Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki V-Strom 1000 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Phipsd

Surrey, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2014-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Riding a maxi-scooter for the past several years has changed my opinion of this bike. I've also owned several cruisers during the time I've had the Strom. Finally, a long ride on a Triumph XC800 brought things into focus. The 1000 is still as good as ever, but other newer designs like the Triumph triple have left it behind somewhat in terms of handling, smoothness and responsive performance. What I really notice after riding a smaller, lighter bike and the newer Triumph is the slow steering. I could easily have come to the conclusion that this bike no longer cuts it. Others have. The last few years they have been on sale. Suzuki couldn't hardly give them away. Then it struck me. This bike makes a really really fine cruiser. It's got bags of torque and that stable steering along with better brakes, suspension and vastly better performance and comfort than any of the Cruisers I have owned. It doesn't look like a traditional cruiser, but it rides like one except it's faster. I'm in my 60's now. Once I wrapped my head around what their bike is really good for, I was thrilled with the ride. I like traditional cruisers, but I had gotten tired of the limitations: Scraping in the corners, small tank, limited range, lack of comfort and suspension travel. My bike is an original, an '02, so it doesn't have modern fuel injection, but if I just crack the throttle and let it rev a little more than you would expect for a 1000, it runs great even below the power band. It feels powerful even at sensible speeds, which to me is more fun than killer speed I wouldn't use. Braided lines on the brakes and the clutch greatly improved the feeling of the controls. Most of all compared to my cruisers and my scooter, I love the comfort of the roomy seat and the long travel suspension. This bike now has a second life. I'm really glad I didn't sell it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

O. Hagen

Mount Vernon, Ohio

Reviewed on 2012-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Overall, it's a great ride! It's comfortable for tall riders, runs strong and handles excellent. Coming up on the 4k service and only problem is a small drip from the radiator (hose clamp?)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Awesome Machine

San Francisco, California

Reviewed on 2008-12-14

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my V-Strom DL 1000 in February of 2008. It was a left over 2007 but they are one in the same except color. I have had many bikes, but this one is the best by far. The 650 was too anemic for me. The comfort is good but an aftermarket windshield is on the way. The suspension is too soft, but what factory suspension is not. New fork springs and rear shock spring worked wonders. The power is great. Nice torque curve too. The fuel injection is fine as long as you sync the throttle bodies. Brakes are good, but not GSXR level. But overall, you cannot get a finer bike. Many of my friends have the latest and greatest crotch rockets and they can pull away from you in the straights but it won't matter. The long travel suspension eats up bumps while they are slowing down to accommodate for the race track suspension. It is truly amazing how fast you can go on a DL 1000.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred

Rural Retreat, Virginia

Reviewed on 2008-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It has an extremely comfortable seat. Ergonomics are very good. Gravel and unpaved roads are no problem. It is very good for two-up riding. It gets 50-plus miles per gallon.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stan the Man

Quispamsis, New Brunswick

Reviewed on 2008-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well I just took the PLUNGE, and bought a used V-Strom 1000 with Givi Keyless side cases and a V46 top case and only 19000 km (approx. 12000 miles) and I sure haven't regretted my choice of bikes!! This bike is incredible in performance and comfort. I bought this bike in Quebec, Canada on Aug 14 and drove it back home which was a 7 1/2 hour drive and I had a BIG smile on my face the whole time. I have been driving motorbikes since 1978 and had just sold my 2002 Yamaha Royal Star Venture 1300 on Aug 8 so I was bike less for only six days!! The Venture was a nice bike, extra comfortable for touring, which we did a lot of, BUT it was like driving a school bus compared to the V-Strom. The V is so easy to park, turn, back-up, and drive that I am having a BLAST. I know it's not right to even compare the two (839lbs vs. 460lbs) but I'm just giving my opinion. They both have 98hp but the V is unreal going from 100kph (60mph) to 140kph (90mph). I was very glad I had read all the reviews about this bike, they were very informative and I hope that mine may sway someone into getting one of these incredible bikes!! Thanks.......... Well I've just come back from a 4-day (2011km-1250mile) camping trip, all around the island province of Prince Edward Island, up along the eastern coast of New Brunswick, and along the coast from Moncton, NB through Fundy National Park and back home just outside Saint John, NB. The bike was loaded with 125lbs of gear and I and it averaged 57 to 60.8 mpg (CDN gals) which I thought was truly amazing!! It was only towards the end of the riding day that my butt began to get a little sore which I think is a pretty natural thing to happen after a 6 to 8 hour drive. The V works flawlessly thru the twisties and country roads although it's only above 4000rpms in 6th gear that the bike starts to cruise along effortlessly (125kph or 78mph). The only complaints that I would have is that it gets blown around a bit (hang on tight) during high winds, following or passing semi trucks and the stock windshield causes severe helmet buffeting (which I read can be fixed by a larger wind screen). So besides that I truly love the bike and can't wait to ride it again tomorrow. Hope this helps on your decision, Later, STAN
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Broadwell

Chapin, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I left SC on May 15th, 2007 on my DL650. For two solid months, I ran the snot out of my Vstrom and put over 17,000 miles on it. 1500 were on dirt roads in the Yukon and Alaska. I ran the entire trip without any routine service and ran 8,000 miles without an oil change. Crossing Montana and North Dakota, I ran the bike for hours at 80-90 MPH and never got a rise in water temps. The only thing I did was lube the chain and change tires. On the 1100 mile round trip from Fairbanks to Prudhoe Bay (Alaska), I ran the DL650 with an oil cooler completely covered and clogged with mud....the motor looked like someone had turned a gunite cannon on it. Everyday I was amazed at the abuse and outright neglect this machine could endure. I can afford to buy any bike I want...including a BMW 1200GS and I can tell you, that the DL650 will keep up with any of them.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wils

Burnie, Australia

Reviewed on 2007-06-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Where to start.. Hmmm. I bought the VStrom 650 on 1/12/2006, the first day of summer. After some research I had settled on the Vstrom despite the challenges of my bike riding mates who could not understand why I had bought a 650 of all things. My friends ride 1000 + cc bikes and thought that I was turning into a girl - WRONG! I purchased the bike from a dealer in a town some 30Kms away from where I live so I had a small but long enough ride home to be bitten by the bug, well and truely. I have another bike, a Ducati 500 Pantah. Those of you that know the bike would know that the thing is on rails and handles like a dream. I can flick the thing into any corner, change direction on a toothpick and pull up on a one cent coin. The Vstrom 650 was simply unreal. I loved the riding position, upright and very comfortable, light and nimble. This has and continues to surprise me considering the size of the motorcycle, but there you go. This bike is full of surprises. I didn't want to turn off the highway and head toward my home as I was just starting to get into it, but, my wife was behind me in the car and would not have been happy if I just rode on. I rode the Vstrom into my driveway, jumped off it and sat there and perved on it for a bit. I must admit that at first the bike looked too large. I suppose that the tank had a lot to do with that as now-a-days I think that it looks fantastic, modern, sort of go anywhere with fuel to spare and in comfort to boot. I have yet to date had anyone say anything other than it looks like a fun and versatile bike and a great colour too. Even BMW tossers have had the same opinion. Oh - buy the way- not all BMW riders are tossers - only the ones who tell you that their BMW is the best are tossers - GS 1200 riders are the greatest offenders and I can stick with you lot all day and for less than half the price so I respectfully suggest you re-evaluate and buy a Vstrom 650. Anyway - my first ride of note was thru the famous, or imfamous, Hellyer Gorge in Tasmania, Australia. A beuatiful winding road thru some of the most magnificent rainforest in Tassie, and it's just up the road from my place. I did whats called the big lap. You ride west from my place and end up returning to my home town from the south. About a 100 Km ride. Not big by any means but one of the best rides anywhere I have been to date. I didn't know the Vstrom at all. It was the first day I owned it. I wasn't used to riding in the upright position and the road I chose was one of the more challenging around my area, but what a ride. I found it different at first because I felt that I was sitting too tall in the seat thru corners and thought that I was going to simply fall of the thing half way round the corner. I didn't. Since then I have changed my riding style and hang off the Vstrom like Casey Stoner. It handles beautifully and I have great confidence in the motorcycle, infact just as much as I had in the Duc, I know that this is a big call but it is true none-the-less. I have been on many rides thru-out the summer the longest being 350 Kms on one tank. My mates on their 1000+ cc bikes are lucky to get 200Kms on a tank and they are not leaving me behind particularly thru windy up or down hill sections. I just love it. Of course, now-a-days, my mates have read the reviews, bought the mags with all the great things they have too say about the Vstrom and best of all stopped stirring me about buying a 650 cc bike. Why, well it's because the Vstrom 650 is no ordinary 650. It simply flogs everything in it's class without exception. Can't go wrong! It is so much more than I expected.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Franklin, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I looked at all the Big bore dual-sport adventure type machines; BMW, KTM, Triumph and picked the V-Strom and I am pleasantly pleased with the choice. Maintenance can be done by any self-respecting bike guy. Lots of add-ons available. There must be a Suzuki shop in every moderate sized town in America. The old TL engine, de-tuned in the DL, gives gobs of torque above 4,000 rpm with a decent top-end. The six-speed is butter and the OD is tall. Good in the twisties; keeps most of the clip-on crew in sight. Two-up is a decent ride due to the big, wide seat. It is possibly the best all-around bike I have ever ridden. I have not found anything it isn't good at; 75 mph crusin' on the big road to wringing it out on one-lane gravel to draggin' pegs in an off-camber, decreasing radius downhill left-hander. A lot of scoot for the loot!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Narens

Gurnee, Illinois

Reviewed on 2007-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I put 18,500 miles on it from 4/26/06 thur 12/31/07. Rode in all sort of weather conditions. I have several 700 mile days on it and was comfortable all day. I find being tall in the saddle is great for comuting, I am at the same head height as SUV and Pick-ups. I can see everything, which is a plus on my 70 mile round trip to and from work everyday. March thru November it was my daily ride. The only trouble I have had has more to do with the rider than the bike, but 3 times at the end of a day I have dropped it while manuvering out of a parking spot. I attribute this my tiredness, but it would not have happened on my old GS1100E.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

philip

greeley, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-02-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 22 years on sport bikes, I wanted a good all around machine. The engine has good low end and mid range, though I wish for more top end, never enough, right? In a roll on against a 1990 FJ1200, from about 10mph, the Strom jumps out in front and held the FJ off till about 100mph. Pretty good for a 1000cc twin against a 1200cc 4. The 6 six speed tranny shifts well, typical Japanese, 6th is a tall overdrive. Mileage is around 45-47 usually. My high has been 53 and low was 37. Suspension is decent, front fork could be better, but the pre load adjustment actually makes a difference, unlike some stock units. Dragging the pegs is not a problem, even with the stock Bridgestone trailwing tires. Soften it up and it's a pretty cushy ride, tighten it up and drag pegs or go two up no problem. The seating position is super roomy for big or tall guys, far better than a FJR1300 and the like. It feels top heavy, but once you're moving, ride it like a dirt bike, with that narrow v-twin and wide bars you can get fairly aggressive. I rode it 3800 miles on 1 trip and on another, 2 up, 900 miles. It performed perfect, better than I expected. From Kansas to California and back to Colorado. The stock brakes are ok, the front was a little weak for me. This is not an off-road bike, first gear is too tall for that, and it does not have the suspension. Dirt roads, a smooth field, be realistic. For the money, I don't think any other bike out there can touch the Strom for all around street bike use and performance. Zero problems so far, and I did some long hard miles, 900 in one day. That TL1000 motor they put in it is bullet proof, no need to rev over 8000 rpm, pulls hard to 7000. I love my Strom, someone finally made a bike us old sport bike, flattrackin, riders can do everything we want on the street, all in one bike. It's not great at anything, just good at everything.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: