Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Motorcycles Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-08-25 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a Suzuki Savage, although not a beginner, I grew up on dirt bikes, I am a 23 year old college student and the Savage is perfect for my budget. The review that says it will not see 80 unless going down hill is untrue. My bf rides a Yahmaha R1 Sport bike, I was always behind the group of course, but in my effort to catch up with there fast bikes I ride everywhere at 95ish (we ride on the interstate a lot) My bike has no problem between 80 and 95, so the only thing I can think is the reviewer weighs 300 pounds and the bike would go slower as its not rated for bigger riders. I am not a Savage lover, I want a duece more than anything but you can't be telling untruths!!
- Christy, Stillwater, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-11 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 S40 and it has way more power than a 250 which I have owned. This bike has helped me outrun almost every bike out there with the exception of crotch rockets. I can maintain 85-90mph easily in a headwind. This bike is awesome. It is not for beginners and not for somebody who wants to take cross country trips, but it is great for around town riding. Anything that is as reliable and cheap as this bike that gets almost 60mpg and can outrun all cars is definitely a great bike.
- Jeff, surprise, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-11 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've graduated from my Honda Rebel to a Savage. I got it used with 888 miles on it. I just started biking in August 2003. Its balance point is so great. I don't think I could drop it if I tried. The backfire is cool & I've taken it on the road to my office which is 25 miles away. In the city, it's easy to manage. On country roads it's fun & when I get to the getting on & off the ferry to get to the mainland it's great too. I put a wind screen on it & that made it an easier ride. I'm very pleased with my new bike. I gave my Honda to my husband (heehee)!
- Marcy, Vashon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-16 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok after working at the local Suzuki dealers for awhile I convinced my mother to buy one for her first bike. She loved it as it's sleek and has plenty of chrome. She wasn't impressed with the backfiring but tried to ignore it. However, I had to ride it back from the shop to her house which was about 25 miles. I know I'm a pretty big guy but that bike vibrates and the seat is awful. While slowing down for an intersection an almighty bang from the pipe was enough to make anyone wet the bed and I'm a veteran rider. Overall for a first bike it really is a good bike; it's more at home in single lane traffic than the open highways as the air stream from a passing Geo Metro is enough to put you in the ditch.
- Paulie, knox, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-23 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 55 and have owned 19 bikes over the last 40 years. The bigger bikes, with 100+ HP are too much for me now. I don't have the reflexes I used to, so staying off the freeways is fine for me. But the low-end torque and pull from my 650 single is more fun than a barrel of monkeys. Its little 350 lbs. and easy maintenance access sure helps define what the fun on two wheels is all about. I had the seat redone so it's more padding and "level" all the way back. I'm tall but sitting "in the middle" makes it perfect for someone my size. I love my new thumper ride!
- John Mullen, Evergreen (7500'), Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-10 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine new in May of '02 and have added a windshield, engine guard, saddlebags and Corbin custom seats (front and rear). Any passenger that could last longer than 30 minuts had no feeling in their butt. I get about 48 mpg, with a top end of about 85mph wide open, not an open freeway machine. I now have over 15,000 miles on it. Outside of tires and front break pads, I have had no issues or problems, though recently I have added carb cleaner to the gas to correct a rough idle. The idle smoothed out in one tank full. Seems to run better with premium gas too. This has been a great bike for around town and the two lane highways of the CA central coast, but I am ready to move up to a bigger more powerful machine. I don't regret buying it, this bike has got me back riding again after 20 long years. Would recommend this one to anyone who wants to take over Main Street in their town.
- Ski, Salinas, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-04 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say about this bike?? I have had this bike for over 4 months, and I absolutely love it. As a first time rider, this is a great bike!!! It has withstood a lot of punishment on the Arkansas roads, and yet it keeps on surviving.
- Mike, Springdale, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-04 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my new 2004 SAVAGE. It's just right for me, 650cc is a lot of power for me actually. Took a 3 day class in Aug, went to the DMV, got my license the next week. Then headed to my dealer in Fredericksburg, VA. I placed my eyes on the Silver Savage and knew it was for me. I jumped on it and brought it home. Very nice bike. Suzuki's are nice products. Just went over 100miles and life is good. One suggestion, get a new gel seat for comfort. Other than that, the bike is great for just cruising or for opening it up on the highway.
- G4Genius, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-23 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. Definitely a great beginner's bike. I ride with my Harley friends and I am able to keep up. They were even suprised! I recommend this bike to anyone who wants to learn. No need to start off on a smaller bike. This one is perfect!
- Mary, Lakehurst, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-21 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm not a big rider, and she's just my size! I'm also not a new rider, and can keep up with the veterans on their 2, 4 and 6 cylinder bikes! I'm not a speed demon, but have held my own on the highway, and though I'd never admit to going over the limit, the bike can do a respectable speed (we impressed my touring club!). I'm the smallest rider on the smallest bike, and though I might not accelerate as fast as the others, I can definitely hold my own! As long as you don't mind the occasional backfire, so far, she hasn't failed me!
- Deb, Reston, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding a Savage for the past two years - and LOVE it - the best bike to learn on (lightweight, low) and yet it'll easily do 70-75 on highways. I easily keep up with my husband on his 1500cc Vic - and we've done a lot of long distance trips. It's happiest on back roads, though it handles the twisties as though it was made for them. It can get rather 'buzzy' at high speeds - mostly just annoying - and cross winds can bother the rider too although, again, its mostly annoying - not a safety problem.
- Alison, Rock Tavern, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-24 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new and to date have no major complaints. It runs smooth and has strong low to mid range power. Starts right up and shifts silky after the engine has warmed up. Excellent gas mileage at over 60 MPG without babying it. Can keep up on the roads with most traffic, I've had it over 70 with little vibration. A little cramped for an adult passenger, but OK for short rides.
- Jim, Lapeer, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-30 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a Savage for my wife as a starter bike. I figured it would be big enough that she would not have the need for a larger bike in a hurry with one of this size. I rode it of course, and found it to be one of the better bikes I have ridden. It was a blast, only a bit small for a person of my size. Not a lot of fast rpm build up but the torque is outstanding and keeps on coming. Had it up to 85 on steep highway grade and had more power to go. Enough to keep up with most cruisers on the run. Its one high tech bike in a small package. Great for smaller people or beginners. I wish I could say more.
- jerry brandt, baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-20 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike... It's my first bike and I am very happy with it. Enough power to cruise the highway with ease and very maneuverable. Would recommend for anyone who wants to learn to ride.
- Red Shady, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-30 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One of the best handling bikes I've ever owned. Engine pulls good with low-end torque. Easy to maintain, and the belt drive is a big help. Maintained and taken care of the Savage is reported by many of it's owners to have a very long life; up into the tens and tens of thousands of miles. Good for solo trips of medium distance. the passenger seat is NOT comfortable however. Light weight and low seat height make the Savage a very easy bike to handle in traffic in town. I've had mine to 70 and there is still plenty of throttle left, but I'm chicken!! The Savage IS the best kept secret in Motorcyles!!! Price is reasonable! Fine little 650!
- Al, Acworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-29 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi! Recently replaced an old 85 Honda Rebel with a new metallic green 2003 LS650 Savage. I love this Bike ... the low weight and seat height make this a perfect upgrade from the Rebel, especially for shorter/smaller framed Motorcyclists like myself. This Bike as plenty of power and gobs of torque that makes hill climbing a breeze. Style-wise ... well it is unique and beautiful in a sparse, simple sorta way. At my local m/c hangout, Harley guys seem to be fascinated by the Savage! I love this Bike and would have given it 5 stars 'cept for one beef ... the damn inacessable spark plug ... Suzuki has had this horse in its stable long enough to have Engineered a solution to this aggrivating problem ... oh yeah, lack of a center stand too (are you reading this Suzuki Engineers?). Otherwise, as I said I love my Savage. So if you are mechanically inclined (unlike myself) or can put up with the annoyance of minor routine maintenance issues and you like no-frills Bikes that represent motorcycling in its purest form, or you are a "Newbie" who wants a bit more grunt than say a Rebel or Suzui's GZ250, then the Savage won't disappoint! Go with the '04 model though ... the new bullet-style turn signals and oval mirrors look gorgeous! Just don't know about that new purple color though ...
- P. Kendall, St. John's, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-23 2004 Suzuki Savage 650 (LS650P) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The low seat first gives you a sense of control when you first ride and unlike 250cc bikes that some start out on, the Savage will keep you happy as you get more experienced. Great for around town and pretty good for longer rides. I just took mine on a 550 mile ride and it performed beautifully.
- Tim Kennard, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: