Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki SV650S reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

127 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Lucien Laurent

Pownal, Vermont

Reviewed on 2012-08-10

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's the best nice riding bike for a beginner. It's comfortable and easy to ride!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

Florence, Arizona

Reviewed on 2011-02-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike! It's my 4th street motorcycle and I think it's a keeper! I started on a Honda Rebel 250 (technically, a Lifan LF200), then moved to a Suzuki DR650, then traded up to the Suzuki SV650S and have never looked back. I've been on many dirt bikes ages 5 to 17 and have ridden many other bikes including: Honda Shadow VLX600, Honda Shadow VT1100, Honda VTX 1300C, and a VSTROM DL650 (same motor as SV). Even with all the experience I still love my SV and have personally put 7000 miles on it. It has plenty of power to keep me satisfied and it handles like a dream! The suspension is quite stiff and brakes (not that I have ever needed more) are not the very greatest. For these two and only reasons I gave it 4 stars in performance and comfort. The bike has very little to no vibrations at all. At or below about 85-90 you don't even realize there is a motor spinning at 6500 rpm.+ and above that it's slightly noticeable. It does 90 mph. no sweat and will easily do 115 mph. and has a top speed of around 135 mph. It handles revving to 9500 rpm. without a problem. The bike is very crisp and excels beyond expectations in the twisties (which is where the fun is at). The fuel injection is a huge bonus, just start and go. These bikes are well known to get 100,000 miles and more! If you want a bike that goes 150 mph.+ this isn't for you. If you want a bike that has four cylinders to adjust and keep in sync this bike is not for you. If you want a bike that will scream to 14,000 rpm. it isn't for you. If you want a bike that is very reliable, has plenty of power, will keep up with a 600cc rocket, is great on gas, and looks great too; this might just be the bike for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Canton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-06-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is my fourth motorcycle. My last was a 2003 Triumph Sprint ST 955i, but I wrecked it in California. I actually rode that bike from Ohio to California and met my uncle (a former GSXR 1000 owner) in Texas on none other than a 2007 SV 650S. From there we did 100 miles per hour for 3 days straight, through the Mojave desert, some mountains, the pacific coast highway, and his bike had no problem keeping up with me (although I was weighed down with 100 pounds of gear). After the wreck I decided to go with the sv650 for insurance and initial cost reasons (not to mention I saw my uncle having a blast on it!). I have to say that as long as you don't have a passenger, you can really rip on this thing! I can't power wheelie like the 955 but with a little clutch you can get the front end up just fine. Not to mention it weighs next to nothing! I can pull it out of the garage with one hand just by grabbing the rear grab bar and pulling the bike. With a yoshi pipe on it it sounds good enough to make angels weep. It actually sounds like a dragster when you are riding and wind out a gear (I live next to a dragstrip). This is more like a GP bike (light weight, less power) rather than a straight line missile, like a 'busa or literbike. I think people are just too lazy to use the powerband and would rather have something that they can just roll on and fly. The problem with a more powerful bike is you eventually get to the point where a mistake could lead to you spinning out the back tire on a turn. The sv has more resolution through turns, and is more forgiving. I'm planning to take it to Minnesota next week (I have heated grips) if that is anything to describe the comfort on it (it's not comfy, but it's bearable if you prop an elbow up on the tank). 2 hour plus rides are very common on this bike when the weather permits. It's more than the sum of it's parts, so if you can get past the numbers you find online there is no reason why ANYONE can't have a blast on this bike. I used to stomp little 600's in California on my triumph so I know what a fast bike feels like. (it's still forgiving enough to be a first bike though)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Von Collins

Athens, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has plenty of power for beginners or experienced riders. This is my first sportbike and is very quick but not too quick. Handling is awesome on this bike, great in the twisties. The brakes on the sv seem to be pretty good as well. I will have this bike for a while to come. Can't wait to get it out of the break in period to really ride it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kyle

marietta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2009-09-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is great for starters due to how light the v-twin engine feels while also being great for experienced riders due to the ridiculous cornering and fun acceleration. In my opinion tho, if you're looking for a touring bike, I wouldn't recommend any more than a 3 hour ride on the sv without at least a ten min break. But of course I have a stock seat so I'm sure with an aftermarket seat it wouldn't be a problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tommy

Mobile, Alabama

Reviewed on 2009-06-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I did a little research before I bought this bike. I read that it was good for novices and more experienced riders alike. I learned that it has a reliable engine, a light weight aluminum truss-style frame, and is easily maneuverable. Something I read also stated that it will brake faster than almost anything that's traveling behind it, so an SV rider should be mindful in traffic. All these things seem to be very true. I also read that when it first came out in 1999, that it had the highest specs in the middle budget class (Super Bikes, Alan Dowd, 2002), with fuel injection and a new faring being the biggest changes in 2003. As far as maintaining the highest specs in its class, the stakes have been raised, probably more so with the new Kawasaki's (2009), which seems to be constantly compared with the SV and the Gladius. Still, in 2004, the SV ruled in its class, and maybe, it still does, especially for the price! I previously owned a 1999 1200 Bandit, so I was used to a bike with great power and lots of torque. While the SV is not anywhere near the performance of the Bandit, it still has plenty of muscle for me. Also, the fuel injection on the SV reduces warm up time. I enjoy how the SV handles, which has saved my skin from inconsiderate motorists on more than one occasion. Lastly, this thing looks great! I have had several positive comments on how it looks, and personally, I love how the aluminum truss frame is visible, revealing a high quality Suzuki frame, you know, that high spec thing! I do have three complaints. The seat, for me at least, is not that comfortable, when I have been riding for a while. Sometimes, my rear end feels like I have been riding a horse. Secondly, the riding position seems to be a little hard on my hands and wrists. However, this is a small sacrifice for having a sporty bike. Honestly, my Bandit did me the same way, even though it had an upright riding position. Lastly, the tank is supposed to hold 4.5 gallons of gas (according to PNS), which should result in at least 200 miles to a tank of gas. When I fill up my tank, after the low fuel light comes on, it only holds about three gallons of gas. As a result, I can only go about 150 miles on a tank of gas (50 MPG), before that light activates. Does anyone know how far can you go after the fuel light comes on? Despite a few small problems for me, I love this bike. I always enjoy its power, handling, and yes, the way it looks. I mean no offense to the owners of other bike manufacturers, but I've always had the best luck with Suzuki bikes in terms of performance and reliability. They are the best! Unless you are a tall/large person, have a preference for cruisers, or simply need light speed on your scoot, you really cannot go wrong with this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Pennington

Olympia, Washington

Reviewed on 2009-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is awesome. It handles great and is very easy to ride. It has plenty of power as well. I would recommend it to any first time rider...or experienced rider as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve W.

Austin, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-04-22

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can't believe so many folks think of the SV650 as a good beginner bike and nothing more. Sure, it would work well as a first street bike, but it is so much more than just that. I've been riding for 30 years and this is one of my all time favorite bikes. Yes, that's right, you heard me. I've owned trails bikes, cruisers, choppers, 1,000cc cafe racers etc. from singles to v-twins to in-line fours ad nauseum so I'm actually speaking from experience. The SV650 is a jack of all trades. It has enough torque for a great time at the track without having to wear out your shift lever. It corners like it's on rails and in the twistys it holds its own with higher revving bikes (in-line 4s). Sure they can rev up and leave you on the straights but who really rides for the straights? It's nimble handling lets it cut through traffic without effort and with the small fairing of the S model it does an admirable job on the highway. And last, but not least, if you really need to get arrested, it can do 120+ mph. If you need more power than that you are compensating for something. I have fallen in love with my 650s. Sure, the seat isn't the greatest but there is nothing else about this bike that needs alteration for most riders. Last but not least, here is a little verification for you: British Weekly Motorcycle News called it: The best bike ever for the real world. I couldn't agree more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg Wasendorf

Arvada, Colorado

Reviewed on 2008-03-10

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my SV in late April and love to ride all over this fine state of Colorado. It was very appealing and has a real nice paint scheme. I ride this out to work daily when possible as this is a very comfy bike for the rider but not as much for the passenger. It is very agile and responsive and this bike loves the mountain curves and is snappy in the straights. It is a very good bike for the new and advanced rider due to its weight-to-power ratio and it will run with the best. I love my bike and know once you get on this twin you will too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I did not actually look for bikes for 4 years but was very interested in them, and some friends helped me out pointing me in the right direction. But I have had the bike for a few months now and I read lots about it from the internet and bike magazines. I feel I made an exellent choice and I love it a lot.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 13
  • 1 - 10 of 127 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: