Suzuki Scooter Reviews on Cycle Insider (218)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Scooter Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Alex from Wheeling says:

I'm on my second 650. I bought both used with low miles. I put about 35K on two of them. I use it as a touring bike. I've visited every state east

Read More (218 reviews)

Have you owned a Suzuki Scooter? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2006 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm on my second 650. I bought both used with low miles. I put about 35K on two of them. I use it as a touring bike. I've visited every state east of Mississippi. It's reliable and handles really well. There is no heat from the engine in stop and go traffic and no vibration at 75 mph. The under seat storage is remarkable. On one trip I carried under the seat a tent for two, a sleeping bag, air mattress and a pillow. I rode it to the summit of Pikes Peak.
- Alex, Wheeling

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-09-21 2009 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Burgman 650 Exec brand new in 2008. She has served me very well and I have no regrets. This bike has been able to haul my big butt around with no trouble. I only wish there was a way to mount a 3x5 flag and pole on the bike. Being able to tuck the mirrors and lower the windscreen has been a real plus getting through tight areas and protecting those same items when parked. The automatic transmission is a huge benefit during escort at slow speeds. Many of the other bikes will overheat during these activities. I just realized that a Burgman 200 is available so we will be checking them out for my daughter to use for commuting to work and school.
- Blaise J., Dublin, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-05-11 2011 Suzuki Burgman 400 ABS Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2004 Honda Helix; though I like and enjoy the machine, I have longed for something faster, heavier and more stable when subject to gusty winds or cross drafts, like when an 18 wheeler passes you. I considered the Kymco Downtown 300i, the Yamaha Majesty and the Suzuki Burgman 400. When I saw a brand new, leftover 2011 Burgman 400 ABS for $6,500, I had to get it! My Burgman has about 1,350 miles on the clock, which means I recently did the first oil change. Though I haven't had a lot of miles on the machine yet, I've had enough to form a good, initial impression. Here's what I think so far... The mileage for a machine of this size and power was a pleasant surprise! I've seen 50 mpg. when riding mostly in the city, while I can pull high 50s to low 60s on a trip. Considering that my Helix gets high 60s to low 70s on a similar ride (i.e. on a trip), that's great! Having the extra power and speed is nice to have; it means that freeway riding is now a viable option for me. Though back roads are more fun, sometimes freeway use is necessary. Though the Helix and other 250cc scooters are freeway legal, they're not freeway viable, in my opinion. In other words, if one uses a Helix on the freeway, it should only be for short distances, like from one exit to the next. Conversely, the Burgman 400 will handle freeways with aplomb, and it will do so all day long. For the added power, stability and speed that the Burgman 400 offers, the 10 mpg. reduction was well worth it. The stability of the machine is a welcome surprise, also. The Helix, though a fun, little machine, is also a light machine. Though its light weight make it ideally suited for operating on city streets, its light weight make it scary when operating on windy days or around 18 wheelers. While you feel wind gusts on the Burgman, you just feel them enough to know that they're there; you don't get scared when you hit a nasty gust of wind. The Burgman 400 will go where you want to, and will continue to go there until you change direction. Because the Burgman 400 is bigger and heavier, it simply isn't as quick and nimble in the city as a 250cc scooter like my Helix. One cannot expect the Burgman 400 to be as agile in the city though. One, it has bigger wheels (14" front with a 13" rear vs. a 12" front and a 10" rear for the Helix), which generates more gyroscopic force, which means it's harder to initiate a turn. Secondly, the Burgman 400 outweighs the Helix by some 150 pounds. That said, the Burgman 400, with its low center of gravity, is fairly easy to maneuver in the city. How are speed and acceleration? In a word, both are excellent. Unless going against a high performance bike or car, you will handily pull away when the light turns green. Top speed is good too. Whereas my Helix will barely hit 70-72 mph, the Burgman 400 will do that all day long and have something left over. Top speed so far was 93, which I hit for a few seconds a couple of weeks after I got it. Once the engine loosens up, I expect the top speed to be in the neighborhood of 95-100 mph. - more than fast enough on two wheels these days! Finally, the Burgman is practical. It has a huge storage compartment beneath the seat! I dare say you could easily put 2-4 bags of groceries in it, depending on what's in the bags. Did I mention that the underseat storage compartment is lit? It is! that's a nice, thoughtful touch. The glove box is a good size, and it has a 12V outlet so you can charge your mobile device. In the dash, there are two openings, one on either side of the handle bars; these compartments are big enough to hold your garage door opener, change or money for tolls, and other incidentals. You push a button, the doors pop up, and you swing them to the side. However, with all that the Burgman 400 has going for it, it's not a perfect bike; it has issues, like any two wheeler does. My main gripes with the Burgman 400 are the seat and the windshield. My main gripe with the bike is the seat; it's just a tad too firm for long rides. I was out on an all-day ride this past Sunday, and I was feeling it when I got home. Consider getting a seat pad from Aerostitch, or getting a Corbin seat if one is available. My second gripe with the Burgman 400 is that the stock wind screen simply does not provide the protection I would like. Though it protects my upper body from wind blast, it directs the slipstream directly at my helmet; ear plugs are a must on this machine! I've read about this shortcoming elsewhere, so this was no surprise. I am definitely going to change the wind screen or add a laminar lip in the near future though. The stock windshield simply is not up to scratch. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase; the Burgman 400 ABS is everything I thought it would be. It's quick, stable, practical, economical and fun. It's a machine that's big enough to some touring, yet it's light enough for in town use too. It's not too big, not too small; it's not too fast, not too slow; it's not too heavy, not too light. To put it another way, it's like Goldilocks; it's "just right"! I do wish that the stock seat and wind screen were better though. The big question is this: would I buy this bike again? Absolutely! If you're looking for a bike that is practical and can do a lot of things well, you cannot go wrong purchasing the Burgman 400 ABS. My only regret is that I didn't get one sooner.:)
- Mark, Easton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-04-22 2012 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this scooter. It's perfect for around town and short trips. It's easy on, easy off. The wheel base fits me very well. it allows me to stretch my legs out. The ride is smooth and has a lot of power. It goes down the freeway nice. "Perfect scooter."
- Mark Carlson, Austin, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-02-19 2013 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in July of 2013 from our local dealer. They were just great to deal with. I traded in a Suzuki C50 which I also loved, but I couldn't afford both. I prefer the relaxation when riding the automatic shifting 2013 Suzuki 650 Burgman. After test riding and being familiar with the other big scoots, I have to say this bike stands out as the smoothest, best riding and handling of all. I've taken it on a long distance trip with barely any fatigue at all. It is relatively easy to push around in the garage. This feature was one of many upgrades from the previous model. I highly recommend this scooter to anyone looking for the top of the line.
- Vic, Lake Villa, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-06-10 2007 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2007 Suzuki Burgman 650. I have had many motorcycles - dirt, road, Goldwing, ST1300 and KTM 640 Adventure. But my Burgie 650 tops them all - 46 mpg? So ride your Harley's, when I put on my Vance & Hines exhaust, you will eat dirt. I can't wait.
- Tom Pierce, Cayucos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-04-24 2012 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
13 months now, 11,800 miles and not a problem. I'm doing my own maintenance, it's so easy to do. I have one new back tire so far and did a better windshield and box on the back. I am very impressed. I did a 2,000 mile trip and not a problem. It get 48 mpg. average and is a sweet ride. I hope to post in another year.
- Frank, Brownsville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-04-05 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up one of these the other week, simply because I have always been curious about these big scoots. Overall, this bike is a great mode of cheap transportation. Performance wise, I would compare it to how your average 4-banger economy car would perform. accels of the line well, a noticeable flat spot, then steady acceleration. While it's definitely no rocket, I do find it difficult keeping it under 55 mph., though. It rides effortlessly at highway speeds. Also, the 400cc four stroke sounds like an industrial sewing machine. Overall, it is what it is, a fun, economical, comfortable way to get around on two wheels.
- Matt, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-27 2003 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this scooter used at 9,000 miles and have been very impressed with it so far. I took it on a long 500 mile trip and got excellent gas mileage (74 mpg). Around in town I was getting around 54 mpg. It can easily cruise at 75 miles per hour or more and still get great gas mileage. It is very comfortable and stylish even when compared to newer motorcycles and scooters of 2012. Even when going up and down mountain passes in Oregon and Washington, it was fun and effortless.
- Doc L, Corvallis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-19 2012 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first scooter after riding two different motorcycles - a 750 and a 1300. I felt like the 1300 was just too much for a cruise around town bike and wanted to try a scooter and I am glad I did. This thing does it all, handles great, gets up to speed no problem and keeps you comfortable while you do it. don't let naysayers who have never ridden a scooter talk you out of trying it out. You won't be sorry you did.
- Scott Pifer, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-17 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 ABS Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2011 with ABS for around town. It's a great bike for grocery runs and other urban commuting duties. It will cruise easily at 75 mph. while returning around 60 mpg. average. I also own a Triumph Tiger and BMW 1200R but for city stuff the Burgman cannot be beat.
- Ted, Jupiter, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-27 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it used in 2008 with 500 miles. It was my first bike in 20+ years. I ride to and from work 50 miles per day and gas mileage is averaging just under 65. You can't find a better maxi-scooter. It's easy to ride and not as heavy as the 650 that Suzuki makes.
- Desert Rat, Desert Hot Springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-22 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2008 model in June of 2009. I have put over 200 miles on it in one day, and it performs flawlessly. The only noticeable drawback is the rock hard seat. It's like sitting on the side of a tank. I find it fairly user friendly and easy to work on. All the tupperware pops off easily, which makes for quicker do-it-yourself upgrades and maintenance. It's a well-spent six grand. I considered the 650, but the 400 gets better mileage. I can't wait to take it to Texas from Cincinnati, Ohio.
- JustanotherBill, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-30 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 ABS Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It looks and handles great. The motor runs very smooth without all the vibrations like in traditional cycles. The seat is very comfy and low enough for shorter women like me to handle with confidence. I am 45 and this is the first bike I have ever owned but plan to keep riding till they have to pull my fingers off the handlebars. You will not be sorry if you purchase this bike.
- Suzy, gallatin, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-05 2009 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The machine operates very well on the highway and has excellent take off from the ramps. Its size and manuverability make for an excellent commuter vehicle. Long range drives can propose a problem with comfort. The additional "power boost" is an excellent feature which enables me to go faster than some of the bigger bikes. The roll and go technology is an excellent feature with this bike which is why I bought it in the first place. The bike has the ability to carry a passenger but not totally recommended.
- Mike Krier, Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-04 2008 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 08' 650 Exec from a friend and after riding Cruisers and Touring bikes this bike is amazing in its own way. At 611 lbs and a LOW center of gravity, it really handles well at 80 on the hi-way or 5 in a parking lot. Most people still think of a Scooter as a 50cc Vespa and have no idea what this Maxie Scoot can do. The previous owner said he took it to the N. Ga mountains and rode the Dragon's Tail (322 curves in ll miles). He was riding with Harleys and Sport bikes. The Scooter really impressed those riders on the straight away and the curves. Coupled with 48+ MPG it performed well. I've had it two weeks and all around riding, commuting and to the store and coffee shop I have gotten 48 MPG and believe it will reach 58 on a road trip. At 6'1" I find the seat a little short, putting my knees almost to the dash. The standard adjustable windshield is too short for me, I'll replace it with a 3.5" taller Clearscreen Xlg. I'll probably update this an a couple months after taking it to the Mts myself.
- Stew, Senoia, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-02 2009 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it on June 20th 09. I have been riding the bike to work 32 miles one way. In wind and rain, and I cannot say enought about the bike. Handles well in both wind and rain, has good speed. The bike handles very well at highway speed.
- ROGERS P, WAUKEGAN, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-19 2009 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in June 2009 and I love it !!! It's fast, reliable and performs awesomly. I commute everyday from Brooklyn to the city and on weekends I cruise upstate NY. The Burgman goes up to 100mph easy. The acceleration is great.
- Luke.P, Brooklyn, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-14 2009 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have owned it for 8 months. Not one problem! Wife and I went to Bike week in Daytona March 2010, both of us are big people and the bike cruses at 80 just fine. Rode it for 7 hours. Seat could be little better in comfort area, bought a butt buffer, made a big difference. Lots of looks, lots of questions from people.
- Steve, Lake Mary, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-06 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned more than fifty motorcycles of all types. Currently, I have a 2009 Honda ST1300 ABS with almost 2,000 miles on the odometer. I have only had it since November. I also have a 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650. I love both motorcycles, but if I could only have one of the two I would keep the Burgman 650. It is actually more comfortable for long trips and quieter on the highway than the ST1300. In the summer it is much cooler to ride because the heat goes underneath rather than onto the rider. The Burgman 650 is the most reliable motorcycle I have owned. I've had some that were as good, but none better. I've owned quite a few Goldwings from 1975 through 2005. They were good, but not as good for all around riding as the Burgman 650. In over 30,000 miles I have had no problems and no repairs, only routine maintenance, and not much of that. I've replaced the spark plugs and checked valve adjustment only one time. I'm on the third rear tire and only the second front tire. The Burgman still runs like new, gets between 47 and 54 mpg consistently, and handles great. I have never replaced the brake pads--they're still good. On a trip to Michigan from Savannah, Georgia last summer I averaged over 50 mpg running between 70 and 75 most of the time (speedometer is fast, however). This is a great motorcycle. It is my fourth Burgman 650, and I will probably buy another one after I put a few thousand more miles on this one. Out of over 50 motorcycles I like the Burgman as good as any I have owned.
- Tom Rash, Georgetown, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-22 2009 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2006 650 EXE and it was lost to Hurricane Ike. I purchased a new 2009 650 EXE and it is better than ever. I sometimes choose it over my BMW R1200GS to ride around town on. Just sit down hold on and your off with plenty of power and it does well on the highway but the suspension is a little stiff for my bad back, other than that a great bike. I will probably buy another one when the time is right.
- Mike, Friendswood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-06 2009 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles and scooters of all types for the last 30 years. I currently own a H.D. Softail Custom. I purchased the Burgman new and have no regrets. The storage is sufficient for me but I may add saddle bags for longer trips. I must admit I was a little apprehensive at first about going from a Harley to a scooter. I can now honestly say that contrary to what I've read, no one really looks down at the scooter rider, you still get the wave from other motorcyclist and the good comments from the public when stopped at a lite or fueling up. When I take the wife for a ride she always prefers the Burgman over the Harley citing comfort. The scoot has enough power for my liking while traveling two up and the fact that it has an auto tranny makes this scoot a real pleasure to ride. I gave a 4 in comfort only because I wish the driver back rest would go back a few more inches, I may just remove it. I average about 45 MPG. The windshield does an ok job, might swap it out but for right now I use a full face which helps block the wind. I purchased the Exec model over the regular burgman only for its ABS, and I can honestly speak from experience..IT'S WORTH EVERY PENNY! I highly recommend the Burgman Exec. I may even get rid of the Harley.
- Rod, Hicksville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-15 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have cycles and let me tell you this is a very comfortable scooter. It does both city and highway miles well with great mileage in either venue. Plenty of room under seat for most of your needs on the road. No problems since new. Only complaint for me was the windscreen.
- Dave, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-02 2008 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
3rd review at 5,000 miles. Just ran up to Sturgis, S.D. with my Burgman 8-1-09. 800 miles. (400 miles up, and 400 miles back in 1 day.) Piece of cake. Runs great, and stays up with the big bikes easy. (14 gals. @ $38.00 round trip) Wow! It was great. Still Smiling!
- Ronbo, Arvada, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-18 2008 Suzuki Burgman 650 Exec Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you rode to work as often as I do then you want a bike that is a no shift bike. Riding in heavy traffic on the Burgman is a breeze. I usually arrive at work with a big smile on my face. I am 55 and have owned many motorcycles over the passed 30 years. Get one of these and you won't regret it. I also love riding my 2007 Goldwing but use it mainly for taking the old lady on long distance road trips. Wish they could put an automatic transmission like this in a Goldwing!
- Howard, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: