Suzuki TL1000S Motorcycles Reviews (27)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki TL1000S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki TL1000S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-09-11 2001 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the TL for 1 riding season and I can't see myself getting rid of it anytime soon. I previously owned an 89' CBR and this bike is in a different galaxy. Endless speed, clutchless wheelies, fun and CHARACTER!!! These bike are not a dime a dozen like your typical sportbikes that are around and the TL has that sound! Only negative is the handling on the bike can sometime be a little nervous but all in all it does what you want it too. The bike is bullet proof reliable too. If you can get your hands on a late model TL DO NOT pass it up and forget the negative reviews.
- Pete, frederick, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-03 1999 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fabulous bike, everyday it is a delight to ride. I had FI woes at first, but once Suzuki replaced the computer, it has run fine, with no hesitation. The motor is a blast, tons of grunt with a super top end for a twin, smile-producing every time. I like the naked engine combined with the wind protection of the half-fairing. Only service problem was a weepy clutch-cover o-ring. It is very reliable. My biggest beef are the ergonomics, mostly that long stretch out to the bars, and the weight on the wrists that results. The answer, of course, is to keep the speed up, so the wind takes the weight off your arms, but around-town riding gets tiring. All-in-all, it had been a great bike to own, my sixth in 35 years of riding.
- Mark, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-02 1999 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had one...high sided after pulling a wheelstand showing off to my mates, just after i got it. Had the clutch problem, fixed by using semi- synthetic oil instead of fully synthetic. Had the oil leak through the air box problem...fixed by inserting a filter into the breather pipe for the airbox. Had the cracked suspension problem, fixed under warranty (nice!) Had the pilloins feet coming up past my helmet problem, fixed by not taking pillions! Had the "this thing has some power" problem...fixed by sorting out the suspension and thrashing it harder! All in all a fine piece of machinary with power to burn,with some of the earlier models having a few MINOR teething problems. Problems that are easily fixed with a little bit of know how, or a few bucks thrown at your local dealer. The most fun I have ever had on 2 wheels, and with two brothers pipes, and a K&N filter, (maybe a tweak or two in the suspension dept), the most fun most average riders will have too!
- brian, cambridge, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-28 1999 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles since I was 7 years old. These bikes by far have the most torque and low end power of any bike I have ever ridden thus far.They also have some of the greatest high-end power I have seen. They rev like a four cylinder but with gobs of torque. I would not trade this bike for nothing else. Love it.
- Ryan, Hays, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-26 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '00 TL1000S is the most fun I've ever had on two wheels. Mods include Leo Vinci slip-ons, Heli-Bars & Dunlop D209's Thats all I've done,Thats all it needs. Every day I ride it i feel like im getting away with something. I get all kind of envious looks and positive feedback. I can sit and look at my bike and know I've made the right choice. More power and handling than i could ever LEGALLY use. Maybe a Radar Detector is in order. Ride one and you'll know why!!!!!
- Glenn J Crane, Boscawen, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-16 2001 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a diamond in the rough. My '97 has been stone reliable, but the suspension sucked and the handlebars were torture rack low. The engine is a gem, smooth and strong, but the low rpm fuel delivery is dodgy and lean. I did the following to my '07 TL1000S 1) Lindeman valving to the forks, heavier .95 springs replaced the wimpy .75 (not enough for a 600, much less a 1,000 sport bike) fork springs. 2) Penske rear shock kit and heavier 800 lb spring, again from Lindeman. Uncheap at $1,000, but worth it. The bike tracks over bumps now and feels "slow" and stuck to the road instead of harsh and twitchy at high speeds over rough curvy moutain pavement, much like my buddy's RC51. 3) Helibars. Gotta have 'em. They make the bike at least 60% more comfortable and their extra width makes steering lighter. 4) Dynojet Power commander. Richens up the lean bottom end, leans out the rich top end, the bike barks and howls beautifully now. Also running a K&N air filter and I yanked that infernal airbox flapper valve and probably picked up 5 horsepower at 3,500 rpm. 5) Yoshimura slip ons. Dunno about extra power, but the thing sounds sweet and throttle response is much sharper in concert with the modified fuel curve. 6) Cobin seat, unlike the stock seat, it keeps my balls from smashing into the gas tank, a worthwhile comfort mod. 7) Hyperpro steering damper. I have not had much in the way of headshake problems, but I do the occasional wheelie. I look at it as insurance. 8) Metzler Sportec tires. The bike loves them. 8) Peel off all the hideous factory decals. ACetone did a good job of dissolving that tough Suzuki glue. Well I have made a lot of mods and probably coulda bought an Aprilia or something for what I have sunk in this bike, but that is life. The thing rocks now. I am gonna keep her! Here is a pic of my pride and joy in action :) http://duken4evr.homestead.com/files/bikeshots/SigPic.jpg
- Dulken4evr, Long Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-09 2001 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just wanted to say that this bike is awsome i am so sad that suzuki ended the production of this bike, Sure it has temper and lacks control when you twist it to hard but it has personality. I have a 01 gsxr 1000 and it sits in the garage because it is so good its boring. I have had only one problem and that is the scisser gear when out but it was covered under the warrenty. Great bike and to suzuki.... YOU SUCK FOR DROPPING THIS BIKE....
- BadBoy Motorsports, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-15 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like a lot of other guys and gals have said, this bike is a sleeper. The damn insurance companies don't even know what it is capable of. I just bought mine a month ago. I already have a 1K miles on it. I haven't met a bike yet that can out drag me, and that's completely stock. In fact even in the twisties my friends can't keep up. It is very stable at high speed as well. I can't say enough about this bike. Let me put it this way. If you want a bike that wants to tear your arms off, and you want to fight the front from coming off the ground under just a throttle twist, and you want to leave you friends in the dust this is the bike for you. All those who bag on this bike are afraid of it, or got beat by one.
- Greg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-22 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think the TLS is the best kept secret in motorcycling!! My brother just got a new RC51 and piped it. Guess which bike outruns it in rolling street drags up to 120mph?? that's right, a 97 TL with a pipe!! RC51? MilleR? save your money and get a real man's ride....TLS rules!!
- Bill Renfro, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-19 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a near-new Honda 2000 CBR929RR with 1300 miles on it. It's got the Akropovik full-up pipe and SuperCommander FI box. Yes, it's fast; yes, it handles quite well. I've also got a 1997 TLs, 17k miles, with only Yosh cans and mapping redone by a TL tuning pro. The tuner said my bike was a strong one - his seat of the pants estimate was between 115 and 120 HP. Who cares if he's right or wrong. It literally smokes the 929 off the line, has torque that tears your arms off, and is so much fun to hear, feel, and ride I can't bear to sell it. Nuff said.
- Luv2Carve, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-28 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm the very proud and happy owner of a 2000 model TL1000s. The only problem I've encounterd since buying the bike was very abrupt throttle response and surging at steady cruising speeds. My Dealer and I suspected a defective ECM. He orderd a new one and installed it FREE OF CHARGE. Since then my bike runs flawlessly. More power and handling than I could ever use on the street. The only thing my beloved bike lacks now is a RADAR DETECTER, Catch you in the twisty's. Ride safe/Ride smart.
- Glenn J Crane, Boscawen N.H. 03303

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-04 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is for people who don't want a "buzz box" for a bike. V-Twins have a sound all their own...even at 10,500 RPM's. The bike is not perfect, but none are. It handles great, but is set up for someone under 180lbs. If you weigh more, you will want to switch springs. Set up properly and ridden by a good rider this bike can keep up with the best (Ducati 996, R1, etc).
- William Anderson, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-20 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After totaling my 600, I was about have scared to get on another bike. After test driving my 97 TL, I was really scared. I got it anyway (go figure). Great acceleration and handling for a twin. Just recently had water pump leaking problems and fuel injector problems any suggestions? The bike shops in town can't figure this one out. Manny@tca.net
- Manny Lopez, College Station, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-17 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 97 (Euro spec) used in 00 with 20 thousand kilometers for $4250. It was in good shape and ran fine. I ride it weekly on the autobahn at 150-puls mph for hours. I've ridden it at Hockenheimring on open track night, and carve the mountain roads throughout Bavaria's finest offerings. This bike can be a handful! It has all of the normal complaints of throttle abruptness, backfires, and slipping clutch. After running over 150 mph for over an hour, the clutch slips often. In long carving sessions the same problem appears, as well as a few scarey handling issues such as downshift tail wags, and standing up mid corner under braking. New Metzler's helped a lot. Forget traffic riding or anything slow enough to need first gear. This bike doesn't want to go slow. This is not a novice bike. Get a few hours under the belt before charging into that first hard right behind your buddies 996. And please don't judge the bike by the uglier than mortal sin tailpiece.
- Steve Truett, Heidelberg, US Army

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-08 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 97 T1000s and I have no problems keeping up with my friends on the R1 AND 900RR or 9R. This is the only bike for me. I think it is very underrated as a kickass supersport bike.
- Eric Davis, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-09 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 97 TL1000S and it is the best streetbike I have owned. I have 20K trouble-free miles on mine. It was my first twin after riding 4s. The character of the motor is what gets me every time I ride it. I have 2Bros bolt-ons so the exhaust sound is great. I also like the unique looks of the TLS. It looks less porky than the TLR. It probably doesn't handle quite as good as other bikes I have owned or ridden (F2, CBR900, R1) but quite honestly if you are having trouble with the handling you are riding too fast on the street anyway. I'm an ex-roadracer and have taken my TLS to the track. Yes, at 9/10th speed on a track it wasn't quite as sorted as the bikes I mentioned above, but in the real land of armco, gravel, and minivans you are a poser if you think you are pushing it hard enough to tax the handling (or your useless race compound tires on the street) you are full of b.s. So there, the TLS is all you could want or need on the street. Twins rule!!
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-22 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had two TL's a 97 TLs and a 99 TLS. The 97 was haunted with FI problems, stalling, popping the same things every one complains about. I did have after-market pipes on both maybe this was the root of all my problems I bought the second one brand new after i read in cycle world magazine that the FI probs were remedied, big mistake. My 99 had anti freeze leaking out of the water pump. A oil leaking clutch cover, major surging at low speeds, popping on downshifting, self adjusting clutch lever, stalling at stop lights(big embarrassment with buddies on inline 4's)Just a total nightmare. It was definitely a the dealer more than in my possession. Now I own a 99Superhawk and I am happier than a pig in!@#$%!!
- sportbike rider, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-14 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
How many recalls and defects before a bike isn't "great" any more? Suzuki has developed a bad reputation for not taking care of customerswith problem bikes. Look on any Suzuki message board and you'll find loads of people with problem bikes that Suzuki refuses to fix under warranty. Look at how many people there are with problem TL's. Then there are GSX-R owners with broken cam chain tensioners everywhere. My bike ('97 TL-S) has been recalled three times (computer, steering damper, fuel tank). Suzuki refused to fix the leaking water pump and slipping clutch that is common on many TL's. Some people HAVE had these problems fixed but a customer generally has to be threatening or hire a lawyer to get Suzuki to fix these well-known problems. DOT doesn't consider these a "safety" defect so the Federal government hasn't pushed for an official recall. The suspension parts on this bike are second-rate. Take apart the rear spring and damper linkages and see for yourself. Enormous, sloppy clearances, no seals to keep the dirt out and damn little grease in there to begin with. Yeah, this is a "great" bike all right. There are two kinds of people who say this bike is great; people smart enough to fix all the problems and people who don't know any better.
- TL owner, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never had more fun on a bike. Mind you, I do not own any other vehicle. I ride 365 days a year, rain, or shine. This bike has a bad reputation for no good reason. I guess, if compared with Hondas, it appears pretty rough. If you like long distance touring in comfort at the speed limit, or if you like to exercise caution coming out of the traffic lights, DO NOT BUY THIS MOTORCYCLE. If, on the other hand, you like to ignite ass hairs of your local constabulary, and enjoy watching cars become really tiny specs in your rear view mirrors, this is a bike for you. It requires authoritative handling, and a responsible right wrist. Pure fun!
- Mike, Okinawa, Japan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the 1997 TL1000S in Dark Green. Did some minor mods to make it what I wanted. Added a full Yosh RS3 Race only exhaust system, Power Commander II fuel injection mod, dropped one tooth in the front sprocket for added torque coming out of corners and off the line, Pirelli Dragons (Corsa) and K&N air filter. With Power Commander, Full syst, and K&N alone it added 16 horses, which is more than enough for the average street rider. I'm 6'4" and 275lbs. I can only imagine what the bike would feel like had I been average height and about a hundred pounds lighter. For the money, you can't beat it.... TRUST ME! For Pete's sake, look at my screen name....Hellified wheelies all over the place and in first and second with just a twist of the wrist. Made me want to wheelie straight through the gearbox, which had been done. Loved the half-fairing look. I had the bike polished which gave it a better look along with chrome rims. We crashed though on August 7th...I'm recouping from a shoulder reconstruction, but trust me...Already got a down payment on a leftover 1999.... See ya!
- Cecil Smith, Trenton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-23 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a '97 TLS with 15,000 trouble-free miles. I was notified timely by Suzuki about the warranty fixes with the gas tank and the bike came with the updated ecu. It gets 40 mpg, and I have no trouble leaving my R-1 riding buddy for dead on our favorite 55-85mph twisty mountain roads. Not saying my TL is faster, because it is not, but in my hands and on real roads it does quite OK, thanks much. I rode the R-1 and even have a pal with a new RC-51. The TL does feel heavy steering and stable next to those two, but the motor rocks, even over the RC-51, which has a very top-weighted powerband and tall gearing. My bike is running better and revving freer as the miles add up. The Yoshimura RS-3 race cans give it awesome sound. A must add on for any TL! I can see keeping her for another 8 years. My old Ninja 750 is not missed! Check out a photo of my TL on my web page! http://members.delphi.com/DUKEN4EVR
- Craig, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think this bike has had an extremely bad rap. Many sources claim this bike to have "Monster" power and boast about how easy it is to pull "killer" wheelies and do "amazing" burn outs. While all this is true, there is a lot more to this bike than ham-fisted stunts. Unfortunately, I think, this bike's ability to gracefully corner and blast canyons has been seriously overlooked. The suspension is more than adequate for street prowess, and a change in tires would help build upon the bikes handling strengths. A more pointed front tire would help turn in and corner stability while a narrower rear tire would speed up corner transitions and make the bike feel more flickable. Braided brake lines and EBC green pads will go a long way to improve brake feel and control. My wife bought the SuperHawk because of its better comfort, but wishes regularly that she got a TLS, simply because she feel more comfortable with the TLS's handling. Its easier to corner, has lighter throttle response, better clutch action and the stiffer chaises gives it more stability while leaned over. In its rush to come out at the same time as the Honda, Suzuki gave itself a bad rap about this bike. Suzuki has gone to great lengths to improve the problems that plagued the '97 model. Even the bubbalicious styling grows on ya, really fast, especially when you focus on the aggressive, predator looking front end. Who can complain about any twin headlight setup? I think the TLS is a fantastic runner with more elegance and grace than it is given credit for. Its the poor mans 916/996. Only more reliable, more affordable to maintain, lower price tag and cheaper insurance.
- Dave Palazzolo, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Anyone who thinks there is something wrong with this bike needs to get their head examined. It simply the most fun bike I have ever ridden. No its not the all dominating R1, or the super light weight GSXR750, but it IS a V-Twin which makes any, and I repeat ANY inline-4 look, feel, sound and handle dull. I'm not talking about how well it corners at 13,500 rpm, it doesn't rev that high, What I am talking about is how it pulls out of turns, stoplights, strait line cruising, just about anything. Also the folks who complain about its comfort have apparently never heard of adjustable clip-ons. Hands down this is the most fun and affordable big twin supersport on the market. As a side note, a lot of insurance companies charge less for this bike than other supersports. The only reason I can think of is the fact that it is a half-faired bike. And at the last, a word of warning to all of you 600cc CBR, GSXR, ZX6R, and such riders, if you do get on one of these, be respectful of the torque, The bike will do a wheelie in third by just giving the throttle a good hard twist. It will dump you on your ass coming out of a corner faster than you would think possible.
- Kiyallah, Eugene, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-29 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love everything about this bike. This is my first bike and I don't regret a thing. It has power, comfort, and I love the design of the engine/bike. I feel that you get allot of bang for your buck!!!! The response that this bike has is wonderful. I feel that I won't get another bike for awhile. If you want power and speed, a bike that asked to be ran hard...look no farther than the TL 1000. If you haven't rode a twin you need to.
- BIG TYMER, Washington, DC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 2000 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
PROS (all years): Fairly light, decent handling, comfortable (for a sportbike), easy to ride, plenty of power, smooth-shifting transmission, bargain resale values. Exaggerated reputation for being a "hard-core" bike. CONS (1997): Recalls for engine computer, steering-damper, and leaking fuel tank. Warranty campaigns for misadjusted throttle-position sensor, slipping clutch, leaking clutch cover, and leaking waterpump. CONS (1998+): Revised engine computer (fuel-injection mapping/throttle sensor input) results in less aggressive engine performance. CONS (all years): Horrible resale value due to an exaggerated poor-reputation. Rear suspension sub-par due to Suzuki's unique "rotary damper" mechanism. Conventional replacement rear damper from either Lindemann Engineering (US) or Maxton (UK) costs about US$1,000. Added steering damper makes steering unnecessarily heavy. Mid-turn stability is not the best in class. TIPS: - 16-tooth front sprocket from GSX-R750 adds cheap performance. - 6-piston brake calipers (and master cylinder) from GSX-R750 adds major braking power for a reasonable price (if bought used). - MUST visit TL1000 Frequently Asked Questions page at Sporttwins web page. - Excellent candidate for a SV650-syle naked bike conversion (I'm doing mine now). BOTTOM LINE: Fun, powerful, easy-to-ride sportbike. NOT for novice riders due to handling and mechanical concerns. EXCELLENT bang-for-the-buck in a used bike or non-current dealer carryover.
- Anonymous, Atlanta, Georgia,USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: