Funny thing about owning motorcycles, it's innevitable that you will go through 3 or 4 before you land the right one. I researched motorcycles on the internet for a solid 3 years or more, and still didn't come to the proper conclusion. I'm a mechanical engineer/draftsman with great mechanical aptitude and am a motorcycle enthusiast, but all the reading in the world doesn't cut it like actually riding a bike. Too bad stealerships don't allow more test drives, but that's what demo-days are for. The search goes on, but I'll ride the SV until then. In my opinion, there is no better bike on the market for all-around versitility in the 650cc range. This is simply the best equipped, funnest to ride, rouchious engine, corner carver, great economical bike for the dollar. Period. Happy roads!
- Eric, Rockford, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-22 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From commuter to canyon carver this is hands down the best bike for the money. Insurance is inexpensive, I don't go through tires/chains/sprokets like on my previous liter bikes and I can ride it all day long in comfort. I've done a few track days and embarrassed many full sport bikes...of course not in the long straights. I plan to wear this bike out and then give it to my son when he turns 16. I will probably buy a new one for myself at that time.
- Rick, Federal Way, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-26 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having ridden a MZ250, a Honda Magna, a Yamaha YZF600, a Vulcan 1500, a Ducati Monster 750, and a Yamaha FJR 1300 I didn't know what to expect from this little standard. I was hoping for decent performance in the twisties and bearable windblast on the highway, I was thrilled to whip through my favorite twisties and was surprised and pleased to find no windblast even at highway passing speeds. The aftermarket M4 exhaust has a gorgeous sound, especially the back burble, and the comfort was more than fine for an hour ride, even more so than the Ducati Monster. To find a bike with this performance at this price is amazing, and if you don't have fun on one of these then perhaps motorcycling is not really your cup of tea. I'll update after the 4K service.
- Geoff B, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-21 2007 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am new to this sport. It is something I have always wanted to do. I am 31 years old and decided that I better give it a shot. I started looking at bikes seriously in 2005 and did quite a bit of reading and talking to people in the sport. I chose the Suzuki SV650 because it was low in cost and it seemed a little less agressive than all the super highspeed sport bikes out there. I have had my bike for a little over two months now and I have put 3600 miles on it. I have to say that might not seem like much to some riders but I think it's great for a novice. Part of the reason I have been able to put so many miles on it is because it is so easy to ride. I have lots of highway time on it and I love to go ride some of Colorado's beautiful canyons. It was not until after I purchased the Sv650 that I realized what makes it so great. Never having had a bike before I really didn't know what to look for or expect. I have to say the SV has delivered in every way I could ask. I go to the motorcycle store and I really don't lust after any of the other bikes. I have never had such satisfaction from a vehicle purchase. If you are thinking about this bike seriously, stop thinking and go get one. I believe you will really love riding it. Some people say they don't like its looks, I can tell you that I get compliments on its styling all the time, it has great personality and plenty of punch!
- Elliott Lefly, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-02 2007 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for about 6 years now and was looking to get another since I sold my last bike before joining the military. I was looking at an R6 but I didn't think that 10k was worth the bike. Then I found the SV650. I fell in love with it right when I saw it. The bike has plenty of get up and go topping out at about 130 MPH, which is plenty fast for me. I've only had the bike for about a week now and I have already put over 400 miles on it, so needless to say it is a much more cofortable bike than most other crotch rockets you'll see out there today. While the seat could be a little more comfy and some better grips would be nice, it is still fairly comfortable.
- Clutch, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2001 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT THE BIKE OUT OF CRATE NEW IN 2002 AS A LEFT OVER. IT WAS CHEAP, FAST, AND FUN. THE SPEEDING TICKETS HOWEVER WEREN'T. I GOT HIT DOING 95 IN A 45, 72 IN A 45, AND 68 IN A 20 ON THIS DAMN THING!!! THEY ARE JUST SO FUN, THAT YOU FORGET TO PAY ATTENTION TO SPEED SIGNS. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I WAS INVOLVED IN A SITUATION WHERE I HAD TO LAY THE BIKE DOWN OR HIT A PICK UP TRUCK AT 56 MPH WITH NO HELMET. SO I DID AND TO MY SURPRISE, THE DAMAGE WAS MINIMAL!!! ONLY A BROKEN TACH, AND TURN SIGNAL, ALONG WITH A DENT AND SCRATCHED. THE BIKE WAS PICKED UP AND RODE HOME WITH NO REAL DAMAGE TO SPEAK OF. THANKS TO THE FINE ENGINEERS AT SUZUKI, THEY BUILT A BIKE THAT IS SIMILAR TO A TIMEX WATCH. TAKES A LICKIN AND KEEPS ON TICKIN!
- josh adamson, marion, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-23 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, torques enough to jump out of harms way, after 10 months, 22600 miles without a single worry. I will run this thing to the ground. It's survived two summers and a very harsh winter (I have no car ha!). I haven't had any gear last as long as the brutality I've been dishing out to this thing. Awesome product and to think I've actually bad mouthed Suzuki cause everyone elses brother had a Gixxer! I'm glad I was wrong.
- Ray, LasVegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-19 2007 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am somewhat new to the riding scene (ridden dirt bikes most of my life but new to the street bikes) and so far have been very pleased with my bike. I started out looking for a used motorcycle, it being my first street bike of course, and finally was talked into a new one (07) by my wife surprisingly. I finally chose the SV 650 (naked bike) as the SV 650S (full fairing) had a much lower riding posture and was about 100 insurance points higher. I loved the upright riding posture of the naked 650 and was drawn to the extreme comfort of my wrist position. On most street bikes you are forced to lean over the front forks and gas tank for the measly hour you can comfortably ride and your back and wrists take hell. On this bike, my wrists feel great and I am riding almost as upright as possible. Being over six feet tall, this is a HUGE plus. I was impressed with the bikes V-twin, more than enough power to get a fat ass like me in trouble, but not too much that she threw you off the back. The instrument cluster is all digital, minus the tach, and very visible even to the tallest of riders. It comes with trip meters, clock, MPH and odometer.....all digital! There is also a coolant light (it's liquid cooled with antifreeze after all), low oil light and turn signals. The lack of windshield over the front headlight completes the naked look but does pose a small problem with wind. You know this going into the purchase so for me it was not a big deal. Great braking power, sharp, and I do mean sharp looks, make this bike one for the guys and definitely one for the ladies. With a top speed of about a buck thirty, and crazy low end torque this bike will leave many of the 750's sitting on the line. The only negative aspects about the bike are a slightly uncomfortable seat, a new gel seat will cure this, and the foot pegs are a little high for this guy. However, for a street bike, the pegs and seat height are better than many of the alternatives. All in all, the bike is pretty mint. The price was well worth it, and the consensus for gas mileage is between 40 and the high 50's. I did a lot of research on bikes, especially insurance and gas mileage before purchasing one, and the SV 650 comes out on top. I highly recommend this bike for the beginner as well as the experienced. A friend of mine has about four years of riding experience with a 750 and was very impressed the power and the versatility of the 650. Definitely a bike worth looking into!
- Brad Spencer, North Waterboro, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-15 2007 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcyle and I am very pleased with it. The performance is very manageable to control, but still has enough grunt to get up and go when you want to. I was told by a Suzuki representative that this is bulletproof - that's why it gets a five star rating. It could be a little bit more comfortable but I have taken it on long rides no problem. Great bike so far!
- Brad, Hudson, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-08 2003 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike. I started on a street legal dirt bike then bought the 03 sv650n. I will probably never get ride of this bike. It's a comfortable sitting angle with the look and feel of being on a super sport bike but with out the back ache of being hunched too far over. I gave it a 4 in comfort because it's not as comfortable as a touring bike but I'm able to go on 200 mile plus rides with a group no problem. I also gave it a 4 in quality because with this year the radiator sticks too far out to the sides and if you drop it, all the weight of the bike will hit the radiator on the ground.
- Dustin Taylor, Tracy, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-07 2003 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new and have thoroughly enjoyed each and every mile I've put on it. It has performed flawlessly. Even though I'm starting to look for a new bike (for doing some longer distance touring), I won't be selling the sv. It's too much fun.
- mp885, Thousand Okas, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: