Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Triumph Bonneville reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

58 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

willie

kingsport, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2011-08-03

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second Triumph and I had a 2005 Speedmaster". I went to the local Triumph dealer open house and rode the Thunderbird and a basic Bonneville (white) which had been ordered with tachometer. I was going to change the handlebars on my Speedmaster but after riding the Bonny, I decided after six years it was time for a different riding position and a new ride. I really loved the Speedmaster (35K including several long trips) and had a trip planned up Northeast. I took the Bonny and did 2,000 miles in a week with one 600+mile day. It's the first bike I've owned including the Speedmaster with no "excepts" as in "I like everything about this bike 'except'". I've been riding 40+years on a variety of bikes and this is the best yet. I've had no problem at 75 all day and I really look forward to riding everyday. I have also test ridden many new bikes the last two yrs, and in my humble opinion, Triumph is the best by far. Two bikes and no breakdowns, etc., just gas, oil and tires for six years. Chain maintenance is easy and the best quality for the price anywhere. This is the best bike I've owned in 40 years of riding. It has great gearing, plenty of power for its weight and it's so easy handling and fun to ride. I am now over heavyweight cruisers. I am Triumph loyal: great bikes and very dependable and I have a great local dealer. I also recently rode the Storm. My initial impression is it's the best cruiser I've ever ridden. It has unbelievable handling and torque. If you haven't ridden a Triumph, you're missing out!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lynn

Warwick , New York

Reviewed on 2011-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm relatively new to riding. I love my Bonneville, it is perfect for me. This is my third bike. My previous bikes were V Star's, which are nice bikes, but I never felt totally comfortable on them. I heard the seat height was lowered on the Bonneville, so I tried a test ride, and realized immediately I didn't want my current bike anymore, I wanted a Bonneville. The Bonneville fits me so much better than the big cruisers did, and is sooooo easy to handle. It's much more nimble and shifts beautifully. I would recommend it for a beginner or a smaller rider... anyone who wants a bike that is easy to handle and fun to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T.J.

Greenport, New York

Reviewed on 2011-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's light, nimble, powerful yet well-mannered. It's easy to ride, yet so far able to handle anything I ask it to do. It's retro-cool styling with modern technology. It has a decent price point. There's the fun of riding something different from everything else out there on the road. And the downside is..?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

me

cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike was bought for my wife. We both liked the looks and it was one of the few bikes she felt comfortable on since it feels small, has a standard riding position, lightweight and low seat. Even though this bike is for my wife I can't stay off it. This is my favorite bike I have ever riden, period! I've ridden and owned a lot of bikes, have a Speedmaster (awesome bike as well) and am a very experienced rider. Obviousely it's no race bike but it's more than capable of serious canyon carving with sportbikes and fits in with the cruiser crowd as well. The engine is amazingly smooth as well with a perfect torque curve. Fit and finish is great. I noted the 4 for comfort because the seat is hard and the rear suspension is a little harsh but I'm being overly critical though. Triumph does make a gel seat and not much they can do with the suspension to keep the look. I've read a lot of reviews on this site where people say "can't go wrong with this bike" but with this Triumph, you really can't go wrong. No matter what type of rider you are, I promise you will love riding the Bonneville.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B.L.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2010-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Easy To Handle Love at first ride. I hadn't ridden in 20+ years, and this was a great fit for me. It's like a gentle hybrid of sportbike and cruiser, with sporting footpeg position and quick handling, but relaxed power delivery. Basic bonnie with 17-inch wheels feels amazingly easy to maneuver at all speeds. The engine is docile but strong enough to stay ahead of most 4-wheeled traffic. I can roll on throttle at 35 in fifth gear and it pulls smoothly with lots of torque. A little buzzy, I think it might benefit from a 6th gear, but maybe Triumph has good reasons for using 5. The rear suspension seems a bit harsh; I need to ride with slightly arched back and pay close attention to bumps and dips in the road, but that's OK; helps keep me focused. Although a new set of shocks might be the first upgrade I get. Either that or some new exhaust pipes; don't want to sound like an outlaw but the stock set is almost too restrained and polite. Overall, it's a very good bike for commuting, occasional longer trips and winding roads.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JW Adams

Harleyville, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-12-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 2009 Bonneville Black is a very early model. It came from England built looking like a 2008 model but with a EFI motor. I have the T100 spoked wheels, peashooter silencers, and tank badges instead of the Triumph stickers. There are numerous little differences between the same model within the same year. My Triumph twin has been dead solid perfect, in every way and as reliable as the Japanease brand it replaced. My bike is garage kept and isn't ridden in the rain. I have performed all my maintainance and kept the gastank filled when needed. It usually averages between 48-50 miles per regular gallon of gasoline. The terrain I ride in it around 80 feet above sea level and is low lying coastal plain. As a testament to the Triumph Bonneville, If it were stolen today, I would buy another model of the same bike to replace it with, as that's how much I have enjoyed riding this machine over the last 14 months! Thanks for reading.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scorpio

Tucson, Arizona

Reviewed on 2009-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been into the Bonnie since I rode a 10 yr old '73, & was excited when they were reintro'd in '01. Had to have a new Magna for 5 yrs first tho. No regrets on the new Bonnie; no excuses anywhere I ride, lots of great comments, & perfectly entertaining at 10 over. Not bad on dirt roads either. The seat could be better, but it looks right and gets better as it breaks in. The stock tires look right too, but tend to cause shimmy (the ME880's are much better; I hear Avon Roadmasters are too). Cool that the rims are made by the same firm that made 'em for Meriden, but wish they were tubeless. My g/f loves the big back seat & low pegs. It makes me spell like a Brit, right down to the aluminium paint. I made mine a sportstourer; now I want a second one to make a bobber!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

larry

indianapolis, Indiana

Reviewed on 2009-06-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 64 years old and bought my 05 Bonnie new. It currently has 19,000 miles with no issues. Replaced rear pads at 9,000 and just replaced the front pads at 19,000. Owned Bonnie in 60's while in military in Europe and just had to have another one. Got 14,000 out of the original tires. Replaced them with same tires due to good tread life. I have factory windscreen, sissy bar and off road pipes all of which add to the enjoyment. My wife much prefers riding on the Bonnie as versus our Honda 1100 cruiser. I often ask myself why I even own the Honda. I think Triumph is making a mistake by fitting different seat, pipes and mag wheels on the new units. I am seriously considering buying a low mileage used one and putting it up on blocks so I'll have a good original product. Performance is more than adequate as I run the speed limit and it has more than enough power to pass on the highway even when riding two up. Best part of the Bonnie is all the questions from gray hairs like myself that remember the Bonnie but are currently riding the plastic bikes and complain their back hurts!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JCF

Omaha, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2009-04-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So far I've put just under 300 miles on it since purchase, so here are my initial thoughts. It's small, but in a good way. I love being able to grab the handlebar by one hand and back it out of my garage. Ergonomics suit me well, although if I was any taller I might feel a bit cramped. The original seat is LOW and I immediately replaced it with a Triumph solo seat. Much more comfortable and raised my butt up a good inch or more. Now the bike feels almost perfect. As for performance, well, if you're into massive horesepower, then you should look elsewhere. At 43 years old and a family to support, 130 hp bikes are not my thing. However, it is plenty powerful for me - very linear throttle response and enough grunt to pass with ease at highway speeds. I found myself a couple of times wishing it had a bit more power, but then I just calmed down and remembered to slow down and enjoy the riding experience. The exhaust is a bit tame for my taste, but there are numerous aftermarket options and I'm sure that will be one of my next upgrades. Wind last is severe at 70 and above. Bella Corse offers a very cool 3/4 fairing that I'm probably going to buy to help aleviate at least some of that. I put the Triumph flyscreen at the shop to see what it looked like - awesome look, but very small and VERY expensive for what you get. Not enough miles on it to determine build quality, but it appears to be a solid piece of machinery. Shifting is relatively easy, albeit a bit clunky. I'm betting this will smooth out after break in. Brakes are nothing to write home about, but I've found them sufficient. Remember, I'm a pretty mellow rider, riders who push hard may find them lacking. One disappointing aspect worth mentioning is the blueing/bronzing of the pipes. The discoloration is pretty bad at only 300 miles. Some call this character and part of the uniqueness of owning a Bonneville. I would like to see Triumph solve this as I think it detracts from the look. I may eventually wrap the pipes with header tape. Bottom line - I really like the new Bonneville. From a guy who has owned quite a few bikes over the years, I think this one is a keeper. I see myself passing it down to my son someday. If you're looking for a bike with the right mix of character, soul, performance, and looks - find a dealer, take one for a spin, and decide for yourself. Just don't tell too many people - it's sort of nice having a bike you don't see everyday!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jarred

La Habra, California

Reviewed on 2008-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After reading all the reviews and not wanting to get another sport bike, I decided on the Bonneville. It is a cross between sport bike and cruiser. My last bike was a Honda 919 but the Bonneville is not far behind in the power or handling. I just can't help but smile when I ride this bike. It is a classic looking bike that gets a lot of looks and comments. You don't see these bikes all the time like some other brands, which I like. It rides great and is very comfortable and nimble in traffic. I ride in rush hour traffic and it is easy to get around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 58 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: