Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles Reviews (65)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-03-25 2008 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We met at the dealership in Dayton, Ohio and it was love at first sight. The curves of her large gas tank, that huge 240 tire on the rear and oh those dual headlights! Her name is Bertha and she is fantastic! She does anything I ask her to do. The response of this bike is amazing and it is fast, real fast. It cruises down the road effortlessly and handles like a dream. She is an engineering marvel and I'm glad she is mine!
- Rob Williams, Troy, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-03-30 2005 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finished a 1,200 mile ride down to Florida and back and the 2005 Rocket Three performed perfectly - about 40 mpg. It's very stable even in great crosswinds. The power is second to none!! The engine has a great sound, great throttle response and not a trace of oil leaks. This is my first shaft drive bike, very clean and quiet. Fortunately with this much power, it has great brakes. In cool weather it's perfect, but in stop and go traffic on a hot day the engine heat is a bit much. This is my favorite bike except on really hot days, then I park it and ride my 750 Interceptor Honda.
- Allen Osborne, Weddington, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-25 2008 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike for the performance-minded rider who can only afford one motorcycle! It has super torque, handles well, and it's comfortable to ride on long trips! I had a few problems - transmission, coils two times and throttle position sensors two times. I have been treated very well by my dealer in Windber! They are good people!
- Mark , Elton , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-15 2008 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Rocket. I replaced my 2007 Classic because I wanted the foot positioning of the Roadster. The bike is much more nimble with feet on the pegs rather than forward on the boards. With the fabulous tourque, the bike is extremely easy to ride in traffic, leaving a traffic light or a stop is effortless. On the open road the bike handles very well in spite of that huge rear tire. We do a a great deal of two-up riding and the Rocket is great there as well. I like the fact that this model has gone from three "silencers" to two. It is just a better look, in my opinion, and there is more power as if one needed any more than the earlier Rocket III. It handles even better than my Valkyrie Interstate and I feel that is a great machine.
- JIM, WELLAND, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-10 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of dirt biking and other metric cruiser ownership. I took the chance on a Brit bike at the recommendation of a friend. Drove up to Austin and found an SWEET barely used Rocket III at the dealership. After adding the race pipes and EFI chip and extra goodies, I got it on the road, and all I can say is YEE HAW. This bike not only for the money but for a man of my size and weight, fits like a glove, and I am most proud to own a bike from across the pond. Harley guys at my local hang out comment on it, and it also takes them back to when they either had Triumph or BSA choppers. So that gives you an idea of how old I am!!! Go Brit, Go Triumph! You can't go wrong with this bike. I am very impressed, and you will be too.
- Craig Williams, Corpus Christi, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-10 2008 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rocket III Classic - After a lot of research and deliberation I took the plunge on the bike that every review I saw was one of the most rideable bikes made despite the heavy weight and amount of power. I have ridden a lot of bikes from 5 hp minibike to my brother's 1100 Eliminator, but this being MY first bike. I wanted a new bike without inheriting anyone else's problems, and I didn't want a Harley because it just isn't my style nor did I want to spend a lot of money. Took a Rocket out for a test drive at my local Triumph dealer and although it was a lousy day to ride, I found that the bike truly handled very well and was extremely responsive in both the delivery of power and handling. Bought my bike at a dealership 3 hours away from home because they had a year end special on the bike. Picked it up and loved the service I got while I was there. Long story short, the bike has more than met my expectations, it is a powerhouse that can put more power to the tires than I will ever need. It rides even better with a passenger absorbing every bump without bottoming out. It is very comfortable even on long(ish) rides, and even going up and down tortuous twisties up and down mountains of West Virginia kept up with a much ligher supposedly more maneuverable Harley. (The longest ride I have ever logged is only 120 miles so take that what it's worth). In short, I really don't have much to compare it to, but I love my bike. (I rarely stop anywhere that it doesn't draw at least a few jaw dropping - My God, what is that thing comments.) (Usually followed by - I didn't know Triumph was still making bikes)
- gdwojo, Poquoson, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-24 2006 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey I could write all day about how it s impressive but then I have a biased opinion. And if I took the time to talk about all that is right with it I would be cutting my time down on riding it today. If you want to GO YOUR OWN WAY and be approached by everyday bikers where ever you go, I suggest buying your own and finding out. I spent a lot of money chasing the dream on a Harley and it's still the same old same old. You can ride or you can call the Harley shop and check on the progress of your new Harley. Because the damn thing is junk from the factory. I truly live to ride and when I turn the key on my Rocket and put my leather and helmet on, it's heaven. Go ahead chase the dream but do it with confidence on a Rocket III. Enuf said!!!
- Mark Clark, Roundup , Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-26 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
ONE YEAR SINCE GETTING THE R3 AND WHAT A RIDE IT HAS BEEN. VERY HAPPY I didn't GO WITH A RUN OF THE MILL HARLEY. ONE OF MY FAVORITE PAST TIMES IS TO PARK IN TOWN, GET A CUP OF COFFEE, AND WATCH ALL THE PEOPLE WALK RIGHT BY THE OTHER BIKES TO STARE AT THE MIGHTY TRIUMPH. I CAN'T COUNT ALL THE PEOPLE THAT POINT FINGERS AND TAKE PICTURES AND VIDEOS OF THE BIKE. IT'S VERY COOL TO WATCH. OH YEAH AND THEN THERE IS THE WICKED POWER... :-)
- VIN C., MILLER PLACE, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-11 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Every glowing report about power, performance, handling, engineering and technology of the Rocket III Touring is true! Triumph triumphs against all competition in every category. I have owned everything from scooters to rice burners to Harley's and my RocketIII Touring is simply the fastest, best performing and most balanced machine I've ever ridden. My Black Pearl was ONE year old April 09 and has over 16,000 miles on her. I came within $300 of making a deal on a Street Glide and I can't tell you how glad I am the dealer wouldn't deal - THAT says it all.
- Dennis Bulver, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-02 2008 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
GREAT BIKE, SUPER POWER AND PULL ESP IN LOWER GEARS. I HAD A HONDA VTX 1800 AND IT WAS A GREAT BIKE ALSO, VERY STRONG, COMFORTABLE AND RELIABLE. THE TRIUMPH RIDES JUST AS WELL AND HANDLES JUST AS WELL. MORE POWER WITH THE ROCKET THOUGH. I HAVE BEEN TAKING IT EASY SO FAR TO BREAK IT IN BUT AM STILL BLOWING DOORS OFF. I HAVE NOT TURNED THE THROTTLE ALL THE WAY YET BUT WILL SOON. I LOVE THE LOOK OF THE BIKE ALSO, IT IS VERY DIFFERENT FROM THE OTHER BIKES ON THE ROAD, THE PIPES ARE STANDARD FOR THE TOURER AND HAS AN UNUSUAL SOUND, I HAVE HEARD IT DESCRIBED AS A LARGE SEWING MACHINE SOUND. I DID NOT LIKE THE SOUND WHEN I FIRST HEARD IT, I WAS SO USED TO HEARING THE LOUD PIPES EVERYONE HAS BUT NOW I FIND THE SOUND ADDS TO ITS UNIQUENESS. THIS BIKE IS SO MUCH FUN TO RIDE, WHETHER GOING A FEW MILES OR A FEW HUNDRED. THE DOWN SIDES TO THE BIKE ARE SMALL I THINK BUT WORTH MENTIONING. THE GEARS ARE CLUNKY IN 1ST AND SECOND WITH HITTING NEUTRAL TAKING SOME GETTING USED TO. KICK STAND IS DIFFICULT TO ACCESS, ONLY SMALL PART OF STAND AVAILABLE TO PUSH DOWN WITH FOOT. THE KICK STAND IS HARD TO VISUALIZE WHETHER UP OR DOWN. I PRAY I DO NOT DROP THE BIKE BECAUSE I THINK THE STAND IS DOWN WHEN IT isn't. I HAVE TO LEAN TO THE LEFT TO BE ABLE TO SEE IF THE STAND IS IN THE PROPER POSITION. THE OTHER ISSUE I AM HAVING IS MY BRAKE LIGHT STAYS ON AFTER USING THE BRAKES A FEW TIMES I AM HAVING THAT ISSUE LOOKED AT TODAY. don't KNOW HOW LONG THE BRAKE LIGHT HAS BEEN THIS WAY. THESE ARE THE ONLY NEGATIVES I HAVE. I AM VERY GLAD I BOUGHT THIS BIKE, IT IS JUST SO MUCH FUN TO RIDE. THE BIKE HAS TREMENDOUS POWER AND IS VERY EASY TO CONTROL. I WAS VERY SURPRISED HOW EASY IT WAS TO CONTROL. I WAS DISCONCERTED THE FIRST TIME I RODE THE BIKE. I KEPT TRYING TO MUSCLE IT AND WAS AFRAID TO MAKE SHARP TURNS IN THE PARKING LOT BECAUSE I THOUGHT THE BIKE WOULD TIP TOO MUCH. AFTER A FEW MINUTES THOUGH IT BECOMES CLEAR THIS BIKE HANDLES BEYOND COMPREHENSION. JUST LOOKING AT THE BIKE AND THEN SITTING ON IT GIVES THE FEELING OF RIDING A BULL. I THOUGHT THIS IS GOING TO BE A TOUGH BIKE TO HANDLE, ESP IN CITY TRAFFIC. I WAS WRONG THANKFULLY. READING REVIEWS HELPS ALLAY ANY FEARS OF THE BIKE BEING TOO BIG, MOST ARE IMPRESSED WITH THE HANDLING, BUT UNTIL ACTUALLY RIDING THE BIKE IT IS HARD TO BELIEVE A MACHINE SO BIG CAN BE CONTROLLED SO EASILY. BEWARE THOUGH, THIS BIKE CAN TURN INTO A MONSTER AT THE TURN OF THE THROTTLE. I LOVED MY OLD VTX AND I HAD TO DO A LOT OF SOUL SEACHING TO GO TO THE ROCKET BUT I AM VERY GLAD I DID. THE BIKE HAS EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS AND MY EXPECTATIONS WERE HIGH. I PREDICT WHEN THE WORD GETS OUT ABOUT THIS BIKE, 5 OR 10 YRS FROM NOW, THIS BIKE WILL BE MUCH MORE COMMON. I KINDA HOPE NOT THOUGH, I LIKE TO BE THE ONE WITH THE KICKASS MACHINE THAT DROPS JAWS.
- GEO, SAN PEDRO, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-29 2008 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several bikes in my days, including the 1987 Kawasaki ZL1000 Eliminator, 1989 Yamaha VMAX, and others that are not even worth mentioning in this category. I purchased my 2008 Rocket III about 6 months ago and must admit that it behaves much, much easier on the road than I ever imagined this monster would be. However, one should make sure their hands are properly planted with a tight grip at all times, because even when changing gears at low speeds this bike wants to jump....no leap...out ahead of everything on the road. The weather here is finally warm now, so I intend to get him out and ride as much as I can. It is, indeed, funny to watch all the other cycle riders on the road and at every stop gather around this bike and ask plenty of questions. Heck, even the Harley riders seem to show nothing but respect and admiration for this behemoth on two wheels. If you want a bike that absolutely no one else on the road wants to tangle with, and one that is very comfortable for the long haul, then go get you one! This bike can purr like a kitten when needed and lurch out in attack mode like an angry lion with just a short twist of the throttle, and at a moment's notice. The only complaint I have is the Triumph makes very few accessories for this bike and there's a short list of aftermarket accessories to choose from also. Not to mention that anything you buy for this bike from Triumph will have you digging deep in your pockets. However, there's plenty of windshields, saddle bags, and even sissy bars out there that will fit, or can easily be modified to fit this bike.
- D.M., ASHLAND CITY, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-22 2004 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since the day I first rode this bike I've been in love with it. For a bike this size it handles well in the twisties and I have made about seven trips to Canada and the upper east coast.
- Gary , Alpharetta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-16 2006 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a couple dozen two wheel machines over the years, but other than dirt bikes, I'll never want anything under me but this Rocket III. I have no need to make room in the garage for anything else... this bike is everything you want in a bike. The only reason I'd tell you to buy something else is if you just don't have the strength to hang on for this ride. It is INCREDIBLE.
- D. Reeves, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-05 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one bad mama-jamma of a motorcycle. It smokes all the cruisers and customs that let their egos get the better of them. Most will not even pull up right next to me because they know they are outclassed in power, styling and engineering. The Anglos on the other side of the pond really did this one up right; so much so that I sold my beloved Harley 2003 Anniversary Road King Classic to buy this bike. <br />I had to take it to the dealer to fix a fork damaged in an accident. Other than that this powerhouse has been a pleasure to own and ride.
- Ace, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 2005 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live in MN and took my Rocket on a 3000 mile trip through ND, MT, ID, NV, UT, WY and SD. I had zero issues and got about 38-41 mpg. I had a heck of a good time. The only thing I would change is the seat; maybe a gel seat or a good Corbin seat. Every time I stopped at a gas station I was asked questions - everyone loved the look. I can't blame them.
- al hones, detroit lakes, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-06 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just purchased my 2007 classic. didn't even do a test ride. I went in and bought it, and away I went real fast I might add. This bike is amazing. I have had other brands but this is a crowd stopper. All of the Harley guys checking it out is pretty funny. Everything in all of these reviews is true. It has great handling at any speed and awesome power and pull at any gear or speed. 4th gear at about 60 on the highway, then twist her open and say goodbye to the Rocket. Merging in traffic is not an issue. For the money nothing else is close to it. It is even a couple grand cheaper than certain brands. Buy one now, or don't because I like not seeing too many of them.
- mike jahn, Arvada, , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-20 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding Triumphs for forty years and I've owned lesser brands as well, but nothing, and I mean nothing, has even come close to the Rocket III. I don't think I have ever gotten off of her without having a smile on my face. No matter where you go you get a thumbs up while you're riding and a crowd around it when you park it. It truly is an amazing bike. The acceleration is brutal; how can you not love that! But you could ride for hours at 20 mph and get no complaints from her. It handles like a middle weight going around corners and it just defies logic, but in a good way. My hat goes off to Triumph for making the world's best motorcycle! Again. I would without hesitation recommend it to anyone.
- HILTS, WHEATON, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-07 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Rocket about 1 year ago. I was a sportsbike guy previously but decided to try something new. I'm English so it was an easy choice to choose Triumph, and I must say the bike is awesome. I must admit it's a bit intimidating to most of the people who look at it but I just felt at home as soon as I sat on it. The power is relentless and it handles way better than I thought it would. And the quality is as good as I've seen. Anyone reading this that is not sure on what bike to buy, look no further than a Rocket III. You'll be picking the flies out of your teeth because you can't stop grinning!
- Dave Garnett, Regina, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-02 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R3 is a one of a kind motorcycle. It has multiple personalities. I actually ride my bike as a commuter to work and find it quite at home with slower traffic and local stop and start activity. It has a low center of gravity, is easy to get off the kickstand, and feels quite light for its size. It handles very well in my opinion as I also ride a TBS and have owned a Sprint RS in the past, so I do have those machines to compare it to. The acceleration is very smooth and you are in control. It's not a fire breathing dragon unless you want it to be. I was very surprised at how quickly I became comfortable with this bike as well as how well mannered it was when going easy on the throttle. Now back to the fire breathing dragon comment. This bike will flat out launch itself like a Rocket, no pun intended. If you like the feel of tons of torque and exceptional acceleration, just grab a handful and hang on. It will have you grinning ear to ear as you enter into another atmosphere. If you think you might like this, take a test ride. It took me 5 minutes on the demo to know I just had to have this type of bike. It is in a class of its own with a distinct personality. Looks, handling, power and it stands out in a crowd.
- Will Hildreth, Cheltenham, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-18 2006 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Rocket III in August of 2006 and I absolutely love it! All of my friends ride Harleys and every time we go riding my Rocket always manages to draw the attention and questions from everyone. "How do you like it? How does it ride? Is it as fast as I hear it is?And I always answer, "I love it! Great! It's even faster!This bike is a marvel and it thinks it is a middle weight bike. I have been riding Triumphs since 1967 and this is the best motorcycle I have ever had the pleasure of owning regardless of manufacturer. It is great to be a Rocketeer. P.S. I love the sound of the exhaust! This is worth every nickel!
- HILTS, WHEATON, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2007 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
that's right folks. If you are considering a Rocket III be prepared on your test ride to experience an onslaught of power from the very second you release the throttle. One thing for sure you will not want to get take it back. This bike is a true dream to ride and to build a relationship with. She has an attitude but at the end of the day you are completely satisfied. After my test ride I couldn't sell my Harley fast enough. Triumph is trumping the competition by leap years. Styling, performance, engineering, technology, and customer satisfaction is superior.
- CitrusGator, Crystal River, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-23 2006 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has everything: handling, power, touring, comfort, and great looks. More and more are being sold and the aftermarket accessories are showing up. Everything from corbin add ons to performance mods, and check out the Rivco products. Wanted something different and in it's own class, a Rocket might be just the one!
- David, Oldsmar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-11 2005 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike seems to get better and better every year since I purchased it. I have not had a single problem with it like the overpriced Harleys I had that spent at least two visits to the shop a year. The bike is as awesome and powerful if not more than the day I bought it. Every other 2 fill ups I add some octane boost and this scares the hell out of the poor guys on their little Harley's and the custom bikes with their 103-124ci mills learn the hard way about true acceleration. I just smile as they finally turn off to a side street to end the humiliation. The silencers are even more deep and throaty than in 2005. I called the two Triumph dealers here in Denver to see how many women have bought one of thes beasts and was told only two! I've yet to see them on my day long rides on the weekends. Maybe I don't want to see them.
- Ace, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-21 2006 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Riding since 1971 at age 4. I thought off-road would be forever then @18 the sport bikes until this year. Cruising can be so rewarding with this bike and no sacrifice if I choose to change up to a 1/4 mile set-up. No compromises can be found with this bike. Comfortable using 100% of the tread and occasional grind on the peg feelers.
- Grant Gallagher, Lititz, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-01 2005 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is it! The most fun I ever had with my clothes on! A little nervous at first still get that tingly feeling when I twist the throttle. A few modifications and it makes 165 HP and 170FtLb. Only had the computer open the secondarys once. I was doing 500 in fourth, twisted the grip 3/4, then to full after about a second and now doing 70 the computer opened the secondaries and holding on for dear life, in under 2 seconds 105, front end a foot in the air and a 240 size stripe the whole way!
- Big Jim, Roselle, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: