Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Triumph Sprint ST ABS reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ron

Fredericksburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-04-19

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike. I would describe it as a comfortable sport bike. I was on a sport touring trip in north Georgia with friends when I bought it. I was riding an ST1300 prior. Handles great, very smooth, and OOOOOh that triple. The ergos actually fit me better than the Honda and I was not as tired after riding a 650 mile day. With-in the first 3 days I had put over 1500 miles on it. This bike is fun and will handle the long haul as well the trip to the local coffee shop. I am trying to think of a negative but I cannot at this time. I would like a gear indicator and a temperature gauge. Flawless. Triumph has got it correct. Not the big over done sport touring bikes from Japan but all you need to tour and the right weight to sport. Thanks Triumph.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Koby Langsner

Calgary, Alberta

Reviewed on 2009-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Good: Powerful engine (+/-120 BHP) provides great gas mileage for single rider, and ample power for double-ups. Max power at +/-9250 RPM (120BHP), max torque at +/-7000 RPM means wide power band at any gear and riding speed. Single sided swing arm and eccentric chain adjustment makes DIY servicing and cleaning easy/simple. Easy to remove seat, fairing sections, gas tank, nose cone, makes access to engine relatively simple. Centre Stand and side leg = two thumbs up! Small glove/document compartment in RH fairing cover Balanced stance on the road allows driver to almost drive hands free. Standard equipment; two colour matched Pannier bags, and mounting brackets. Centre mounted (under seat) muffler give the bike a clean look. The fairing provides good protection to rider in wet weather The required improvements: Thin heat shield foam on R/H & L/H fairing as well as fuel tank can make warm weather riding very uncomfortable. Short windscreen works well for low speed urban rides. At continuous Highway driving speed, sitting position (for taller riders) and head wind creates higher resistance and worsen fuel consumption. Under seat muffler doesn't have enough insulation to protect underside of seat and passenger's bottom. Provide 2nd storage compartment in LH fairing cover (like RH side). Rear wheel Hugger will reduce water and road grime splash on engine and electrical components. Gas tank holds 20L (5.2 US Gal) means having to plan refuelling stops more often. Another gallon would be great! Gear Indicator Digital speedometer instead of the analog (mechanical) unit Dimmer switch for gauges White face for mechanical gauges (speedometer & tachometer) In general: The '06 Sprint ST 1050 is great riding bike that can be ridden across town, or across the country. Comes with basic touring hard bags (2) and can be easily fitted with a third. This is a great crossover bike, for riders who wish to upgrade from a single purpose motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

owner

Monson, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2009-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Rode from Massachusetts to Alabama mostly backroads and some interstate. The bike performed excellent. The only problem was the bad check valve in the gas tank sucked in the side of the tank because it wouldn't let air in. The dealer repaired it and replaced the tank.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil

Carrollton, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-12-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had the bike a year now. Usually not one to write reviews, however, awesome bike. Handles exceptionally well. If you want to get on the throttle, you will not be let down (keeps up with most sport bikes) comfortable riding position for longer rides.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gavin Bowden

Christchurch, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2007-11-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've only had my 06 sprint 3 weeks and already clocked 2700 km. My previous bike was a Suzuki V Strom 1000 which I quickly fell out of love with due to unbearable wind buffeting and excessive engine vibration. I have ridden the Sprint over 300ks two-up in a howling side wind and couldn't fault it for aerodynamics and comfort. Yes there is some heat from the engine but I haven't found it too uncomfortable on hot days and am grateful for any extra warmth on a cold day. Handling is superb to the extent that this bike makes an average rider look very good. Whilst the Sprint thrives on spirited riding or long distance hauls it will just as happily weave and putter around town. The bike's outstanding styling always draws appreciative looks. This is just the start of a long love affair.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Simpson

Poughkeepsie, New York

Reviewed on 2007-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 2006 ST just one year ago this month and I absolutely love it! I have a Harley Road King that mainly sits in the garage since the Triumph moved in. If I have anything even slightly negative to say about this bike it would have to be the headlights. I know there is better lighting out there. At night they do leave a little to be desired. Aside from that this bike is super! The fastest I have had this bike is 125 mph and it still had so much more. It held together perfectly at this speed. It fills my desire for a sports bike yet is comfortable enough for the 500 mile day. I actually love the sound of my bike stock but wish sometimes that it were just a little bit louder. I would surely recommend this bike to anyone!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Woods

Chandler, Arizona

Reviewed on 2007-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Overall, a very good bike for the $, especially with the windscreen and bags. For someone as tall as me, it would be nice to have the bars back about 2 to 3 more inches, for those road trips. The bike is fast of the line... what else can one say. It has many advantages. It rumbles during deceleration from about 4000 to 2500, and tends to burn a bit of oil, perhaps still breaking in, but I take it to the max. 1qt in 700 miles, since going to synth oil.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bib

Lakeland, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-05-16

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm approaching one year and 11,000 miles and I'm still very happy. Not a single problem (and didn't expect one). A great sport tourer with a little more emphasis on the sport side. I'm still looking for a taller screen for the 500+ mile days. The new hard bags are fantastic. The easiest to pop on and off that I have ever had. Water tight and lots of room. I have the off road pipe which really gives the bike a little more kick and the sound is outstanding. Love the ABS. I am looking to change from the Power bronze to the flip lip wind screen and will also get the high bar kit all for the comfort of the long haul-big trip planned at the end of the summer!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave B

Woodbridge, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine in Chicago and rode it back to the DC area. Within the first 100 miles I knew that I had a winner. Right out of the box this is the best bike I've ever owned. I came from a Yamaha FZ-1 that I dumped thousands of dollars in to make it the bike I wanted. When it was all said and done, the bike was great, but it had no character. The Sprint has it in spades. The engine makes sweet sounds, the dash is perfect, it eats up miles, handles great, is incredibly stable, and very comfortable for what it is. The only thing that's going to get me to buy a Corbin is the ease of removal compared to stock. If you're looking at a sport-tourer this IS the bike to buy. Consider what you're getting for the price. Nobody else can match this bike. If the build quality matches the reliability then I'm set for a very long time. I couldn't even begin to express how much I love this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bret Van Dyne

Sparks, Nevada

Reviewed on 2006-11-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Sprint ST ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned several bikes throughout the years, (Harleys lately), and ridden many others. Without a doubt, this bike handles everything you can throw at it. I had it lowered 1 inch for my comfort, but other than that it has the factory set up. The acceleration is impressive and evenly balanced from a stand still up through 120 mph, (there's still much more left, but finding an open road for this isn't as easy!). The bike slows itself without braking, but the brakes are quick and effective. I haven't tried to lock the front brake up, (to test the ABS), but it definetly works when stomping on the rear! Then you attach the two rear bags, (in about 15 seconds total time), and you have plenty of room to take a weekend trip comfortably. You don't even feel them back there, and other than making the bike a bit wider, you'd forget they are there. I still own my Harleys, but I can say that this bike is my favorite for running errands into town!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: