Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-19 2010 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. I would describe it as a comfortable sport bike. I was on a sport touring trip in north Georgia with friends when I bought it. I was riding an ST1300 prior. Handles great, very smooth, and OOOOOh that triple. The ergos actually fit me better than the Honda and I was not as tired after riding a 650 mile day. With-in the first 3 days I had put over 1500 miles on it. This bike is fun and will handle the long haul as well the trip to the local coffee shop. I am trying to think of a negative but I cannot at this time. I would like a gear indicator and a temperature gauge. Flawless. Triumph has got it correct. Not the big over done sport touring bikes from Japan but all you need to tour and the right weight to sport. Thanks Triumph.
- Ron, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-25 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Good: Powerful engine (+/-120 BHP) provides great gas mileage for single rider, and ample power for double-ups. Max power at +/-9250 RPM (120BHP), max torque at +/-7000 RPM means wide power band at any gear and riding speed. Single sided swing arm and eccentric chain adjustment makes DIY servicing and cleaning easy/simple. Easy to remove seat, fairing sections, gas tank, nose cone, makes access to engine relatively simple. Centre Stand and side leg = two thumbs up! Small glove/document compartment in RH fairing cover Balanced stance on the road allows driver to almost drive hands free. Standard equipment; two colour matched Pannier bags, and mounting brackets. Centre mounted (under seat) muffler give the bike a clean look. The fairing provides good protection to rider in wet weather The required improvements: Thin heat shield foam on R/H & L/H fairing as well as fuel tank can make warm weather riding very uncomfortable. Short windscreen works well for low speed urban rides. At continuous Highway driving speed, sitting position (for taller riders) and head wind creates higher resistance and worsen fuel consumption. Under seat muffler doesn't have enough insulation to protect underside of seat and passenger's bottom. Provide 2nd storage compartment in LH fairing cover (like RH side). Rear wheel Hugger will reduce water and road grime splash on engine and electrical components. Gas tank holds 20L (5.2 US Gal) means having to plan refuelling stops more often. Another gallon would be great! Gear Indicator Digital speedometer instead of the analog (mechanical) unit Dimmer switch for gauges White face for mechanical gauges (speedometer & tachometer) In general: The '06 Sprint ST 1050 is great riding bike that can be ridden across town, or across the country. Comes with basic touring hard bags (2) and can be easily fitted with a third. This is a great crossover bike, for riders who wish to upgrade from a single purpose motorcycle.
- Koby Langsner, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-15 2008 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rode from Massachusetts to Alabama mostly backroads and some interstate. The bike performed excellent. The only problem was the bad check valve in the gas tank sucked in the side of the tank because it wouldn't let air in. The dealer repaired it and replaced the tank.
- owner, Monson, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-24 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike a year now. Usually not one to write reviews, however, awesome bike. Handles exceptionally well. If you want to get on the throttle, you will not be let down (keeps up with most sport bikes) comfortable riding position for longer rides.
- Phil, Carrollton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-29 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only had my 06 sprint 3 weeks and already clocked 2700 km. My previous bike was a Suzuki V Strom 1000 which I quickly fell out of love with due to unbearable wind buffeting and excessive engine vibration. I have ridden the Sprint over 300ks two-up in a howling side wind and couldn't fault it for aerodynamics and comfort. Yes there is some heat from the engine but I haven't found it too uncomfortable on hot days and am grateful for any extra warmth on a cold day. Handling is superb to the extent that this bike makes an average rider look very good. Whilst the Sprint thrives on spirited riding or long distance hauls it will just as happily weave and putter around town. The bike's outstanding styling always draws appreciative looks. This is just the start of a long love affair.
- Gavin Bowden, Christchurch, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-10 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2006 ST just one year ago this month and I absolutely love it! I have a Harley Road King that mainly sits in the garage since the Triumph moved in. If I have anything even slightly negative to say about this bike it would have to be the headlights. I know there is better lighting out there. At night they do leave a little to be desired. Aside from that this bike is super! The fastest I have had this bike is 125 mph and it still had so much more. It held together perfectly at this speed. It fills my desire for a sports bike yet is comfortable enough for the 500 mile day. I actually love the sound of my bike stock but wish sometimes that it were just a little bit louder. I would surely recommend this bike to anyone!
- Bob Simpson, Poughkeepsie, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2007 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, a very good bike for the $, especially with the windscreen and bags. For someone as tall as me, it would be nice to have the bars back about 2 to 3 more inches, for those road trips. The bike is fast of the line... what else can one say. It has many advantages. It rumbles during deceleration from about 4000 to 2500, and tends to burn a bit of oil, perhaps still breaking in, but I take it to the max. 1qt in 700 miles, since going to synth oil.
- Scott Woods, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-16 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm approaching one year and 11,000 miles and I'm still very happy. Not a single problem (and didn't expect one). A great sport tourer with a little more emphasis on the sport side. I'm still looking for a taller screen for the 500+ mile days. The new hard bags are fantastic. The easiest to pop on and off that I have ever had. Water tight and lots of room. I have the off road pipe which really gives the bike a little more kick and the sound is outstanding. Love the ABS. I am looking to change from the Power bronze to the flip lip wind screen and will also get the high bar kit all for the comfort of the long haul-big trip planned at the end of the summer!
- Bib, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-09 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in Chicago and rode it back to the DC area. Within the first 100 miles I knew that I had a winner. Right out of the box this is the best bike I've ever owned. I came from a Yamaha FZ-1 that I dumped thousands of dollars in to make it the bike I wanted. When it was all said and done, the bike was great, but it had no character. The Sprint has it in spades. The engine makes sweet sounds, the dash is perfect, it eats up miles, handles great, is incredibly stable, and very comfortable for what it is. The only thing that's going to get me to buy a Corbin is the ease of removal compared to stock. If you're looking at a sport-tourer this IS the bike to buy. Consider what you're getting for the price. Nobody else can match this bike. If the build quality matches the reliability then I'm set for a very long time. I couldn't even begin to express how much I love this bike!
- Dave B, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-01 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several bikes throughout the years, (Harleys lately), and ridden many others. Without a doubt, this bike handles everything you can throw at it. I had it lowered 1 inch for my comfort, but other than that it has the factory set up. The acceleration is impressive and evenly balanced from a stand still up through 120 mph, (there's still much more left, but finding an open road for this isn't as easy!). The bike slows itself without braking, but the brakes are quick and effective. I haven't tried to lock the front brake up, (to test the ABS), but it definetly works when stomping on the rear! Then you attach the two rear bags, (in about 15 seconds total time), and you have plenty of room to take a weekend trip comfortably. You don't even feel them back there, and other than making the bike a bit wider, you'd forget they are there. I still own my Harleys, but I can say that this bike is my favorite for running errands into town!
- Bret Van Dyne, Sparks, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-22 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Sprint ST. I had the 2003 version for 9000mi until I ran out of road and talent all at the same time on Higway 74 Alternate in Lake Lure, NC. Ouch - worst day of my life, but, no injuries. Just totaled a really great bike... But my 2006 Aluminum Silver 1050 Sprint ST is stronger, looks better, and is more comfortable than the 2003. I fully investigated 3 models before making my final decision. The Ducati ST/3 and an HD Electraglide. The Ducati had that sexy Italion look and great handling (brakes...), but was $1000 more per year to insure. Not worth the extra money considering roads in SE North Carolina are very straight. The Electraglide was like riding in an overstuffed comfy chair. Too big for my butt, too heavy and too slow. On long stretches of highway, I want to be able to make time in comfort and control. And when I get to the curves I want to be able to brake, lean and accelerate with ease. The 2006 ST is the best all around sport bike with all day touring ability. My longest day ride is 680mi from Fayetteville to Highlands, NC and back (had to check out the old crash site). 5:30am to 10:30pm. The ST did everything beautifully. Its great low end torque eliminates first gear on even the most severe switch backs. It powers out of sharp curves in second or third. High end will keep pace with just about any sport bike and just embarasses Boulevards. It is just a great bike to do everything I need from daily driver, to highway cruiser and two lane carver. I do ride more cautiously now-a-days. The styling is stunning (very industrial), was not sure that I would care for the under seat exhaust, but it looks and sounds great and makes room for the luggage. To my relief/suprise, there is no heat from under the seat. There is heat from the engine, but I can't remember when I straddled a liter engine and couldn't feel heat. Am I missing something here? Heat from engine...4 for comfort...Not! The seat position is great, the handle bars are just right. O.K...the lights. The projector beam lights look really good, and the pattern is great, but the range on low beam does not reach out far out enough for me at night and I don't think drivers see me well in the daylight (unless they are within the pattern) so I run the high beam. So...4 for perfomance... I don't think so. The engine is too good, the ABS brakes are excellent, the suspension is great. Quality? Reliability? No doubt. Great job Triumph! There was no other choice.
- Trip Parker, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-16 2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up the bike in August and I wish I had a few more months to ride before the snow set in. However, by squeezing in the most rides possible I have come to understand the ST quite well. I bought the Sunset Red version with ABS - however the blue is a solid choice if you are considering it. Now to the review - First, the bike is stunning to look at. Numerous times, I came out of restaurants/mall/starbucks/you name it- to my bike to find a person or two examining the bike. Big ego booster. The bike is definitely stable at speed, and with the great brakes, it winds down with ease. Cruising on the interstate at 80-90 is not a problem - posing at 15mph is just as fun. The bike rolls from 15 to 60 in a blink - so power is sufficient - however you will not come near a Gixer or R1 when it comes to full out speed. Actually, this is quite all right when you consider the total package of the bike. Sit on a 1000cc sport bike vs. the sprint and you will notice how the 1000cc sport bike feel like a street tuned Honda civic - fast but not really well composed. Where the sprint feels like Lexus in comparison. Composed - athletic - stylish - very well thought out. The speedometer/tachometer is amazing to look at. A lot of other bikes displays look like they were purchased at radio shack in the clearance bin - not the case with the Triumph. The single sided swingarm is a plus - those who don't know bikes can't stop commenting on how amazing the wheel looks with it being exposed on one side. The exhaust looks good (of course keeping the three theme) - but the triumph accessory chrome option looks better. The exhaust note needs to be louder in my opinion - it's sometimes nice to announce your arrival. The seat is ok at best - haven't tried the Corbin version yet - but I bet next year I will switch out the seat. Keeping with the comfort - Although the gas tank will allow you to go hundreds of miles at a crack - your legs will feel cramped before then if you are 6ft or more. I sometimes had to remind myself it is a SPORT tourer - the position is aggressive if you plan to stay in the same position for an hour or two. HOWEVER, if you can stop and allow others to admire the ST you will have no problem adding 2-3 hundred miles a day (or more). The heat from the engine is excellent despite what others might say - when you ride on a 70 degree night it keeps you so perfectly warm its almost nirvana. Oh - but a 90 degree day you will get sweaty. I also had to have the bike towed to the shop once - there was an internal issue with the clutch - I'm hoping it was a fluke - but that's why the bike got a 3 on reliability. Performance like I said earlier is great - not crazy at anything - but is better as a total package than ANYTHING else out there (breaking/accelerating/turning - it all works amazingly well) Comfort is a 4 because super long rides that you try and accomplish without stopping can get uncomfortable - but the ergonomics are great in all other situations. Quality is a 5 because the total appearance looks amazing - the "dash" glows with brilliance at night - the single sided swingarm looks trick - the under seat exhaust is standard but continues the clean look of the bike - and the fairings are contoured and cut to enhance the overall interest of the bike. Overall is a 5 ... period. The Ducati ST3 looks dated next to it and the performance is weak. The Honda VFR ... well read the magazines and you'll realize how dated it is. The super sport 1000s will pull away from you ... but you'll have many more companions wanting to ride on the back of the Triumph due to the much more comfortable seat. If you are thinking about getting this bike - do. There are a lot of awesome bikes on the market now - but very few bikes have the total package like the ST.
- andrew , minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: