Suzuki TU250X Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki TU250X Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki TU250X Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-14 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my bike after taking the MSF Basic Rider's course. I started slowly as a beginner (62 years old) but soon gained confidence and now the more I ride, the more I love it. I am getting over 70 miles per gsllon. It is just plain fun!
- Mike Moulton, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-03 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First: Kudos to the dealership on the preparation of the bike. There was absolutely nothing that was not assembled correctly. This bike has worked perfectly, every time all the time. Reports are, and my experience indicates, that the TU has an extended break-in period. At 2,000 miles I can tell the bike is still getting better and better. It will run an indicated 70 to 75 mph. all day, if you ask it. This is closer to a real 68-72. This is the perfect bike for a road like the Blue Ridge Parkway. The bike is really well mannered and predictable. It is a light bike, but I do not feel I am being blown around when passing or being passed by trucks on the 65 mph. by-pass. The torque curve is so flat that it is hard to find yourself in a gear that does not work. This is a very forgiving bike, very easy to ride. While this is a great first bike for anyone, I have been riding for 25 years, and think this bike is great fun. You can push this bike to the limits and not get a ticket. The fuel injection is great!! No choke, no turning gas on and off. There is really no warm-up. So far, from 55F to 100F it is just start and go. 2,000 foot change in elevation? No difference in performance. This bike is a keeper. I will want something else if I want to travel on the Interstate. The TU can just barely do Interstate speed and there is not much reserve. But anything else in the USA that is paved, the TU can handle. I might go to different tires if I decide to ride much more on gravel roads. (I've done maybe 25 miles on gravel just to see how it would be). This is not an off road bike. But, it can do anything that qualifies as a road. To date, my longest day was 200 miles. At the end of the day I was glad to get off the bike, but I was not sore then, or the next day. I really believe I will get accustomed to this bike and will be able to do long days on it. The stock seat is really pretty good. If I were going to ride across the country I would not hesitate to use the TU to do it, so long as I stay off the Interstates. The other night at a gas stop a fellow asked me what year the TU was. He thought I had just restored a classic. People are surprised when I tell them it's a 250. If I pulled the stickers off I could tell them it was a 500 - that's what some people guess that it is. The head light is great, and far, far better than anything stock on my old bikes. I've only done one short ride 2 up. But, other than a slight lag on acceleration, and some more effort on the brakes, the TU did fine. After five months I only have 2,000 miles on the bike. But that is because I am tied to the office, away on business, etc. I look for excuses to go someplace on the TU.
- R. Longmire, Appomattox, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-16 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my TU250X used with 99 miles on it in October, it is now February and have only been able to put another on another 350 miles. The riding position and styling is correct. Torque is even from idle to, well, where it drops off. Be mindful of your gears, and its 16 HP is fine for city traffic. It is comfortable and fun on extremely twisty roads which larger sport and touring bikes don't do poorly on. I got 75 mpg at the second fill-up, with an air temperature of 40-50 F. This bike seems to be very popular in Europe and Japan, did I mention it is difficult to find a road twisty enough for it? It is slightly small for the average American, but there is nothing else on the US market as close to the perfect motorcycle as this one.
- Tom, Everett, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-22 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't had a bike in about 10 years. My last bike was a Suzuki Marauder. It was OK. But this bike is so light it is a breeze to handle. I can get up to 85 mph on flat Highway wide open. I got a small windshield which makes it a lot more fun to drive. I've gotten a lot of compliments on my choice of bikes which was the opposite of what I expected. The gas mileage is awesome! Last fill up I got 86 mpg. My Chevy Silverado gets 15 mpg. I will be riding my bike as much as I can to save money. Hope this review helps you.
- Soundcrafter, McCleary, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-29 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a Suzuki TU250 and find it to be an enormously fun ride. I'm a new rider and started on a Kawasaki Vulcan 500, something which many websites tout as perfect for beginners. We'll, for me it ain't so. The Vulcan is heavy (470 lbs. compared to 320-ish for MSF bikes and 380 or so for a Suzuki S40), ponderous, slow handling, rough, has an uneven delivery of power over the revs, and has a less than communicative clutch. A great bike, I'm sure, but not fun at all for a beginner. Rather than looking forward to riding, I'd look at it and think, 'Aw, nuts...' The Suzuki TU250 has a 'standard' riding position which I find far more natural than the 'cruiser' position; having the pegs directly under you gives a better, more natural balance. The clutch is sweet, the seat comfortable, the power delivery even across the revs, the shifter is crisp, the ride smooth, and the handling responsive and easy to control. Since I'm in the break in period I can not comment on ultimate speed or use on the interstate, but I suspect I'll be able to keep up with my friends on their Boulevard C50's and H-D's well enough as long as we're staying within the legal speed limits. I can not recommend the Suzuki highly enough. This is one fun little bike and a joy to ride. Thank you, Suzuki, for making it!
- Kevin, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-01 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in an 800cc Cruiser for this bike. I also ride a DL650 Wee Strom. This bike has decent acceleration for a 250. The brakes are adequate but not great. I use this bike as my daily commuter now, and my first two tanks of gas I got 74.9mpg & 73mpg. It will cruise comfortably at 60mph. I won't take this bike on the super slab, but back highways are no problem. I also love the retro look.
- Chris, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-30 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I checked out several shops throughout the Seattle area and didn't even know about the TU250X until I stumbled across it on a webpage...and the shop is only a mile from my house! And incredible service. I've always wanted an older styled bike since I was an under aged kid riding bikes like these back in the 80's and early 90's; and the 'TU fits the bill! The styling of the 'TU is exactly what I wanted and the fit is really comfortable. I don't weigh that much so pick up and acceleration for my urban needs are more than accommodating. At around 65mph on the faster roads aren't that bad, but with a bit of wind it can be a little hairy. Technically, I commute about 10 miles to work each way and more times than most, I take the LONG way so I get to spend more time on my bike. I ride home with my friend from work occasionally and he rides a Ducati Monster and he was impressed with the performance of the little 250 and it's performance on the ride from Downtown Seattle to the north. Basically, this bike is perfect for me and the fuel economy is just icing on the cake...actually it was the justification for me to get the bike and give my truck a break from spending less money on gas and maintenance. If you're looking for an economical commuter with good city drivability, comfort and retro-styling, then get this!!!
- Truc, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-17 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Completed my motorcycle safety course and got my motorcycle endorsement within a week. Looked a a number of used bikes, not very satisfied with anything I saw. didn't want a cruiser with my feet stuck out in front and sitting low. didn't want a crotch rocket and end up riding with my feet behind me and bent over. I had seen this bike online at Suzuki's website so I called up our local dealer and was told that the first one they had receved had come off the truck that day. Told 'em I'd be right on over. Sat on the bike and said I'll take it! Really priced on par with some used bikes I was looking at. Very comfortable, good location of handlebars and foot controls. Beautiful bike, love the fact that it has a very old school 70's styling to it but is very modern with electronic fuel injection. I have a number of friends that have been riding for many years, and have got loads of positive comments about it! It has a great seat height for me, and is very responsive to ride... much easier to turn than the Rebels we rode in the motorcycle class and used cruisers I test rode when lookin' for a bike. Seems like it reads my mind...I think about turning and it just does it. Combine that with a solid but not overwhelming powerplant and it has turned out to be a great bike for a beginning rider like me. Some of my buddies say once I ride this one a while, I'll want to trade up to something bigger and I must admit that I hope to aquire a larger bike eventually. But with this one rated at over 80 mpg, I'll keep it for commuting to work when gas prices get jacked up again and for rides where I neither need or want a bigger bike. I recommend this bike to anyone, especially new rider looking for a first ride.
- Derron Daugherty, Asheville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-14 2009 Suzuki TU250X Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for anyone. I have had larger bikes and this is as fun as anything. It is very comfortable for long rides and is just a good all around performer.
- Richard Groeneveld, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: