Suzuki VX800 Motorcycles Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki VX800 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki VX800 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-09-07 1992 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 30,000 miles on the clock. Gonna run it til 100,000 if I can. These reasonably priced improvements are necessary to thoroughly wring out the chassis in all kinds of weather, pavement or gravel: Corbin seat; SuperTraps; Stiffer fork springs; HEL steel braided lines; low, almost drag bars; fork brace. Lower the forks 1". It corners great, very stable at high speeds. Will run all day at 80-90 indicated. With short bars you need to get off the bike in slower corners. You have to ride it well to keep up with R6's or CBR600's. And that is the challenge!
- GW, Bothell, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-08 1992 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike rides like a rocket until higher speeds due to five speed. Seat leaves you adjusting your butt so that needs to change. Handle bars are too high so change to something much lower, wind is crazy without a sheild. To be safe the exhaust needs to be louder. Runs like a champ even after 37,000 miles with typical valve and other services. Body parts are very hard to come by so do not buy a damaged bike, they are unsafe and there are plenty of good ones if you spend the time and money (they are worth every penny).
- Ryan Andersen, Everett, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-18 1990 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, OK. I wrote the "The Bomb" review. I finally sold the VX (what a sad day that was) to get a 900RR. Now I know what a fast bike is. I also know what one with character is: the VX800. I wish that I could afford to keep two bikes. The VX had personality that the RR just doesn't have. I love the CBR for it's performance, but miss the VX's sense of character. Great bike.
- chris, gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-19 1990 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a new rider I really don't have much to compare my VX800 to, but all the positive comments I have read are true. Runs smooth, great stability, good mid range torque, etc. Mine had 11,600 miles when I bought it last month, and after putting another 1,300 on it in five weeks I swear its running better each day. Maybe it's just now getting broke in? Could be as I have read of others going strong at 60,000 miles plus. What I like best is the way I can be riding in traffic and not have to worry about shifting all the time. With the torque being what it is, I can get up to 65mph, slow down as low as thirty five because of slow traffic or whatever, and go back to sixty five plus without shifting!! A great plus for a beginner.
- Mike Gould, Fairbanks, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-27 1990 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Why buy one of the new standards when you cane have a torquey 800cc v-twin for under 3000 bucks. It rides/looks good. People can't believe that it is 10 years old. All and all, it is a good compromise between a crotch rocket and a laid back cruiser. I wish I had two.
- HIX, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-28 1991 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had mine for 5 years now and still enjoy it very much. There is no better all around street bike for my type of riding. It is far more comfortable than a sport bike or a cruiser for any ride longer than one hour. With the addition of Progressive Suspension fork springs and K&N Super Bike handlebars (lower and less pull back), the VX handles as good or better than any bike I've ridden on the street. The motor is fantastic. I wish Suzuki would have used this engine in a dual purpose bike like the BMW GS series. Or the Defunct Honda Trans Alp. As they are more suitable for the majority of our roads in Alaska. Drawbacks are few. I do wish for a sixth gear when travelling the long stretches of highway. 3200 rpm in fifth gear gets old when the motor could easily pull a deep overdrive. No chance to gear down since it is a shaft drive. No fussing with a chain either though. It is a bit heavier than it should be but it was built to a low price. Fun factor is very high. Cost is very low. Sound is great. Vibration is never a bother. Hauls two people and our gear in ease. A removable windscreen is great for all day trips on the highway, (it is rarely put on as I like riding with out it better). Disc brakes front and rear, a liquid cooled v-twin engine that looks good, excellent tires and wheels, comfortable seat, good looking style, everything I wanted in a street bike. I highly recommend this bike to all my friends although it only appeals to those who have grown past the "I want to look cool" stage. "Cool" being either (racy) on a sport bike, or (bad) on a cruiser. Bottom line is that I would like to buy another one to build into a dual sport version someday. We all have our dreams. Enjoy.
- JAMES HELTON, Anchorage, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-14 1990 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a quick review on my second bike after my pristine SECA 550 was totaled by a car. Although I am on the short side of 5ft. 5in. this machine feels is as easy to touch my feet to the ground as my previous one. Being a mature rider who is returning to motorcycling, I appreciate the smooth nature of this beast with its ample power and torque. So far my trips have been under 200kms and I have plans for a larger one this summer. With an Air Hawk GT windshield and a set of soft bags, this machine can go a far distance and seems to be comfortable. It does not have the shortest turning radius and can be a bit top heavy. Still it tracks very well is capable in the corners at a comfortable speed. The VX 800 Web site is very helpful.
- Paul Rakowski, Ottawa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-23 1992 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my VX800 off the internet at Yahoo auction. It's a 1993 with 4,010 miles and I'm the second owner. I love v-twins that handle so that leaves out H-D's. This bike has low end grunt and cruises nicely at 65-70 MPH. What a find! Suzuki Thanks for a Great Bike!
- Eric Jacobs, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-17 1990 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had two! It has great torque, its comfortable and looks good. I went canyon riding with it, I took long trips. The current cruisers are a step backward because they don't roll-on as well or are as comfortable. I got about 45 mpg and it was smooth. I've had about 25 bikes and this one is near the top. There are faster bikes but overall I give this one a 5-star. Note: the 90's had a fuel petcock problem that caused the bottom-end to flood and could bend a rod; there is a recall. My first one had that and threw a rod through the cases. Suzuki fixed it under warrantee.
- Oscar, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-30 1991 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All in all, a great bike for the real world. A shaft driven V-Twin with sporty looks. Despite being a good ten years old, it still looks fresh and up to date. People always think that it's new, and are amazed to hear it's a 1991 model. Basically, the VX can do it all. Get luggage and a windshield and make it a sport-tourer, or get lower bars and upgrade the suspension for a suprisingly capable sporty standard. Also, there is a great online group of owners and riders. Write to vx800-L@mcf.com for more information.
- Harry Smith, Northern Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 1991 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1991 VX800 is a dream come true! With its smooth sleek unique look and smooth power band it is definitely a keeper. This is my first bike and I don't believe I will be getting another for a while this will keep me plenty busy. It has a unique style and plenty of power. Though it isn't as fast as a sport bike it will give most street bikes a run for their money. I've had mine up to 130, shhh don't tell. With the custom exhaust an all black paint job, most people mistake it for a Buell. For this hardly used 1991 VX800 with only 5500 miles I feel I got a steel for $2000. I can't figure out why Suzuki only made this bike from 1990 - 1993.
- Matt Bussell, South Bend, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 1990 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VX800 with a liquid-cooled V-twin and shaft drive is a solid machine that does as well in the twisties as on the daily commute. The styling in now being copied by newer standards. You'll find it to have a very strong roll-on in all bands with great mid-range power. The front suspension needs reworked as the stock springs are too soft. Over, this is a great value, if you can find one.
- Ken Owensby, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-01 1992 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Greatly underrated bike. Tons of character. Grunt factor defies horsepower figures and low center of gravity defies weight. Great handler with modified suspension. Upright ergonomics, glorious exhaust note, conservative good looks and unbeatable versatility make for a long term relationship. Totally unstressed, low maintenance motor and shaft drive means many trouble free miles (mine has 102,000 kms and is still very strong). No racy, one night stand. A bike to be happily married to.
- Derek Smith, Motueka, New Zealand

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-23 1991 Suzuki VX800 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VX was my first new bike after a long hiatus from motorcycling. The kids were gone, I was on my own and I got the bug again. I tried to sneak back in with a used Virago, but soon thirsted for more performance. The VX has a smooth, smooth power delivery, comfy ergonomics and good handling as well as the sport standard styling I prefer. Based on the Intruder engine in a sporting chassis, it does everything well. Too bad it didn't last, but the bike is very innocuous and not terribly trendy. A great sport tourer for those who place function and comfort over e.t. figures or street race results.
- Mark, Prosser, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: