Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dual Sport

Reviews

90 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gary Anderson

Butler, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2013-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's been five years since I did the 3-year review. Now at 8 years, my 2005 DL650 V-Strom still looks great, runs great and rides great. I'm ready for some new tires again, that got me searching the web, and prompted me to do this review. I'm ready to order some road-oriented tires this time, maybe Pirelli Scorpion Trails. I have never had this bike off of the pavement. I'm long over with those thoughts. I also replaced the battery about two years ago, just as a precaution. I've ridden less in the last five years than I did in the first three years. I work from home most of the time now, so I don't have my long daily commute anymore. Also, I'm getting older (54), heavier, and am on the way to shorter. While the bike is still very comfortable, it's getting harder to swing a leg over the Givi bags and high seat. But once there, it's still very comfortable. The seat is still like new, it's held up very well. The Givi bags still look and work like new even though I kick them just about every time I mount the bike. No other new accessories, haven't thought of anything to add in years. This is the longest I've ever kept a bike. I've thought about trading for something new, but there's really nothing available that I like better. Cost of ownership has been, and continues to be very low. I carry only liability insurance anymore. I change the oil every summer now, since I don't accumulate 2,000 miles per year anymore. The last couple of years I've only added a couple hundred miles each. This spring though, I've burned through two tanks of fuel so far. that's about 300 miles per tank. Maybe I'll ride more this year.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mass Rider

Danvers, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2013-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike used late summer this year and I'm very amazed how easy it is to ride and turn. My inseam is 30 and yes, you can ride it with an 1-1/2 riding boots or higher. I found that out by accident.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Maxwell

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2013-05-28

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Like many others have said, I wish I had this bike years ago. It is a better commuter than my cruisers were, and better off road, even though it is not a dirt bike, than any pure street bikes. Excellent at nothing, but good at most. What more can I say?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2011-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After years of riding all types of motorcycles, I am really enjoying this one. I like the riding attitude and the feeling that you are up higher than normal. It has plenty of power and is very smooth for a v-twin. Wifey likes it too, she says it's as comfortable as my previous BMW. It gets outstanding fuel mileage, I average 55 mpg. The insurance is less than $200 per year full coverage. It's easy to maintain as well as easy to find parts. I think this one's a keeper and for me, that says a lot. I would highly recommend one for anyone wanting something different. Some call it the SUV or pick-up truck of the motorcycle world. It doesn't do any one thing great, it just does it all pretty darn good. Love it!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2011-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my V-Strom 650 for over three years. It's seen snow, sand, rocks and mud. It's been in 100 degree heat and 12 degree frigid weather. I have been on the same terrain as the KTM adventures and the BMW GS's. My V-Strom cost a fraction of what those cost. Once you farkle it out, there's no stopping it. The V-Strom wasn't intended to be a dirt bike but it comes pretty close. After riding it offroad, go eat up the miles on the slab. The V-Strom is a superb all around motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

giuseppe

norman, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2011-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After my teenager days on a Vespa three years ago I decided to go back into the motorcycle fun. I got myself a Honda Shadow Aero. It was a great bike for two years, but the sitting position was not ideal for me. Someone suggested me to switch to the on/off-road style, because it supports the natural curve of the spine. I looked around, BMW and Moto Guzzi were my first choices but they were expensive. A BMW rider suggested to me the V-Strom. I loved the style and look right away, did some online research, chatted with a few eurodudes who use the V-Strom for commute and long rides. I opted for it. Since May, 2010 I have a gorgeous orange V-Strom 650, new for $6,450.00. After almost 18k miles in one year and three months here is my opinion. Keep in mind I'm not the most experienced biker, I know the Vespa and Honda Aero. I'm fully satisfied with the V-Strom and the 650 engine. My sitting position is great, no lower back issues at all, throttle and torque responds good in town and on highways . Actually this can be a very reactive bike, plenty of torque and 6-speed gear, so use good judgment. Personally I never squeeze the gears or allow the rpm. to high. The CG is high, so I needed to get used to a tall bike. Fuel consumption on the highway riding around 60-65 mph. is around 57 mpg. I've been riding on I-44 between Oklahoma City and Lawton. The V-Strom holds the 75 mph. limit easy, with 5800 rpm and around 48 mpg. The rear tire lasted 14k miles, the front tire 17k. I do occasionally have a passenger. We made a trip from Lawton, OK to Palo Duro Canyon in Texas with no problems at all, including baggage. Our average speed on Texas farm roads and highways was 50 mph. The passenger seat is very comfortable. I lube the chain every 200-300 miles. The original windshield is useless. I added GIVI crash bars, MRA vario wind screen (this is a +++), Motech center stand (a must to ease your lube job), handle bar covers and the Air Hawk 2 cushion seat (this is a +++) and a KAOKO throttle lock. I may add some additional lights from PIAA. Again, I'm very happy with the V-Strom. I don't see a personal need to have the 1000cc engine. I bring it in for maintenance every 3,500-4,000 miles, religiously check my tires for proper pressure and use a bright green vest most of the time. On July 9, I was involved in an accident against a Chevy truck, riding 25 mph. The crash bars did an excellent job and my Nolan 42 helmet did an excellent job.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Stafford, Virginia

Reviewed on 2011-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my Wee-Strom for three weeks now, and have put about 300 miles on it. I have had several bikes over the years, and can honestly say that this is the bike I should have bought a long time ago. It has plenty of power (more than enough to get me in real trouble), good ergonomics (even for my troublesome knee), handles very well, is light (much lighter than any of the cruisers I have had in the past) and makes me smile whenever I ride it. My only complaint is that the seat is kind of marginal, but that should be an easy fix. All in all, this is the best bike I have ever had and plan on keeping it for a long, long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2011-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great all-around bike. Ride it as a comfortable naked bike and ride hard thru the twisties in comfort or load it up with bags and cargo and tour for a weekend or a week. One-up or two-up, the bike has plenty of power and room for every kind of road. The handling is also superb. Seating position is upright and easy on the arms, legs and back. Because it's so light, it's great as a commuter, too. I have riden mine in all kinds of weather including snow. I am amazed at how well the OEM tires perform on this bike. I laugh at rainy days.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kimmerling

FORT WORTH, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I read all the forums on this bike. I came from a Vulcan 750 cruiser. This bike rode smooth like an electric bike. I couldn't tell if it was running at freeway speed! It's smooth, fuel injected, nimble, and has perfect power for touring/city. It gets 50 plus miles a gallon. It's a higher than average bike but it allows me to see through traffic and be seen better. It has an excellent headlight! It is a chain drive so maintenance is pretty frequent for me since I put about 2,000 a month easy. So what, I learn how to clean and lube chains....bought the warranty plan so that all I really need to do now is ride baby ride! The representative at the dealership was really helpful and all about customer service (which is my big pet peeve). He advocates for the customer and doesn't seem like he is out to hustle you. It's an excellent bike for the money. Buy one now that the interest rate is low!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig

Baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2010-12-03

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki V-Strom 650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 09 V-Strom 650/ABS because I broke my right wrist and elbow (slipped on some ice) and can no longer lean forward on my wrist on a sportbike or stretch my elbow out on a big cruiser. I went to the local motorcycle show and sat on everything, looking for a comfortable fit for my bad arm. The V-Strom was a perfect fit, and the 650 seemed lightweight enough so I bought it. I assumed it would not be like my Ducati or my Honda 1300 cruiser...what I never expected is it would be better than both, and better than every bike I have owned over the last 25 years. Obviously, no bike is perfect, and if you need a long distance touring bike for two-up with lots of luggage, or you need a pure dedicated sportbike so you can weave in and out of 55 mph. traffic at 100 mph., of course look elsewhere. But if you want a supremely comfortable bike you can easily tour on, that gets 300 miles between fill ups, commutes effortlessly with great visibility and handling, or attacks twisties with its smooth sportbike motor that easily revs to 10k, all with outstanding reliability, then look no further. This is your bike - and for all it does, it is a bargain. It truly is an incredible, all-rounder. The only problem - it is a tall bike so shorter riders may have some problems. I would have never even considered this bike if I had not hurt my arm - now I look at all my buddies on their crusiers and wonder if there aren't V-Stroms on every corner instead of 700 lb. Harleys. But it is a bit like a cult bike - just check out Stromtrooper.com to see how the rest of the world love these things. I wish I would have bought a bike like this a lot sooner - don't make the mistake I made, don't wait, just do it now. And no, you don't have to thank me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 90 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: