Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles Reviews (43)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-03-28 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike since 2000 and it has been awesome. It handles very well, in fact it corners like a champ except the pegs are a bit low wich is good for the style of bike but mine are ground down to sharp points now. I have minimal work done to it and it has been very cost effective. It's great on gas, cheap insurance, and the most money I spend on it would be tires chains and sprockets. I had to do the forks for the first time a week ago and like the other reviewer said......get rid of the stock pips. I put the racing pipes on it. They look the same but I get more power and it doesn't sound like a Vespa.
- Dan, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Legend from a guy down the road from me, he bought a Suzuki SV650 & wanted to sell the Triumph? It was one of the best buys that I have made. I love the bike. It's got to be one of the greatest bikes I have owned. I'll be keeping this bike in my collection.
- Dean Gregory, Mentor, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-20 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Originally bought mine in 2000 new. Have had and driven several other bikes since then. But, I keep this one and still enjoy it more than any other. It is a very relaxed ride. Many of my fellow riders have gone thru sport bikes and even the retro hinckley bonnevilles and are looking for and buying used legends. Other than a new battery and chain, nothing has had to be replaced on this bike. At 25000, the valves still are within spec. Triumph should still offer this bike. Tried Pirelli, Michelin, et al and like the Avon AV45/46 the best for handling and mileage. Went up a tooth on the front and down 3 in the back. It makes 5th the same as the T-Birds 6th. Over 50 mpg all the time.
- stan, gainesville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-18 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked one of these up a couple of weeks ago. I had always wanted a Hinckley Triple and am so glad I bought it. At 6'2" it can be a little cramped but if ad the highway peg kit (they can be found) it is a pure joy for long trips. I find this bike to be very easy to ride and very forgiving. It has plenty of power for two up and light touring and gets great gas mileage. I am averaging about 50mpg. Some people complain that these are too quiet and have a sewing machine like sound to them. Personally having owned many bikes with loud or straight pipes, I was refreshed to ride such a quite machine. Since I purchased it I have had to endure some lighthearted ribbing at times from my sport riding or HD friends because of the sound but on the open road I find I can travel many more miles than they can and it being a Triumph, garners more attention too. At 33 I don't remember the Triumphs of yor however they were beautiful looking machines despite their obvious shortcomings. Still like all things British there are some head scratchers with modern Hinckley's too. Why tubed wheels? Spokes look nice but so do cast wheels and they are more practical and much easier to maintain. Why no center stand? I had to track one down so I could change my own oil. And why such a wimpy exhaust note? Despite those issues I still would not get rid of this bike. I'll probably buy others in the future but I hope to never part with this one.
- Rob B, Waterbury, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-02 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a sweet ride!!! I drove 130 miles to Ohio from Pittsburgh to purchase my bike and intended to ride it back home to Pittsburgh. I never made it back home. Oh, I made it to Pittsburgh, but just kept on riding! I put another 175 miles on this bike that day and could have gone for more. The Legend has plenty of power for highways and it loves the twisties back home. Yes, it could use a 6th gear, but that is an easy fix with a sprocket change. I ride this bike to work every day and get tons of compliments. I can wick the throttle and smoke most of the other plastic bikes off the road. I have been riding a HD 883R for the past four years. The Legend puts it to shame. If you own a Triumph, you know what it's all about. If you don't own a Triumph, you owe it to yourself to check out what it's all about!
- Frank, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-13 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought me one of these and I am one of the most satisfied customers I can imagine. I bought her in Orlando for a great price and rode her down to Key West. The bike has minimal vibration and some crazy torque. Even at high speeds (105mph) the throttle responds with some serious torque. It's great on gas, but you need to be a little easy on the throttle if you want to maintain that mileage. She sure doesn't like being in 1st or 2nd and she handles like a dream. It's an uncommon bike so you are always getting questions (and stories from the old timers). They stopped making them because they are so similar to the T-birds, but if you can snag one up do it.
- Keys RAT, Key West, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-09 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 30 years I did something I thought I would never do again, I purchased a motorcycle. The motorcycle I bought was a Triumph Legend. The reason for the Triumph, it looks good and its performance. I test rode the bike at my local Triumph dealer and I was convinced that this was the motorcyle I wanted. I have not been disappointed. The Legend has served me faithfully with virtually no problems. Although the Legend is no longer being made by Triumph, if you have the opportunity to purchase one, don't give it a second thought. It's a great British bike that will give you years of reliable service.
- Roger Taylor, Brea, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-10 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I dreamed for a long time about owning a Triumph. When I saw this bike in the shop I was halfway hooked, and the test drive sealed the deal. I prefer back roads and country lanes, so I don't need a speed demon, but when you need some get up and go the bike doesn't disappoint. It also has an undeniable cool factor. Negatives: Fussy starting if not used on a fairly frequent basis, particularly in cold weather; plugs not in the easiest location.
- Mark, Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-12 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought one new in 2001 and has been great to me ever since. I love the looks from everyone as I drive down the roads- even many HD riders look on with approval. The only problem ever is starting in extreme cold. The bike doesn't like the winter.
- mike, South Bound Brook, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-14 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine recently and can't stop riding. I live in Ma. so we have a nice mix of highway and country roads and the Legend does them all. I commute to work as much as possible and I always get looks from other drivers and people asking about the bike. I get a lot of thumbs up from other riders(even HD riders). The power is even and the ride is very comfortable. I plan to go touring next summer on it out to New Mexico. Wish me luck.
- Rider, Haverhill, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-01 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike used 6 months ago with over 40k miles on it! runs like a champ- have been putting 100+ miles / day on it and have had no problems. Plenty of umph on the freeway and nible as can be. Only thing I would like to change is the exhaust- the stock pipes make it sound like a 50 cc!
- sethshady, san francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-01 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good looking bike, plenty of balls for around town and freeway driving. I purchased my bike used with 40k miles on it and it's still running like a champ after putting 100+ miles on it per day commuting. Also turns some heads as it's not as common as the sportsters and crotch rockets that abound. One drawback is how hard it is to access anything. Even adding coolant requires removing the seat and gas tank (wich isn't all that difficult - but it could have been designed better...) Overall, great bang for the buck.
- Sethshady, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-10 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a wonderful bike - I love riding it! Add the paniers and a sissy bar and its really cool!
- CS, Galloway, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-07 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a second hand Legend here in Sweden, only done 8,000 Km & its nearly 3yrs old. Must say it is the most versatile bike I have ever owned, fun to ride whatever the roads, moves like a dream, & I'm having loads of fun with it. Pity Triumph has stopped building it, maybe I will have to buy a Thunderbird next.
- Nigel, Stockholm, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-17 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had to acquire a new bike being as my two 1972 triumph Tigers were not letting me enjoy motorcycling quite like I wanted. I purchased a 2000 Legend off eBay (sometimes its a good thing. Put 250 miles on it to get it home. Thought I was in a different world. It amazes me how much the British have come along in 30 years. Now having put a solid 1,000 miles on it in a week I know I will keep it. Starts great, handles better, stops even better, accelerates intenesly better, and hold on to the go stick! The only bitch I have is the guys who tell me a gas stations that I should have got a "old Triumph" or "real Triumph". I would like to tell them how I have two at home and they just aren't as much fun anymore. I am getting too old for the noise, vibration, oil leaks, smoke, and Lucas Gremlins. I love my new Triumph!
- Mike Rizzo, Freedom , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-24 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i just bought my 99 legend and most people who see it think its new. H-D guys get jealous of the paintjob which is superb they get wide eyed when the discover it's a triple and when they ask about the price...well lets say it kinda shakes thier faith a little, well maybe alot. Performance wise its ROCK SOLID, fast handles like a dream and the brakes are excellent. If your thinking about a new bike either if your a begginner like me or a more experienced rider Dont buy a new bike without test riding Triumph. If your thinking H-D you will be amazed how much money you will save. If your thinking metric you will get the same smoothness and reliability with real heritage to boot. You cannot go wrong with Trump!!!
- Triumph james, staten island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-21 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding my 883 sportster for 6 years this baby felt o so smooth. After only a week I was dragging the pegs in the corners! This is a very well balanced bike that you can really lean in the curves. Needs another gear. I will try changing the sprockets. Not comfortable for a passenger.
- Larry, Fort Hood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-09 1999 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After putting 10,000 miles on my Legend I'd like to report that I still love it! Dollar for dollar, you can't match the performance or style of this bike. I have customized mine a bit, with my favorite upgrade being the Targa "silencers" that give it a great sound and better performance. So far for repairs, I think of all these as minor: -Neutral sensor switch had to be replaced (bike wouldn't start because it "thought" it was in gear). -Speedo cable (necessary to avoid those speeding tickets) -Throttle cable (would you believe that broke one block from my house on my way back from a 1,300 mile road trip?) -Spark plug went bad -Headlight bulb (good idea to replace anyway---I put in a brighter one) This bike has been a joy so far. I love the ride and performance. I do wish it had another (higher) top gear, but maybe that helps keep my speed down. There are gearing options to get more top-end out of this bike (like other Tbird models have), but I wouldn't want to give up any of the off-the-line performance. This is a great bike, worthy of road trips and easy for around town. It is nible and easy to handle and the looks can't be beat!
- A Rider, Phila, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-20 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it from local dealer w/ 2000 miles. Was equipped w/ windscreen, highway pegs, tank pads, center stand., I had installed off road silencers, jet kit for the carbs, had a speedo cable break, and a coil go bad. I love this motorcycle. Once in a while you find something you really like; if you would like a different responsive cruiser, I'll tell you more!
- Aaron Cox, Homewood , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-21 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 01 Legend was the first new bike I ever purchased. I had bikes as small as a 250 Susuki street bike up to a 1000 Honda Goldwing. I was tired of waking up in the morning and not knowing if my bikes would start to get me to work so I said if I was gonna do it, I was gonna do it right. The Legend cought my eye on the showroom floor and really stuck with me. I love riding it and getting everyones head turning as I ride bye. The only downfalls with the bike are that they dont make it any more and the limited aftermarket or add on accessories. The pipes are one thing I wish I could customise a bit. Other then that it is a wonderful riding bike and would recommended it to any one. You could pull up next to a Harley and earn much respect from the other rider or you can pull up next to a japanese rice rocket and preform wonderfully. The best of both worlds.
- Mike, South Bound Brook, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-11 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a legend for over 2 years ,I bought it new and have done over 24000kms.Ive toured on it ,gone for quick rides on twisty roads and have nothing but praise for how good it goes .The finish of paint ,chrome etc is still like new.Its easy to ride with no surprises,good torque and great sound from the triple when on the gas,so 2years on ,no regrets.
- mick wilson, adelaide, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-29 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This makes my 3rd Triumph. The legend, while it may not have the bells and whistles of other models; dollar for dollar I believe it to be the ultimate ride for the $. Triumph uses the same exact engine & tranny, not to mention quality workmanship. All you've got to do is use Mobil 1 Synthetic(20w40), keep the chain adjusted, gas her and shes' ready. Many add ons are available. Treat her right and she'll give you all the reliable miles you desire. Priced new between $6,800 and $ 7,800. Triumph is here to stay boys and girls!
- Bard K. mCkAY, nORMAN, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-20 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a new rider. Took the MSF course in March. Went out and bought a 02 Ninja 500. Put 2000 miles on it and sold it. Good bike but a little small for me. Picked up the 00 Legend new on the showroom floor for a great price. I recommend looking for those new but couldn't sell bikes sitting out there. Anyways, to the bike. I've since but 1100 miles on it so I figure I can write about it. Its fantastic. Lots of low end and good smooth highway speed. I'm 6'2", 185 lbs and I'm perfectly comfortable on the bike. Rides great two up too. My girlfriend is 6' as well and we feel great on the bike together. The elevated rear seat prevents your passenger from sliding forward at stops thus smashing the gonads. Anyhow, back to the power. Its a gorilla but only if you really twist the throttle. Its got a smooth roll on if you are normal. Handles well for a 500 lb bike. Only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it really should have that 6th gear for highway cruising. I'm about at 5500 RPM for 76-8 mph in 5th, the final gear. Also, it should come with a centerstand, but that's not the bike's fault, its Triumph cutting cost. One last thing, people love the look of it. I've had everyone from old guys at country road gas stations think its as beautiful the Triumph they had when they were my age, to people at stoplights honking at me to tell me they love the look of it. You gotta dig the retro style. If you want a proven brand, European quality and performance for a non-BMW price, a bike that even Harley riders will respect, and finally something different then the stock Japanese cruisers out there, then this bike is a great find. Obviously, its 02 and they don't make it anymore, but you can pick up a Thunderbird if you want basically the same bike (same in-line three) but with more chrome and a little bit different exhaust.
- Adam , Centerville , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-14 2000 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike gets just 4 stars for one reason and one reason only; my 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport does everything my 1999 LegendTT does, and it does it better. that's not a trivial accomplishment. The LegendTT is a marvelous motorcycle. Good brakes, decent suspension (once you ge the rear preload setup correctly), handling that would be outright twitchy were it not for the fact that as long as you keep your arms steady the LegendTT stays steady. This engine pulls like a freight train from very low revs (15mph to 120mph in 5th gear is no problem) and delivers 45-50mpg in the process. All that and it's a Triumph too. What more could you ask for? I'd highly recommend this bike to anybody who wants something better in real rideability than all the plastic rockets out there. This is a motorcycle for people who enjoy riding.
- Peter Holmes, Albany, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-10 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been out of motorcycling for about 12 years. When the opportunity came around to re-enter the hobby I looked intensely to find something inexpensive, dependable, and classy. This bike filled all 3 criteria. I drove it for almost 3 years without a single problem. Thats right, not a single problem. It started and performed flawlessly every time I took it out. You can't ask for more than that. Plenty of power right where you want it. Enough comfort to handle 100 to 200 mile journeys. I recommend this bike to anyone. Whether you are an expert or entry level rider, you'll appreciate this bike for what it is. A great bike built by a great company. Nuff said.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: