Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-07-26 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got 5000 miles on my DL1000 now and will have to say this is the best bike I've owned. Other bikes I've had include a Concours, Ducati 900SS, Yamaha Venture, Seca 650, Seca 550, and Kawasaki ZX750 Turbo. The DL is an excellent handling bike with superb backroad and freeway manners. It lopes along at about 4000 rpm at 75mph, yet really scoots when asked to get up and boogie. Plenty of support group folks for this bike that is sure to establish a cult-like following. The only down side is a too soft seat that gives butt-burn in about 100 miles. This is easily remedied.
- BG, Oxnard, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-28 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've driven this bike over 4,200 miles since I got it and have nothing but high praise for it. Being a tall person with a history of back problems, the seating comfort was a HUGE factor in my decision to buy this bike. It felt like it was made for me unlike the Hondas, Yamahas, and Harleys that are so prevelant in my area. I test rode a bunch of bikes and the V-Strom blew them all away. The first time I rode this bike I was impressed with the responsive handling and crisp throttle response. The braking power is truly something to be reckoned with. Dual hydraulic front discs just can't be beat. I ride this bike to work everyday and most every weekend that the weather permits and have no trouble putting on 250 miles on a leisurely Saturday afternoon. I've done several 500 mile days! My 13 year old daughter rides with me a lot and I generally don't even know she's back there. There's so much power and suspension that it eats up any road conditions I encounter. I try to avoid gravel but when I do encounter it, the V-Strom handles it much better than the Harley's my friends ride. I have the Givi trunk and side luggage pods. They're nice, very functional. My only complaint is that they're not as high quality as they should be for the price. They're just molded plastic. But they do the job. It is VERY important to load them evenly balanced for weight. If the side pod weight is off by much you'll feel it in the handling. I frequently ride with just the trunk pod in place. Any load at all in the trunk pod is un-noticed. Being a tall rider I did discover that the low windshield works better for me than the optional taller windshield. The taller shield puts the "over the top" turbulence directly into my helmet and I get a lot of buffeting and head shaking. With the lower shield my helmet is above the turbulence in clean air. I get a few more bugs on my faceshield, but the better visibility due to a more stable head is worth the bug juice! A shorter rider would probably benefit nicely from the taller windshield. I have had absolutely NO maintenance or repair issues to report. This bike runs great ALL the time! Very satisfying!! The only complaint I can dream up is the messy chain. Too bad this bike isn't shaft drive or even a belt drive instead of an oily chain. Oh well.
- Stephen Kroon, Reedsburg, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-17 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike does everything well. It reminds me of the Honda 750's of the 1970's. I love riding this bike and I think that this bike is helping me to become a better rider. Only negative is some wind buffeting, even with windshield in highest position. Great bike for the price.
- Gerry Dame, Bishop, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-01 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the Black/Yellow with the Givi bags, center stand and taller wind screen. Added Givi black case guards and hung a pair of PIAA 510 fog lamps on them. At 6'2", I get some wind buffeting/wind noise but nothing that ear plugs doesn't cure. Light and nimble, it's great on Vermont's dirt roads and the proven V-twin engine coupled to the six speed gobbles up poorly maintained super slab equally as well. The torque that comes on around 4000 rpm is "wheelie sweet"! The only change I'm considering is lightening the weight and enhancing the throaty exhaust note with some after market pipes.
- Larry Doane, Brattleboro, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-01 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When you're a referee for Cycling USA, the national governing body for competitive bicycle racing, you're always on the go. Especially when it comes to working an event as a Motoref, a position where the referee has to get right in with the bicycles. Having to watch for rule infractions, reporting who is doing what to whom and making sure there are no conflicts between the racers and other users on the highway means the Motoref needs a bike he can depend on. The Suzuki V-Strom is just that kind of bike. Flying into Madison, WI. for the NCCA National Bicycle Championships, I picked up a demo V-Strom. The bike came with a tank bag (stash for radios, rain gear and lunch) and a full tank of gas. Before I left I found myself doing tight figure of eight's in the parking lot, an early indication of just how well this bike was going to work. On the road the V-Strom showed just how fast it was as it quickly punched up freeway speeds heading out to the road course. The short windscreen did its job and directed the wind over the top of my helmet, later I would discover that it did the same thing with pouring rain. West of Madison the countryside is hilly with black ribbons of pavement wondering through the many fields and wooded hillsides. The bike was sure footed and demonstrated a quickness through the turns that would embarrass many a sport bike. The V-Strom's wide bars made it easy to control the bike even when it would slide on the rain slick corners (oil in downtown Madison and cow leavings in the countryside). My only complaint is that the V Strom was geared too high for my purposes. While long legged on the open road and with more than enough power to quickly break any speed limit the bike didn't like anything under 8-10 miles per hour. On the steeper hills some of the bicycle racers were almost walking, it was so steep. Easy for me to grab a handful of throttle, but when the job says you must stay behind the riders, life gets a little difficult. Robert at Engelhart Sports Center said a smaller front sprocket on the V-Strom would have taken care of that in a heart beat. Bottom line, after 5 days and almost 500 miles of moto refereeing in the sun and rain, I would opt for the V-Strom any day. The combination of a huge power band, great speed, confidence inspiring handling and heart stopping brakes combined with a comfortable saddle is hard to beat. Ted Fisher USCF Motoref.
- Ted Fisher, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-08 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
28 years of riding mostly Harleys and BMW twins. Sprinkling of Hondas. This DL1000 blows away every other bike I have ridden in my life with unsurpassed handling, reliability and comfort. I have ridden over 2000 miles in the few weeks that I have had it. Only flaw is the too short windshield. It has an unbelievable motor with lots of power from 3500 - 7000 rpm. Only reg fuel is recommended and even riding fast I get 45 miles per gallon!
- SemperVee, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-03 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 30 plus years and this bike has put cramps in my face from grinning. I have added a Givi tail trunk and different windshield. I've taken this bike down logging trails fully loaded with camping gear. I've done 800-mile days with it. I've run with the squids in the twisty stuff. And this bike just eats it up and comes back for more. I have no regrets whatsoever.
- bj carr, milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-30 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 35+ years of riding I determined that I wasn't going to buy any more tourers. Unless, that is, someone came out with a tourer having long, supple suspension, comfortable seat, light weight, 6 speed transmission, and great touring range. I thought I was safe until Suzuki introduced the VStrom. They must have designed it with me in mind. My 02 has the optional windscreen, and is otherwise in stock condition. It handles like a ballerina and has the muscle of a superbike. It eats up miles, in sixth gear with incredible ease. In fact, it does everything so well, that the few complaints heard about VStroms are all but petty by comparison. These "all road" touring bikes are made for the USA's "budget challenged" real world of potholes and nasty pavement. These bikes are also extremely popular in Europe, given their penchant for cobblestone streets, tight curvy back roads, and autobahns. If you're looking for a bike that can do lots of things very well, and you like to ride in the same way that you enjoy a good buffet, look no further.
- Ken Sanders, Mesquite, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-03 2004 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 (DL1000) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 03' Blk/Ylw with bags(3), center-stand and a tank bra. So far, I've ridden it down to CA (Bay Area) and back and I've done some day trips discovering Oregon NW/NE area. I average about 47 mpg and the it's probably one of the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. Even compared to my BMW R1150GS, it's much easier to ride and faster. In the hills filled with 15 - 40 mph turns, V-Strom is a breeze to maintain a good clip. Ground clearance really isn't an issue, unless you hit a "dip" while leaned over, when the rear suspension will squat and scrape your pegs & center-stand. Aside from a BAD OEM fork spring-rate, I'm pretty happy with the bike. I've insterted a set of Race-Tech 1.0kg stiffer spring which made a noticable difference. Taller wind-shield would be better for 5'8" or taller and the top bag begins to rattle due to latching mechanism begins to loosen. I've not found the fix for this one yet. But, I'm HAPPY with my V-Strom.
- Richard Guro, Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: