Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles Reviews (42)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-12-01 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike for five years. I have never owned a bike that so many people come up to and stare and wow. I've owned Harleys and Hondas and this bike put them to shame. The handling and power are great for a bike this size. If you keep up with the services, you won't have any trouble. For riding around town or on a trip, it performs to the max. It's hard to imagine why more of these bikes are not sold in America - if you're looking for a high performance cruiser.
- CHUCK SPERRY, CLOVER, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 7th Triumph over the past 40 years, and my favorite without a doubt. I've had my TBA for 5 years; got it from wanna-be who only put 1500 mi. on it, but also put lots of pricey accessories. I've got @ 30k mi. on it now, with virtually no repairs -- breaks, oil, rubber. It beats me a bit more than my H-D riding friends on the hwy (no windscreen), but I kill them in the hills. And when we stop, people knock over $30k Harleys to get a good look at my Triumph. Great bike.
- Jerry, Yuba City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-09 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used in Feb. 08. All of the upgrades were installed by the previous owner. The only things I have had to do to keep it on the road are replace the front brake pads and change the oil. This is the most reliable bike that I have ever owned and maintenance and parts are very reasonably priced at the local dealer. This bike handles, accelerates and brakes better than any cruiser that I have ever ridden. You can really get it over in a turn without feeling unstable. Hats off to the Triumph engineering team on this one.
- Matthew Bridger, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-13 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, it has great handling and great balance, a comfort ride and has been a pleasure to ride, I have gone on long distance trips and enjoyed every mile! It's reliable and got a lot of compliments on this nice cruiser! With small modifications it is easy to add a few extra horse power to this bike! All around a great value for your dollar! don't hesitate to buy this one!
- Rick K., DuBois, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-20 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my BA 2002 in the spring of 03...Have had NO problems at all....Wife and I ride mostly on the Blue Ridge Pkwy....30 miles from house...enough power with both of us up....ALWAYS gets looks and questions when we stop....Every April 1st....New oil, and service...and just keep going....Did a recent weekend ride with friend and his wife to Boone, NC....His was a HD Road King...He could not keep up with me and the wife on the BA....
- Harbjr, Lynchburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is without a doubt the best value in mid weight cruiser motorcycles. Everywhere I ride people always stop and ask questions, this bike always draws a crowd. Besides, everybody has a Harley. It is a very good running bike especially after jetting and aftermarket exhaust. If you buy a TBA you will not be dissapointed and you will stand out in a sea of Harley and Japanese Harley clones.
- Dwayne Biser, Fairfax, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-03 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a holiday in the States, I was amazed at how cool the cruiser bikes looked. I have ridden bikes for over 25 years and have never owned a cruiser. So, on my return home I had a look around and decided on the Triumph America. It's a really easy bike to ride, very comfortable and a real head turner! No problems with the bike at all, and although it hasn't got a massive engine, it performs brilliantly. Overall, a real cracker of a bike!
- Ross Denholm, Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-01 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode Triumphs in the '70s and '80s. I liked them then and love them now. My Bonnie America is smooth, accellerates like a champ, and handles like a dream. If I had to do it all over, I'd buy two Triumphs instead of just one. that's how great this bike is.
- James, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-11 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought my 2004 America having never ridden one. I haven't ridden a ton of street bikes, but I knew not to expect much from an 800. Well, 700 miles later and I am still surprised by the torque and acceleration of this bike. It runs great at low and mid RPMs and really takes advantage of the 4 valve cylinders at high revs. The ride is nice and tight - very smooth over nasty pavement, but very hunkered down and ready for the twisties. The bars are right where they should be, although the forward pegs take a little getting used to. The seat is not too bad, but most people will probably feel the need to go with a high quality saddle. I must say, I am glad I didn't spend more or even the same on a different bike. I would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to just do highway duty.
- Josh, Palm Coast, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 40 years and have ridden or owned all types of bikes. My '02, TBA is without comparison. I'm an average rider at 3,500 miles a year. My TBA is a one-off factory machine having been photographed for the '02 accessory catalog and making the rounds of the bike shows and tours on the Triumph truck. It is chromed out and has a Corbin solo seat. It draws more attention and comments than a naked lady in church! I believe it to be the King of the medium cruiser class and it eats up the big baggers off the line and in the twisties. I recommend it to anyone considering this type/style of machine.
- Anonymous, Oregon, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-05 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in July and have put 1,800 trouble free miles on it. Runs like a dream, and keeps up nicely with the "bigger bikes". The service has been excellent, though I haven't needed anything but a break-in oil change. I receive constant compliments and during the 9-11 ride from DC to NYC I got a string of nice comments about my bike mostly from the HD riders. Drawbacks: power up steep hills, and I wouldn't suggest two up for any distance. Stock exhaust is too quiet, drivers were surprised when I passed but a new exhaust cured that and boosted performance. Those are minor complaints for a bike that is a joy to ride, it handles like a dream and looks like a million bucks. Overall a great bike and for the price positively outstanding!
- Chalres rowe, CharlesTown, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-22 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Bonneville America and I love it. The bike has plenty of power plus it is a head turner. I have had Harly owners cross the road to ask what it is and seem to do nothing but compliment the bike. It rides and handles like a dream. I love the fact that there is isn't one on every street corner. It also out classes everything of twice the price. I can't tell you how many people say that their first real bike was a Triumph. They say that owning it made them love riding even more.
- chris, stow, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-18 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 1200 miles on my 2004 this summer and love the way it handles in the twisties, love the brakes, love the engine, and love its looks. The factory seat and front pegs left something to be desired - so they got switched for Triumph's custom seat and floorboards (problem solved). Gas mileage is decent (40-42 mpg on average - 50's on the road, high 30's in town). Power is strong off the line but gets a little thin when you're going up a long hill. I have to downshift in order to get the juice flowing fast. Two-up riding power is adequate, not stunning. But it compensates by dripping with class. Lots of heads turn when they see a Triumph. That translates into frequent conversations at the gas pump. Or the store. Or the park... This bike handles seriously well for a cruiser - whether it's in a parking lot, downtown, or running up a National Forest road. And I have no problem keeping up with HDs and just about everyone else. Maintence is a snap. I haven't had any mechanical or other problems. This may well be the last bike I ever buy (I've owned dozens) - it's just that good.
- Del Richardson, Bonners Ferry, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I found this bike easier to ride than the one I was given to do my riding skills course on. Comfortable to the point I think it's actually fixing my back problems rather than aggravating them, possibly because it demands a reasonable posture. I got a 2002 model at a discount in May 2004. Prefered the black silver color. The bike attracts a lot of positive comments from all sorts of people: young, old, male, female. The thing has real personality. The only negative comments relate to the pipes. People think the bike ought to sound like an old Triumph rather than a "VW". It doesn't bother me though because remedies are available. I read it was the best selling model for Triumph in Australia & Triumph were the best selling European manufacturer here (beat BMW). I think they should have stuck with derivatives like the Speedmaster rather than the way they've gone this year. Time will tell.
- BPL, Newcastle, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in the spring of '02. It has done nothing short of improve the quality of my life. I have discovered the foothills and moutains of NC & VA like never before. The bike has a comfortable riding position, especially for a big person, and handles through twisties and elevation as smooth and tight as a cruiser bike can. I seldom have trouble keeping up with the sport bikes in my rat pack when we navigate the mountain roads. Over the 16,500 miles I've travelled, I have not had one mechanical glitch. I do keep it serviced regularly and clean it often. I am on the third rear tire and second front. I found the original Bridgestones to be less then adequate and comfort and handling improved when I switched to Dunlops. I still have the original chain which has held up very well and still looks to have a long way to go. Again, proper maintenance is key here. In my opinion the bike is very stable at highway speeds with little vibration. I recently made a 1200 mile trip over 4 days and was well pleased with the reliability, although I must admit, when its time to stop for fuel you are ready to get off and stretch a bit. The original seat could stand more cushion. This bike is certainly not the fastest in its class but it has plenty of torque and can power up nicely once you are through the gears. I have come to really like the placement of the speedometer, but would have liked a tach to be standard equipment. You only have to glance yours eyes down slightly to see the speedometer, instead of moving your whole head down (thus taking your eyes off the road longer) to see a tank mounted speedo, like many other cruisers. With regards to carrying a passenger, a sissy bar is a must but lets face it, most average sized spouses won't want to be perched on that postage stamp of a rear seat for more than about 100 miles. If you plan to have a riding companion more often than not, this might not be the bike for you. My overall impression of this bike is of course, outstanding. A good looking, dependable, great handling, dream of a bike to own.
- Roger, Statesville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-25 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I could not be more impressed with it. Being a Brit, it was great to have a British bike with classic American cruiser styling as an option. I have friends with Harley's and Yamaha's but I think for the overall bang for the buck, this bike takes a lot of beating. Size wise it is a pretty big bike and comparable to and maybe a little bigger than most mid-range cruisers. Performance wise it is faster than my friend's 1100 VStar and a lot more responsive than the heavier Harley's. Its lower weight might be a negative factor on a windy or busy highway but for most purposes it is a breeze to ride. I have ridden it in town, over windy country roads, highways and mountain roads and it has performed really well across all of these. The fastest I have taken it so far is 85 mph so haven't stretched it too much while breaking the engine in. The bike is set up really well and with the exception of the ignition, which is positioned behind and below the last place you would want it to be, everything is in the right place and the bike is very comfortable to ride over long journeys. It draws some attention too. A lot of people have fond memories of their Triumph days and like the look of the TBA a lot. The only problem I have had is an oil leak which happened at 1000 miles. We had been stuck in standstill traffic at 85 degrees for an hour or so and this may have been a factor with the air cooled engine. Anyway the bike started to lose oil and the situation got worse over the journey home. It turns out that the rocker cover gasket was to blame. The cover may have not been torqued down correctly - don't know. All in all, I am a happy guy. This bike is fantastic!
- Mike, Wayland, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-02 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my Bonni last year and LOVE it!. A bike for someone who does not want to be like every other biker in the crowd. Looks great and rides great. A lot of add ons availible for a custom look. Try the Bubs Dresser Dog pipes for a good low throaty sound. You cannot go wrong with this bike.
- Joe, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-12 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The basic bike functions well. Engine performance is something to get used too. Never had such a flat power curve throughout the RPM range, it pulls hard! No tachometer, hmmm! I feel the T100 dash would be a better option than trying to piece together the gauge arrangement, which pleases the particular rider. Seating arrangement is adequate but could use some tweaking. The handlebars are a bit too short for 5'9" rider. I found myself leaning forward to grasp the bars. Vibration at freeway speeds was not tolerable for me so I slowed the engine down some with gearing. I love the chrome bezel on the gas tank but I found myself blinded lately by the sun hitting squarely in the middle of the chrome bezel atop the gas tank!! Sunglasses help but they don't alleviate the situation. I am looking to have a stencil made for it to cover the top surface save the gas cap.
- Trumpy, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-20 2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike approximately a year ago and have been in love ever since. It handles and rides better than can be imagined. The stock exhaust is a bit puny, and I recommend Specialty Spare aftermarket exhaust with matching jet kit. This is an affordable, new classic cruising motorcycle that will have Harley owners turning their heads.
- James Meyer, Daytona Beach , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-03 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new Bonny America. This ride is unbelievable. For starters, I have been riding since I was 14. My adult life consisted of Harleys. I am 50 years old now and when I was a kid I went through Honda Scramblers, then graduated to a 65 Triumph trophy. Took time out for the SE Asia war games, came home, and started with a 1960 Sportster with a Joe hunt mag and Springer frontend. Moved up to a 54 panhead with a suicide and ratchet head shifter. Finally settled with a 79 FLH dresser. Then I grew up got married and said bye bye to bikes. After lifes lessons, divorce, kids grown up, my future finally settled down (re-married of course)the urge came back, and the spouse had no problem with it. I looked around and every dentist, stockbroker, and office nerd was riding a Harley. They had no clue what a kick starter was, or a 21 in straight laced wheel. When I rode a Harley, you were considered an outlaw, even though the majority of us weren't. It was a bit of a status symbol. My non-conformist nature kicked in. About a year ago, I saw my 1st Triumph America, online. 6 mo later I went to a San Bernardino dealer and saw one for real. I fell in love with it. It is a year later, and I purchased a brand new 2003. I got a great deal because it is DEC, and the 2004's are here. I put Bub's pipes on it to boost the HP a little, and this thing kicks. I have yet to see another one on the road. I get nothing but compliments from my old H-D buds. The new Harley riders are in awe, and some have expressed there misgivings about there road hog purchase. It is a real effort to get on your hog and take off for just an hour or so. Not with my Trumpet. don't get me wrong, I stll love my Harleys, but price, and the new H-D riders forced me to reconsider. I made my choice, and I love it. Thank you Triumph, you given me some long lost memories back.
- JB, SoCal/Inland Empire, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-23 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE HAD MY AMERICA SINCE MARCH 0F 2002. DONE SOME CUSTOMIZING AND REGULAR MAINTANCE WITH NO PROBLEMS
- highlife, st paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my TBA in June of 2002 and have been riding for most of two seasons. After more than 14K miles (and two spills), I've got no complaints with the bike. It handles very well, has moderate power and acceleration, and is relatively simple to maintain. I've outfitted mine with forward pegs and a small windscreen, and as might be inferred from the mileage I've put on it, I have had no problems staying comfortable on long trips. I've ordered and will be installing a tach on it because, give the low noise pipes, I too often lose track of whether or not I'm in 5th gear. Finally, there are so few of these things on the road that it's an easy conversation starter. I was going to upgrade to something bigger and *better* next year, but given the difference in price, the TBA is a great value so I've decided to stay with it a little longer.
- Norm Trudel, Gorham, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-27 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have owned this bike for 16 months and found it to be a great value for money cruiser -exhausts do need to be modified to get that Triumph of old sound. Great reto look with generous chrome finish - traditional carburetor adds to the nostalgia. Could do with a tachometer stock purchase. Felt as though there needed to be another gear once in 5th. Once you get it up to 90 mph plus you really do feel like your moving and catching the wind. Good to see the availability of after market accessories.
- Deno , Waikato, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-24 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my new Triumph America in April 2003. Though the weather here in the east has been poor riding weather (to put it nicely), my time spent on the bike has been a dream. Great ride, and lots of compliments on the looks and the sound (I put on Bub's "Dresser Dogs" silencers). The forward controls let you hang back and cruise, though a little more forward adjustment would be nice as my legs are long. The seat fits your backside well and I hear it gets better as it breaks in. I would have liked better riding pegs, a metal front fender and dash, but I can take a little plastic and the peg issues with no problem as I purcahsed grips and pegs from Ma's cycle. The bike is well ballanced and handles great on the back roads and the highway. It has a lot going for it, and I am positive that I could not have made a better choice in a cruiser. Finally, it is nice to have a bike that not everyone else is ridding. Far and few between, but that is all the better. Get one, you will not be disapointed that's for sure.
- Josef Gazzola, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-22 2002 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the motorcycle but exhaust sound needs a lot of improvement. It has a standout retro look and I have received many compliments on the caspian blue color.
- Gene Constantine, Taneytown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: