SYM Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with SYM Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any SYM Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2016-03-05 2008 SYM RV 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my scoot since it was new. Currently has a little over 20,000 miles. Here are some facts about my scoot ....engine has performed perfectly .....still runs extremely tight with no rattles .....I change oil about every 3000 miles .....wired thing..at about 6600 moles, the odometer goes back to zero. Kinda bothers me, but I'm used to it now .....speedometer reads 10% fast. That being said , I've had it up to 90 (going downhill). This really translate to about 80 mph. .....gas mileage was never what was stated when I bought it. Actual mileage is about 50 mpg .....factory installed side mirrors are not very effective. I bought 2 others. There's already a hole for the mirrors . .....parts for it are hard to find. I think they've quit importing this model. There's a guy in China that I found on eBay that seems fair .....I love my bike . If I had to do it all over again, I'd buy the exact same thing
- Anonymous, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-09-14 2009 SYM CITYCOM 300i Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been such a good bike, that instead of the usual tradeoff, I'll be keeping it. On the plus side: Despite relatively modest power for this class of bike, it's quick off the line and up to 50 mph. Compared to my big bike, it runs on fumes. It's been dead reliable. The handling with good tires is very good. It steers well and it takes high speeds and rough roads to detect occasional frame flex. The limitations of scooter design mean that it's never going to be as solid as a top of the line bike, still it's very good. The handling is one of the main reasons why the bike remains a pleasure to ride. I really appreciate the weather protection and the excellent CVT makes urban rides way more fun. The generous under seat storage and the grocery hook make it very useful and handy as well. Downsides? The quality of engine, driveline and electrics is outstanding. Kept stock, maintained and not abused, these bikes will last a very long time. The bike is sensitive to oil quality. After 2,500 km. commercial grade 15-40 made the bike sound like a threshing machine. It sounded like it needed a valve adjustment badly. In fact, they were fine. Synthetic 5-40 restored the quiet running. The brakes could be better. They work well enough with good aftermarket pads, but pad life with only a single front disc is short, about 12,000 km. with EBC organics. The brake discs themselves need replacing at 20,000 miles. Other than normal consumables: a battery, tires, pads and a light bulb - this will be the first part replacement the bike has needed. Suspension is very good for a scooter, but nothing to write home about. It could be better. This is a good running bike but the comfortable maximum cruising speed is 7,000 rpm. which works out to an actual 68 mph. The bike will go faster easily, but it's a small motor. 6,500 rpm. feels much more relaxed and gives much better gas mileage. It's not a sport bike and I like my bikes to last, so I don't push it. That means I can't always do our new higher speed limits so I may at times stick to the slow lane, but I don't find it a problem, just a realistic limitation. The backroads are as fun as ever. The valves have never needed adjusting and even the spark plug is original. It's important to stick with the stock CVT belt for durability.
- Phipsd, Surrey, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-06-01 2009 SYM CITYCOM 300i Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I enjoyed all 300 miles on this scoot. It has great get-up-and-go from a stop. It's easy to out run any city traffic. The large wheels are great for potholes. The low center of gravity makes it so easy to handle. If you think the seat is too high, this thing will balance on one's tippy toes at the traffic lights. 45 to 60 mph. is no problem and there's plenty of passing power at those speeds. I'm sure it would do the 70 mph. on the freeway (Just wear a day-glo vest. You are a small spec on the freeway.) I miss the turn signal beeper this has. You will never make a turn and leave the signal on. The windshield is low enough to see over yet gives plenty of head-on wind and bug deflection. Buy it, you'll love it.
- Jack, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-28 2008 SYM HD 200 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
On a recent trip to New York City from Washington D.C., the bike turned 10,000 miles. On the 615-mile trip it averaged 75 mpg. The top speed ranged from 66-72 miles/hour. I went straight up I-95 on the way up. I stayed to the right but did my fair share of passing. On the way back I came thought PA I-78 and US-30. It was more scenic and just one 75-cent toll. Hopefully the folks at SYM will get the distribution thing for the entire United States straighten out. They have good products but haven't marketed them well at all.
- ron, laurel, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-30 2008 SYM HD 200 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We actually bought this scooter for my wife, but I ride it too. I'm an old motorcyclist. I did the research on larger scooters when my wife wanted to go bigger than her Honda Metro. We checked out some Kymcos, this SYM and looked at Vespas, the Yamaha Vino 125 and a few others. We chose a 2008 SYM HD200 new, leftover model, and have never looked back. My only criticism of this scoot is that it doesn't have a kick starter as a backup. that's it! It's comfortable, very fast (for a 200cc), reliable and gets great gas mileage. This 200 will cruise at 55-65 mph. no sweat. Freeways? No problem. Uphill? No problem. It easily gets 70++ mpg. There's plenty of storage. You can still find leftover 2008's for as low as $2,200. What's not to like?
- Jon , Puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-14 2009 SYM CITYCOM 300i Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has been completely trouble free which is more than I can say than for my previous Italian made (pre-Chinese) piaggios. Italians have nice styling but reliability and technology dodgy. Chinese assembly appears even worse. Taiwanese design and build quality are great and I really like the styling of this model. 16" wheels make for good handling. I have heard the comfort problems of the seat but I am little and the seat shape works perfectly for me as I need to be forward on the seat when stationery. On the move I just shift back and up on the seat. I have had it up over 140 kph. and get easy 285 per tank full. It uses 9.7 litre for this distance on 91 octane. I got a great deal on it in a sale. My only moan would be the only color available was very dark navy which is OK but would have preferred silver or the lighter blue. Get one.
- kiwiscooter, Auckland, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-15 2009 SYM FIDDLE II 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't predict the future, but SYM has a reputation for quality so I expect to get many years out of this scooter. It seems to be very well built. Handling, performance, braking and ride are all first rate. Last week I spent 10 hours on a new Vespa LX 150 in a motorcycle training class. The Vespa was nice but I strongly prefer the Fiddle. This may be personal to me, but the seat on the Fiddle gives me a very comfortable position while the Vespa seat became quite uncomfortable over time.
- Viennacoup, Bainbridge Island, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-20 2009 SYM RV 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am in love with my new scooter. I am new to the 2 wheel world and did not want to deal with a clutch. My scooter keeps right up with the big guys. I took a motorcycle safety class where I had to learn the clutch. I enjoyed it, but still prefer my scooter. My daughter and I like to go joy riding on the weekends. When traveling at highway speeds, it does not even feel like there is a passenger with me. I give the RV250 2 thumbs up!!
- Sandra, Lowry, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: