Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Motorcycles Reviews (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-06-08 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Riding a maxi-scooter for the past several years has changed my opinion of this bike. I've also owned several cruisers during the time I've had the Strom. Finally, a long ride on a Triumph XC800 brought things into focus. The 1000 is still as good as ever, but other newer designs like the Triumph triple have left it behind somewhat in terms of handling, smoothness and responsive performance. What I really notice after riding a smaller, lighter bike and the newer Triumph is the slow steering. I could easily have come to the conclusion that this bike no longer cuts it. Others have. The last few years they have been on sale. Suzuki couldn't hardly give them away. Then it struck me. This bike makes a really really fine cruiser. It's got bags of torque and that stable steering along with better brakes, suspension and vastly better performance and comfort than any of the Cruisers I have owned. It doesn't look like a traditional cruiser, but it rides like one except it's faster. I'm in my 60's now. Once I wrapped my head around what their bike is really good for, I was thrilled with the ride. I like traditional cruisers, but I had gotten tired of the limitations: Scraping in the corners, small tank, limited range, lack of comfort and suspension travel. My bike is an original, an '02, so it doesn't have modern fuel injection, but if I just crack the throttle and let it rev a little more than you would expect for a 1000, it runs great even below the power band. It feels powerful even at sensible speeds, which to me is more fun than killer speed I wouldn't use. Braided lines on the brakes and the clutch greatly improved the feeling of the controls. Most of all compared to my cruisers and my scooter, I love the comfort of the roomy seat and the long travel suspension. This bike now has a second life. I'm really glad I didn't sell it.
- Phipsd, Surrey, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-01 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, it's a great ride! It's comfortable for tall riders, runs strong and handles excellent. Coming up on the 4k service and only problem is a small drip from the radiator (hose clamp?)
- O. Hagen, Mount Vernon, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-14 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V-Strom DL 1000 in February of 2008. It was a left over 2007 but they are one in the same except color. I have had many bikes, but this one is the best by far. The 650 was too anemic for me. The comfort is good but an aftermarket windshield is on the way. The suspension is too soft, but what factory suspension is not. New fork springs and rear shock spring worked wonders. The power is great. Nice torque curve too. The fuel injection is fine as long as you sync the throttle bodies. Brakes are good, but not GSXR level. But overall, you cannot get a finer bike. Many of my friends have the latest and greatest crotch rockets and they can pull away from you in the straights but it won't matter. The long travel suspension eats up bumps while they are slowing down to accommodate for the race track suspension. It is truly amazing how fast you can go on a DL 1000.
- Awesome Machine, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-10 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has an extremely comfortable seat. Ergonomics are very good. Gravel and unpaved roads are no problem. It is very good for two-up riding. It gets 50-plus miles per gallon.
- Fred, Rural Retreat, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-30 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I just took the PLUNGE, and bought a used V-Strom 1000 with Givi Keyless side cases and a V46 top case and only 19000 km (approx. 12000 miles) and I sure haven't regretted my choice of bikes!! This bike is incredible in performance and comfort. I bought this bike in Quebec, Canada on Aug 14 and drove it back home which was a 7 1/2 hour drive and I had a BIG smile on my face the whole time. I have been driving motorbikes since 1978 and had just sold my 2002 Yamaha Royal Star Venture 1300 on Aug 8 so I was bike less for only six days!! The Venture was a nice bike, extra comfortable for touring, which we did a lot of, BUT it was like driving a school bus compared to the V-Strom. The V is so easy to park, turn, back-up, and drive that I am having a BLAST. I know it's not right to even compare the two (839lbs vs. 460lbs) but I'm just giving my opinion. They both have 98hp but the V is unreal going from 100kph (60mph) to 140kph (90mph). I was very glad I had read all the reviews about this bike, they were very informative and I hope that mine may sway someone into getting one of these incredible bikes!! Thanks.......... Well I've just come back from a 4-day (2011km-1250mile) camping trip, all around the island province of Prince Edward Island, up along the eastern coast of New Brunswick, and along the coast from Moncton, NB through Fundy National Park and back home just outside Saint John, NB. The bike was loaded with 125lbs of gear and I and it averaged 57 to 60.8 mpg (CDN gals) which I thought was truly amazing!! It was only towards the end of the riding day that my butt began to get a little sore which I think is a pretty natural thing to happen after a 6 to 8 hour drive. The V works flawlessly thru the twisties and country roads although it's only above 4000rpms in 6th gear that the bike starts to cruise along effortlessly (125kph or 78mph). The only complaints that I would have is that it gets blown around a bit (hang on tight) during high winds, following or passing semi trucks and the stock windshield causes severe helmet buffeting (which I read can be fixed by a larger wind screen). So besides that I truly love the bike and can't wait to ride it again tomorrow. Hope this helps on your decision, Later, STAN
- Stan the Man, Quispamsis, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-12 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I left SC on May 15th, 2007 on my DL650. For two solid months, I ran the snot out of my Vstrom and put over 17,000 miles on it. 1500 were on dirt roads in the Yukon and Alaska. I ran the entire trip without any routine service and ran 8,000 miles without an oil change. Crossing Montana and North Dakota, I ran the bike for hours at 80-90 MPH and never got a rise in water temps. The only thing I did was lube the chain and change tires. On the 1100 mile round trip from Fairbanks to Prudhoe Bay (Alaska), I ran the DL650 with an oil cooler completely covered and clogged with mud....the motor looked like someone had turned a gunite cannon on it. Everyday I was amazed at the abuse and outright neglect this machine could endure. I can afford to buy any bike I want...including a BMW 1200GS and I can tell you, that the DL650 will keep up with any of them.
- Robert Broadwell, Chapin, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-01 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where to start.. Hmmm. I bought the VStrom 650 on 1/12/2006, the first day of summer. After some research I had settled on the Vstrom despite the challenges of my bike riding mates who could not understand why I had bought a 650 of all things. My friends ride 1000 + cc bikes and thought that I was turning into a girl - WRONG! I purchased the bike from a dealer in a town some 30Kms away from where I live so I had a small but long enough ride home to be bitten by the bug, well and truely. I have another bike, a Ducati 500 Pantah. Those of you that know the bike would know that the thing is on rails and handles like a dream. I can flick the thing into any corner, change direction on a toothpick and pull up on a one cent coin. The Vstrom 650 was simply unreal. I loved the riding position, upright and very comfortable, light and nimble. This has and continues to surprise me considering the size of the motorcycle, but there you go. This bike is full of surprises. I didn't want to turn off the highway and head toward my home as I was just starting to get into it, but, my wife was behind me in the car and would not have been happy if I just rode on. I rode the Vstrom into my driveway, jumped off it and sat there and perved on it for a bit. I must admit that at first the bike looked too large. I suppose that the tank had a lot to do with that as now-a-days I think that it looks fantastic, modern, sort of go anywhere with fuel to spare and in comfort to boot. I have yet to date had anyone say anything other than it looks like a fun and versatile bike and a great colour too. Even BMW tossers have had the same opinion. Oh - buy the way- not all BMW riders are tossers - only the ones who tell you that their BMW is the best are tossers - GS 1200 riders are the greatest offenders and I can stick with you lot all day and for less than half the price so I respectfully suggest you re-evaluate and buy a Vstrom 650. Anyway - my first ride of note was thru the famous, or imfamous, Hellyer Gorge in Tasmania, Australia. A beuatiful winding road thru some of the most magnificent rainforest in Tassie, and it's just up the road from my place. I did whats called the big lap. You ride west from my place and end up returning to my home town from the south. About a 100 Km ride. Not big by any means but one of the best rides anywhere I have been to date. I didn't know the Vstrom at all. It was the first day I owned it. I wasn't used to riding in the upright position and the road I chose was one of the more challenging around my area, but what a ride. I found it different at first because I felt that I was sitting too tall in the seat thru corners and thought that I was going to simply fall of the thing half way round the corner. I didn't. Since then I have changed my riding style and hang off the Vstrom like Casey Stoner. It handles beautifully and I have great confidence in the motorcycle, infact just as much as I had in the Duc, I know that this is a big call but it is true none-the-less. I have been on many rides thru-out the summer the longest being 350 Kms on one tank. My mates on their 1000+ cc bikes are lucky to get 200Kms on a tank and they are not leaving me behind particularly thru windy up or down hill sections. I just love it. Of course, now-a-days, my mates have read the reviews, bought the mags with all the great things they have too say about the Vstrom and best of all stopped stirring me about buying a 650 cc bike. Why, well it's because the Vstrom 650 is no ordinary 650. It simply flogs everything in it's class without exception. Can't go wrong! It is so much more than I expected.
- Wils, Burnie, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-06 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at all the Big bore dual-sport adventure type machines; BMW, KTM, Triumph and picked the V-Strom and I am pleasantly pleased with the choice. Maintenance can be done by any self-respecting bike guy. Lots of add-ons available. There must be a Suzuki shop in every moderate sized town in America. The old TL engine, de-tuned in the DL, gives gobs of torque above 4,000 rpm with a decent top-end. The six-speed is butter and the OD is tall. Good in the twisties; keeps most of the clip-on crew in sight. Two-up is a decent ride due to the big, wide seat. It is possibly the best all-around bike I have ever ridden. I have not found anything it isn't good at; 75 mph crusin' on the big road to wringing it out on one-lane gravel to draggin' pegs in an off-camber, decreasing radius downhill left-hander. A lot of scoot for the loot!
- Jim, Franklin, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-30 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 18,500 miles on it from 4/26/06 thur 12/31/07. Rode in all sort of weather conditions. I have several 700 mile days on it and was comfortable all day. I find being tall in the saddle is great for comuting, I am at the same head height as SUV and Pick-ups. I can see everything, which is a plus on my 70 mile round trip to and from work everyday. March thru November it was my daily ride. The only trouble I have had has more to do with the rider than the bike, but 3 times at the end of a day I have dropped it while manuvering out of a parking spot. I attribute this my tiredness, but it would not have happened on my old GS1100E.
- David Narens, Gurnee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 22 years on sport bikes, I wanted a good all around machine. The engine has good low end and mid range, though I wish for more top end, never enough, right? In a roll on against a 1990 FJ1200, from about 10mph, the Strom jumps out in front and held the FJ off till about 100mph. Pretty good for a 1000cc twin against a 1200cc 4. The 6 six speed tranny shifts well, typical Japanese, 6th is a tall overdrive. Mileage is around 45-47 usually. My high has been 53 and low was 37. Suspension is decent, front fork could be better, but the pre load adjustment actually makes a difference, unlike some stock units. Dragging the pegs is not a problem, even with the stock Bridgestone trailwing tires. Soften it up and it's a pretty cushy ride, tighten it up and drag pegs or go two up no problem. The seating position is super roomy for big or tall guys, far better than a FJR1300 and the like. It feels top heavy, but once you're moving, ride it like a dirt bike, with that narrow v-twin and wide bars you can get fairly aggressive. I rode it 3800 miles on 1 trip and on another, 2 up, 900 miles. It performed perfect, better than I expected. From Kansas to California and back to Colorado. The stock brakes are ok, the front was a little weak for me. This is not an off-road bike, first gear is too tall for that, and it does not have the suspension. Dirt roads, a smooth field, be realistic. For the money, I don't think any other bike out there can touch the Strom for all around street bike use and performance. Zero problems so far, and I did some long hard miles, 900 in one day. That TL1000 motor they put in it is bullet proof, no need to rev over 8000 rpm, pulls hard to 7000. I love my Strom, someone finally made a bike us old sport bike, flattrackin, riders can do everything we want on the street, all in one bike. It's not great at anything, just good at everything.
- philip, greeley, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a bunch of bikes. To name a few since 2000 are a Honda Goldwing, BMW K1200LT, Honda ST1300 and now a DL1000. The DL is the best bike I have owned out of my previous bikes. It will do anything and everything I want. I thought about the BMW GS but way too much money. I am more than happy to have bought the bike, especially from here. I also told my brother and another friend about it and they are happy with their purchase to. I plan on adding 1 more bike now, the Concours 14000. I can't wait.
- Jaime, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Strom is an incredible bike. I've always ridden Harleys and still have several models. My first choice for a daily ride and long range touring is my Strom. It's geometry, gearing, front trail and weight to power ratio is perfect. The bike is very comfortable with an adjustable suspension you can tune to your body weight and road conditions. At high speeds you have complete control with little vibration and no wobble. The under seat pipes and engine sound is a plus.
- Ken Coffey, Carpinteria, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-23 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
She ain't pretty but boy she's a pleaser. I have gone through 3 bikes the past two years (03 sv650,99 st1100abs,96 pc800). I like to buy used. The hope was to find a good all around bike. Loved all of them. However, just had to try the DL1000. Found what I was looking for! The DL1000 is the best of all worlds. I find the seat height not to tall and has in fact improved my appreciation and experience for riding. The upright seating and handle bar position is outstanding with no need to extend bars. Torque monster which I appreciate and respect. The windshield is terrible. The bike has a wonderful turn radius and does not feel top heavy as some reviews have suggested.If you can only have one bike, then the DL1000 should be a serious consideration. If you don't need the larger engine then I'm certain the 650 will work as well for even less.
- josh, clyde hill, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-15 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 52 y/o boomer that got my first mini-bike at 10-11y/o. There has since that time always been a bike in my "stable". Many makes and models. This DL-1000 is unoquivically the best all-around do-anything bike of them all. I can (and have) run the hill country on the week-ends and be right in the thick of it with sport-bikers. Buy slpapping on some good soft-luggage I can tour or go to the grocery store. I can do wheelies, take off up a trail, or whup many bikes in stoplight encounters. It's my all time favorite!
- darkwing, marion, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-04 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handling is long and stable, good cornering angles, 19 inch front helps when going off-road. 6th gear is overdrive 65 and up. Brakes do great job. The fairing/windshield keeps chest and partial head wind from buffering you, only long-tours you might want a larger screen. My riding partners have a Ducati multistrada & a Buell ullyses? I like mine the best! More tech engine!
- merrill utzig, lockeford, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-30 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been a great bike. It is pretty good at everything. The downside is that there is an annoying vibration at 3500 - 3800 RPM. In addition, it is very high geared. It does not smooth out in sixth gear until around 75mph. This bike is a great value for the price
- Allen Swanson, Bloomington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-15 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a monster on two wheels. If you're looking for a ride in which you will not have to back down to anyone, this is it. I needed two up comfort and the DL1000 delivers, as a matter of fact, I don't even feel the wife on the back. It took some getting used to, though. First gear is granny-low and you need to be prepared if you have to go that low. Around the 'burbs at thirty, it can be rough at times. This machine needs to get up to forty to be smooth. The seat can be tough and does take some getting used to. During the initial break-in period, I was not pleased; it was too rough and not smooth enough for my liking. However, after about 1500 miles it became what it is today - the best bike out there! At the age of fifty, I didn't want to look like all the rest and even tested Suzuki's new cruisers. It only took going through the gearbox to tell that they couldn't hold a candle to the Strom. A word of caution. This is a torque monster and can literally pull you off the bike if you're not ready. As for as the 650, possibly a better ride in the city but with two up and at highway speeds the DL1000 is the only way to go.
- Planostrom, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-28 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for over forty years and thought I found the best all around bike that I've ever owned when I bought a new FZ1 a year ago. Well last week I bought a new 2006 V-strom 1000 and it is a real winner. It does everything really great. It's not as fast as my FZ1 but it does almost everything else better. The comfort and handling are great. I didn't suspect a twin could be so smooth. The gas mileage is superb. I love it and it will replace my Yamaha FZ1.
- Jake, Palm Beach Gardens, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-24 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm not a brand specific rider, I've owned many different styles and brands of bikes, and currently own a heavy weight cruiser in conjunction with my 05 V-Strom 1000. If you are looking for a bike that is part sport bike, part standard, part tourer, part adventure bike with light dirt road capabilities - all on a budget - then this IS your bike. This bike is designed to offer another option to the ultra expensive BMW GS, the Triumph Tiger, KTM Adventurer, Aprilia Cappo Norde, Ducati Multistrada, and new Buell Ulye. However, keep in mind, those other bikes (except for the Buell and possibly the BMW) are exotic, and thus become problematic in the service, parts, and reliability arena, depending on your location. Suzukis are like Kudzu, they are everywhere and parts can be had overnight. Reliability: is very good, and there are few common issues. Earlier models (02-03) had a clutch basket problem that caused some vibration in the mid-range, but are covered under warranty. Late models have been resolved. Other than that, V-Stroms are rock solid. Performance: It is common for many new DL1000 bikes to have a low idle stumble between 2000 and 3200 rpm. This is more annoying than dangerous, but wholly unnecessary in a brand new bike. The fix is very simple and easy - have the dealer put a Yoshi box on the ECU and add 5% on the bottom end, fattening up the mixture. The bike will now be 100% ridable with no engine issues. The engine is very smooth and powerful. Twist the throttle and this bike will rock. It's not a true sportbike - the engine is detuned and the chassis is not state-of-the-art - so don't expect the same sort of performance. However, the Strom will give you so much more than any cruiser and most standards. With moderate riding skill, this bike can outperform many pure sportbikes on twisted, mountain roads. However, keep in mind racing isn't the intended purpose of the Strom. It is for two up touring, and in this arena, it does it very well. The aftermarket support for this bike is very good, and you can outfit the bike toward the sporting end, or the adventure end - with full hard bags, engine guards, center stands, larger windshields, heated hand grips, accessory outlets, knobby tires, new shocks and springs (racing or off-road), and others items. Honestly, other bikes just aren't this well supported. I'm even looking into purchasing an available (aftermarket) trailer hitch to extend my camping/fishing capabilities. Comfort: The ergonomics are rather odd. The foot placements are nearly underneath you like a standard, yet the handlebars lean your torso a bit forward. As it stands, it works very well, especially if you outfit your bike toward the sport end. But for long distance touring or any off pavement riding, I like a more upright position. This is an easy fix, as several companies offer risers. I installed my new risers in 10 minutes and it really did improve. The seat on the other hand, is good for about 40 minutes before the burn sets in and I'm ready to stop for a long rest. This is true of most every bike sold nowadays. Suzuki sells their own Gel seat, which most people find comfortable for long periods, and is inexpensive. Corbin sells a replacement, and Sargent is working on one. I had a Russell custom-made Day-Long seat, and it has really improved the comfort. This bike is truly ready for an Iron Butt ride. Quality: I find the quality, fit and finish to be extremely good. I can change the oil and filter in 20 minutes. I have not changed the air filter yet, but I understand you have to remove the gas tank to do this. From reading the forums and looking at the manual, it seems pretty easy. Once the tank is removed for the air filter, go ahead and put new spark plugs in, as they are easily accessible.
- DeepBlue, Northern Virginia, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-22 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had her for two years or seasons now. The engine is the sweetest I've ridden. In quick country roads/sweepers it rides like a two stroke. I keep it in one gear and just go. I like the high RPMs if I need them. It is more than fast enough for me. I'm 250 the wife is 200ish and on a ride coming back from western Mass. loaded with all of our stuff (hard bags/trunk I hit an indicated 125MPH. It's probably a real 115 or a bit less. It's not too bad for a 1000/996cc vtwin with our fat backsides on it. The only downside I can think of is it needs more wind protection for my height. That said, most owners agree that it needs more wind protection. When it needs a new chain, I'll gear it down a bit (and lose top speed) to have better more useful control off road. No, it's not a dirt bike, but it can handle off road poking around nicely, just needs some lower gearing. While I was trail riding (wide hiking/ATV type trails) I downshifted to find out I WAS in first, and I didn't like that one bit. At the time, I needed a lower gear, but that's an east fix, provided you won't mind losing some top end speed.
- roystr, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-05 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles since 1971 and out of 25-30 bikes, this is my second new one! I sold my Triumph Sprint Executive and my Ducati SS900 for some Japanese reliability and dependability. At 6'5", this is the best fitting bike I have owned! I'm still breaking it in, however it's smooth, powerful and very comfortable (especially with a passenger). I have decided it's not ugly...it's "different" looking! I just hate getting off of it!
- Gar Vance, Winter Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-06 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got "back in the saddle" a few weeks ago after the purchase of a new 2005 black DL1000 after several years of not owning a ride but occasionally borrowing one. My "riding legs" are a little rusty, so I put my first 100 miles in by riding around local industrial parks. Then I took off on a local Saturday morning ride and ended up riding 403 miles going from the SF bay area up highway 4 to Nevada and back down highway 80. This bike is too much fun to ride and has the most comfortable seat I have ever experienced. I am not grinding footpegs like I used to years ago on streetbikes with modified 2-stroke engines - not yet. Only complaint is the lean mixture from the factory at the low end; the engine backfires occasionally when cruising urban streets under 3,500 rpm.
- Matthew, Concord, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I commute 100 miles a day in the Bay Area. On weekends and holidays I go sport riding in the mountain twisties with my friends. I do a little long range two up touring on the west coast. The DL does it all really well. It's a great freeway machine. It inspires confidence on any road surface. Low end throw back torque for days. For the price, it's a major bargain. I'm very happy with this bike. I'm working on getting the right seat and throttle lock for long range, but that's my only niggle.
- Tom Siebenthal, Los Gatos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-10 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I commute to work year around into Seattle from a nearby Island via Ferry. I first had a cruiser, but realized I wanted something with modern technology and could keep up with my sport bike friends. But I preferred comfort over the wrist numbing forward leaning sport style, especially since I'll be commuting a lot and plan on long rides. This bike easily keeps up with any almost reasonable sport rider, plus covers all other bases. I absolutely love it.
- Slab Hardcheese, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-26 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike right off the lot. Took mine on a 3000 mile ride one week after buying it and can't imagine a better re-introduction into riding. Cruises along at 75mph easily, good on the gas, comfortable, carries plenty of gear, and maintenance is minimal. I couldn't ask for more in a great adventure/tourer/commuter.
- Marc, Imperial Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: