Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Savage reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

B.N.Dover

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is a really good beginners bike. I purchased mine in 2000 and although it comes with a passenger seat, I do not recommend taking a passenger with you when venturing onto the highways. This bike does have the power for short trips in the slow lane while on the highway, but definitely not enough to feel comfortable with when carrying a passenger. I had no mechanical problems with it whatsoever and for taking the bike out on secondary roads, or in city traffic it was a great ride, even with a passenger. For saftey reasons I highly recommend that if you're getting a bike for you and your spouse or significant other to enjoy together for long rides on the freeway, this is not the bike to do it with. It doesn't have the power needed to keep up with todays faster (and more inconsiderate)four wheeled drivers. When traveling on highways with a lot of semi's on them you will definitely notice their winds pushing you around because of the light weight of this bike. The other thing is, your passenger will have to be a small framed person because there just isn't enough room for them to fit behind you very comfortably. Even with all this being said, it's still a really good bike for a beginning rider (or a single seasoned rider) who doesn't need or want any more power.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tammy

naples, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I took the MSF course, (NEVER RIDDEN BEFORE) and had a Harley Sportster 1200 to ride. Actually felt very uncomfortable with the gas tank sitting high with me over it. After talking to my instructor, he suggested I get a Savage to start out on. I am very happy to have taken his advice. What a great handling bike, very nimble and easy to take around corners. Made me feel like I'd been riding for years. I would eventually like to get a Suzuki M50 for more power and looks. But this has been an awesome ride and great training. I am sure it will be a while before I up grade.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tatatito

Thoreau, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2005-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm writing this review on behalf of my wife who is in the process of learning how to ride. The first day was a hoot. My wife picked up on the basics of start/stop and turning right away. Some starts are a little shaky and the left runs in a corner is frustrating when she accidentally guns the throttle, but the process of learning is on track. The seat height is appropriate for shorter riders, and the displacement is a little stronger than the current 250cc starters, but the weight and characteristics of this single cylinder marvel are manageable from start to finish. The spark plug, as explained to me, is quite tedious to replace, having to remove quite a few parts of the bike to get to "it". The Savage is a good looking bike for few bucks, strong and agile.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan M. Henslee

Conyers, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-11-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my Savage in March of 2004. I went up to the dealership with a friend of mine so he could look at a bike. While he was with the salesman, I was looking around and started looking at the Savage. Of all the bikes in there, it is the one that caught my eye. I told myself that I was going to have to try and get it. I was currently riding a 2003 Suzuki DR200 dual-purpose. I liked it, but not that much after seeing the Savage. I sold the 200 and went back and bought the Savage. Good choice, I love this bike. It looks good, handles good, sounds good, and overall preforms super. My friends and myself just got back from a 4000 mile trip into Texas, New Mexico, and Colorado from Georgia. The Savage never missed a lick. I feel like it was money well spent. My girlfriend thinks it is real cool too!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

V L Cook

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've enjoyed my first bike to ride around the country roads and city streets. Highway driving is another issue. Due to the light weight of this bike, it presents challenges at higher speeds and wind sheers. Long rides are not real comfortable on the factory seat. But this has been a great experience for a first time rider and I would recommend this bike to other "rookies".
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

NastyDog

Knokke-Heist, Belgium

Reviewed on 2004-03-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike, my first one, but not my last. I love bikeriding, especially with this one. It is a bike for the beginners.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

P. Kendall

St. John's, Newfoundland

Reviewed on 2003-12-17

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bought my '03 Savage after spending 3 months learning to ride on an '85 Honda Rebel. Loved the Rebel, but wanted something with a little more "punch" and was attracted to the Savage's chopper-esque style, low seat and weight. The Savage is the perfect up-grade for Rebel Riders, as the both bikes are very similar to each other ... except the Savage has more power for climbing hills and the occasional highway jaunt. It's also perfect for day trips and the like. The Savage is a unique Ride with a unique "Thumper" sound that Harley riders seem to be drawn to it! Why not 5-stars? Well, the spark plug is extremely inaccessable, requiring partial disassembly of the Bike to service it ... a pain for those who aren't mechanically inclined. You would think that Suzuki engineers would have engineered a solution to this after all of these years. Otherwise, the Savage is just about a perfect little Cruiser!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don

Austin, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-11-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Speed/power is totally adequate up to 70mph. Weight is very low at 352 lbs. Frame easily accommodates up to about 6'1" or so. Bike is kind of a throwback; very utilitarian, no frills. It's the perfect bike for my needs, which is cruising around the hills outside of Austin. Good city bike, too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bman

stamford, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2003-10-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is my first street motorcycle and I love riding it. I've had it for a few months now and I'm really starting to settle into the ride. All the power you need for cruising around town and touring ther back country. It has a very "punchy" feel to it, coming from the single-stroke engine. Definitely a thumper, and it pulls you up to about 70-75 MPH without being too uncomfortable. Anything faster gets a little shaky. Foot pegs vibrate my feet to sleep at around 70 MPH. Although it's not really fit for 70+ riding, unless you're a highway rider you're not going to care. And when you need to get on the interstate you've got plenty of power for the slower lanes. I LOVE the way this bike handles, it takes corners like a champ. It must be the smaller body, but it really responds well on backroads, etc. Overall, I really, really like this bike. It is tons of fun, handles great, has plenty of speed and power - great first bike. Reasons for not giving it a 5-star rating: * seat could be a bit larger * not really meant for people over 5'9" (person might feel a bit cramped) * rear drum brake is pretty weak for quick stops. Be sure to always combine front and back brakes when making a fast stop. * uncomfortable at 70+ MPH
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Saldana

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Savage

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I love it! I was originally set on getting a 250 but the salesmen talked me out of it for good reason. It is only 50lbs. heavier than a 250 but with more than twice the engine size. Everything looks great on it and it can keep up with highway speeds without a problem. Great bike to learn on.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: