Suzuki SV650S Motorcycles Reviews (127)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV650S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV650S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-10 2008 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the best nice riding bike for a beginner. It's comfortable and easy to ride!!!
- Lucien Laurent, Pownal, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-04 2004 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! It's my 4th street motorcycle and I think it's a keeper! I started on a Honda Rebel 250 (technically, a Lifan LF200), then moved to a Suzuki DR650, then traded up to the Suzuki SV650S and have never looked back. I've been on many dirt bikes ages 5 to 17 and have ridden many other bikes including: Honda Shadow VLX600, Honda Shadow VT1100, Honda VTX 1300C, and a VSTROM DL650 (same motor as SV). Even with all the experience I still love my SV and have personally put 7000 miles on it. It has plenty of power to keep me satisfied and it handles like a dream! The suspension is quite stiff and brakes (not that I have ever needed more) are not the very greatest. For these two and only reasons I gave it 4 stars in performance and comfort. The bike has very little to no vibrations at all. At or below about 85-90 you don't even realize there is a motor spinning at 6500 rpm.+ and above that it's slightly noticeable. It does 90 mph. no sweat and will easily do 115 mph. and has a top speed of around 135 mph. It handles revving to 9500 rpm. without a problem. The bike is very crisp and excels beyond expectations in the twisties (which is where the fun is at). The fuel injection is a huge bonus, just start and go. These bikes are well known to get 100,000 miles and more! If you want a bike that goes 150 mph.+ this isn't for you. If you want a bike that has four cylinders to adjust and keep in sync this bike is not for you. If you want a bike that will scream to 14,000 rpm. it isn't for you. If you want a bike that is very reliable, has plenty of power, will keep up with a 600cc rocket, is great on gas, and looks great too; this might just be the bike for you.
- Randy, Florence, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-02 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth motorcycle. My last was a 2003 Triumph Sprint ST 955i, but I wrecked it in California. I actually rode that bike from Ohio to California and met my uncle (a former GSXR 1000 owner) in Texas on none other than a 2007 SV 650S. From there we did 100 miles per hour for 3 days straight, through the Mojave desert, some mountains, the pacific coast highway, and his bike had no problem keeping up with me (although I was weighed down with 100 pounds of gear). After the wreck I decided to go with the sv650 for insurance and initial cost reasons (not to mention I saw my uncle having a blast on it!). I have to say that as long as you don't have a passenger, you can really rip on this thing! I can't power wheelie like the 955 but with a little clutch you can get the front end up just fine. Not to mention it weighs next to nothing! I can pull it out of the garage with one hand just by grabbing the rear grab bar and pulling the bike. With a yoshi pipe on it it sounds good enough to make angels weep. It actually sounds like a dragster when you are riding and wind out a gear (I live next to a dragstrip). This is more like a GP bike (light weight, less power) rather than a straight line missile, like a 'busa or literbike. I think people are just too lazy to use the powerband and would rather have something that they can just roll on and fly. The problem with a more powerful bike is you eventually get to the point where a mistake could lead to you spinning out the back tire on a turn. The sv has more resolution through turns, and is more forgiving. I'm planning to take it to Minnesota next week (I have heated grips) if that is anything to describe the comfort on it (it's not comfy, but it's bearable if you prop an elbow up on the tank). 2 hour plus rides are very common on this bike when the weather permits. It's more than the sum of it's parts, so if you can get past the numbers you find online there is no reason why ANYONE can't have a blast on this bike. I used to stomp little 600's in California on my triumph so I know what a fast bike feels like. (it's still forgiving enough to be a first bike though)
- Joe, Canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-12 2008 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has plenty of power for beginners or experienced riders. This is my first sportbike and is very quick but not too quick. Handling is awesome on this bike, great in the twisties. The brakes on the sv seem to be pretty good as well. I will have this bike for a while to come. Can't wait to get it out of the break in period to really ride it.
- Von Collins, Athens, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-15 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great for starters due to how light the v-twin engine feels while also being great for experienced riders due to the ridiculous cornering and fun acceleration. In my opinion tho, if you're looking for a touring bike, I wouldn't recommend any more than a 3 hour ride on the sv without at least a ten min break. But of course I have a stock seat so I'm sure with an aftermarket seat it wouldn't be a problem.
- kyle, marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-23 2004 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a little research before I bought this bike. I read that it was good for novices and more experienced riders alike. I learned that it has a reliable engine, a light weight aluminum truss-style frame, and is easily maneuverable. Something I read also stated that it will brake faster than almost anything that's traveling behind it, so an SV rider should be mindful in traffic. All these things seem to be very true. I also read that when it first came out in 1999, that it had the highest specs in the middle budget class (Super Bikes, Alan Dowd, 2002), with fuel injection and a new faring being the biggest changes in 2003. As far as maintaining the highest specs in its class, the stakes have been raised, probably more so with the new Kawasaki's (2009), which seems to be constantly compared with the SV and the Gladius. Still, in 2004, the SV ruled in its class, and maybe, it still does, especially for the price! I previously owned a 1999 1200 Bandit, so I was used to a bike with great power and lots of torque. While the SV is not anywhere near the performance of the Bandit, it still has plenty of muscle for me. Also, the fuel injection on the SV reduces warm up time. I enjoy how the SV handles, which has saved my skin from inconsiderate motorists on more than one occasion. Lastly, this thing looks great! I have had several positive comments on how it looks, and personally, I love how the aluminum truss frame is visible, revealing a high quality Suzuki frame, you know, that high spec thing! I do have three complaints. The seat, for me at least, is not that comfortable, when I have been riding for a while. Sometimes, my rear end feels like I have been riding a horse. Secondly, the riding position seems to be a little hard on my hands and wrists. However, this is a small sacrifice for having a sporty bike. Honestly, my Bandit did me the same way, even though it had an upright riding position. Lastly, the tank is supposed to hold 4.5 gallons of gas (according to PNS), which should result in at least 200 miles to a tank of gas. When I fill up my tank, after the low fuel light comes on, it only holds about three gallons of gas. As a result, I can only go about 150 miles on a tank of gas (50 MPG), before that light activates. Does anyone know how far can you go after the fuel light comes on? Despite a few small problems for me, I love this bike. I always enjoy its power, handling, and yes, the way it looks. I mean no offense to the owners of other bike manufacturers, but I've always had the best luck with Suzuki bikes in terms of performance and reliability. They are the best! Unless you are a tall/large person, have a preference for cruisers, or simply need light speed on your scoot, you really cannot go wrong with this bike.
- Tommy, Mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-29 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. It handles great and is very easy to ride. It has plenty of power as well. I would recommend it to any first time rider...or experienced rider as well.
- Jason Pennington, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-22 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't believe so many folks think of the SV650 as a good beginner bike and nothing more. Sure, it would work well as a first street bike, but it is so much more than just that. I've been riding for 30 years and this is one of my all time favorite bikes. Yes, that's right, you heard me. I've owned trails bikes, cruisers, choppers, 1,000cc cafe racers etc. from singles to v-twins to in-line fours ad nauseum so I'm actually speaking from experience. The SV650 is a jack of all trades. It has enough torque for a great time at the track without having to wear out your shift lever. It corners like it's on rails and in the twistys it holds its own with higher revving bikes (in-line 4s). Sure they can rev up and leave you on the straights but who really rides for the straights? It's nimble handling lets it cut through traffic without effort and with the small fairing of the S model it does an admirable job on the highway. And last, but not least, if you really need to get arrested, it can do 120+ mph. If you need more power than that you are compensating for something. I have fallen in love with my 650s. Sure, the seat isn't the greatest but there is nothing else about this bike that needs alteration for most riders. Last but not least, here is a little verification for you: British Weekly Motorcycle News called it: The best bike ever for the real world. I couldn't agree more.
- Steve W., Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-10 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my SV in late April and love to ride all over this fine state of Colorado. It was very appealing and has a real nice paint scheme. I ride this out to work daily when possible as this is a very comfy bike for the rider but not as much for the passenger. It is very agile and responsive and this bike loves the mountain curves and is snappy in the straights. It is a very good bike for the new and advanced rider due to its weight-to-power ratio and it will run with the best. I love my bike and know once you get on this twin you will too.
- Greg Wasendorf, Arvada, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did not actually look for bikes for 4 years but was very interested in them, and some friends helped me out pointing me in the right direction. But I have had the bike for a few months now and I read lots about it from the internet and bike magazines. I feel I made an exellent choice and I love it a lot.
- Jeff, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-10 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my SV650S about 3 weeks ago, and it's a great bike. It's got a lot of power for a beginner to handle, but if you're just a little judicious on the throttle you should be fine. The bike cuts corners with great intensity, and is equally easy to do so. The riding position isn't great for people with bad backs. Having broken my back in 3 places, it's a little cumbersome, but nothing I couldn't handle. The quality, fit and finish etc. is great, the bike is built like a rock.
- Paul, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-17 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike in 20 years. I went into a shop looking for the biggest baddest thing on 2 wheels and the salesman suggested I start with something a little more manageable. I looked at the FZ6 & the Suzuki and I choose the SV650S because of the powerband. When I got it home I hopped on and headed out to get reaquainted with 2 wheel travel. In an hour, I felt like I had been riding the last 20 years! Soon I was slicing my way through the back roads and cranking up that gutsy V-twin. Strange thing was this bike got better the harder I pushed it. It feels light as a feather and you don't have to shift, the engine pulls hard out of every turn even if you didn't pick the right gear going in. This bike does everything it promises with incredible ease. I rode my buddy's FZ6 and that bike really requires your attention to ride smoothly. If I had to nit-pick, the riding position is between upright and full sport and it can cause cramping. My shifting was really notchy and sometimes it would refuse to up-shift under power. A clutch adjustment solved this problem. At highway speeds the bike can feel a little drifty, but take it up to 75-85 and it has that solid feel again. Finally, the brakes are a little weak, but I am 260 and that's quite a bit of weight for this bike. All in all, given the price, insurance costs, and maintenance requirements this bike is pretty much flawless.
- Crazy Architect, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-05 2006 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took an MSF class and we learned on 250cc's so the SV650S took a little getting used. My bike is very responsive and easy to handle so it is very forgiving for some newbie mistakes. I've had a lot of comments that my skill level exceeds that of a beginner. I think that has a lot to do with how easy the 650S is to handle. A lot of fun to ride but my friends can definitely leave me on the straightaways but they can't touch me on the curves. My bike tops out at about 135 but I don't see why you really need to go faster than that on the highway. I have also ridden the 1000S and immediately noticed the increase in torque in all gears which the 650 lacks. I do plan to get a GSX-R750 next riding season because I want the best of both worlds, speed and maneuverability. I would recommend the 650 for any beginner or experienced rider alike. Good for a long ride or a daily commute.
- Maliek, A house out in Hackensack, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-03 2006 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My SV has the performance and comfort I was looking for in a sports bike. Torque V-twin has all the power I expect from a bike its size. For the price I think it's the best on the market.
- Richard.Hutchinson, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2004 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Suzuki and I absolutely love it!! The bike handles like it's on rails and keeps pace with just about any bike out there. Sleek, good looks, and a reasonable price. It's a real hard combination to beat. I love this bike!
- Mac, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-26 2006 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE HAD MY SV FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR NOW, AND I AM ONE WITH MY BIKE SO TO SPEAK. I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT MY SV, EVEN THOUGH IT COULD USE A LITTLE MORE TOP END POWER. I RIDE IN THE HILLS A LOT AND I KNOW WHAT THIS BIKE CAN AND CAN'T DO. THERE'S REALLY NOT THAT MANY BIKES THAT CAN KEEP UP WITH THE V-TWIN POWER OF A SV IN THE MOUNTAINS. BELIEVE ME, I KNOW. I've LEFT ALL KINDS OF GSXR600, CBR600, GSXR750, AND 1000'S, IN MY DUST. IT'S A GREAT ALL AROUND BIKE. WORKING AT A BIKE SHOP MYSELF I LOVE SEEING PEOPLE BUY GSXR600, 750'S, AND 1000, MAINLY BECAUSE THEIR BUDDY HAS ONE, AND THEN THEY GET BLOWN AWAY BY A SV 650. THERE IS NO BETTER FELLING THEN THAT! GREAT BIKE, GREAT RIDE...
- KEVIN MCGAUGHEY, FRESNO, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2006 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2006 SV earlier this year and so far love it. I love the look of the naked bikes and was shopping the Ducati Monster and the SV, I read a lot of reviews and price finally won me over. The SV is a lot cheaper and also easier to get serviced where I live. I am over 6' tall but sit comfortable on the bike, once I get to about 75 mph the wind can become a little annoying, but I just lay on the tank if I go any faster. It is able to keep up with the other bikes I ride with but only till about 130 and then see you later to all the full fairing sport bikes. The bike does make you confident in your abilities, and curvy mountain roads aren't too bad on the SV. <br /> Accelerates great out of the curves and brakes feel strong at all times. The only thing that bothers me is the factory suspension settings make it a little bouncy in the front on uneven bumpy roads, which we have a lot of here. I don't weigh much at 150 lbs, so acceleration is good enough for me, but I don't try to race Busa's and Ninja's. Overall I really enjoy the bike and think I would enjoy it a little more if I was 2 inches shorter. I would tell anyone shopping for a naked to check out the SV.
- Fern, Sierra Vista, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-16 2006 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had mine for a little over a year and I still really like it. Honestly, I bought it because I fell in love with the naked, falcon-faired look, with the positive reviews and price helping seal the deal. I don't see a lot of these where I live, only a few of the pre-'03 bikes. The paint looks rather green in all the pictures but is definitely a dynamic blue. Depending on the light, it goes from teal (yuck) to lively electric blue to a deep royal blue. Buying touch-up paint in this color is expensive, though. It's my second bike, my first with clip-ons. I have found it fairly comfortable overall, enough to do 700+ highway miles in one weekend on the stock bike. Laying on the tank is quite comfortable. That said, the seat could definitely be better and this might be my last bike with clip-ons. It's usually fine but, if I throw out my back, the position becomes difficult where it wouldn't be on something like the V-Strom. One thing I really like about this bike is that I feel pretty confident riding it. With my GS850G (larger and seemingly more stable), I'd feel very nervous my first couple trips on the highway each season. When I picked the SV up after two years of not riding, I felt completely at ease taking the highway home. I even fell off it at low speed and got real nervous about turns but a few hours in a parking lot practicing low-speed tight turns got me over that. Like I said, I went down on it - an embarassing parking lot accident. Surprisingly little damage was done despite a bit of a skid. It scuffed the exhaust (the size of a finger tip), the rear brake, about 1-inch of the fairing, the mirror back, the bar end, and the turn signal. Bent the bar end bolt and the rear brake. Nothing broke - no glass, no plastic, nothing. Likely because of my weight, the bike's power doesn't blow my mind. The SV's got as much torque as my previous 850. Like they say, it doesn't complain about rolling on at low RPMs. It's zippy enough, and it can (and did) throw me down if I'm careless with the throttle. Other positives: Headlights really work well. Insurance was very good. The bike is unintimidating yet performs decent which makes it good for honing my skills. Fuel injection. My complaints are: The seat is uncomfortable. The brakes and front suspension are weak. The #@!$ing gearbox is clunky instead of 'snickety' (and I cannot seem to adjust the clutch to help). I'm not too heavy for the bike but I'm too heavy for this riding position. Overall, I think my SV is great. It's been dependable in its first year. I think it's a beautiful bike. The SV has been a good choice and I will have a soft spot for this bike.
- Mr. Matt, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-07 2006 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought the bike about two months ago and it goes great. It has tons of power compared to my Hyosung 250. It will pull the front end up in first gear if you rev the hell out of it. The motor sounds good with the stock exhaust. Wind pertection is also good. The bike will keep up with a Katana 750 stock until you get in higher speeds. It handles great but you might need to adjust the front forks if you are on the bigger side. They might hit if you hit a good enough pot hole. It's a great second bike.
- Ethan Ouellet, nashua , New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2006 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this as my first motorcycle, and it has been a lot of fun so far. Will be keeping this one for a long time. Good usable power and plenty fast for a new rider. Good gas mileage and good for commuting. Best in the canyons. Starts easy and maitenance is simple. It is a budget bike, so when you become a faster rider it will require some mods to make it suit you and your abilities. Fortunatly there are a lot of mods and a big community for this bike. Could be too much bike for someone who is not very coordinated, but if you pick up physical skills well, it will be perfect to teach you how to ride fast. I feel in control of the bike while I'm twisting the throttle open vs the bike controling me.
- Mark, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-26 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought one of these and absolutely love it. It was a pretty cheap bike and goes like hell. Once you get use to the way it rides, it does pretty much everything you ask it to do. It's great for running around town, but if I was going on a long trip, I'd much rather take my cruiser. It's kind of tough on the body, but performance comes at a cost. If you don't want to spend a bunch of money on a bigger bike, go with this one, it's worth the money.
- Dr.Defi, Fargo, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-15 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought one, and it is my first bike. I gave a 5 for reliability, with only 300 miles on the bike, it of course is running fine. I gave a 4 for performance, because while it is wicked fast, and way more than I need, in comparison to the other 600cc bikes offered by Honda, Yamaha and Kawasaki, it is the slower of the bunch. But, yet again, it is way more than I need. I gave a 4 for comfort, because your arms get tired leaning over the bike, but eventually you get used to it. Then 5 stars for quality, because it is the cheapest of the 600cc bikes, yet it looks just as good and is one heck of a ride. I definitely recommend this bike.
- Kirk Wills, Ballwin, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2007 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 4th motorcycle. I have 15 yrs riding experince with all types of bikes. I love the sound, the looks, and the blue color. It is easy to ride and exceptionally comfortable. It has lots of power all through the rpm range. The rider position is a little more agressive than I anticipated, so keep that in mind if considering the bike. The mirrors do not stick out far enough as my shoulders block them both. The digital speedo is great, but its placement is too low. My full face helmet blocks it and I have to put my head down to read it. Aside from those minor negatives, this bike is a must check out for beginner and experienced riders alike. Ride it and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
- Eric007bike, Raymond, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-28 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a previously owned 03 model. So far it is an excellent bike. I read a ton of reviews and asked a shop about the reliability of the bike and made the decision. I love the looks and the power is just right. My last bike was an 83 Interceptor I had through 86. This bike has more power, handles better and seems to be a good bike to get back into riding again. I will update as I get more mileas and see what happens.
- Rick, New Whiteland, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2006 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All I can say is this bike is fun, tons of torque. Handles like a jet fighter on the corners. Comfortable for long distance rides. And, did I mention fun? The M-5 exhaust sounds sweet and throaty. I recommend this bike to any one. This bike LOVES the twisties.
- Splat, Toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: