Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki TL1000S reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Pete

frederick, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned the TL for 1 riding season and I can't see myself getting rid of it anytime soon. I previously owned an 89' CBR and this bike is in a different galaxy. Endless speed, clutchless wheelies, fun and CHARACTER!!! These bike are not a dime a dozen like your typical sportbikes that are around and the TL has that sound! Only negative is the handling on the bike can sometime be a little nervous but all in all it does what you want it too. The bike is bullet proof reliable too. If you can get your hands on a late model TL DO NOT pass it up and forget the negative reviews.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2004-03-03

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Fabulous bike, everyday it is a delight to ride. I had FI woes at first, but once Suzuki replaced the computer, it has run fine, with no hesitation. The motor is a blast, tons of grunt with a super top end for a twin, smile-producing every time. I like the naked engine combined with the wind protection of the half-fairing. Only service problem was a weepy clutch-cover o-ring. It is very reliable. My biggest beef are the ergonomics, mostly that long stretch out to the bars, and the weight on the wrists that results. The answer, of course, is to keep the speed up, so the wind takes the weight off your arms, but around-town riding gets tiring. All-in-all, it had been a great bike to own, my sixth in 35 years of riding.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

brian

cambridge, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2003-12-02

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I had one...high sided after pulling a wheelstand showing off to my mates, just after i got it. Had the clutch problem, fixed by using semi- synthetic oil instead of fully synthetic. Had the oil leak through the air box problem...fixed by inserting a filter into the breather pipe for the airbox. Had the cracked suspension problem, fixed under warranty (nice!) Had the pilloins feet coming up past my helmet problem, fixed by not taking pillions! Had the "this thing has some power" problem...fixed by sorting out the suspension and thrashing it harder! All in all a fine piece of machinary with power to burn,with some of the earlier models having a few MINOR teething problems. Problems that are easily fixed with a little bit of know how, or a few bucks thrown at your local dealer. The most fun I have ever had on 2 wheels, and with two brothers pipes, and a K&N filter, (maybe a tweak or two in the suspension dept), the most fun most average riders will have too!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan

Hays, Kansas

Reviewed on 2003-11-28

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding motorcycles since I was 7 years old. These bikes by far have the most torque and low end power of any bike I have ever ridden thus far.They also have some of the greatest high-end power I have seen. They rev like a four cylinder but with gobs of torque. I would not trade this bike for nothing else. Love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glenn J Crane

Boscawen, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2003-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My '00 TL1000S is the most fun I've ever had on two wheels. Mods include Leo Vinci slip-ons, Heli-Bars & Dunlop D209's Thats all I've done,Thats all it needs. Every day I ride it i feel like im getting away with something. I get all kind of envious looks and positive feedback. I can sit and look at my bike and know I've made the right choice. More power and handling than i could ever LEGALLY use. Maybe a Radar Detector is in order. Ride one and you'll know why!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dulken4evr

Long Beach, California

Reviewed on 2002-11-16

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is a diamond in the rough. My '97 has been stone reliable, but the suspension sucked and the handlebars were torture rack low. The engine is a gem, smooth and strong, but the low rpm fuel delivery is dodgy and lean. I did the following to my '07 TL1000S 1) Lindeman valving to the forks, heavier .95 springs replaced the wimpy .75 (not enough for a 600, much less a 1,000 sport bike) fork springs. 2) Penske rear shock kit and heavier 800 lb spring, again from Lindeman. Uncheap at $1,000, but worth it. The bike tracks over bumps now and feels "slow" and stuck to the road instead of harsh and twitchy at high speeds over rough curvy moutain pavement, much like my buddy's RC51. 3) Helibars. Gotta have 'em. They make the bike at least 60% more comfortable and their extra width makes steering lighter. 4) Dynojet Power commander. Richens up the lean bottom end, leans out the rich top end, the bike barks and howls beautifully now. Also running a K&N air filter and I yanked that infernal airbox flapper valve and probably picked up 5 horsepower at 3,500 rpm. 5) Yoshimura slip ons. Dunno about extra power, but the thing sounds sweet and throttle response is much sharper in concert with the modified fuel curve. 6) Cobin seat, unlike the stock seat, it keeps my balls from smashing into the gas tank, a worthwhile comfort mod. 7) Hyperpro steering damper. I have not had much in the way of headshake problems, but I do the occasional wheelie. I look at it as insurance. 8) Metzler Sportec tires. The bike loves them. 8) Peel off all the hideous factory decals. ACetone did a good job of dissolving that tough Suzuki glue. Well I have made a lot of mods and probably coulda bought an Aprilia or something for what I have sunk in this bike, but that is life. The thing rocks now. I am gonna keep her! Here is a pic of my pride and joy in action :) http://duken4evr.homestead.com/files/bikeshots/SigPic.jpg
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BadBoy Motorsports

Detroit, Michigan

Reviewed on 2002-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just wanted to say that this bike is awsome i am so sad that suzuki ended the production of this bike, Sure it has temper and lacks control when you twist it to hard but it has personality. I have a 01 gsxr 1000 and it sits in the garage because it is so good its boring. I have had only one problem and that is the scisser gear when out but it was covered under the warrenty. Great bike and to suzuki.... YOU SUCK FOR DROPPING THIS BIKE....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

Virginia

Reviewed on 2001-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Like a lot of other guys and gals have said, this bike is a sleeper. The damn insurance companies don't even know what it is capable of. I just bought mine a month ago. I already have a 1K miles on it. I haven't met a bike yet that can out drag me, and that's completely stock. In fact even in the twisties my friends can't keep up. It is very stable at high speed as well. I can't say enough about this bike. Let me put it this way. If you want a bike that wants to tear your arms off, and you want to fight the front from coming off the ground under just a throttle twist, and you want to leave you friends in the dust this is the bike for you. All those who bag on this bike are afraid of it, or got beat by one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Renfro

USA

Reviewed on 2001-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I think the TLS is the best kept secret in motorcycling!! My brother just got a new RC51 and piped it. Guess which bike outruns it in rolling street drags up to 120mph?? that's right, a 97 TL with a pipe!! RC51? MilleR? save your money and get a real man's ride....TLS rules!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Luv2Carve

USA

Reviewed on 2001-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki TL1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased a near-new Honda 2000 CBR929RR with 1300 miles on it. It's got the Akropovik full-up pipe and SuperCommander FI box. Yes, it's fast; yes, it handles quite well. I've also got a 1997 TLs, 17k miles, with only Yosh cans and mapping redone by a TL tuning pro. The tuner said my bike was a strong one - his seat of the pants estimate was between 115 and 120 HP. Who cares if he's right or wrong. It literally smokes the 929 off the line, has torque that tears your arms off, and is so much fun to hear, feel, and ride I can't bear to sell it. Nuff said.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: