Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki VX800 reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

GW

Bothell, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've put 30,000 miles on the clock. Gonna run it til 100,000 if I can. These reasonably priced improvements are necessary to thoroughly wring out the chassis in all kinds of weather, pavement or gravel: Corbin seat; SuperTraps; Stiffer fork springs; HEL steel braided lines; low, almost drag bars; fork brace. Lower the forks 1". It corners great, very stable at high speeds. Will run all day at 80-90 indicated. With short bars you need to get off the bike in slower corners. You have to ride it well to keep up with R6's or CBR600's. And that is the challenge!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Andersen

Everett, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-07-08

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bike rides like a rocket until higher speeds due to five speed. Seat leaves you adjusting your butt so that needs to change. Handle bars are too high so change to something much lower, wind is crazy without a sheild. To be safe the exhaust needs to be louder. Runs like a champ even after 37,000 miles with typical valve and other services. Body parts are very hard to come by so do not buy a damaged bike, they are unsafe and there are plenty of good ones if you spend the time and money (they are worth every penny).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chris

gainesville, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-02-18

Motorcycle reviewed1990 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
OK, OK. I wrote the "The Bomb" review. I finally sold the VX (what a sad day that was) to get a 900RR. Now I know what a fast bike is. I also know what one with character is: the VX800. I wish that I could afford to keep two bikes. The VX had personality that the RR just doesn't have. I love the CBR for it's performance, but miss the VX's sense of character. Great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Gould

Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviewed on 2001-09-19

Motorcycle reviewed1990 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Being a new rider I really don't have much to compare my VX800 to, but all the positive comments I have read are true. Runs smooth, great stability, good mid range torque, etc. Mine had 11,600 miles when I bought it last month, and after putting another 1,300 on it in five weeks I swear its running better each day. Maybe it's just now getting broke in? Could be as I have read of others going strong at 60,000 miles plus. What I like best is the way I can be riding in traffic and not have to worry about shifting all the time. With the torque being what it is, I can get up to 65mph, slow down as low as thirty five because of slow traffic or whatever, and go back to sixty five plus without shifting!! A great plus for a beginner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

HIX

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2001-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed1990 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Why buy one of the new standards when you cane have a torquey 800cc v-twin for under 3000 bucks. It rides/looks good. People can't believe that it is 10 years old. All and all, it is a good compromise between a crotch rocket and a laid back cruiser. I wish I had two.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JAMES HELTON

Anchorage, Alaska

Reviewed on 2001-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed1991 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had mine for 5 years now and still enjoy it very much. There is no better all around street bike for my type of riding. It is far more comfortable than a sport bike or a cruiser for any ride longer than one hour. With the addition of Progressive Suspension fork springs and K&N Super Bike handlebars (lower and less pull back), the VX handles as good or better than any bike I've ridden on the street. The motor is fantastic. I wish Suzuki would have used this engine in a dual purpose bike like the BMW GS series. Or the Defunct Honda Trans Alp. As they are more suitable for the majority of our roads in Alaska. Drawbacks are few. I do wish for a sixth gear when travelling the long stretches of highway. 3200 rpm in fifth gear gets old when the motor could easily pull a deep overdrive. No chance to gear down since it is a shaft drive. No fussing with a chain either though. It is a bit heavier than it should be but it was built to a low price. Fun factor is very high. Cost is very low. Sound is great. Vibration is never a bother. Hauls two people and our gear in ease. A removable windscreen is great for all day trips on the highway, (it is rarely put on as I like riding with out it better). Disc brakes front and rear, a liquid cooled v-twin engine that looks good, excellent tires and wheels, comfortable seat, good looking style, everything I wanted in a street bike. I highly recommend this bike to all my friends although it only appeals to those who have grown past the "I want to look cool" stage. "Cool" being either (racy) on a sport bike, or (bad) on a cruiser. Bottom line is that I would like to buy another one to build into a dual sport version someday. We all have our dreams. Enjoy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Rakowski

Ottawa

Reviewed on 2001-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed1990 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Just a quick review on my second bike after my pristine SECA 550 was totaled by a car. Although I am on the short side of 5ft. 5in. this machine feels is as easy to touch my feet to the ground as my previous one. Being a mature rider who is returning to motorcycling, I appreciate the smooth nature of this beast with its ample power and torque. So far my trips have been under 200kms and I have plans for a larger one this summer. With an Air Hawk GT windshield and a set of soft bags, this machine can go a far distance and seems to be comfortable. It does not have the shortest turning radius and can be a bit top heavy. Still it tracks very well is capable in the corners at a comfortable speed. The VX 800 Web site is very helpful.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Jacobs

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-01-23

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my VX800 off the internet at Yahoo auction. It's a 1993 with 4,010 miles and I'm the second owner. I love v-twins that handle so that leaves out H-D's. This bike has low end grunt and cruises nicely at 65-70 MPH. What a find! Suzuki Thanks for a Great Bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Oscar

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2000-11-17

Motorcycle reviewed1990 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had two! It has great torque, its comfortable and looks good. I went canyon riding with it, I took long trips. The current cruisers are a step backward because they don't roll-on as well or are as comfortable. I got about 45 mpg and it was smooth. I've had about 25 bikes and this one is near the top. There are faster bikes but overall I give this one a 5-star. Note: the 90's had a fuel petcock problem that caused the bottom-end to flood and could bend a rod; there is a recall. My first one had that and threw a rod through the cases. Suzuki fixed it under warrantee.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Harry Smith

Northern Mississippi

Reviewed on 2000-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed1991 Suzuki VX800

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
All in all, a great bike for the real world. A shaft driven V-Twin with sporty looks. Despite being a good ten years old, it still looks fresh and up to date. People always think that it's new, and are amazed to hear it's a 1991 model. Basically, the VX can do it all. Get luggage and a windshield and make it a sport-tourer, or get lower bars and upgrade the suspension for a suprisingly capable sporty standard. Also, there is a great online group of owners and riders. Write to vx800-L@mcf.com for more information.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: