Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-11-03 2008 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2008 Bonneville Black is the final year of the carbs before the EFI began on the 2009 models. I purchased mine in Florida with 1,300 miles and about 15 months from the original owner. It needed some wires and other rubber parts replaced that had been chewed thru by storage facility rats, but otherwise a regular service was performed and I headed off to Daytona Bike Week for some riding. It was great in heavy Florida rains that didn't keep me from holding steady at 65 for over two hours, fully loaded with a Chase Harper Tank Bag and Tourmaster III XL bags, all full. The tank plus reserve takes you only about 125-135 miles, so true touring is not as easy, and you probably wouldn't want to take the country roads too far. I then took it from Florida to New York City over three days, approximately 450 per, nine hours each day. No worries on US 95 as the truck flew by at 90, the Bonneville held firm. I added a shield to make the run easier and it was a big improvement. That brings us to the customability of the Bonneville. There are thousands of accessories and performace upgrades available from Triumph, Triumph-partner OEMs like Arrow, and aftermarket vendors/manufacturers like newbonneville.com and others. I have added the Arrow 2:2 exhaust system and Jet Kit, the luggage mentioned above, Triumph OEM gaiters, and more. There is so much availalble, you will probably never see another just like yours. Performance off the line is sharp and smooth. Hit 5th gear around 60 mph and settle into cruising around 70, nice and quiet all day. For under $9,000 for a new model, this is a ton of big bike performance and fun for the buck.
- David, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-24 2007 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up the bike (an '07 with around 10,800 mi on the clock) yesterday; bought it used for a deal I couldn't pass up. Terrific character, both mechanically and aesthetically. Has more than enough power for me (mostly urban commute, with the occasional jaunt to Austin). I had a '84 Virago 1000 before the Bonnie, and there's just no comparison. It came with Norman Hyde 'M' bars, which provide a nice sporty position, but will cause a little discomfort during a long haul; nothing unmanageable though. Watch out for leaky valve cover gaskets; I noticed after about 60 miles of freeway riding that when I got back to the house, there was a nominal amount of oil on the top of the cooling fins. Apparently this is a very common problem, and not too terribly difficult to rectify (would it be a Triumph if it didn't leak?!? lol) If you are searching for a great retro-styled bike with modern reliability, search no further than Triumph. Safe riding...
- Austin L., Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-14 2005 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike new out of the crate with less than 1 mile on the odometer. It has started first time, smoothly every time, including after being locked up in the garage for 6 month periods a couple of times. It is to me the motorcycle equivalent of the classic (Coca Cola) bottle design, I want to keep it in my living room as a piece of art as it's so classically beautiful. Anyway, It get's better as it also rides like a dream ,great power for me,superb nimble handling due to it's light weight. This must be my tenth Motorcycle in my life, from dirt bikes to Honda Interceptors and between and it is the best overall bike of all. It's not a Japanese Rocket,It's not yet another Harley clone cruiser... It's just a perfect bespoke trouble free motorcycle. I have the Triumph 'off road' pipes,larger main jets that come with the pipes,T-100 tachometer,I painted Gold inlay in the indented Triumph seat logo and removed the disgusting looking big red rear mudguard reflectors and orange front side reflectors..they went in the trash! I will never sell this Bike...I am at 5,000 plus perfect fun miles now with nothing but three oil changes, chain adjustments and a set of new rear pads. It's the best $6600 I ever spent!
- Chumley, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-17 2008 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Bonnie for about 8 months now and I ride it literally every day. I commute to work during weekdays and cruise around the country on weekends. The motorcycle does both with ease due to its frame design. It handles like a dream on sharp turns or U-turns and also provides plenty of power when cruising in high speeds. Everywhere I go people recognize the Bonneville and yet this type of motorcycle is highly unpopular on the street, so riding one is really a unique experience that sets you apart from the rest of the cycle herd that mainly consists of cruiser and crotch-rocket riders. I've had two cruisers before my Bonnie and always had an identity complex with them and felt like I had to customize them to be able to stand out... although cruisers are quite comfortable on long-country rides they are a bit too clumsy and heavy for commuting. I recommend this motorcycle to anyone that loves the old school looks of the bike and am sure that they will share the same pleasure of riding it as I do - after all, this bike has been around for 50 years.
- Dragan H., Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over the years I have had many different motorcycles, but my heart has always remained with Triumph. Although the early models were somewhat non oil retainers and not very reliable, Triumph has stepped up to the plate with the new Bonneville. It took a long time for me to decide to go back to a Bonneville, as I had ridden many thousand K's on my previous one in the hot Pilbara heat of Australia, and spent a lot of time repairing and rebuilding the old girl. Reluctant as I was, I dived in and purchased the 2006 model, and believe me, what a fantastic bike it is. If you want something that is a real bike to ride without all the modern technology that will make even a 17 year old look good, buy a japanese sports bike. But if you want a bike that feels like a motorcycle, rides like a motorcycle, and dosesn't cost a kings ransom to maintain, then this is the bike for you. The good lady and I go touring on the Trumpy, fully loaded saddle bags and tank bag, and guess what, it's the perfect bike for cruising through the southwest or doing long stints at a time just soaking up the scenery. If you want to go a heck of a lot faster, book a plane ticket. For me, I will stay with Triumph's Bonneville until I am unable to ride.
- Bruce Boof Larsen, Mandurah, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-03 2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Bonnie black is just what I was looking for. Love the retro looks and it's black (the only true color for a motorcycle). The Bonneville is not for everyone. If you want a sport bike buy a Busa, if you want a cruiser, get a VTX, if you want a motorcycle with soul then go for the Bonnie, classic looks with modern, reliable mechanics. I like the upright standard riding position, seat height is perfect for me and I really enjoy the look on someones face after they ask what year it is. The biggest problem is now I have to change it. The Bonneville platform screams at you to add personal touches. There is a fantastic network of New Boneville owners that are constantly making their Bonnie theirs. Seems to be addictive. Had mine for less than a month and have had two UPS deliveries so far.
- Lanon, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-18 2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I feel like James Dean on my new Bonnie. I also own a '73 Bonneville. I have to say that Triumph really did a beautiful job recreating an icon. To me, the look of a classic British bike can not be beat. I did have to make a few adjustments, and change a few components to make the new girl fit my requirements. I do wish Triumph would add an overdrive to the transmission though. All and all, I love my Bonnie!
- raygunriot, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-12 2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Bonnie is a fun bike with lots of character but there are a few things to consider before buying one: minor- I had an oil leak from the cylinder wall with 2K miles on the bike. Fixed under warranty and did not reappear. One night it stalled 3 times....I restarted it with the petcock in reserve (tank was full) and it didn't stall and never had the problem again....starting it normally with petcock in normal position. Major (to me)- make sure your back can handle the HARSH riding rear shocks. I tried aftermarket shocks and they made little to zero difference. Every bump in the road sends jolts up your spine and bucks the bike. If that doesn't bother you.....you'll love the Bonnie. For me, my lower back was so sore after taking such a beating on it....I couldn't sleep. So I sold the bike. I wish the bike didn't ride so harsh....my sportbike and Nomad feel like Cadillacs compared to the Bonnie's ride. But like I said, if you can get past the harsh ride of the bike.....I couldn't.......you will enjoy the Bonneville.
- Howie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-11 2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a brand new 2004 Bonnie. I chose the bonnie with the least amount of chrome so that I Could black it out. I added 18" black ape hangers, straight fishtail pipes and the old chopper tail light. I purchased an eye brow for the head light and bobbed the rear fender 3",and slapped a 170X60X16 on the rear. I'm 26 and I am approached constantly and being asked if the bike is a '60 or '70 model. This is what I was going for and I love getting the "nice bike" comments from other riders. I like this bike because it is a standout design for not a lot of $$$
- Josh Nickelson, Franklin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-02 2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my '06 Bonneville Black as a 2nd bike for alternate commuting (have an '02 CBR1100XX also) and for relaxing weekend rides. This bike has been great in the 1k mi I've logged. I've done the re-jet, with Triumph Off road pipes, air injector removal kit, and added a centerstand. Now much better sound than stock (which is totally muted) and has more kick. This bike is suprisingly quick too and very stable even at 85mph. It handles great, feels light and is really a joy to ride. For $6995, I think it's a heck of a deal and looks great. My first Triumph and very pleased so far.
- Howie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-17 2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 790cc Triumph Bonneville was purchased with nearly 13,000 miles on the clock. In Cardinal Red it looked good,even when standing still. It had a centre stand, tacho and Norman Hyde pipes as extras. The bike looks good for a modern copy of a classic; I've been stopped and talked to more with this bike than any other I've had, it attracts admiring glances and it does look attractive in my view. Great bike overall.
- Dave Sax, Brighton (England), United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-11 2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first thing you notice when you get on the bike is how everything falls into place naturally. You sit straight up, no stress is put on your arms and wrist, and the clutch and brake are spaced close enough even for small hands (they aren't adjustable). The ride is everything easy. It's very stable at low speeds and just as much at the higher numbers. This bike feels confident and instantly makes you relax everytime you get on it. There's enough power on tap for any sane application, and its delivery is buttery smooth. The brakes are more than adequate and have a good feel to them. My only complaint is the shift action is slick from 1st to 2nd, so finding neutral takes a little practice. The Bonneville isn't for everyone. In terms of modern bike technology, it's not razor sharp in any particular area, and I'm pretty sure most Bonneville owners appreciate that fact. But if you want a bike for the sheer enjoyment of riding, then ladies and gentlemen, look no further.
- N. Mark Harvey, Columbia, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: