Suzuki Savage 650 Motorcycles Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Savage 650 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Savage 650 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-04-19 1999 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The last motorcycle I had was a Triumph 650, which I purchased new in 1971 in London. It was a great motorcycle if you didn't mind tightening everything on a constant basis. Its undependability led me to abandon cycling for almost a quarter of a century until I awakened one bright sunny Florida morning and wondered why I didn't own a bike anymore. A little research led me to Suzuki's LS 650 Savage. I purchased my '99 model used and have ridden it now for almost 3 years. Since that day, I've replaced the battery, the oil every three months, and the spark plug every year. It's been an absolute delight to ride. It's also been a delight to read the reviews of the Boulevard 650, the Savage's successor. I'm glad the new model is at least the equal of the previous model. I couldn't recommend this line of bikes more highly. As for me, I'm entertaining fantasies of the S50 Boulevard. Ain't nothing like a good thing.
- JP, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-25 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 2001 Suzuki Savage in September of 2001. I am 57 years old and had not ridden a bike in many years. I FINALLY got MY license in February of this year. I like the bike very much. I take my cell phone and take off by myself quite often. My husband does not like to ride as much as I do. I have found the bike to be very manageable and quite easy to handle on the road. I would highly recommend this bike for women especially. It is not so big, but has lots of power.
- Diane McFadden, Paris, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-26 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my five year old '98 Savage with 2100 miles on it, and have put on that many more in five months. It is an elemental throwback, a pure motorbike. The tachometer is your butt and your ears, the gear indicator is what it feels like when you let the clutch out, and it can take you from cowpaths through pastures to the passing lane on the interstate, but its element is back roads and state highways. It handles like a dream, is easy to maintain, will last longer than you will, and get more admiring glances than you deserve. You can get new repair manuals and parts to service Savages dating from the '80s. If it ain't broke, go ride it!
- Jim Canfield, Mason, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-27 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am new to motorcycling and bought a Savage because I didn't want to outgrow my first purchase. The Savage has proved to be an excellent choice. While I sometimes long for a V-twin for its smoother operation, everytime I ride the Savage, I walk away very pleased and impressed. The bike's strength is in the mountains where its power curve and handling are superb. I expect to keep my Savage for a long time to come.
- Anonymous, Englewood, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-10 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 7000 mi. on the clock of my little bike since I bought it new and it has been almost trouble free .It developed an oil leak on the right side of the head . I pulled the head cover off and discovered that it was a rubber access plug for the head bolt below that had came loose . I recoated it with silicon and pushed it back in and it hasn't leaked since .Thats not exactly a great design in my book suzuki and I think you could have come up with a better solution . I also changed out the muffler on mine so it could get rid of the exhaust gas easier .According to the speedo , it will now do 100 mph but barely . I also took it out on a 600 mile round trip and the bike did excellent except it can be a real butt killer. The main point is it is capable as a tourer if you want to go the distance and can stand a little discomfort . Knowing what I know now would I buy it again ? HELL YEAH !!!
- Doug, Camdenton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-28 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote an earlier review after the first 2500 miles on my bike. Now I have 5400 miles on the odometer and I can't say enough good things about this bike. As a smaller motorcycle, it is extremely easy to handle both at slow and higher speeds. My only wish is that it had more power between 65 and 75 mph. I have had almost no mechanical problems so far and that persistant oil leak that seems to plague the LS650 Savage is absent from mine. For cruising around town, on the back roads and through the mountains, the Savage cannot be beat. I recommend this bike for anyone who is just starting out riding and for those who have been away from riding for a while and want to get back into the sport. I expect to keep my Savage until I am at least 70 years old or until I cannot ride anymore, whichever comes first.
- Erich Diehl, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-27 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was the previous owner of a Virago 250cc and really felt the quality was there. So what to do? I was going to purchase another Yamaha, a 650cc Custom. The one thing I could not get over was all of the plastic parts on the Custom. Even the head cover chromes are plastic. I was sure that this was done to save weight. Then I went to my local Suzuki dealer and noticed the Savage LS 650. I had never really considered a single. Then I got on my knees and noticed the fenders were metal as well as the other components on the handle bars. The height and weight were similar to the Virago, but there was an increase 400cc of thrust. The price was also $1500 less than the 650 Yamaha. that's what sold me. The bike is light and has a similiar displacement to the Custom and it's quicker off the line. Supertrapp exhaust as well as rejeting improved performance and it sounds good with 6 discs. It feels comfortable on the highway when it isn't too windy, and the bike will go about 95 mph with the exhaust improvement. The only sad part is the limited number of after market parts available. But with all the standard chrome, all one really needs is a functional crash bar. I gave my buddy's 2000 883 a run for it's money now and have only 50% of the cost. It gets alot of looks for it isn't a twin, but the long wheelbase gives it that distinctive style of a real cruiser. It's easy to maintain as well with a belt that lasts 50,000 miles. Good riding to you all.
- Luke Dennehy, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-08 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought mine a few months ago and have been riding it constantly since. I think I put about 2000 miles on it already. I got a great price on a very good condition '96. Nice pull at the low end and fun for cruising around town. Perhaps with better tires it would make a perfect commuter - but as it is, the long wheelbase combined with its light weight makes the rear end feel a little unstable. Also the stock muffler definitely needs to go - I have already ordered a Jardine slip-on that is supposedly "harley-esque". All in all though, this bike is a spectacular value. Very easy to maintain, good-looking, easy to handle and enough power to get around town. If you're reading this in the early Spring of 2002, give me a ring and maybe I'll be willing to sell. Until then - safe riding!
- Sung, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-05 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Regarding the Aug. 4 review saying the new Savage had no get up and go. Mine was like that when new. I didn't think it could make it up my driveway at first. After 400 miles it loosened up greatly and became a different bike. It pulls strongly in 5th gear at 45mph and I weight 220 lbs. Perhaps it seems that way when new because it is a single cylinder engine.
- Lee Jarrard, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-14 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike this year and being a 2001 I can say this a great litte cruiser with about 3000 miles on it already. I ride it to work everyday and its been on the freeway and it holds it own for the size. The gas mileage is fantastic. I am a new rider and had a Honda CL200 to learn on and was going to buy a GZ250 but decided to buy the Savage and glad I did. Of course if I drove a 1100CC this would feel kind sluggish but this has power when needed. I plan on keeping it for a long time.
- Rider, Newark, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-04 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been reading writer reviews on this bike and they all seemed very positive. I have a friend who is a beginner rider and looking to move up from her 1976 Honda 200 cc "beater bike" to something bigger, but not too big. We thought this would be the one for her. Mid-size power and not too heavy. When i took it for a test ride. if felt very sluggish and choppy. I was somewhat disappointed. The bike shop owner took it for a test ride as well and said it was because it wasn't broken in yet. I've have four brand new bikes in my lifetime, and don't remember them being choppy and sluggish when new. What to you folks think? Am i crazy? Or don't i know how to ride. I ride a 1500cc Vulcan currently.
- Rider, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-14 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I helped my 20yr old son buy this bike new last year. It is his first bike. He has 4,000mi on it now. We put on a Harley muffler, rejetted the carb, saddlebag supports and an engine guard. He is 5'9" 145lbs. He loves the bike. He took off the Suzuki stickers and now he gets lots of looks and questions asking if it is a Harley or some European bike. The belt drive makes that almost believable. The bike has tons of bottom end, not much top end, as you would expect, though it will do 90-95 mph. He has worn out a set of brake disc pads already though. I was worried about him outgrowing this simple little bike. The 652CC is large enough to keep his interest and respect of his friends. He rides it to work every day rain or shine and will probably keep it for quite a few years.
- Chuck Hurry, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-08 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride a much larger Moto Guzzi myself, but my wife has totally Zinned with this bike. Her and the machine have become one. She is 5 foot tall and weighs maybe 100lbs. I drive a 1100 cc cruiser and she has no problem keeping up with me. Not to long ago my wife and I attended a bike rally mostly European bikes. Well just for kicks we decided to enter her bike in the Bike show. So we spit shined it and put it up there. The category that her bike was entered in was Japanese cruisers. Well that little Savage was sitting there between two $20,000 dollar gold wings and an assortment of other vary large Jap bikes. Her bike got the most votes. Come to find out, there are a lot of motorcycle purest out there that love the one lung thumper. That simple design appeals to a lot of them They look at those decked out Gold Wings with all the bells and whistles. That big single is pure motorcycle. My wife was so proud, and to be honest I was quit surprised. I don't know if they truly voted for my wife's bike, or was voting against the Gold Wings. Needless to say the wing riders probably didn't care for it much over a Japanese one.
- Rick Massey, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-01 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i'm a novice rider of two years.i started on a used 250 nighthawk.i wanted a more powerful bike that was easy to ride and simple to maintain. the savage filled the bill perfectly and went beyond my expectations. powerful,easy to ride and unique in looks.all my friends are surprised at how good the bike looks and how it performs.i really like the bike and the attention that it generates.
- JIM, Up-state New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-04 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this for ease of maintenance, light weight, good engine size and responsiveness. Savage has fit the bill in every area. Would highly recommend it for anyone wanting to feel the thunder of an engine between your legs and the push of air in your face. And most of all, it turns on a dime and accelerates again quickly. You won't go wrong.
- T. Todd, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-21 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was the appearance that appealed to me most, as I was looking for an attractive cruiser. I first saw a Savage a few years ago and new that when I did get my license that it would be on my list of bikes to check out for fit. Well, it fit me perfectly, was comfortable, a great price, light in weight (therefore not intimidating to a beginner), has the looks, so I bought it. I did do a lot of comparing. Though I've only been riding for less than a year, and this being my first bike, it's hard to imagine that I'll ever grow tired of it. It has plenty of power, even on highways (I travel between 60-70 mph).
- Nadine, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-26 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike. The size, weight, seat height all make this the perfect bike for a woman to learn on. It handles well. I have moved on and gotten a bigger bike, but this one was the best starter bike.
- Sue, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-13 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My lovely and talented wife just gave a brand new 2001 savage for Christmas and it just rules. Runs great, handles great, comfortable, and good looking to boot. I haven't ridden in about 15 years, and this was just the perfect bike to get back into the sport with. Love this motorcycle!
- David S., Louisville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a used 99 w/<1100 miles in perfect shape. I'm currently, taking a basic street rider course after being away from the sport for 25 years. Very forgiving, easy to handle esp @ slow speeds, but punchy acceleration and nice predictable hard braking, handling characteristics. Around the town or on the expressway, this bike is capable, comfortable, and evokes many positive comments. With its single cylinder, it sounds and looks unique. Some buddies of mine with larger bikes are lavish in their praise of this machine! Not a rocket therein lies its virtue, but lots of funky torque. It is the essential motorcycle to me. Been on several longer jaunts; counter-balancing and belt drive make it a nice ride.
- Phil M., Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-13 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2nd bike for me, 1st one was a Honda CB750. This one fits much nicer. Feet flat on the pavement. Easy to handle. Recommend after market exhaust (Supertrapp) and a couple tweaks on the carb to keep it from running so lean. (Couple forums on the net will help with how 2's) After the tweaks she really kicks.<br /> On the downside so far: hard to find after market products for the bike. Could use a little more umph on the top end for highway driving.
- Steve, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned an LS650P for about a year now. Purchased it for commuting and some cruising, very satisfied with the commuting aspect: good mileage, lightweight, reasonable handling. Not satisfied with performance at highway speeds, actually it is fairly well pegged out at 70 mph. Also not many after market parts available, parts offered by Suzuki are limited. For a bike that has been in production since 1988 it is odd that there is such a shortage, for example I have not been able to locate a luggage rack anywhere. In addition, I have had to adjust the valves more frequently than the recommended service interval, the engine is set to lean from the factory which results in discoloration of the exhaust and surging at low speeds (under 40 mph)is common. In summary a good commuter, does not satisfy the requirements of a cruiser (other than the appearance).
- G. Tucker, Sugar Land, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-20 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finding a good starter bike in the USA can be a chore. Recently bought a Savage for my wife and she couldn't be happier. She loves the looks. The weight doesn't intimidate. She can flatfoot it easily. The low end power is easy to handle, yet it keeps up easily on the highway (up to 70 or so). A great commuter bike. Easy to work on and maintain. Negatives include the seat (easily fixed) and lack of a trip meter (not easily fixed). Lighter than a hard-to-find Virago 535 and much less expensive. Much more rideable than a Nighthawk 250 and a better riding position (for a beginner) than sportier competitors. Not the bike I would choose for myself, but she's crazy about it.
- Steve Hendricks, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-05 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I have experience riding, I have not had a bike for 18 years. So when I decided to get another bike I looked at many new models. I chose the Savage because a beginner's bike would have bored me and I thought that the Savage would satisfy me for a few years. I was wrong, the Savage will probably satisfy me for many years.<br /> It is smooth, responsive, fast, and fun. It looks great, handles very well and does not feel like a small bike. Very comfortable, and does not shake as much as you would expect. I love mine and am completely happy with it.
- David Fortune, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-11 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After researching cruisers for several months, I picked the Suzuki LS650 Savage, mainly because of its affordable price but also because of its ease of control, belt drive, light weight and great styling. I am not a first time rider, though I've not owned a bike for eleven years. My last new bike was a 1985 Honda Magna that I enjoyed for a few years before selling it. When the two wheel urge hit again (mid-life), I thought I would buy a 2000 Magna but the LS650 was hard to pass up because it got me back on two wheels and I had some change left over. It's a great little cruiser with plenty of power for an experienced rider or for the new rider.
- Chuck Burgess, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-22 2000 Suzuki Savage 650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for the beginner. Being 40+ and just starting to ride, this bike is very low to the ground and very manueverable.
- Dewey Smith, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: