Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Motorcycles Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-12-15 1997 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently picked up a teal/chrome 1997 Suzuki Marauder from a local used motorcycle shop, and I've gotta tell you, it is a great all-around bike. I have had several bikes before, like sport and older-style Kawasakis, but nothing like this guy. It's a great 805 cc, so there's plenty of thunder under you, but it was also very affordable. Lots and lots of chrome so it blings when you ride it down the street. The overall look is a lot like a low-riding Harley. I love the inverted forks. It gives a beefy front-end feel when you're riding that makes the road seem like it's bowing down under you. Plus, your arms are sorta stretched out in front of you like Billy in Easy Rider. A few people have said it gives off a dragster feel when you see it. However, anyone looking for a dragster bike, this is probably not it. Although it goes plenty fast for me, some people who are used to a quicker low end (I used to have a Katana) might not get the power they would want (out of the high end, either). But overall for speed, it's got great pickup from a stop and it's got high-end response at even 70 and 80 when you need some speed. Another problem is the low clearance when taking corners. don't try any evel knievel stuff or you'll probably hit the ground. But the overall room on the bike is plenty for me (I'm 6-foot-1, 220 pounds) and my girl (she's 5-foot-9, not gonna ask her weight). My arms get plenty of stretch and my legs feel comfortable with combat boots on(however, thick biker boots kinda get stuck under the gearshifter and make it hard to shift). The chrome rules, and anyone hoping to get a Harley-looking bike for 1/2 or 1/3 the price, the Marauder is a steal. It's got a better look than the later models, too, I think. Maybe I'm just biased but the front-end and forks on the 1998-newer models seem too low. The 1997 is chopped a little higher, it looks like. But maybe it's just the shots of the newer ones make it look different. The stupid thing is the fork lock. It's a separate lock on the front end and you have to use a different key, which sucks really bad. Suzuki could've done better than that. And don't try pushing the Marauder around without power; it's real heavy and bulky to maneuver. Anyway, all-in-all it's been a great two weeks riding around Houston/Galveston on the Marauder. I look forward to many years of riding it, even if the seat does make your butt fall aspleep after awhile. It's a great bike. And unless you've got a problem being happy with what you've got, you shouldn't listen to any negative reviews about how you'll soon want something bigger. It's plenty of bike for the average rider.
- Captain Pete McRunnel, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-23 1998 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike a month ago and loving every minute of it. I have been off a bike for over ten years and decided it was time to get back into it. I was looking for something nice with decent power, reliable, and inexpensive. The VZ7800 was the perfect fit. I have since put a new mustang wide seat (recommended), Mapam foward controls, bigger drag handlebars, mirrors and some chrome accessories. The bike looks awesome
- Luis D. Cintron, Fajardo, Puerto Rico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-10 1997 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a bike that had enough power for me and the size for my wife. The bike rides Great and handles the corners sweet. I have many comments on how great all the chrome looks on it. See you on the road.
- Gene Beaver, Tacoma , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-01 1998 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I checked out a lot of new bikes and brands first before I found this one. I bought it used with only 2100 original miles on it (it was also bought in 1999 but 98 model year), so to me that is a brand new bike. I figured for a first bike I didn't want to spend about $10,000 or up and then find out I don't like riding or the bike itself. I bought this one because I liked the way it sat and I felt like if I dropped it (which I already did twice - no damage) it wouldn't freak me out like a new one. The HD Sportster is too top heavy for me, the Honda Shadow too wide, and a lot of the lower bikes seemed too heavy or the engine too big for a beginner like me. I like the options I can get with my bike and a lot of aftermarket companies have goodies for it too because of the cruiser style. The only thing I don't like about it is the handlebar reach- it's not too wide but too far. But maybe that is because I am a 5'5" female. So either I will get used to it or change them. All in all it is a pretty impressive bike and for some reason, mine doesn't look maroon and white like the Suzuki site says is the color combo for that year, it really looks burgundy and cream. It is a sharp color combo and no, the paint is not faded - it is all the same color even under the pillion seat. It has plenty of power and can keep up with the rest of the bunch but doesn't look like a little bike. This is one I can recommend to both beginner and experienced rider who is looking for a nice looking bike at the right price.
- Judi, Vero Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-05 1998 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is FANTASTIC...just right for cruising around town, and short trips. Seating is comfortable and overall handling exceeds expectations. The bike has kinda a Harley look...not a bad thing. Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this bike.
- Loboviejo, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-13 1997 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is kind of a sheep in wolf's clothing. Neat muscle-bike looks with a chain drive and short drag bars, but only about 41 horses so keep your wig on. The saddle is horrible, replace that right away. I added mini floorboards and most people jet out the carbs and put on aftermarket pipes to try to squeeze a few more ponies out of it- that's up to you. It's a great starting-out cruiser with low, easy to handle gravity and it's affordable! Cut your teeth on this for a while and then maybe graduate to a big twin...
- Mark, Boulder, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-11 1997 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For a long time I wanted to get myself a Harley. But, as a new rider I thought I had better get something that I could learn how to ride first. I work on an ambulance, we had some down time and walked in to CycleWest here in Petaluma CA. Welcomed with a bright exciting smile and all the time I needed to figure it all out. I ened up buying a 1997 Maurauder 800. Its a great looking bike and easy to ride. It has a low center of weight and handles super. Thanks to CycleWest, their attitude, and a great bike, I am hooked forever. Now I am looking forward to that Harley!
- Priscilla, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: