Suzuki Savage Motorcycles Reviews (19)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Savage Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Savage Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-03-30 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a really good beginners bike. I purchased mine in 2000 and although it comes with a passenger seat, I do not recommend taking a passenger with you when venturing onto the highways. This bike does have the power for short trips in the slow lane while on the highway, but definitely not enough to feel comfortable with when carrying a passenger. I had no mechanical problems with it whatsoever and for taking the bike out on secondary roads, or in city traffic it was a great ride, even with a passenger. For saftey reasons I highly recommend that if you're getting a bike for you and your spouse or significant other to enjoy together for long rides on the freeway, this is not the bike to do it with. It doesn't have the power needed to keep up with todays faster (and more inconsiderate)four wheeled drivers. When traveling on highways with a lot of semi's on them you will definitely notice their winds pushing you around because of the light weight of this bike. The other thing is, your passenger will have to be a small framed person because there just isn't enough room for them to fit behind you very comfortably. Even with all this being said, it's still a really good bike for a beginning rider (or a single seasoned rider) who doesn't need or want any more power.
- B.N.Dover, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-18 2002 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the MSF course, (NEVER RIDDEN BEFORE) and had a Harley Sportster 1200 to ride. Actually felt very uncomfortable with the gas tank sitting high with me over it. After talking to my instructor, he suggested I get a Savage to start out on. I am very happy to have taken his advice. What a great handling bike, very nimble and easy to take around corners. Made me feel like I'd been riding for years. I would eventually like to get a Suzuki M50 for more power and looks. But this has been an awesome ride and great training. I am sure it will be a while before I up grade.
- tammy, naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-27 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm writing this review on behalf of my wife who is in the process of learning how to ride. The first day was a hoot. My wife picked up on the basics of start/stop and turning right away. Some starts are a little shaky and the left runs in a corner is frustrating when she accidentally guns the throttle, but the process of learning is on track. The seat height is appropriate for shorter riders, and the displacement is a little stronger than the current 250cc starters, but the weight and characteristics of this single cylinder marvel are manageable from start to finish. The spark plug, as explained to me, is quite tedious to replace, having to remove quite a few parts of the bike to get to "it". The Savage is a good looking bike for few bucks, strong and agile.
- tatatito, Thoreau, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-14 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Savage in March of 2004. I went up to the dealership with a friend of mine so he could look at a bike. While he was with the salesman, I was looking around and started looking at the Savage. Of all the bikes in there, it is the one that caught my eye. I told myself that I was going to have to try and get it. I was currently riding a 2003 Suzuki DR200 dual-purpose. I liked it, but not that much after seeing the Savage. I sold the 200 and went back and bought the Savage. Good choice, I love this bike. It looks good, handles good, sounds good, and overall preforms super. My friends and myself just got back from a 4000 mile trip into Texas, New Mexico, and Colorado from Georgia. The Savage never missed a lick. I feel like it was money well spent. My girlfriend thinks it is real cool too!
- Dan M. Henslee, Conyers, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-11 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've enjoyed my first bike to ride around the country roads and city streets. Highway driving is another issue. Due to the light weight of this bike, it presents challenges at higher speeds and wind sheers. Long rides are not real comfortable on the factory seat. But this has been a great experience for a first time rider and I would recommend this bike to other "rookies".
- V L Cook, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-09 2001 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, my first one, but not my last. I love bikeriding, especially with this one. It is a bike for the beginners.
- NastyDog, Knokke-Heist, Belgium

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-17 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my '03 Savage after spending 3 months learning to ride on an '85 Honda Rebel. Loved the Rebel, but wanted something with a little more "punch" and was attracted to the Savage's chopper-esque style, low seat and weight. The Savage is the perfect up-grade for Rebel Riders, as the both bikes are very similar to each other ... except the Savage has more power for climbing hills and the occasional highway jaunt. It's also perfect for day trips and the like. The Savage is a unique Ride with a unique "Thumper" sound that Harley riders seem to be drawn to it! Why not 5-stars? Well, the spark plug is extremely inaccessable, requiring partial disassembly of the Bike to service it ... a pain for those who aren't mechanically inclined. You would think that Suzuki engineers would have engineered a solution to this after all of these years. Otherwise, the Savage is just about a perfect little Cruiser!
- P. Kendall, St. John's, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-23 2002 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Speed/power is totally adequate up to 70mph. Weight is very low at 352 lbs. Frame easily accommodates up to about 6'1" or so. Bike is kind of a throwback; very utilitarian, no frills. It's the perfect bike for my needs, which is cruising around the hills outside of Austin. Good city bike, too.
- Don, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street motorcycle and I love riding it. I've had it for a few months now and I'm really starting to settle into the ride. All the power you need for cruising around town and touring ther back country. It has a very "punchy" feel to it, coming from the single-stroke engine. Definitely a thumper, and it pulls you up to about 70-75 MPH without being too uncomfortable. Anything faster gets a little shaky. Foot pegs vibrate my feet to sleep at around 70 MPH. Although it's not really fit for 70+ riding, unless you're a highway rider you're not going to care. And when you need to get on the interstate you've got plenty of power for the slower lanes. I LOVE the way this bike handles, it takes corners like a champ. It must be the smaller body, but it really responds well on backroads, etc. Overall, I really, really like this bike. It is tons of fun, handles great, has plenty of speed and power - great first bike. Reasons for not giving it a 5-star rating: * seat could be a bit larger * not really meant for people over 5'9" (person might feel a bit cramped) * rear drum brake is pretty weak for quick stops. Be sure to always combine front and back brakes when making a fast stop. * uncomfortable at 70+ MPH
- bman, stamford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-30 2002 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it! I was originally set on getting a 250 but the salesmen talked me out of it for good reason. It is only 50lbs. heavier than a 250 but with more than twice the engine size. Everything looks great on it and it can keep up with highway speeds without a problem. Great bike to learn on.
- Chris Saldana, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-28 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After taking MSF class I needed a bike asap! Bought a new (2003) Savage. Love it on Back roads! Rode it a week Getting Crash bars, saddle bags and possibly a new seat. (The seat is tough as reviews mention. Best Bike for class in it's price. Feels So Good! A.J.
- A.J. Levy, Freehold, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-08 2002 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been off bikes for all most 20 years. I liked the style and the price. After about 18 months and almost 10,000 miles, a Corbin rebuilt saddle keeps me and my passengers happy. The factory passenger seat left a lot to be desired! Though, I seem to be seeing a loss in top end power, I think a tuneup may cure this. All in all, I will be ready for more of a bike by next year. Thank God for midlife crises and this bike to cure it!
- msk, Salinas, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-27 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first bike last april, a Savage 2000 with only 1114 miles on it for only 2500.00, and now has 3100 miles on it, I put close to 2000 miles on four months that shows how much I really like to ride the bike, handles great, on the street and the highway, it goes to 80 mph very easy on fourth gear, I haven't use 5th gear yet.
- RG, Lombard, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-12 2001 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 16 years old and this is my 2nd bike. I started on a old '73 Suzuki TC100 in march this year. The Savage is a great bike, it has the power, the look and easy to control. It's a great bike for a smaller rider or a new rider.
- Luke, Centre County, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-03 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike, and after shopping around a while and comparing models, I went with the Savage, mainly becasue of the low price. After putting 1000 miles on it, I have to say that I'm loving this bike. I was looking for the best "starter" bike I could find, but after having it a few months, I think I'll be keeping it for a long time.
- dave m, san antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-20 2003 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back into riding. I picked the Savage for two reasons. Styling and price. I was pleasently surprised at the power and response from the bike. I didn't intend on interstate riding when I bought this bike. And even though the bike could handle it, I've had it to 80mph and still had more throttle, I dont think interstate rides would be enjoyable. However, anywhere else, this bike is perfect. Every review said the Savage was fun. Every owner was pleased. I am too. It loves corners. And I'll bet it will bang out the gears as quick as any other bike. 0-60 it has great torque in any gear. Which makes it a perfect back road, in town or short trip highway cruser. If you want the classic American chopper look. And dont want to spend a lot of money. Test ride a Savage. I bet you buy it after the ride.
- kcbtp, kearney

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-02 2002 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided to get back into riding cycles after 20 years. Purchased in September 2002. I'm very pleased with the Savage. Easy to ride, plenty of power, and looks great. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- J. Denton, White Lake, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-09 2002 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Savage is a great bike for begining riders and anyone taking short distance trips. However, if you buy one with the intention that you're getting a cross country "cruiser" then think again! Perhaps the biggest problem the Savage has is the single piston engine that will rattle your head off if you go much over 65MPH (and that's in it's highest gear too). I found this out the hard way on a trip from Denver to Vail (and back again). As a cross-country "cruiser" you will be very disapointed. But that's not all. The savage also falls short in one other very noticeable area -- the seat! If you intend to sit on it for more than a couple of hours you will regret every passing mile that you do so. I can't explain it, but on extended rides lasting more than say 2-hours, every mile that your butt has to be planted on the Savage's seat makes you think your tailbone is being slowly operated on by a sadistic acupuncturist. At first, you think it's the most comfortable thing ever but you soon discover it's something between Chinese torture and a root canal! Nevertheless, as a street bike "cruiser" and anything else for shorter distances, it's a great bike; especially if you are a begining rider. It's low center of gravity and light weight makes handeling the Savage a dream (and is partly why I bought mine). Weighing in at around 350-pounds you can probably even man-handle it if need be. I particularly like the overall size too since I don't have a particularly spacious garage. My older scooter actually takes up more space but my scooter is also pretty big as scooters go too. The Savage's footprint may be bigger, but it doesn't "seem" that way. If you are thinking about purchasing a Savage consider why you want it. If at all possible, rent one for a day or two and see what kind of workout your butt, brain, and teeth can take. Mine are still in tact, although I've had my doubts, but you won't be seeing me at any long-distance rally's on it either -- more likely, I'll be on my scooter! If you're looking for a "cruiser" that you can do some real traveling on then consider something bigger like an Intruder, Gold Wing, or even a Soft Tail! But if you're like me, learning to ride means getting something to "shift" and the Savage is absolutely perfect. My only problem with it is I don't think the Savage should be classified as a "cruiser" since it tends to wear out the rider way before the rider wears it out. ;-)
- 2002 Savage Owner, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-21 2002 Suzuki Savage Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fellow Riders, I bought a new Savage last may and love riding it. I got a wind shield for it and had a Jardine pipe put on with new jets. For a new rider I feel this is a great running bike at any speed for the buck. It'll out do any other bike in its class. I ride it all over New England with great speeds and comfortability. This is going to be my first bike and my last. I'd like to here from other owners.
- Lew, Enfield , Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: